Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Budget Flats Leuven

Bierbeekstraat 75, 3001 Leuven, Belgium

#7 of 7 Holiday rentals in Leuven

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 316 apartment reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Accommodation that works reasonably well -
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment semi duplex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No toilet papers at all when we entered the accomodation and when we had time to complain it the reception already closed and no body. So we had to buy ourselves at nightshop ! Part of the curtain was torn. We had to clean up some part of the accommodation.

    Cozy and simple accomodation. Strong wifi. Easy check-in and check-out. Quite spacious apartement. Kitchen and utensils were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    3.3
    Worst "hotel " I've ever been in ...should be called a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment semi duplex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No AC or fan. Unable to sleep on upper floor due to heat and unsafe ladder. My daughter had to sleep on floor. Bedroom area also too hot. Dirty bathroom & towels and hole in curtain. Price more than double due to music festival.

    The location for the event we attended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    a nice structure but a poor management
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There where no towel and pillowcase. The guy at the reception (a kind person) knew about the problem but forgot. Later on, they brought a medium size towel (small to take a shower) but no pillowcase. The sink in the bathroom was completly clogged up.

    Large room, quiet. In a walking distance from the train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Studio Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be good to have cafetiere in the room. The room also had a faint smell of cigarettes.

    Good location for getting into Leuven and for visiting our relatives in the suburbs. Good patisserie nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Issues with payment
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment semi duplex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some issues with the payment, this was probably at least partly the fault of Booking.com. When I was making the booking, the room was up for one rate, when I finished the booking, the price had almost doubled. And when the accommodation provider sent us the bill, it was even bigger! So basically we had to pay more than double the price Booking.com initially offered.

    The person who runs the place is a true people person. Since we were travelling with a baby and their baby cot was already in use, they added a regular extra bed. Everyone sleeped peacefully.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant accommodation for unpretentious. Basic equipment for cooking, privacy, a nice environment.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Student Flat single
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check-in is only possible from 4 PM, nobody in the office before this time (office open in the morning and late afternoon).

    Separate flat for one person, basic cooking facilities, fridge. Nice place, courtyard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    I ALWAYS STAY HERE WHEN I COME TO LEUVEN. The best relation price and quality
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None. All I'd great

    VERY GOOD ATTITUDE DURING ALL MY STAYS THERE. VERY COMFORTABLE BED. ALL FURNITURE IS NEW. KITCHEN TOTALLY EQUIPPED. CLOSE TO TRAIN STATION AND CITY CENTER. VERY EFFICIENT RECEPTION AND MANAGEMENT

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    great to stay in Leuven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment semi duplex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was not clean, and the watertap was running

    The host was very friendly and helpfull, pointed us to the local Pigeon D'or and more. Nice guy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.4
    OK for a rather expensive one time emergency stay as no other opportunities available.
    • Solo traveller
    • Student flat semi duplex twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    As this business is not a hotel as such, there is no lounge, no bar, no room service, no daily cleaning (however, breakfast and/or daily cleaning can be ordered on the website, though at extra cost). The bedroom in the mezzanine is not made for tall people (ceiling at about 1m50).

    Not a hotel as such, but the business is extremely well organised. Any useful information is to be found on their website.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced for what is offered
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Studio Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the room was smelling like cigaretes - the entire building is too old, and you notice when you enter the rooms - cutlery and other kitchen material in decay - difficult to connect to WiFi

    friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    good value for price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio Single
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast very expensive. never took it. Stayed there for a week, and there was no room cleaning during the stay (as far as I could tell)

    check-in/-out very smooth. the room was alright. very simple, and materials are not great, but it's still nice value for the price. the place is nice for solo workers. location is not very convenient for the city center, but you reach the ring in a 1 min walk, and from there you can take buses.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Convenient and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Student Flat single
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In 4 days, no one cleaned my room, not enough kitchen utensils, no safe box

    Location, it seems to be new, nice garden, close to train station and buses, friendly staff that speak perfect English

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    3.8
    A turist trap. Try to avoid it even on a low budget.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Student Flat single
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Mold on the walls - Mold inside the shower - I have to sleep with the window open because op the mold smell even if that area is infested with mosquitoes. - Fees not mentioned on the initial booking on booking.com site (3 euro/day city tax + 1 euro/day "cleaning") - They tried to make me pay 3 times for same service (cleaning) even if was no cleaning till the day before last. They corrected that only after repeated emails and a lot of frustration (I still had to pay for it but not 3 times). - They subtracted money from my card without asking my accord first. - Lights so old and inefficient that they could not be used. - Everything was old and of bad quality inside. - The internet was running with interruptions and a lot of disconnections. - Parking not existent you are left with the option to park on public space only if find a place and you have to pay for it between 9 and 18 PM In conclusion: is amazing how that businessmen is not closed by authority. Is sad that on booking.com they appear insistently first in listings and customer is made believe that they in brink of being fully occupied when (from what I have seen) they are probably at half of their capacity almost all the time. I stopped trusting booking.com after my stay there. And started using airbnb in the mean time as I was able to find much civilized conditions and smaller prices through them.

    Nothing. I paid a little bit more and I find it accommodation through Airbnb just not to go back there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Student flat semi duplex twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The police pulled my car away, it would be better if there was a parking spot for hotel guests

    The place is in the centrum so it's easy to walk everywhere The receptionist guy was so kind and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    brilliant budget place to use as a base whilst we were tattooing at a local tattoo convention
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    for the price i paid for a buiness trip i cant complain!

    the staff are amazing! nothing too much trouble very basic but what you pay its great! very clean. very easy to get to the city center. It could do with a bit of modernising thats for sure but it was very clean and there was everything we needed for our buiness trip

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    FAB!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Student Flat single
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it hard to turn the taps off in the kitchen

    The hosts were really friendly and really helpful!!! Very happy and was treated well! Nice and laid back vibe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    2.9
    Shower was broken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Student flat semi duplex twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was broken. We have complained, and they promised repair. Nothing has been done. so 2 nights and 3 days we didn´t have warm shower. At the reception only before noon somebody was there. So further coordination was not possible. We asked to give our money back. They didn´t take care. till now.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.5
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Studio Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light switches were difficult to find The curtain didn't reach the end of the door so let the draft in anyway The bathroom door didn't shut nevermind lock Flats screen tv was amazing Huge boiler on top of the toilet

    Staff were incredible

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    3.3
    Rip Off
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio Single
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was only seldom occupied. The Street parking is very limited and you have to pay for it ( max. 2h ). The Room is quiet dark, the lighting could be better. The room smells musty and old. Also the bed was old and narrow. No properly functioning heating, only a small camping heater. It was f**** cold. Several times there was power failure and the emergency number didn't work. Most of the time the wifi didn't work. The bathroom is just disgusting! That sink was broken and water ran on the floor. In the shower was mold and the faucet was so old that I couldn't adjust the water temperature. The towels were old, dirty and scratchy. The Boiler was leaking all the time and the Toilet was not fixed on the floor, just loosely there! No Toilettpaper. The inside of the Toilett disgusting dirty. The images on the Internet don't correspond to the reality! The property is just a dump. Old, musty and dirty. Please keep away and don't waste your money!

    Nothing, really nothing !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    7.1
    It was okay for that money, but I'd pick another place next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Student flat semi duplex twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating wasn't working properly. The upper floor was too hot because all the hot air went upstairs and downstairs was really cold. Also, we had problems with opening the faucet in the shower and setting the water temperature. It was either too hot or too cold.

    The host was really nice to us and helped us with everything we asked. Also, everything was in the walkable distance and the neighborhood is quiet and nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Very pleasantly surprised after reading some previous reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Studio Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fine

    Of all the places we were in this was definitely the best. Spotless, comfy, and I always prefer apartments anyway. Loads of kitchen facilities provided

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.2
    I payed 100€ for a dirty room without window.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Student Flat single
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I payed 100€ for a dirty room without window. The window was broken I can’t open it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Surprisingly nice and spacious for the 7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Studio Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprisingly nice and spacious for the 7.0 it was rated when we stayed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything was very good and well made

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Best place to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Student flat semi duplex twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is great. I stay mostly here when I am in Leuven. Highly recommended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    The best place to stay in Leuven. Highly recommended
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Reception, comfort, furniture, kitchen equipment. Everything is the best. Definitely come back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Visiting friends
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment semi duplex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows Soundproofing could be better

    Great facilities for a budget appartment. Dogs welcome and a nice area for them in the courtyard

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly the host, good room and good price
    • Solo traveller
    • Student flat semi duplex twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly the host, good room and good price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    Room: furniture cheap but new and o.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Studio Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom and related interiors very old and in a mediocre shape ...

    Room: furniture cheap but new and o.k. Kitchen equipment: did not use.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    All is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply the best

    All is great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Lueven - very nice place, interesting architecture, and the moat beautiful library I've ever seen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silent, Nature, Stuff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Great place for Rock Werchter goers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Studio Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little bit far from city center, which is OK, but no taxis are available late at night.

    The service was fantastic. The room was very comfortable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    It was really great!
    • Solo traveller
    • Student Flat single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality and room size

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.3
    Nice budget hotel with good value of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Studio Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The urine smell from the bathroom when i just checked in. Poor soundproof.

    The check in was pretty fast and easy. Nice environment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.8
    Location
    • Solo traveller
    • Student Flat single
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Working hour of reception

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Nice size rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park to far from the flats

    Nice size rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    5.5
    Nice walk to centre leuven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Student Flat single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfastroom, no signal tv. Basic room with cold floor.

    Nice walk to centre leuven.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice apts with a really beautifull garden.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Student Flat single
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice apt near the city center, really nice garden.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, convenient location near the center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds are a bit on the hard side, but that's the only real negative I have.

    Very friendly staff, convenient location near the center of town with a lovely private square where you can sit. Check-in and out is also very convenient and easy, regardless when you come and go.All-in-all this is a great place for the money.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.8
    Just a 10 minute walk from Leuven centre.
    • People with friends

    No parking available, but on the street parking is free 19h till 9h. Outside those hours 2€/h.

    Just a 10 minute walk from Leuven centre. Perfect for a night out drinking without worrying about who has to drive. And at that price it's cheaper than a train ticket. Room was a duplex with surprisingly comfortable beds. Very quiet during the night. Check in was self service (just picking up your key from a safe - very easy). Check out staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.5
    Location, comfort, value for money, express check in and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness. Changing the bed sheet on daily bases. vacuuming the floor daily for reducing allergy due to the dust.

    Location, comfort, value for money, express check in and check out

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    charge me 1 night extra without any booking 70 Euro payd for nothing claim was not possible never again ! not again very bad service very bad customer relation never again pls pay attantion be aware Toilett defectice , water running out down the floor

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    10
    The house is great with a great view on one of the many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The house is great with a great view on one of the many canals in Leiden. Instead of going out for dinner we opted for cooking at home to enjoy the cosy atmosphere -- we loved it. Last but not the least, Leon is a great host, super friendly and always ready to help.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    6.7
    Location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The parking, which is extremely difficult. Very very limited street parking and the private car park was full (and a long way off from the accommodation)

    Location was good. Pleasant garden

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.6
    Kindness of the staff, first of all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Kindness of the staff, first of all. The room was very big and well equipped. The residence is really quiet at night. After the noise in the city centre I could have a wonderful rest! .

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.8
    Emergency call really works and they are very ready to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet could be cleaner. Fact that it was not emphasised that there is no reception! No touristic map of the city at the flyers/booklets place...

    Emergency call really works and they are very ready to help. Everything went smoothly at the end...

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    Good quiet neighbourhood, nice price for a two-room...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The wifi connection is unstable sometimes and has a 1gb quota per day, something which can run out quite quickly due to system syncs etc.

    Good quiet neighbourhood, nice price for a two-room apartment, kitchen included.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.6
    I went to the festival and my original place was too far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I went to the festival and my original place was too far away to be able to travel back from. I booked this at the airport and caught the train to Leuven. It was a 15 min walk from the station. The owner was very helpful and friendly, the room was extremely clean and I was glad that I had taken the riom

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    7.5
    This was the cheapest we could find at the time of rock...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is as stated in the name a budget flat, and the bathroom was not in the best condition, shower and toilet seat falling a bit a part, but that's really our only complaint about the room. We also had a problem with the wifi not working, even if we paid for the premium internet.

    This was the cheapest we could find at the time of rock werchter, and it was bigger and better than expected. Easy to find, big, clean rooms, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    7.5
    very helpful staff, W-Lan was fast, kitchen equipment good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    cleanliness can be improved (but I heard this is in many Belgien accomodations the same)

    very helpful staff, W-Lan was fast, kitchen equipment good (water heater, microwave etc.)

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    8.3
    Quiet location.
    • Couple

    Pillows! Would have liked more. Better lighting in the flat would have been good.

    Quiet location. Reception area welcoming. House Manager friendly. Administratively excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    5.0
    The location was good and walking distance to all places
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was smelling. the WC was not nice looking from inside and the windows were not clean. cleaners should pay attention to the windows when cleaning and also the sink and the wc

    The location was good and walking distance to all places

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    3.3
    Wifi was OK - Receptionist was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The toilet did not flush, the taps for the sink were in the sink, the shower was broken, there was a towel hanging over the fridge and there were black creatures moving on it, the towel in the bath was on the floor and looked as if it had been used, the bed did not have any covers (sheets or Duvets) and there was an overwhelming taste of plastering dust - worse place I have ever stayed

    Wifi was OK - Receptionist was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    4.6
    bed linien comfortable and clean, and the room was silent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bathroom and livingroom was not tidy, there was no toilet paper, there is no curtain or a net against fly

    bed linien comfortable and clean, and the room was silent

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Leaking boiler

    Value for money

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    9.6
    The price and situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The price and situation.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.8
    The Room is according to my requirements
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi service are limited

    The Room is according to my requirements

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    6.3
    They claimed that they provide free internet, but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They claimed that they provide free internet, but the internet connection was limited per day.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.7
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cost for value. Bad electricity- no light in the shower, few sockets.

    Location. Nice person in reception. Hot shower.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.5
    Friendly reception.
    • Group

    Bit dated No Parking

    Friendly reception. Not too far from city center or train station.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    4.6
    Quite and beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not very good location, cleaning is rare, bad grocery store around, quite expensive place.

    Quite and beautiful place.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    8.3
    Wi-Fi, pet friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to mention really...

    Wi-Fi, pet friendly

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Budget Flats Leuven traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: