Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De Orangerie - Small Luxury Hotels of the World 4 stars

Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#10 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 682 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Some staff were very good, some not. Nice hotel but overall it could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    24 euros per night to park, at a not inexpensive hotel: 25 euros for continental breakfast per person (we politely declined): No help getting the car from the car park, it is not attached to the hotel, and is not an easy find from the car park to come back and collect our bags, so we both made 2 trips to the car.:

    Nice hotel, good location, very clean. Shame it had no bar and restaurant as the breakfast and drinking rooms were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Old world charm in the heart of Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking for motorcycle not on site as described but 200m away. Charges for motorcycle parking same as car therefore very expensive.

    Lovely ambience nice terrace area to sit and watch the tourists scurrying by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Not the experience we were hoping for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were told on check in that the breakfast (25 euro each) was included, l questioned it twice as l was reasonably certain it was not, seems an odd mistake to make and one that could have involved a lot of extra expense, this was nothing compared to the coffee maker which was unbelievably noisy for a hotel, no late night or early morning drink without disturbing other guests and then there was the glass door going into the bathroom, it was smoked (lack of privacy) but the motion sensor came on as soon as you went near it, not practical for any early morning visits as it lit up the bedroom, we were not not impressed, a glass door was out of keeping with the style of hotel

    Great location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blood on the bed cover. Sad standards of linen and attention to detail for a luxury hotel. Our room was next to the lift and stairs and the major corridor. Did not sleep until 2am. We were told this was an upgrade but I doubt that.

    Location was excellent. Beautiful building. Fabulous breakfast. Staff were welcoming and professional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Hotel De Orangerie was an elegant, historic and comfortable establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The towels provided in the bathroom were thin and old, a surprise in such an elegant hotel.

    The location of the hotel was superb, centrally located and provided a wonderful view of the canal. The terrace was a lovely option overlooking the canal. The breakfast room was elegant with an excellent breakfast offered. The staff worked diligently to make dinner reservations for us, making our visit to Bruges even more memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Stunning. A perfect Brugge experience,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive but beautiful dining room.

    Perfect for couples. Stunning hotel with perfect location for Bruges visit. Located on canal in centre of attractions. Terrace overlooking the canal. Beautifully decorated luxury hotel. Very clean and quiet. Would be perfect for a honeymoon or anniversary. Very helpful pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    A very pretty hotel in a good location with limited (hotel) food options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all staff were helpful. We tried to book a tour when we arrived but were unable to through the hotel. The individual working the next morning was excellent and booked a fabulous private tour for us as well as dinner reservations. We would have liked the option of dinner at the hotel the night we arrived.

    Delicious breakfast and beautiful lobby area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, and the facility itself was quite lovely, as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ended up with a basement “hobbit-hole room” with a very low ceiling. Good think neither my husband or I are tall. If you reserve, you might want to request being on a higher floor. Bruges is probably a very safe place, but the downstairs room is basically right where the boats load on the canal, and it felt quite unsafe.

    Great location, and the facility itself was quite lovely, as was the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Perfect short break in an interesting and fascinating City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed with their breakfast menu. Last time we visited, 4 years ago, they cooked us one of the best "British" breakfasts we have had anywhere and we were really looking forward to it but now they just offer the standard "tourist" buffet. Great shame.

    Perfect location, close to everything we wanted to see/do. Charming atmosphere, as Romantic as it was claimed to be, Charming helpful staff (even the Belgian ones!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is well located but poor value considering the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arranged afternoon tea for 3-30pm and although there were no other customers in the dining area it didn't arrive until almost 4-30pm. The cakes almost certainly had been frozen and the tea was from tea bags rather than loose tea. An experience worth giving a miss.

    The bed was very comfy as were the pillows. A decent size bathroom although bathrobes are not in the room but can be requested.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Fab location, everything was superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    Superb location, loved breakfast on the terrace overlooking the canal, the sun was out and it was a wonderful hotel. Lovely friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us during our stay. Parking was just around the corner so we unloaded first at the hotel and then set off to find the parking, which was very straightforward. (Think it was €20 per night.) The hotel doesn't have a restaurant which was fine as there is so many great places to eat in Bruges anyway, although we did have a lovely breakfast on the terrace as mentioned earlier. Everything was great for us, didn't need anything. Had a super time. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    The room was beautiful but a bit too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is truly overpriced at 25 euro per person.

    The room was beautiful but a bit too small. Our room was a duplex room. There were too many stools downstairs so it's a bit hard to open our luggages. The hotel was a small beautiful hotel located near Bruges' canal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Probably the best of all the 20 anniversary trips we have taken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked a free standing mirror to use on the dressing table so that I could put on my makeup in the bedroom while my husband was using the shower which steamed up the mirror in there.

    Customer service was exceptional. The coffee machine in our room could also make tea a great plus for the British. Being given a nice hotel bag with bottle of water, apples and napkin for our journey home. A very nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.5
    A lovely hotel with a great location and freindly staff. We can reccomend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is poor lighting in the lounge part of our suite despite lots of switches and lights in the ceiling that don't work. Bath robes, tissues in the bedroom as well as bathroom and a turndown service should be included at the price and quality range of the hotel. The small safe is in a dark cupboard so hard to read the dials, it's also too small for today's electronic gadgets we all travel with. We also had a temperamental coffee machine which chewed up the coffee sachets. All small niggles that did not spoil our overall enjoyment of our stay.

    Staff were friendly and efficient. Our junior suite was spacious and comfortable with a large comfy bed. We couldn't find a real local café for breakfast so had it in the hotel, it was expensive but very good with lots of choice such as eggs, bacon, pastries, meat, cheese and gorgeous bread! We had afternoon tea which again was expensive but really good. Hotel is central for the old town just a couple of streets from the Markt and overlooking the canal. Lots of places for lunch and dinner scattered across the city. We took the bus from the rail station which was simple and dropped us at the Markt, where we also took the return. Using a guide book we walked the streets and once away from the central area, which was incredibly busy, we found quaint and quiet streets to explore.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Close to everything, beautiful location but reception was a bit cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt impersonal, not very welcoming -- perhaps they were understaffed

    I think I just preferred a bit more personal experience, we typically stay at smaller luxury hotels and just didn't find the service very personal, in fact - a bit cool. The location of the hotel is excellent, and the weather could not have been better so all the ingredients were there to make for a great stay. This was our last night of the trip and we were excited to stay at Hotel de Orangerie, we were just underwhelmed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    A good find in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a small double, not much space available and the bathroom door was just a frosted room divider more than a door which I didn’t like. Upon arrival, €50 is held on a card as a deposit and supposedly released upon check out. I waited two weeks and after chasing the hotel, the hold on the funds was finally released. Something that may have been a genuine oversight but worth noting.

    The location was excellent. The hotel reception area, saloon and restaurant were impeccable, beautiful interior and very welcoming. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had everything needed, very well maintained with good facilities. Complimentary chocolates in the room were a very nice touch. Beautiful views from the saloon over the canal and a great place to enjoy a night cap from the well stocked drinks table. Very homely, yet oozed luxury. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    We would choose somewhere else .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was down 2 steep sharp marble steps and the lighting in it went on automatically when you opened the door , so woke the other person if you needed it in the night . Very overpriced .

    Very nice setting , overlooking a canal , very central.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in the wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park location is about 10-minute walk to the hotel. The WiFi signal was quite poor.

    What we like the most here are a) hotel style, b) location, c) amenities in the bathroom and d) helpful staff. The overall hotel decoration is quite lovely. The hotel manager and a reception lady are quite helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of anything to suggest as an improvement. This is my #1 choice for future trips to Brugge.

    This family run hotel is in a perfect location in Brugge; about 1 block off the main market square, but still quiet at night. The dining room overlooks the canal and you can enjoy a wonderful afternoon tea in the dining room or the terrace. The staff is very kind, helpful, and professional - they work hard to ensure that you have a good experience and feel at home. The entire hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful romantic hotel at the hearth of Brugge. Staff is extremly helpful and polite and there is a great story about Georges, a teddy bear waiting for you in your room :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location in a busy city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central location had a downside of being too busy. Lots of foot traffic and people. Can get overwhelming if you’re not a crowd person.

    The location was perfect and central. Close to all the important sites. Our Lake of Love room overlooked a canal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    After a long flight it was a lot of luxury and relaxation. A perfect start to our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were excellent. They made excellent restaurant recommendations and nothing was too much trouble from down loading train timetables, ordering a taxi and checking train times. The breakfast was magnificent although far too much to eat!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay and near to some fantastic restaurants and local attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was expensive (possibly not for Bruges) and some distance from the hotel. Whilst our room was very comfortable with a nice view over the canal because of the age of the building the floors do suffer from creaking so if you stay there try for a top floor room or bring ear plugs.

    Excellent location with only a short walk to anywhere. Good selection of items for continental breakfast with a hot selection on request. This a very homely hotel with good décor and nice fires to sit around in the evening. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. we stayed for 3 days and would have been happy to extend it if time had allowed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Gorgeous room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking out. Booked through Booking.com and so hotel withheld the full amount a week prior to the visit. The amount was not released by the hotel during the visit or at the end, and so when charged upon checkout, the balance appeared to have been taken twice. The staff explained that it was only 1 charge that had been taken; however, the available balance within my account appeared lower by twice the amount of the hotel charge. Consequently, my bank had to use my overdraft which I was charged for and I had to personally chase up the release of money, post visit, twice.

    Gorgeous room! Helpfulness of staff. Free upgrade to celebrate a birthday. It was a beautiful room and we thoroughly enjoyed our surroundings! Clearly understand how it has been given the title of small luxury hotel of the world!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Have stayed here twice and there will certainly be more stays here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this boutique hotel does not disappoint. One of my favourite places is the library with warmth of the fireplace, comfy chairs, a view over the canals and a self-serve / honour system bar make a leisurely afternoon, or evening, even better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Had a great time in Bruges, but would have to think hard about hotel before going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chairs in the dining room were excruciating, I ended up with a bad back after the first mornings breakfast so we went out to eat the following day. The only other complaint was the amount of external noise very early in the morning on Friday, lots of recycling collection, bin lorries, and worse, crashing and banging in the hotel corridor

    The staff were excellent and the location was good, the breakfast was excellent, but spoiled by seating

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Prefect location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    leaving to go back home

    Beautiful hotel,excellent location, warm confortable Heritage room with a large comfortable bed ,excellent power shower great temperature control,nice warm lounge area with log effect fires burning all the time, Breakfast was excellent lovely pasteries great selection of cold meats, freshly baked loaves great choice of jams,great coffee ,and even a large bowl of assorted chocolates, lovely breakfast room with a view over canal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel worth a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being overlooked by high windows into room meant we had to keep our curtains closed. Top window not netted. Some flickering lights were annoying.

    Comfortable room in a very historical and interesting building. Good view from public rooms. Great shower and tasty breakfast. Helpful reception. Excellent location for centre of Bruges.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Our new room was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to move room because of the noise of the extractor fan in the bathroom which could not be turned off. The staff gave us a free upgrade without argument.

    Our new room was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful and perfectly located small luxury hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic small hotel, with amazing staff and wonderful spaces to relax and enjoy the open fire and the one of the best G&T's I have ever had!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Quintessentially Bruges, cosy garret room, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are expecting pool and spa etc... it isn't that type of hotel! Think 25 Euros for breakfast on top of a 300 Euro room is a little steep.

    Quintessentially Bruges, cosy garret room, beautiful communal room and fire, helpful staff, central location - was on the pricey side but worth it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.8
    Overrated for the service offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room quality not up to the price Living room area too small for accomodate the guests Staff not very friendly Charged additional 3% for payment by Amex

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    “Luxury small hotels” living up to its name
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very difficult to find anything negative to say about our experience at this hotel.

    It was the perfect mix of old world romanticism in a Christmas picture-perfect context.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    We were put in a ground floor room by a side road and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were put in a ground floor room by a side road and backing on to the hotel entrance and close to reception which was at times a bit noisy. The room rate was significant so we didn't expect this. The hotel was fully booked and so we could not move to another room even though we did ask.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    Overall we enjoyed our stay, however the bad smell really ruined the ambiance of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the smell of methane or sewage smell in the room. We were a new room across the street from the main hotel. The hallway and our room smelled like a sewer leak. We complained to the desk clerk and they responded with an air freshener in the hall which just blended the smells. The first night we had a hard time sleeping because the odor was so bad. Apparently the neighbor room also complained.

    I liked the proximity to the center of the town. Everything was within walking distance. The parking for our car was convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful hotel in a great location but choose your room type carefully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was a little disappointing. It was really small with no view. The bathroom had a glass swing door which did not close so offered absolutely no privacy and the mini bar fridge was incredibly noisy throughout the night so disturbed our rest. The cleaning wasn't up to my expectations for a place of this standard either.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic. The facade and all common areas are really beautiful and felt very festive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish my room had a view, but hey, it didn’t spoil the trip in the slightest!

    Beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Staff were so lovely and nothing would’ve been too much trouble had we needed to ask for anything. Room was comfortable and quirky. Slept so well! Breakfast was fabulous and everything so fresh. Would recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    We stayed in the comfort room, ok room, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the bathroom door, my husband is a builder and believes it was fitted incorrectly, let me explain. The door has one side that is tinted black whilst the other side is see through. Unfortunately when you are in your bed you can see what’s going on in the bathroom, also when the light goes on which is sensor driven it’s blinding in the middle of the night. When you are in the bathroom you can’t see out, this obviously doesn’t offer any comfort knowing your partner can see you sitting on the toilet on the other side!! Plus the door didn’t even lock/shut Most embarrassing. This was bought to the attention of staff at the hotel, the response was they are renovating some of the rooms???

    We liked the internal decor of this hotel, it’s held onto its heritage. The hotel is centrally located in Brugge so you can easily catch a bus or train. It’s also waking distance to all restaurants, whether this be in the main square or off the side streets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    A lovely hotel with wonderful staff in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didnt like the fact that there was no hot water on two mornings til 10am. Not what one would expect from a hotel of this class and this price!

    The Belfry suite at the top of the building was extremely well appointed and comfortable but what made the stay such a pleasure was the smiling helpful staff particularly the lady receptionist M who used her own car to take us to the railway station when there was a 'no show' from the taxi company. Without this wonderful service we would have missed our Eurostar connection in Brussels. Thank you M!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely experience of an olde world hotel in the centre of picturesque Bruge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay and loved Brugge,the only problem was getting to the Hotel but i think it was made worse as the are re doing the main square .!

    Lovely old family run hotel right on the side of the canal,super position.We stayed two nights we were in the basement room which was fine, probably better in summer when you can use the terrace right outside.Breakfast is served in a lovely room filled with antiques and old oil paintings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    An unexpected treat in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely with a view over the canal. And yes, the bed was extra comfy. A very warm, inviting lounge with fireplace. Staff were extremely helpful, attentive yet unobtrusive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    It was a beautiful hotel and the location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Canal View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a beautiful hotel and the location was amazing. We paid £285.00 for one night for a double canal view room, but I am not sure if it was worth that amount in all honesty. It was a lovely room, but a bit overpriced for what it actually was. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    I liked it being on the water.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the room you booked for me and had to upgrade and not much upgrade available. The room you booked was on the ground floor with no view at all. Not acceptabe so I would worry about your rooms in the future

    I liked it being on the water. Breakfast was excellant a lovely bar. Shame they did not do dinner such a nice place to be in

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Short stay to see the beautiful city and appreciate the architecture and history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really needing renovation but appreciate this must be very difficult to do regularly in such an old historic building. Otherwise lovely.

    Beautiful building and lovely location right on the canal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Romantic break for wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say.

    Beautiful well located - just lovely hotel. Staff were exceptional- informative / friendly and so nice. Fabulous room - heritage room. Breakfast was really good - recommend the poached eggs. Great location. Easy parking. Terrace was beautiful. Worth having a quiet beer watching the world go by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    A two night stay that could have been longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice to have had a restaurant on site BUT not really a problem as there are loads of places to eat nearby.

    lovely building, full of character. Great location and they do a nice afternoon tea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable fresh welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we don't drink coffee some chocolate sachets would have been welcome.

    Clean and quiet. Loved the shower taps. Didn't need a PHD to work it. Apples welcome, as were the toffies.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Super Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrace on to the canal, no privacy, it is where people wait for the boat,till 6 pm, Front Entrance is shabby, needs refurbished in the lounge area.definitely NOT a small luxury hotel of the world, we will not recommend , SORRY.

    Location was excellent, they did upgrade our room, because we had 4 cases of luggage, traveling from Australia.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful and characterful hotel in the heart of Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A glass bathroom door and a light that turns on and off automatically is a very bad combination when you need to visit the bathroom in the night, and than have several minutes wait before the light switches off! The window was open when we arrived which aired the room nicely. Unfortunately Bruges suffers from a significant mosquito problem in July, and we never did manage to evict them all

    Breakfast was excellent, in the restaurant or the terrace looking out on the canal. The location is very peaceful despite being right in the centre of Bruges, and all the staff were both efficient and charming. The building has great character and works very well. The room was quite small but well equipped and very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful, romantic, boutique hotel in the centre of Bruges with wonderful terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was pretty special but if I was being picky I would say the drinks are expensive

    Beautiful boutique hotel, great location, attentive staff, lots of little extras to make our stay special, wonderful breakfast, fab terrace and views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    The place was great and the staff very friendly, we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was great and the staff very friendly, we had a fantastic week-end. Location within Brugges is very central and a great starting point to discover the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about the hotel except perhaps people queue for boat trip right where the hotel river terrace is situated. The terrace would benefit from some planters to separate the terrace from the queueing zone.

    Beautiful interiors, friendly and very helpful staff and scenic and central location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    The Place to Stay in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easier parking. There was some confusion about where to park and we were blamed for parking in the wrong spot in their shared garage. It wasn't our fault because a sign on the ground was moved to the wrong spot.

    Beautiful and perfect location. A most elegant property. Near one of the best restaurants in Europe, Quatre Mains.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Casts a spell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would prefer tub to a shower.

    Wonderfully appointed salon and breakfast room, probably most beautiful we've visited. Many centuries old yet with wonderful light coming through the Rennaissance windows, and with inviting seating near the fabulous fireplaces. Great bedroom. This special atmosphere was augmented by the interest and concern shown by the family owners and their staff. Excellent breakfast, perfect location right on the canal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Everything cute and quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi fell out one evening making it unable to do our work.

    Fast check in. Very friendly staff. Room was very cute. Location was superb. Present on check out ( never had that before). Quaint hotel. We had a great experience

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    Location was the best you could get, nice small boutique...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dusty shelves in wardrobe area, leaky toilet and poor seating for breakfast.

    Location was the best you could get, nice small boutique hotel with character.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Romantic Hotel in centre of Brugge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small hotel, no restaurant service available but local restaurants are plentiful, would recommend Duc de Bourgogne close by. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, charming Hotel character, great views of Canal and Dijver from reception rooms. Our second visit and would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Wonder stay...will stay at this hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay. Location was perfect. Staff was very friendly. Family owned hotel. Everyone was so helpful. Everything within walking distance. Canals, house and carriage, market square, restaurants. Parking was down the street, only 5 mins walk away. 24 Euro per day. We parked and was able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Didn't remove our car until we checked out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel, great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Breakfast only started at 8 which is fine for holidaymakers, less for business travellers (and I guess business travellers are less common at this hotel)

    - This hotel was fabulous: great location, a 2 minute walk from the market square, and just absolutely beautiful inside. - Each room has it's own style, best of the old world mixed with a classy modern bathroom and good wifi. - Delicious breakfast served in a gorgeous room overlooking a canal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.2
    perfect place for a romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps it would be nice to have a better shower in the bathroom.

    Perfect location in a quiet street right in the historic city center. Very friendly staff. While staying here you can imagine yourself to be a king or queen. The decoration is absolutely marvelous. Take the afternoon high tea! It was delicious. The breakfast also was worth the money. Perfect place for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Only had 1 night in Bruges...right hotel to stay in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit old... coffeemachine in the room didn't function well...

    The beautiful bar and the attention of the 'picnic bag' gives it a little extra! Thumbs up

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Afternoon tea on the terrace overlooking the canal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was overpriced only ate it to use the room.

    Hotel was beautiful , room was lovely, bed was super comfy , staff so friendly and helpful. My wife and I had the champagne afternoon tea on the terrace , we would highly recommend it!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Great location, nice cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had an automatic light on a timer that was right in front of the bed (door was dark glass) so that was a little annoying. The shower head was not the best although the water pressure was good.

    The location is great. Our room was The Heritage room and it was roomy and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the reading room downstairs was really nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    City trip long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location, friendly helpful staff. Great sized room and well appointed bathroom. Coffee maker in room. Lovely view of canal. Breakfast good choice. Gift bag on check out was very useful for trip home.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    5.8
    Small and overpriced room - better look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly there were building works on the canal right in front of the hotel so not much of a view. Secondly I was travelling with my sister so had requested a twin room - once by email and once on the phone and was assured this was confirmed. When we arrived the room was very small, the "twin beds" consisted of a double bed divided into two mattresses. We were told there were NO twin rooms in the whole hotel, when I requested a larger room the rather unhelpful staff did not even bother to look into this although the hotel was obviously not full. I feel I had not been given an honest answer about the facilities when we made the booking, especially as I checked twice. This was a really special pre Christmas treat for us, and if you pay this much you really don't want to be squashed however luxurious the wallpaper is.

    Cosy fire, luxurious lobby, well situated.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Incredible- Highly Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have liked an onsite restaurant.

    This was such an amazing stay, loved the roaring fire and the drawing room, red wine was wonderful and the meat platter, staff so friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Great New Year's Eve in Bruges and Orangerie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise between floors was a problem if the room above was occupied

    Location and staff and the building is beautiful - rooms were large Really nice touch inviting all guests for champagne on NYE. Very nice to stay in a family hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    Superb luxury boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - simply perfect

    The location is perfect, in the center of the city - the property is beautiful and luxurious , lived the bar lounge in front the fire place - staff was great and super friendly - its a must stay in hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    Charmed
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much.

    What a lovely place! It's magically charming, the staffs are helpful and friendly, our dogs were welcomed with warmth, and its central location is convenient.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Lovely choice for festive fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly bigger room perhaps, however I booked late, so can't really complain and it was still lovely.

    Loved the individual room names. Adored the bar lounge and dining area.. Loved the perfect location. Lovely friendly staff. Very clean, tidy and comfortable. Really sweet gift on departure.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    Quaint boutique hotel in a good location but breakfast very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only offered eggs for breakfast as the hot option. No English cooked breakfast. They do not park your car, you have to drive it around the one way system to their car park. The hotel used to do this for you a few years ago. It has changed ownership. We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and the breakfast was a lot better and the service seemed better too.

    Lovely quaint hotel, relaxing open fire in sitting / bar lounge. Excellent location. View good from top floor room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Christmas Fair visit (Bruges lovely as always, Fair very disappointing).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An odd complaint but the water pressure was so high that it kept forcing the shower hose off the wall (being just a hose from the central bath tap) so we couldn't use it.

    Décor and ambience. Afternoon tea. Secure parking just150m away.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.2
    Perfectly located ambience & comfort in the Centre of Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one small item....although shower hose was available there was not a stand up shower arrangement which I prefer.

    Relaxed and exclusive feeling in unbeatable location for exploring Bruges. Our room was particularly well positioned at low level at canal side with doors leading out to canal terrace. Breakfast / Tea room was a nice place to be especially if table at the window is available. The reception and waiting staff were very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.6
    Sumptuous, Stylish & Full of Old World Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    having to ask for bath robes

    Love the look and feel of the communal areas, especially the lounge - great place for a drink in front of the roaring fire on a cold winters evening! Superb room. Will defiantly visit again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    8.3
    Lovely mini break. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old which is all part of its charm but you should bear this in mind when booking. If you're looking for mod cons you could be disappointed. The room was small and only had a shower attachment over the bath, for example. There was no separate shower that you could stand up in and there were a few old, loose plug sockets. The staff and location more than make up for this though.

    The location is amazing. So central to everything and right on the canal. The staff were all brilliant. So polite and accommodating with our every need.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: