Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boat Hotel De Barge 3 stars

Bargeweg 15, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#62 of 102 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1627 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    6.7
    Very good location, close to historical city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, declared one large side bed, but in reality it is smaller bed with 2 big mattresses, we try not to fall to the floor all night. The towels in the bathroom very old. The water pressure in the shower too low and the water tempreture is not stable. The parking 150m from the hotel which is mentioned on the booking site is the temporary parking (up to 4 hours). The bigger parking is close to train station about 400 m from hotel. Correct information regarding parking could be added to the booking side with explanation how to find it.

    Very good location, close to historical city center. The price is OK for this location. Unusually to stay on the boat. The personel on reception is friendly, he gave us the whole useful information and some tips what to visit in the town including the interesting places away from the main tourists routes. Thd breakfast is OK.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, with great view and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel, with great view and delicious breakfast. Ideal place for romantic getaway. Our room was nice and clean, the bed was very comfortable. In love with this place😍

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.8
    We had a lovely visit and hope to come again someday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the buses and lorries over in the lorry park was annoying so early in the morning and also the drivers arguing amongst themselves. Next time we will ask for a room on the water side.

    We have always had our own caravan and travelled all over the continent with it. Living in the Hotel de Barg was very similar with the built in chef. Really first class.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    Great couple of nights for my Birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a little on the small size but what else do you expect on a barge. Room needs a larger tv and positioned in a position to actually see it. But to be honest who needs a tv when Bruges centre is so close..

    Great location just on the outskirts of Bruges on the Canal. Only a 10 min walk into the centre of town. Fantastic Breakfast both Hot and Cold options. In Fact almost every option available for self service. The restaurant was the same diding room as breakfast but as you look through the windows at the canal you could be anywhere. The food was outstanding, perfectly cooked steaks and a great little bar. I would definitely recommend the Boat Hotel De Barge and will be staying again soon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.9
    Right on the water, Room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waking up with a view of the river was lovely! Ducks woke us up with a symphony of quaking! We loved it. Evening service is pretty much non-existent which makes for a quiet stay but stock up on anything you will need before you go. Location is excellent. Room was lovely. We would go back!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location of the hotel, from Bruges train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location of the hotel, from Bruges train station just 10 minutes walk. The room had all convenience and always had hot water. The Internet worked stably and at high speed. Every morning, ducks and seagulls sailed straight to the windows of the room. A classic tasty breakfast... and croissants are really airy :) The city center along the canals and beautiful streets on foot could be reached in 15-20 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.5
    Ok for two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather gloomy with partially screened car park outside the window but quite noisy. Sliding door to bathroom and light for bathroom is in bedroom so at night wakes the other person up because difficult to get into bathroom without putting light on! Noise from other guests late at night . Riverside would be much nicer.

    Different experience to stay on a barge

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer my scrambled eggs and bacon to be cooked a bit more then they prepared them. But that is just my preference.

    I really liked the location and the staff were very nice. The pictures online were very accurate. The room set up was really good for a small room. Plug ins were where you needed them and mirrors to get ready were in the perfect spots. The attention to detail in the rooms was spot on for a barge boat theme.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small mistake on our booking but they rectified it

    we've stayed there 4 time's before . you just park up your car & no need to drive it's just a short walk into brugge

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    The Boat De Barge was a unique experience in hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    The Boat De Barge was a unique experience in hotel accommodation, floating on the water a with views across the water to countryside was an absolute delight. One that is appreciated by many people judging by the number of guests staying there. Ideally placed for sight seeing in Bruges, only approximately 15minutes walk from the centre. The onboard restaurant was good for evening meals and the breakfasts are also very good, but the egg boiling machine needs careful timing to ensure an egg of required cooking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Special way to stay the night/visit Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the boat was unpleasant: some green from the river banks. Parking for the car was at 500m from the boat on a free parking (and in case that was full => parking at the station (€3,5 per day)

    Breakfast was very good. Location is very good for visiting the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall we had a really nice stay on the boat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only a coffee machine in the room, no kettle for making a cup of tea. The bath room had a flickering light which was an inconvenience but not bad and while it wasn't unclean, the bathroom decor and facilities were tired looking i.e the shower doors were once a crisp white but now beginning to yellow with age.

    I stayed in the captain suite, I liked that this was at the back of the barge and looks out on to the canal. The room was comfortable. The window was open on arrival which left the room smelling fresh. Good choice of breakfast foods in the morning. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay. The location is perfect, close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. They accommodated our request for a gluten free breakfast (due to my husbands Celiac Disease). Overall a very positive experience. I would recommend this hotel to my family;y and friends.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    It’s nice to be different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the silly reviews other people write about it being cramped, damp, dirty etc. Utter rubbish. It’s a boat for goodness sake and a very nice boat. Can’t wait to stay again.

    Great location. 10 minutes walk from the centre, yet peaceful. Something different from the norm. Can’t wait to stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Delightful, peaceful and convenient. A perfect base for exploring Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was too short!

    Loved having ducks on the water right outside the window! The cabins are cosy because they are just that - cabins - don't expect palatial rooms - it's a boat! The bed was really comfy and the shower was hot and really powerful. The boat is in a really quiet location but with the centre of Bruges an easy and pretty 15 minute walk away. The man on duty when we arrived in the evening was very helpful and welcoming; so too the man on duty the next day who was very friendly and kind. The boat is dog-friendly too, which was a must for us. Our dog found it very comfortable. And as for the breakfast buffet - a positive feast of hot dishes, cold meats and cheeses, croissants, bread and pastries and home-made marmalade and jam. Absolutely delicious. I would stay here again without hesitation if I return to Bruges.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Lovely experience staying here while in Bruges enjoyed the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely experience staying here while in Bruges enjoyed the peacefulness and highly recommend dining here too. We had to leave early and could take advantage of the breakfast so the staff kindly packed it for us to enjoy on the bus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable. Brugge is a beautiful place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dismiss the Google directions from the Railway station. Turn right out of the train station and walk 400 metres and barge on the canal on the right near the bus car park. Too far to walk through the parks the other way

    Atmosphere was brilliant. Not far to walk to old town. Quiet at night. Bed was so comfortable . Breakfast was very good hot and cold available. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in lovely old barge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited car parking by the property

    Beautifully decorated old barge. Comfortable room. Good dining room with lovely food. Lovely bar area with good range of bottled beers. Pleasant outside terrace. 5 minutes walk from Bruges city centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable well appointed rooms with canal view and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't realise there was a motorway bridge over the canal within earshot of the barge and a coach park on the other side. Location of the barge is not in the nicest part of the area and a 20 minute walk to Markt through the park. On one night a barge carrying cargo parked up in the canal directly opposite my room and ran its engine all night. Had to pay extra for tea making facilities.

    Comfortable well appointed rooms with canal view and plentiful breakfast taken in pleasant surroundings. Literally five minutes walk from Bruges railway station. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Lovely being on the water watching the barges motor past and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like except soundproofing not as good as we would have liked.

    Lovely being on the water watching the barges motor past and hearing the ducks quacking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    unique hotel a Barge on the water in Brugge, we had the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, would stay agian

    unique hotel a Barge on the water in Brugge, we had the officers cabin very comfortable beds, good shower lots of hot water, very extensive buffet breakfast with hot option and all cold cuts with a very good cup of coffee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Very unique play to stay in lovely Bruges. Great waking up to ducks on the canal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is well over 150m away in the train station car park but it is cheap. No tea making facilities. Smelt a bit damp and could really do with a refresh all round.

    Location and breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Authentic barge with character, comfortable bed, good shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade , although I can see why they want to hold onto the character , TV didn’t work

    Authentic barge with character, comfortable bed, good shower , peaceful, reasonable breakfast, helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made a booking for two couples. The booking was non-refundable. Unfortunately the other couple had to cancel for family reasons. We had no expectation of a refund and totally respect that. We did ask if they could transfere to a later date but were told no. Once again acceptable. However when we left they charged us a 12€ City fee. I think after getting 300€ for nothing that was pure greed. The room was also a lot smaller than the one pictured. It was necessary to shuffle sideways around the back of the bed to reach the other side. There was an old towel stuffed down the back of the radiator. Thought to remove it but then wondered why it had been put there. Hopefully gone now?

    Location was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    A quirky little hotel with small & basic rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit small and dated and very stuffy but a fan was provided and that helped a lot.

    A quirky little hotel with small & basic rooms.Loved being on the canal and a nice location to be able to walk to the city centre. A nice breakfast too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Great Location next to station! AMAZING CITY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right next to the train station and extremely helpful staff. They let us keep our bags after checkout so we didn't have to carry them all day for our night train. So fun, awesome stay!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Most comfortable bed, away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't the best, difficult to control and very hot, but we managed. Seemed petty to complain when everything else was so great.

    Most comfortable bed, away from home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Original
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was a bit warm, luckily the temperature did not go above 23 degrees. The reception service was very friendly, in the morning at breakfast a smile from the ladies would have been welcome.

    The boat is at the border of the centre next to a beautiful park. The walking distance to the main centre is 15 minutes. It is a very original place and we liked it a lot. We will be back 😜 Breakfast was great and the dinner we had was good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was good and relaxed - a reasonable food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very hot day 30 deg c + and a warm night to follow. It was a bit like sleeping in a sauna... We were pleased that we had booked a larger room. There was a fan available ( hidden in the wardrobe ) but there are more effective fans on the market. An extra charge was made for tea and coffee facilities in the room; this seemed a little excessive considering the room cost.

    Breakfast was good and relaxed - a reasonable food selection. Bed was comfortable. The reception staff were very helpful. The barge is not in the town centre -- though it is a 10 -15 walk to the centre it is a pleasant one and you are away from the majority of the crowds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    A nice place to try but with paper thing walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin, you can hear everything from rooms next door. Also, the bed that were supposed to be a large one were two single ones put one next to the other, watch out!

    Breakfast included was really good. Staff was nice. I have no other complaints.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Hotel was very nice and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit small and the view was not good.

    Hotel was very nice and accommodating. The room was cosy, comfortable and clean. Staff were very helpful. Nice breakfast with good view of the ducks!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    A charming and unusual setting with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little cramped, but understandable when on a boat. Just a shower cubicle - no bath.

    Our room was ground floor looking out onto the canal with the water and ducks 50cm below the window sill. Same for breakfast room. Absolutely charming, and quite different. Some passing boat traffic, but not excessive. Staff were very helpful with directions and recommendations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    THE BARGE IS A VERY RELAXING PLACE TO STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE FACT WE WERE TOLD IF WE WANTED A THREE COURSE MEAL THEN 21.00 WAS TOO LATE TO ORDER! WE ONLY WANTED A MAIN COURSE AND THEN NOTICED SEVERAL OTHERS BEING GIVEN MENUS AFTER WE HAD EATEN! THE OPENING HOURS STATE OPEN UNTIL 22.00HRS

    THE LOCATION OF THE BARGE AND THE GOOD CHOICES FOR BREAKFAST

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    This is a unique hotel in a great location for the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a unique hotel in a great location for the centre of town but very quiet. Breakfasts were great and offered a wide range to suit must people. The staff were friendly and helpful. An excellent value for money hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take bug spray or plug in

    Good breakfast, 10min walk to the city but a very beautiful walk through a park and some lovely squares with shops and restaurants. A great location. I’d pay extra and get a river view, well worth it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conveniently located. Good parking. Only a short walk into the town. It was a nice change to stay on a canal boat. Very quiet and comfortable. Great breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.6
    You are better off with a budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite overhyped and there's no novelty factor apart from some life jackets placed on your bed. The rooms are extremely small and cramped. It's 15 minutes walk from the center and the owner doesn't take guest complaints seriously. We had literally scalding hot water coming from the shower, no matter how much we turned the valve in any direction. We complained at the front desk the next morning and left early, we were promised it would be checked and figured out. We returned 8 hours later to find out the front desk had no idea about our complaints rectification and the owner had just brushed it off thinking some melodramatic tourists can't handle water at room temperature. The front desk guy then accompanied us to the room to check himself and agreed that it's pretty bad. Mind you, that this is the hottest week in Belgium and we can't take a cold shower. The poor guy gave us two paint buckets to use the water from the sink to take a bath. The wifi was also really spotty. I would definitely have been better off saving money and staying at a budget hotel instead because there was no ventilation in the upper deck room which was really hot and all we had for cooling was this tiny little fan that barely moved air. We had to ask for a bigger fan and the reception guy gave us his fan that he was using at the front desk.

    The front desk staff was at least helpful and the view from the lower deck was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    If you are looking for something different and good location this is for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really hot when we stayed so we had the windows open but there was a horrible smell of sewage that came in.

    The location was good, we managed to get free parking out the front, however this is limited. The person on reception was very helpful and recommended places to go in Bruges. The room was nice and clean with a great en suite. Lovely breakfast provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyable but quirky stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and in need of updating There is no air conditioning so even with a fan rooms very hot Breakfast whilst good spoilt by scrambled eggs which were out of a pre mixed box

    Staying on a Dutch barge was a little different. It was an enjoyable stay despite some minus points Good points include location and novelty of accommodation Breakfast buffet was generally good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    A quirky hotel on a barge.The facilities are adequate and the setting beautiful,parking a problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because the barge is dark,ventilation can be a problem,when the weather is hot the rooms can get quite warm but each room was supplied with a fan. And during hot weather you do get the occasional waft from the open sewer in the bus park opposite (where the busses empty their toilets).

    Quirky and in an ideal spot not far from the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Great peaceful Location close to Historical Centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location on the Canal near the station. 5 free parking spaces across the road or park car at train station 150 m away, for a very cheap fee. This is the place to stay especially if you are arriving by train or car. Short walk through the park into the Historical Centre of town. Nice and peaceful on the Canal at night. No airconditioning, just heating for the winter, as it is a boat, but opening the cabin windows allowed a cool breeze to come in off the Canal. We were there when it was 30C which is very hot even in mid summer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    In a quiet area but about 15 mins walk to both the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In a quiet area but about 15 mins walk to both the main station and the historic town centre. From the moment we arrived - four hours before check-in, as we'd just got off the overnight ferry (NB if you get the ferryport bus into town the place it drops you is literally across the road from this hotel!) - we were made to feel very welcome. Receptionist took our bags to storage and gave us some money-off vouchers for various touristy things. The room itself was lovely, very comfortable bed, nicely decorated, and ducks swimming outside the window. Very good buffet breakfast too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Location barge is on a canal near train station and not far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small but have to remember your on a barge so cannot expect big rooms and en-suites.

    Location barge is on a canal near train station and not far from the center of the city. Was a different type of experience than staying in a hotel and we really enjoyed the experience. Staff were lovely and very helpful and the breakfast was fabulous with loads of choices. Rooms were clean and loads of towels. Overall a memorable trip to Bruges for us. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I are genuinely baffled by the high ratings this hotel receives. Antiquated interior throughout, photos on booking.com very out of date, ex-twin room carelessley made into a double, lights blinding and mismatched, if not broken. Restaurant closed unexpectedly and bar closed at 20:30 - we had to drive to a petrol station for a bottle of water, bathroom cramped and damp smelling - shampoo provided opened and clearly used by previous guest. Resturant/bar badly in need of decorating - felt cramped and claustrophobic at breakfast, which we chose to skip. Parking a walk away, down busy road to station. Couldn’t wait to get off De Barge. No apologies given when we discussed our disappointments with member of staff in the morning.

    The ducks and ducklings outside our bedroom window. Initial welcome at reception very informative.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Peaceful location. Far away from the town centre. Superb breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far from the activities. old barge. small rooms.

    Excellent breakfast. Not only the quality of breakfast was excellent but also the river view through the windows was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    Very Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a room with a Double bed which was actually 2 singles pushed together. We were originally given two single quilts and had to request a double. Tv near ceiling and unable to tilt so you couldnt see it properly from the bed. Breakfast wasn't great, completely self serve no staff around at all. Only saw 1 member of staff when we checked in and out. Quite expensive for what you get.

    Novelty of being on a boat. Decor was quirky.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant break on our journey. Will be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a little way from the centre of Bruges for anyone with mobility issues, but was a pleasant stroll for us.

    A fantastic novel experience...waking up on a lovely sunny morning with the ducks outside the window waiting for their 'breakfast' . Friendly staff and great food. Recommended if you want something a little different. Enjoyed our stay on the Barge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    The accommodation was very quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was very quiet. Nice personal and absolutely cool owner. Every evening a social event. Live music. The rooms are very well equipped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    100% recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely love this hotel. The only place in brugge we stay with the same room every time lovely staff, lovely restaurant, very clean the beds are so comfy and the location is perfect 10 min walk to main square

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Interesting experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensure you get a room looking onto the canal otherwise you could be anywhere.

    A very unique experience in the heart of Brugge. Excellent restaurant and breakfasts, very knowledgeable staff and lovely view when given a canal view room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    An idyll on a barge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    This place is lovely. Only a short walk from the station, but don’t Google Map it. Instead, just turn right and walk about five minutes until you see a bus parking lot on the right. Wake up to ducks swimming beneath your window. Walk through the park across the way into the heart of Brugge. Great breakfast, too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Really unique experience to live in a boat- hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of air-conditioning, rooms a bit out-dated

    Really unique experience to live in a boat- hotel. Even if rooms are a bit outdated, still the general style is kept and it's quite nice. Really enjoyed the breakfast! Also staff is really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay whilst on a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only very slight negative is that there is virtually no parking on site but there is room to pull up outside and drop off your bags before driving to a secure car park at the train station which costs 3.50 eur for 24 hours. The station is about a 10 minute walk away.

    Superb barge that has been converted into accomodation and a restaurant. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the view from the restaurant/breakfast room is so relaxing. The barge is about a 10-15 minute walk from the centre but it's so nice after a day exploring to come back to the peace and quiet. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves great food and breakfast has all the usual food with great service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    I loved this place and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything. No negatives

    I loved this place and the staff. Away from the busy Market but easy walk into city from canal. Absolutely the best hotel experience I’ve ever had. Casual but unique barge atmosphere. Super staff. Restaurant serves excellent food. Great breakfast bar. Comfortable clean rooms. Windows open to green trees with sounds of birds or the canal. Very close to train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Quirky and romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very good place to stay if you want to explore the town. It takes about ten minutes to walk to the centre from there. It is easy to park nearby (which it definitely isn't if you stay in the centre of town).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Ducks and a canal view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the converted barge excellent appointments and asking for a lower canal room meant we opened our window just 8" above the canal and fed the ducks while kayaks went by. Super bathroom. We also booked a lovely dinner and bar was excellent. It is about a 20 minute walk into town but doable and only five minutes from the train station. Rooms are more than adequate given one is on a boat. Super relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    If you’re looking for something a little different, this is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re looking for something a little different, this is the place to stay. Lovely boat house/hotel right on the canal and only 7 minutes walk into the main town. Fantastic breakfast and a unique experience. Please know that you are on a boat, so the rooms are not big, but nicely decorated and comfortable beds. And if you like feeding the ducks, they come right up to your window! There is also a very good restaurant on the barge as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    GREAT Location, Staff great, bed comfy and they supply a fan in the room, get the canal side room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant on the barge was not my favorite, the soup was VERY salty. But the restaurant next door was excellent and the prices were better on the boat moored right next to the barge.

    The rooms are small, but the location to old town city center, 15 min walk, bus and train station 10 minute walk. The hotel was secured at night, they had a bar until 10 pm. Which you could get beer or soda's. Breakfast was good. Staff very friendly and helpful with information.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Ship ahoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware that the Salami at breakfast buffet is not peeled

    The Botel is located a nice 10 - 15min walk from the historical city enter. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast quite OK. As this is/was a ship, space is limited but the flair is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Always wanted to visit Bruges and this first visit did not disappoint. Can't wait to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night

    As far as I could see in our short stay, nothing could be improved in our overall experience.

    The food was excellent in taste and quantity. Breakfast was excellent. Room was clean, bed comfy, decor unusual but imaginative. Staff very efficient and friendly. Near enough to walk into the centre of Bruges.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Really lovely riverside room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really lovely riverside room. Would thoroughly recommend paying the little extra for this, rather than looking at the riverbank! Very easy walk into the centre of Bruges, through a pretty park. Was slightly put off by the proximity of the coach park when we arrived, but actually all the daytrippers go home at night and you have Bruges to yourselves (almost!!). The interesting accomodation made our weekend really special - loved waking up next to the ducks and geese!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic Location, would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Had to be careful with the shower door as it was a bit loose - Requested a double bed but had two singles pushed together

    - Location was amazing, very close to Minnewater Park - Beds were comfy and had nice personal touches - Breakfast was great, lots of options and had a seat next to the window. - Staff very friendly and helpful, gave us lots of information about the area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Quirky accomodation on a barge but could be so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no drinking glasses in the room. I eventually found another visitor who had a used one in his room that he let me have for the night as the bar area was all locked up. The breakfast was not very appetising which was a shame as the rooms were nice and the staff and location were excellent.

    The staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and informative. The location was good for both the train station and for the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent time in Brugge, made so by great accommodation in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small, though not unexpected as this is a boat. Also, quite warm without aircon but not unusual in Europe.

    Position relative to the station and the town. Very nice themed accommodation and meals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Cosy cabins in a barge, lovely ambiance & close to train station. Freshly baked bread for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Electric jug in room would have been nice.

    Intimate surrounding very close to train station with accomodating and very pleasant staff & generous breakfast with freshly baked bread, the canal is a little smelly though

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    The Hotel Barge is off the beaten tourist path but close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel Barge is off the beaten tourist path but close enough to enjoy all that Bruges offers- plus it is located in a canal. You wake to bird calls, the water and a view of a beautiful green forest. I would highly recommend this spot!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff and awesome room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had yes & coffee making facilities in the room :)

    Very friendly staff and awesome room. Partner was a massive fan of the breakfast provided, it was delicious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great location, super cute decor, comfy beds and great view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, super cute decor, comfy beds and great view (riverside). Bruges is a very busy town - it was nice staying out of downtown but still being only a short walk away. The breakfast (included) and dinner was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    We loved looking out at the canal through the open window of an evening, very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault anything, however it must be noted that the room size reflected the fact that it was a barge and was perfectly adequate.

    Quirky accommodation, views of canal and opposite banks, quiet location within easy walking distance of both station and city centre. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay for exploring Bruges, and lots more fun than your standard hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not big - but it is a boat after all! And that means ducks swimming past your bedroom window!

    Lovely, quirky boat hotel. Lots of maritime touches! 15 mins walk to centre, fantastic buffet breakfast. Staff v helpful, especially at check-in with the lovely, enchanting Emily...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    I've enjoyed staying in the Amsterdam Boatel and enjoyed The Barge.Except Boatel is more central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult parking.There are only about seven spaces allocated to the Barge, nearby street parking is only alllowed 8 pm to 8 am. The first night I parked in a main road leading out of the city about 600m away. The second night I struck lucky and parked at the hotels. Location.A longish walk into the City centre. One route is scenic the other is along a ring road. Note main train and bus station is 500m, so is OK for visitors without cars but make sure you have a wheelie bag. Location is QUIET

    Lovely outlook from the cabin to the canal.Good breakfast.Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    beautiful Bruges Barge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I said,duvets (quilts) were a bit hot for the very warm weather,thats all

    have stayed here before and just love it. The beds are very comfortable but due to the very hot weather found the duvets a bit warm.However the location is superb,great breakfast buffet and thanks to the staff who were so helpful and understanding when my partner was unwell.Definately coming back soon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Weather was great and location perfect . Loved Brugge and will go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Barge was showing its age and the w/c was so high I could barely use it and keep my feet on the floor. I am short but not exceptional short and I never been confronted with such a high loo. That was a detail but it is fair to say it was adequate but could do with money being spent to bring it up to modern travellers expectations in my opinion.

    The location was good and the staff were fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    A pleasant and unusual place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down-side is that the place could do with some refurbishment. It’s quite tired. An update would make this a gem.

    It’s a quirky and unusual hotel on a boat. It’s very close to the centre of Bruges, convenient for walking. We could park the car opposite. The staff were helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Quirky and welcoming base to explore a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really friendly place to stay. Delicious breakfast (woke to smell of fresh bread each morning), good quality dinner and cosy cabin with views of working boats on the canal.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Boat Hotel De Barge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: