Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Des Colonies 3 stars

Rue des Croisades 6 - 10, Sint-Joost-ten-Node, 1210 Brussels, Belgium

#156 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2511 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in my room (#334) was facing the wall to the next room (as expected). However, due to some changes to the construction it seemed that the dividing wall was just made of cardboard. As a result I could hear even when the occupant next door was typing on his/her mobile phone. Very annoying and disturbing.

    Location is rather central and the price is decent. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cooling system in the room. Shower too small - had I been taller, I would have to crouch to fit under the shower. Shower compartment was not lighted. No bed sheet provided, only quilt available during rather warm weather.

    Staff was helpful. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very reluctant to speak English. Breakfast was supposed to be included in the room rate but they claimed it's not. Toilet didn't work and in fact, wjen I went to the room for the very first time, it was full of s**t. When I contacted the reception, their reaction was "So what's your problem? We'll come and take a look in about 30 minutes." Nobody came and I had to go to the reception to complain. The tv remote control and the fridge in the room were both broken. The smell in the room was awful and I was sneezing and caughing all the time. There's no air conditioning. None of the promised toileteries were in the room. And mind you, this was one of the better rooms... so-called comfort room. Everything's old and for that rrason very, very uncomfortable (pilows, beds). The room door didn't always lock when leaving the room. Internet connection didn't work in the room although it was promised! Some years ago my husband's credit card information was stolen from this hotel's electronic system. This time, my credit card comoany didn't allow me using MasterCard because they said that the hotel doesn't have an appropriate certificate in use and that the internet connection they use to handle payments is not secured.

    Location is perfect for me

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very basic, no refrigerator and hardly any closet space. The holder for the shower head was broken. Room was noisy and very hot with just had a single window to an air duct for ventilation.

    Excellent location. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I have not found this during hotel selection in the description of the hotel, the hotel has a 24-hour reception. This is another bonus, especially if you have a flight delay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was slightly dated and the shower head didn’t have a mount up the wall so couldn’t have a proper shower

    Location was good, close to transport links and within walking distance to most places. Room was very clean, good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken plugs (dangerous!!) in the wall, non painted doors since probably decades, engorged sink ...

    Nothing. It is simply an overpriced hotel for an amortized room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not have aircondicioning or mini fridge, products from the toilet were very poor

    I loved the staff, they were always very helpful! The one from the night shift (I forgot your name, so sorry) borrow to my friend a cable to charge the phone and Daniela from the morning helped us with the breakfast (we were a little bit late because we misunderstood the time, and she help us in a kind and fast way)! Thank you very much to all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that we stayed in was a little tired and could do with a little redecorating, it was very clean but needed a little tlc

    Iconic building in the middle of Brussels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hairdryer in the room only at reception so if you didn’t ask for one the night before there was a waiting time

    The hotel was in a central location near the centre which had a good selection of shops and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a bad experience at check-in where we were offered a late check-out of 14:00 and were later told it was no longer possible. This left a bad taste in the mouth. In addition, the hotel is very dated and is badly in need of renovation. The pipes in the bathroom make a lot of noise when the water is running.

    The location of the hotel is good with a BePark available close-by for relatively cheap parking. In addition, the breakfast was relatively good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi did not work The shower could have more pressure and the sink did not drain properly The old property is requiring some renovation There was no ventilation or air conditioning in the rooms The Breakfast room and buffet is too small for the hotel, guests keep bumping into each other and have to stand in line to get beverages and food.

    Location is excellent, less than 10 min from Bruxelles Central Very close to metro station and downtown Bruxelles Friendly and helpful staff Spotless Room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were old and shabby. The lift was ancient and got stuck between floors on our way up to our room. Thankfully, a lady knew how to fix it but I used the stairs after that. The service in the bar was not very good, the young people running this hotel seemed quite inexperienced although very nice.

    The location was good for us, near the Gare du Nord and metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad smell, thin walls. Carpet, wallpaper and doors quite old and give an unclean and uncomfortable feeling to the room.

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast (although not included in the price).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I will never return. Wifi in room is unusable (3rd floor) No hot water at 10PM Water pipe noise when another room opened a tap Toilet water ran all night - I couldn't stop it, the tap on the wall wouldn't turn off. Hand held shower over the bath did not reach the hook on the wall Location is good for business travellers but not for sight-seers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft. The bathroom was pretty old. Generally the room was dated. Not enough plugs for charging.

    Breakfast was decent. The staff was great and very polite. Near the center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms have windows opening only to a small shaft, with other rooms a few meters away. Little fresh air, no view, so ask if that’s important to you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) Internet was practically unavailable (the wifi was extremely slow). 2) Electrical outlets were hard to come by (very inconveniently located). 3) Common areas not very clean, unfortunately there is a strong impression of dilapidation.

    Location, location, location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old furniture, no easy access to the plug in the room, food could be more diverse

    good double bed, clean, good breakfast, nice staff, easy access to the city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the Hotel has bags of character, the rooms are a bit shabby and need some TLC.

    Lovely old hotel...the lobby area is very impressive and Staff are very attentive, close to Metro Rogier which serves the city well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a great room with a bed for each of us. The rooms are clean and functional. The Bathroom had a bathtub which was a nice bonus :-) Breakfast was good and there was always enough food. The location is great - close to the subway and walking distance from the Center and great shopping. All in all a very good hotel. We will return :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection was bad. It worked only once in a while.

    The location was very good, close to the Grand Place. The staff was very nice. The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet connection is poor, bathroom is too small and the stream of warm water from the shower is very weak (yet in the sink it is OK)

    Location of the hotel is very good and furniture is nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room clearly needed to be renewed, stained walls and lost paint on the doors were claiming that. The bathroom was very old too and the thank didn’t work properly. Radiators were dirty and the floor of the shower was a disaster, as it was the tiny shower curtain that couldn stop the water going all over the floor. Terribly poor noise isolation, I could here not only conversations but someone peeing next room.

    Well located when you travel by train, close to several means of transport and a walking distance to the city center. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom of the room is very old, not useful, not comfortable and not clean enough. Even if the hotel is an historical and old otel, they should renew the bathroom. The room which we stayed is not fresh and is seeing anywhere. Window is opening to the gap between the buildings. Music noise and talking noise is coming from this gap into the room. Also there was a constructional work on the street of the hotel area, these noices are also very disturbing. Cleaning staff is irrelevant to the customers.

    Location is good near close to the metro station ( 1min via walking). Center area is also close to the hotel, you can easily reach by walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel badly needs a renovation. The furniture is old, the carpets smell and it wasn’t very clean. The walls were yellow and the room was stinky. The mattress must have been decades old - so it was very uncomfortable.

    Ok location, though the area isn’t very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I use this hotel very often when I'm in Brussels. This time the room price was too high compared to the services (almost the double of the usual price!)

    historic hotel, special atmosphere, close to the center and main services (railway station, metro, mall), comfortable for short stays

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are needing an updating, a little bit old- fashioned. WiFi sometimes overloaded goes slowly. Some facilities does not have proper maintenance.

    Near north train station and Rogier metro. Cleaning ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some rooms have windows for narrow backstreet that just let light to come in to the room - claustrophobic, horrible. Half of the rooms looks on the street so its 50/50% your are happy or not.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for breakfast. Staff were not very welcoming. Pillow on the bed was half sized. Decor was dated.

    Bed was comfortable. Hotel had character

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Number was very cold by arriving, shower cord was leaking, TV remote wasn't working very well, too small premises for breakfest. Location is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was seriously overpriced for the quality it offered. Even at busy times in Brussels, raising prices at that level for that quality is scandalous. It is old, in need of serious renovation. Rooms are furnished in a really basic manner. Bed matress was really uncomfortable. Pillows too small. Carpet of doubtful cleanliness. Shower too small and bathroom amenities very limited. WiFi couldn't take the traffic. Breakfast was ok, but nothing to write home about. Staff couldn't keep up with traffic at breakfast time.

    Really hard to say that i liked something. The fountain in the lobby was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room walls may be too thin - or maybe some of the guests were just too noisy.

    Delicious breakfast - the croassants were perfect, and so were the eggs. The bed was comfortable enough, and the room furniture had a really nice design. I managed to check in and out extremely quickly, which I really appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was so weak that it was functionally not working. It took 30 minutes to upload an email with two lines. I had to use roaming with my phone to have access to the internet. The room could benefit form a bit of renovation, painting, removing mould, fixing the tap which needs to be pushed with an incredible force to open and the shower head which only had a few holes functioning resulting in a piercing water beam. The staff was very kind.

    Location was great. Bed was very comfortable. Room size is ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was 5.75 € more (tax) than given in the Booking.com confirmation, which is said to include all costs that would be charged. The bathroom was pretty worn out, and in the room there was a carpet floor that affected my breathing. In the morning it took quite some time before the water in the tap and shower got warm.

    Good location at Place de Rogier and close to the Nord railway station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't expect much given the price (€85 per night not €40 mind you) but the cane furniture and the worn out furnishings is a turn off.

    The room was clean and the shower was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and the bathroom were uncomfortable. In order to reach the shower you have to climb a step and only then close the bathroom door because otherwise you are in the way of the door and blocking it. The hot water pressure is weak and therefore difficult to shower. Even though we complained twice about that nothing was done. The toilet was on the opposite wall across the room which is probably due to the age of the building, maybe it was added on a later stage.

    The hotel was clean. Towels are changed on a daily basis. The location is perfect for tourism.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One corner of the room presented some black spots on the wall that looked like humidity...As it was only 1 night I didnt complain but it should not happen in a 3 star hotel. Less important but a littlte detail that there was no hairdrier nor facilities for tea or coffe inside the room.

    Staff was really really nice and entrance of the hotel looked beautiful. Location wise its well situated within walking distance from the center.The bed was comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there isnt adequate wall plugs to connect chargers

    the hotel is minutes away from the gare du nord and the main shopping fair in Brussels making the location excellent. rooms were clean and the breakfast decent for the price paid

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More loo roll, and one more outlet socket (shared 2 between 3 people).

    Hotel was in a great location with easy access to shops and central brussels and easy transport links. Hotel room exceeded expectations it was large and comfortable and still kept its period details. Bathroom was huge and every room was warm and heated and was a joy to retire back to in the cold February month! We didn't have breakfast as this was not included but from what we saw the room looked large and people seemed happy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old fashion. The bathroom needs to be renewed. I had a problem of bad smell in the room. The morning after I complained and they could promptly fix it. Very efficient, indeed.

    Breakfast was good and the bed comfortable. Very close to the city center and to all means of transportation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was very cold in the rooms, I had to use hairdryer to worm up. Wifi was very, very bad. On one towel there were traces of lipstick - and I am not using one :) Hotel looks very old and needs refreshment

    Great location, good breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room not according to description + it was very old, for the price it could use some renewal (the bathroom was really falling apart). The mattress was extremely old and made me drown inside. Quite disappointing.

    Good location, very close to Gare du Nord, to the metro and to Rue Neuve where shops are Very kind staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of enough wall socket for plugging purposes. Too small shower, couldn't bend down in the shower cabin. Horrible!!

    Cleanliness of the property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s only good for a short stay, I guess. Room needs a repair and renovation here and there...

    10-15 minute walk to hystorical center, 5-7 minutes to the train and bus station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was one single power outlet in the room, hidden behind the table, so I had to move the table (and block the passage between the bed ann the table) in order to be able to charge my electronic devices. Bathroom is rather small and the whole hotel look and feels rather old and not very well maintained

    Perfect location, in a walking distance from Gare du Nord, city center and many office buidlings nearby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at this hotel in February and it was very cold in the room (and toilet). The room was poorly isolated and the existing heating couldn't deal with the cold. What is more, the furniture inside the room was very old and we didn't have enough natural light either. Also the water pressure in the shower was very weak.

    It was located next to the city center which was a good thing. The reception is well decorated in a vintage style. The breakfast was pretty fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful breakfast, really nice atmosphere. Also loved the decor, and lots of humor. Would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked the room with a price of €77 including all expenses and taxes. When I arrived at the hotel they added a charge of approximately €10 for a city tax, and insisted that it was additional. This was contrary to the information I had received and to me feels like a blatant lie that gives them a dishonest advantage on this site, as I chose it over other venues based on it being around €10 less expensive than competitors for this date. I paid by card and the exchange rate on the hotel card machine to the British pounds was close to 1 to 1, whereas the booking website had indicated I would be charged approximately £66. I thus felt I had been lied to for this. The hotel facilities are very outdated - the elevator creeps along between floors and you hope it will make it all the way up to your floor. The whole experience feels like being at a hotel in the late 1990s rather than 2018. The staff at check-in was friendly and informative, but at check out I had to wait in a long line and the member of staff was moving at the Brussels pace (that is his own pace, he got around to service when he felt like it and was not about to rush for a long queue of guests checking out). The room in particular was outdated - creaking floorboards, peeling paint, etc. In particular the shower was rather disgusting - when I turned it on there was a pink / brown-ish hue to the water that was unappealing and I had it run for quite some time until it turned clear. The heat was difficult to adjust and the stream was very weak. The main issue was that the room was FREEZING - Brussels was very cold this February evening that I stayed there and I was anxious to get into a warm room. I turned the one radiator to the highest temperature, but to no avail. I sported extra clothing to the freezing bed but was cold throughout the night nonetheless - I have been battling a cold since. I chose this hotel because I was just looking for a bed, a closet, a bathroom and nothing else.

    The Wifi was decent and the location in the city centre next to good public transportation links was convenient. Breakfast seemed nice, although I did not opt in to it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is great,the hotel is close to everything that is important. The breakfast was very good with everything you might need.The room was very clean.It is an old hotel but that is one of the things we liked the most since the reception and the dining room were exquisite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the grand scheme of things, these aspects were hardly a bother, but should be mentioned - the room was relatively small, and it was hard to find available sockets in which to charge our phones. The bathroom was also quite tight, and had a sloppy duct-tape job on the ceiling, as well as a shower which splashed water to the sides. We had initially stayed at a room where the toilet's pipes had water constantly running, making an odd and annoying noise.

    Me and my girlfriend came here for a short weekend getaway and couldn't have expected a better value for money. The place is extraordinarily well-located - less than a 10 min walk from Gare du Nord, and the Rogier metro station is just 2 minutes way - and has all the necessary commodities for a pleasant and smooth sleep. The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. The staff were also quite attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window in my room could not be opened. The shower drain kept regurgitating water. The breakfast room is pretty chaotic and the coffee there is terrible. At the bar we were served wine from bottle that had probably been open for many days. The only accessible plug to charge you phone, computer etc is in the bathroom.

    The room itself was clean, and fairly spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast is the same every day, the structure is really old, so if you have problems with old carpet, don't go there. Worth it to pay a little bit more and get something better. There where some boards under my mattress.

    This is a place for one night sleeping. The only good thing in this hotel is the location and it is cheap.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too little sockets in the room. It was not possible to use a hairdryer and charge a phone at the same time.

    Excellent location (very close to the center, underground station Rogier, Brussels Nord Railway station). Towels were changed daily, clean rooms, polite staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs in hotel quite slowly responded to customers’ needs. There was also no refrigerator and hair dryer provided.

    The hotel has a very good locatuin. I easily accessed to metro and bus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is stuck in the 70s. There is only one plug point in the room for your electrical devices (unless you want to unplug the fridge). The shower cord was leaking and there was water sprayed all over the bathroom.

    close to underground station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot building works that started on the Monday morning outside the front of the building and my room window was just above it so It was very noisy only on the Monday morning and it woke me up early :(

    Staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was nice and quiet and everything was easy to do (checking in / checking out / free WiFi) with no stress. Hotel room / bathroom was very clean. Very basic facilities but the price was very cheap so no complaints from me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was unconfortable, None of the TV channels had good signal. The bathroom was clean but very old and shabby. Reception let me standing 10 minutes ignoring me until someone acknowledge me and said 'hello'. A small greeting and a warning it would take a few minutes would have made a world of difference. The hotel was overall okay for 1 night but I wouldn't like to return.

    The location is great and the room was bigger then I expected. (135)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked hotel des colonies but the hotel placed us in the adjoining hotel “hotel siru” We booked for two nights but didn’t even stay one night and we weren’t refunded our money for one of the nights. The hotel rooms are dirty and the facilities are dated. We are two girls in our early 20’s and we were placed on a floor with lots of loud men who were banging on doors and walls at night. It was terrifying so we checked out and found another hotel

    Do not stay in this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was not welcoming. Did not smile, and during the check-in process made me feel like I was stupid. Looked at me rudely, and answered my questions in a rude manner. From Friday to Saturday there was this huge group of Egyptians I believe. They were extremely loud, rude, and just caused a bunch of ruckus. They sat everywhere in the lobby until there was literally nothing you could sit on, talked loudly, and the kids were talking and running up and down the hallways. This was 10pm

    Big big washroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ordered a room for three, however, facilities in the room were designed for two persons. Two shelves, lamps, chairs, wardrobes (although one was locked by third bad) Third bad was just put additionally. There were not enough plugs in the room. We used ones from TV and Lamp and they were built in a very uncomfortable location far away from bads. The window was stuck and we couldn't open it. Taps in the bathroom either very hot or cold, both separately, you couldn't use warm water. No hairdryer as described. Overall, room very old with poor isolation. No better than a typical hostel. Wouldn't go there anymore.

    the only good thing about the hotel was the location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have generally very bad experiences with booking.com after they cheated me out of over 30 euros and didn't want to return them. The hotel itself was okay, big disadvantage - no water to drink in the room. If you want you can buy a small bottle in the machine downstairs - for 3,5 euros!!!!!

    Very good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival the staff were rude and did not provide a good overview of the property. The lift was slow, tiny and old. The hotel is dated and overpriced for what it is.

    décor in the entrance and the location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room walls are very thin so you can hear every sound the neighbors make. Facilities at the hotel are quite run down and are in need of repair (e.g., torn blinds, broken bathroom door locks and leaking shower head). There is no hairdryer in the room, no cattle, cups, tissues or fridge in the room. The hotel was trying to get me to pay a minibar deposit in advance for the room that had no minibar at all. There was only one working socket in the room (for that you have to move the furniture around as it is hidden). The shower had problems with hot water. The bathroom overall is extremely small. Every day there were problems connecting to the hotel Wi-Fi, from time to time it was completely off. The hotel as says there is cable TV in the room, however the quality of picture and sound is so bad that I could only watch 3 out of the advertised 48 channels.

    Location - close to metro station and walking distance to the Grand Place. The lobby looks nice, you can play pool at the tables located in the lobby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    this is a historic hotel with one of the best locations in the city. We enjoyed walking outside the hotel and walk through the Christmas market. The staff are friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly small for 3 person in one room. But its okey we survived.

    Location, location, location. Nearby to nord station, opposite public transportation station and grand place in walking distance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looks really old Bathroom is good but too unnecessarily big The bed is not good at all

    The location is great. It is a great center to walk to many attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest they have a board on the sides of the steps in the corridor down to your rooms from the elevator like they have in the foyer, otherwise it's an excellent place

    Lovely old hotel in beautiful condition

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was really tiny, there was no hair dryer at all. The toilet doors did not close properly, and the balcony doors were stuck..

    the location is good. close to the metro station and railway station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The checkin took huge time as the person in charge of the reception was extremely slow (more than 30 min to get us the room key). Yet, the worst part was that the room was extremely old. I tried to find photos of the room, both at booking or at the hotel website, but there are none. The rooms that are showed in website and at booking seem OK but the reality I faced was not the case. The view was to a closed backyard and the bathroom was miserable. It is very disappointing to reach a hotel extremely tired and get this type of accomodation. I advise other guests to be aware of the room you are booking as you can end up feeling quite cheated.

    Nothing in particular.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night made it difficult to sleep (water dripping, noise from neighboring rooms). Roadworks outside hotel not very convenient, but that’s not the hotel’s fault of course.

    Safe and comfortable accommodation, ideal location close to my workplace and to public transport, also within walking distance to the Grand Place. Great price!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures REALLY do not correspond to the rooms in this hotel. Also, the facilities are poorer than described. For instance, there was no hair dryer when there should have been.

    The location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and noise can be heard from the next rooms. You need your room card to use the lifts and to open the doors of the ways that lead to your room.

    Check-in was easy and the location in the city center just 5 minutes walk. Bed is confortable .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cattle to have would be nice with some tea or coffee as well as I would like to arrive in to warm room but not freezing one, especially when you come from freezing weather.

    Very good location and staff was very professional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very outdated hotel, it has not been renovated for a long time; no satellite TV, no hair-blower, no drinking water in the room; totally overpriced even for Brussels.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Des Colonies traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: