Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel du Commerce 4 stars

Rue du Pont 10, 6660 Houffalize, Belgium

#5 of 18 hotels in Houffalize

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 450 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, staff impersonal, cleaning service late and second day didn’t come at all, breakfast not healthy (mainly carbohydrates) and products not refilled.

    Great Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, in the middle of the little center of Houffalize. Nice little bars and restaurants nearby and the hotel has a wunderfull restaurant itself. Staff is very friendly and our dog was welcome too! Besides that it is a 5 minutes drive to the highway so in no time on the road again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was way overpriced (by a lot) for what you got. We paid €120 and expected what is shown in the pictures. However, the room was old and the bathroom was older. It was really small and I don’t trust that it was cleaned recently before we got there as it was dusty. The breakfast was ok but nothing particularly spectacular.

    The town was pretty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was not very hot in shower.

    Restaurant was exceptionally excellent with friendly and helpful staff. Food was delicious. Breakfast was in a nice bright happy room with good food. Felt very welcomed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of one bad thing

    Adorable hotel, delicious restaurant, huge room, comfy beds, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, reasonably priced. 10 Stars!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had dinner in the hotel, was too expensive, moreover it's not good!!!!! and staff can not speak English, wasn't friendly at all. I've been so many other hotels, but this one I will never come back.

    nothing that I like

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a bit tricky as there's only a few spaces. But we did manage to park nearby each day.

    Excellent location, Houffalize is a lovely town. Perfect for touring the nearby battlefields and museums.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room opened onto the inner "courtyard" and we were right next to the kitchen's venting pipe. We could not have our windows open when the kitchen was open because all the smelly exhaust would come into our rooms. This was such a shame, since there is no A/C in the room, and having the windows open would have been nice.

    The location and staff at the Hotel du Commerce were both top. I had trouble (lost in translation) with a staff member, and another one came right up to help. They provided extra towels pronto when requested. Also, the location in Huffalize is central - near a number of restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower curtains. We could hear to much noise from the hallway.

    Great location in the center of Houffalize. You will be welcomed in French, Dutch or English. It amazed us that Dutch was mainly the language spoken in the city. The breakfast was good and the rooms clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and breakfast staff were slack and not attentive. Bar staff gutted when we wanted to order a drink.

    Reception staff very friendly. Great location. Rooms are clean and very modern. Great bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to take steps to get rid of flies in restaurant.

    Lovely hotel in pleasing town. Great view as you drive down. This town was very badly damaged in Battle of the Ardennes. Check out memorial near church. Enjoyed everything about the stay. Spacious room, comfy bed. Easy parking. Good choice at breakfast. The staff were all smiley and helpful. We would certainly return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one grumpy waiter did not spoil the fun!

    Great young staff, very nice breakfast and situated in the middle of the town. We felt very welcome ans the atmosphere was genuine Belgian.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had an unpleasant smell coming from the drain and the bath had a shower attachment with no curtain so it was very difficult to shower in the bathroom. The floor in the main room was gritty and the heating remained on high even though we made numerous attempts to turn it down.This meant that it was uncomfortably hot in the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no regulation for the temperature in the room and it was exaggerate warm in the night for having a good sleeping

    Dinner was excellent as well as the cares from the staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C, spotty wi-fi

    In center of town; convenient free parking. Walking distance to the shops and cafes. Champagne with the delicious breakfast buffet. Quiet despite downstairs various and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    reasonable restaurant for evening meals but a little more expensive than other restaurants in the town

    good hotel in a nice small size town, good size room, very clean, very good breakfast, excellent staff who spoke some English which was good for us, would recommend and would use again if in area

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower curtain.

    Great place to stay, friendly staff and good service. Rooms were clean and spatious and we were spoilt for choice at the breakfast buffet. I can only recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very warm room (early/mid May).

    Good location, good breakfast and overall pleasant facilities for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was great and the bar was just perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not working heating in october. Very Old rooms. Staff don’t know English. Very expensive for 80 eur per night.

    Spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel dinner menu was a bit limited

    Excellent breakfast. Liked the town and very good restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food menu was not to our liking

    Good selection for breakfast Reception very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were poorly renovated. Bad smell in bathroom Very poor dining in hotel restaurant

    Very nice city. Nice hotel on outside

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff and good tasty breakfast. The service was exceptional

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had trouble with figuring out lights and heat in the room.

    The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing....

    The restaurant in the hotel was fantastic...definitely recommend the sirloin steak.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was disappointing.

    Nice room, quiet

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast : after 09:30 many things were already finished (pistolets, bacon)

    Nice renovated Hotel, excellent location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quaint and comfortable old-style inn with all the services of a large chain. Highly recommend this for anyone staying in the region

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice little village close to Bastonge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular

    Lovely setting by the stream which passes through this lovely little village.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A wider opening hours of the SPA, the four hours opening (16:00 - 20:00) was relaxing and nice but due to the limited open window, somewhat crowded.

    The nice and enormous bed, the fresh bread during breakfast and the friendly staff. The room and bathroom was really spacious.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Computerised lighting in bedroom and en suite very romantic but hard to work out.

    Stayed here for our visit to the Belguim F1 Grand Prix. It was a 30-40 minute easy drive to the circuit from a quiet direction so not too much traffic. We went for a Superior room on a Half board basis and were very pleased both with room and meals. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty to choose from, both hot and cold. Evening meals were of good quality although choice of menu was quite limited. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking and although in an ungated car park I would be very confident there is no cause for concern. This is small 'sleepy' style town with a very pleasant centre around the square and a dozen or so bars/hotels etc. Lovely to sit out over a beer. I am a keen motorcyclist and this area and hotel is well and truly marked on my list for a revisit. Thank you to all the staff for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi fi was practically non-existent in our room.

    Room was very large and quiet if you left the windows closed. Breakfast was included and they had good coffee. Cute town near Bastogne.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly they did nothing wrong but we had been spoiled by staying in a superior room last time which wasn't available this time. Advice go for the superior rooms and its great. Wasn't keen on the morning breakfast assistant eating whilst serving and staring as you ate breakfast. Other staff were brilliant

    Location

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very well run hotel in a beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very clean. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The room, the bed,and the food. BBC.and other languag's on TV. .wifi readily available.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Superb facility, extremely clean, staff went out of their way friendly, very kind. Beautiful village and excellent local beer

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No specific downsides

    Excellent location and friendly staff. Good breakfast variety and good parking locations.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we felt that coffee/tea could have been provided in the room , we had a superior room and this in other hotels is covered as standard

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: