Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De Castillion - Small elegant hotel 4 stars

Heilige Geeststraat 1, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#4 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 955 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful and central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It is expensive but definitely a special treat

    The room was decorated beautifully; the staff were very helpful and friendly; the location couldn’t be better; lovely public areas

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Once you get there, all is well.
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to the hotel is very challenging. Recommendation for property: provide up-to-date directions for car access with booking confirmation.

    Excellent location to explore Bruges on foot. Very good breakfast. Beautifully decorated rooms and public areas. Pricey, but worth it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great attention to detail, courtyard is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, great attention to detail, courtyard is lovely. Our triple room was comfortable and quiet. Staff are polite and helpful. I cannot wait to be back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Extremely comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift. Didn't have time to use the hotel bar.

    Extremely comfortable room. This hotel was a delight. The whole hotel including our room was bright, comfortable, clean and fresh. The bathroom was excellent with a more than ample supply of towels. The breakfast buffet was amazing although a little on the expensive side. The quality and amount of food available was, however, excellent. The one downside about the hotel was the lift which was very slow. Our fear of getting stuck in lifts meant that we took the stairs, which were narrow and a little steep. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this hotel. Friendly and professional staff. Comfortable accommodation, well decorated throughout and beautifully clean. Good choice at breakfast. The location of this hotel is perfect. Easy to get to all points of interest but in a quiet spot away from the main tourist streets. We would happily recommend this property to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay in a beautiful place in the heart of the town.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a good time in Bruges and the hotel played a huge part in that. The room was beautiful, all the necessary appliances were there and were operational (which, let's be honest, is always the case). The staff was helpful and available. Very nice and professional. And then there's the building and the surrounding area. In the heart of Bruges, we were overwhelmed by the charm of the place. Congrats to the owners and the staff, you've got an amazing hotel in your hands. We're definitely coming back to your establishment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect family run beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Personal touches everywhere such as chocolates. Beautiful decorated hotel. Amazing selection for breakfast, all homemade. Super friendly staff. Cannot fault our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Hotel de Castillion is quite simply the loveliest, most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Hotel de Castillion is quite simply the loveliest, most exquisite hotel we have ever stayed in. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a balcony overlooking the pretty courtyard and a gorgeous bathroom, bathrobes, slippers and big fluffy bath sheets, as well as the usual standard towels. The room was large, airy and quiet with a seating area and a desk. A coffee machine, kettle, ironing board and iron were also provided. The bed was supremely comfortable. The hotel’s interiors were amazing and spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was the best I’ve ever encountered with wonderful choices of fresh breads, waffles, pancakes, pastries and cakes, fruits, cold meats, cheeses, smoked salmon, juices, bacon, scrambled egg, sausages, cereals and the most delicious fresh from the farm yogurts etc. My mouth is watering just thinking about it all. It was very central in the old town of Bruges but set on a peaceful corner. It was a real privilege to have been able to experience this beautiful hotel. It added a whole new level to our enjoyment of the city of Bruges.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    All round superb hotel in an equally superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    All round superb hotel in an equally superb location. The staff were very warm and friendly, the rooms were sumptuous and tastefully decorated. I cannot fault Hotel de Castillion in Bruges.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they charge 25 Euro’s per person for breakfast if it’s not included when you can get breakfast for 8 euros nearby.

    We loved everything about this hotel and it’s in a very convenient location within easy reach to al the sites to see in Brugge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very quiet, but also in a very convenient location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Very quiet, but also in a very convenient location! The room was beautiful and clean. The bar and courtyard were very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    We were in Bruges for just 2 nights and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful, tasteful decor; warm, friendly, helpful staff; luxurious rooms with very comfortable beds; pretty little courtyard to rest after a busy day walking; wonderful spread for breakfast. We had never been to Bruges before and had a very short time there, so wanted the best possible experience. This hotel certainly gave us that - definitely worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So friendly and helpful with check in so clean and boutique hotel just like a castle. Would highly recommend. Breakfast was lovely lots of different options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Historic building with modern amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had reserved parking at the hotel, but, due to road closures and Bruges' confusing one way systems, it was absolutely impossible to find out way to the hotel in the car. I'd expect the hotel to give instructions prior to arrival, but they hadn't. We had to park in the public Concert Hall car park instead (which was far cheaper anyway!) Breakfast was pretty expensive too, so we ate in a cafe down the road (which was delicious!)

    Great hotel in a characterful old building, yet meeting all your modern needs on the inside. Our room was compact but entirely practical, giving us everything we needed in its quirky layout. Staff were really helpful. Luckily we had excellent weather in Bruges, and the hotel's little courtyard is breath-taking in the sun (even non-guests were stopping by to take pictures of it).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel that we would absolutely recommend. We were sad to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included and a little pricy. We did not eat there so cannot say how it was.

    The property was beautiful with a cute little courtyard to enjoy in the evening. The room was small but comfortable with a coffee machine and wonderful robes. They even left treats on our pillows at night. Everyone was very friendly!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A truly wonderful stay in the centre of Bruges at a hotel that exceeds expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect for us.

    Everything about this hotel was superb and exceeded expectations - wish could rate it 11 not 10! The room was big, very comfortable, well lit and immaculately decorated. You remind yourself to get out into Bruges, not just sit relaxing in the room. We were lucky enough to also have a small secluded patio area for our room (No 2). The location is excellent, right in the centre of things next to the cathedral. One of the best breakfasts and choices have had, "English" + Continental + "Belgian waffles and pancakes. All of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, right down to the King Charles Cavalier dog "Jacques". We also drank in the bar and lounge area in the evening, again well served, with local beers (you could also have international if you wanted, but why would you when you are in the beer capital of Europe) and at reasonable non-Markt Square prices. Thank you to everyone at Castillion for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic small hotel with a very friendly staff, clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym fasclities

    Fantastic small hotel with a very friendly staff, clean and immaculate, and exceptionally helpful staff at the reception, particularly Nick. Excellent air conditioning,very convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Romantic getaway at Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out is at 11 AM, quite unusual. No bottled water provided at room.

    Facilities are AMAZING. our room was incredible and spacious. 2 minute walk to all major attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, great location in the heart of the historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing hotel, great location in the heart of the historic center of the city. All hotel staff were extremely polite and helpful. Cleanliness was excellent and the food in the breakfast buffet plenty and well prepared. All and all, we had a splendid time staying there. We will definitely prefer it, if we ever visit the city again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellen accomodation in the beatiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    Lovely hotel, very quiet and centrally located at the same time. Nicely decorated. Beds are very comfortable and bathrobes are soft. Tea/ coffee facilities in the room. Bathroom spacious and comfortable. Good quality food served for breakfast. Really good service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    A brilliant place to stay. Cannot recommend it highly enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This is a brilliant hotel! Clean, very stylish, comfortable, breakfast was delicious, beds very comfortable, staff were all great, great location for siteseeing. The rooms were spacious with seating areas, good tv coverage, kettle, coffee machine in fact I cannot really understand why it only has four stars! The communal areas were spotless, comfortable and very opulent. Loved eating breakfast down underground! Loved meeting Jack!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Like a castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, could not say anything wrong even if I wanted to

    Everything. The whole place is lovely, clean, elegant, wonderfully decorated, very cozy, like a castle. The room is spacious, had all the things we needed, coffee machine, hair dryer, very comfortable bed, etc. The breakfast is delicious, not too big variety, but finest quality of everything. Location is also perfect, few minutes walk from the center. The staff was very helpful, check in and out quick and efficient. The salon is also beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Romantic hotel in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is one of the most romantic hotels I have ever been! The whole hotel is superbly designed from the rooms through bar and saloon; every minute there was a pleasure. Breakfast and service were excellent, location right where you want to be, and not as expensive as you'd expect for that standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    The perfect hotel for a perfect weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When staying in one of the expensive suites it’s a shame you have to pay for parking at such a high rate

    Hotel is absolute perfect in every way. You will not be disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Charming stay in Bruges!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a lovely stay that exceeded our expectations! The team was so nice and helpful. The rooms were well appointed, comfortable, and cozy. We thought the location was nice - a quick walk to the key attractions, yet quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous but beware of extra costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit over priced - i.e. when you are paying that much breakfast and parking should be included!

    Modern design but sympathetic to the original building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Terrific double room, marvelous decor throughout (wish we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Quadruple Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific double room, marvelous decor throughout (wish we had time to spend in the small bar and tea room), perfect location for walking to squares, churches, shops, and museums, and friendly, attentive staff. Recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to be negiative, it would have to be the glass toilet door. It wasn’t a big issue, but it could be off putting to others.

    Great staff, excellent location, the room was lovely. Great window view in our room too (see attached photo)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Friendly, courteous staff, beautiful hotel, fantastic location! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    One (not really important) down side is the lack of room service menu in the room, although resolved via a call to the polite reception staff who can inform you of your dining options.

    Friendly, courteous staff, beautiful hotel, fantastic location. Highly recommended hotel! Parking in Brugge is almost impossible so the onsite hotel (off road) parking (at a fee) is a bonus. Rooms are truly beautiful. We highly recommend the Bridal Suite! We will be coming back again for sure!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Our best stay in Bruges so far and we have been many many many times before. What a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was lovely, all fresh baked goods, the staff could not be more helpful. They even allowed my aged mother in law to change rooms to a ground floor room with disabled aids to make her life easier after the first night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Perfect child and pet friendly accommodation in great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a wonderful place inside and out. We traveled with two small children and two dogs. We received the best service. The family room was so perfect. My kids never wanted to leave. Everything exceeded expectations. We will surely return and highly recommend to all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Very nice property / rooms with a vintage style bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was freezing outside and the room's heating system had problems with keeping up the temperature at a reasonable level.

    Very nice property / rooms with a vintage style bathroom. Great breakfast buffet with a wide variety of choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay and enjoy Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was excellent, one of the best hotels that I have stayed in and would certainly come back. Incredibly well positioned in the city to make exploring super easy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Perfect little getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every fine detail was excellently presented. This family owned business makes it very pleasant to stay here. Very high standards in the room and the rest of the hotel. Always went the extra mile

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, kind staff, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was way below our expectations. Hotel is overpriced taking into account the low season and the services you get.

    Perfect location, kind staff, comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the extra bed was in fact an extensible armchair - not at all confortable, drafty cause by the window the shits were overused the glass doors in the bathroom didn't close properly

    very good breakfast nice room, comfy bad

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, staff were lovely and welcoming, location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great hotel, staff were lovely and welcoming, location was spot on, only 15min walk from the station and same again in to the twin centre. Room was great, good size, comfortable bed and almost complete black out blinds make for a solid sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    would seek this out to stay again and will recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    really just a minor thing: a little plastic guard at the bottom of the shower door. we got the towel pretty wet because of it.

    staff was really good and there was a lot of attention to detail, like little candy jars throughout the hotel, towels delivered outside the room when the do not disturb sign was on, a great lounge area to hang out, and an easy survey to leave feedback in the room. the location is fantastic and, most importantly for us, the room - even though in the center of the city - was very very quiet. a great shower! and, though i did not like the bed when i sat on it, i had one of the best sleeps while there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Great! But in Bruges is that enough?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    In any other city in the world this would have been an exceptional establishment. However Bruges has such amazing hotels that it is very difficult for even the most perfect hotel to stand out. The thing it lacks is a position. For example Van Kleef or the Secret Garden both have remarkable locations on the canal (and are a bit more expensive). This hotel is much more a house in a street. A very nice house in a very central location. But compared with some other hotels in Bruges it seems perhaps a little ordinary.

    This is a lovely hotel. Nicely and professionally put together. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite which is a large and comfortable room. Difficult to fault.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Amazing staff, we couldn’t find the hotel very well and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Amazing staff, we couldn’t find the hotel very well and ended up dropping the car off 10 minutes away. They were more than happy to walk and get our car for us. Room was amazing, we booked a junior suite and didn’t disappoint. Breakfast also very good with a huge variety. Family run hotel but exceptional rooms, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    The perfect hotel for our couple + pet retreat.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't realise breakfast wasn't included so that was a slight surprise. Also, it would have been nice for parking to be included in the price.

    The hotel is absolutely lovely! The hotel is beautifully decorated and has such a homey yet luxurious feel. We brought our dog with us which was no problem at all. The bed was extremely comfortable, the wifi was great and the bathroom had great facilities. Perfect hotel for our holiday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful, elegant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We were there off season so we got exceptional service. The bar and sitting room, and bedrooms are furnished to a very standard and were very comfortable and conducive to a very relaxing break. Staff were very helpful. Location could not have been better in this memorable city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Charming old hotel, luxury stay in a friendly, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Quadruple Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very hot and air con kept defaulting to 24 degrees. Entrance to car park through stone archway was very very tight in our Range Rover!

    Charming old hotel with high quality refurbishment, Artisan chocolates on pillow, soft fluffy towels, jars of sweets and biscuits great treat for the children. Breakfast was an amazing selection of delicious foods. Intimate bar and seating areas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    excellent location, lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    if I could criticise anything it would be the silly cheap plastic cups in the bathroom. It was a big downgrade. I understand the plastic for safety reasons, but the super cheap plastic cup felt out of place. It's a very small thing and not important really. The overall experience was beyond our expectations.

    excellent location and lovely hotel with very good breakfast. Staff very helpful too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    This hotel blew me away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel blew me away. From the moment we got there the staff were so friendly and helpful, provided maps of where to go and gave us a complimentary anniversary drink and snacks. THe room was glorious, so perfectly presented with rose petals on the bed, his and hers sink and bath robes. The hotel is so beautiful and the decor through this elegant and grand... it was behond what we expected and I can’t thank the staff enough for all their help and friendliness. This hotel is prefectly located by the markets, shops and restaurants. What an amazing stay for our anniversary, thanks for making it so special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautifully decorated, immaculately presented everywhere and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I’m being really picky... we had a junior suite. The roll top Bath with shower over it was lovely apart from the shower curtain wrapping around you not giving much space for showering. It was a cold bathroom unless you took all of the towels off the towel rail/radiator

    Beautifully decorated, immaculately presented everywhere and the Art Deco bar room is stunning. Very festive Christmas feel and you can feel the pride the family have in owning and running the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    Great apart from cold bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold bathroom

    Lovely hotel and lovely staff. Great location. Our bathroom was super cold and we struggled to keep the room at a constant temperature but apart from that perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Traditional romantic hotel on a very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The minibar prices are ridiculously high to Belgian norms. The life is ridiculously slow to all norms. As it is an old building, some wooden beams can be too low for tall people - also in the shower ;)

    Traditional romantic hotel on a very central location. We liked the atmosphere, the small bar downstairs and the generally kind staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel in a beautiful city, I will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is BEAUTIFUL. I would definitely stay here again. There were some great little personal touches like chocolates outside your room when you came home of an evening. The hotel was immaculate and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is on the expensive side but definitely worth the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    Very pretty hotel in a brilliant position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room so climbing over suitcases .Hanging space for clothes was about the width and size of my suitcase .The only shelf space for flat items of clothing was a small cupboard unopenable as it was blocked by the radiator which seemed ill thought out and useless.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Romantic and charming place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in the room unusable, the viewing angle is terrible and TV didn't worked. We asked at the reception for it to be fixed, however the problem was not solved. Lift in the facility is terribly slow.

    Cleanliness, bed comfort, extra towels in the bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    A lovely weekend in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast costs 25 EUR per person per night, which, considering the price of the room is way too expensive.

    The reception staff is very calm and professional. The accommodation is small, so you can get anywhere easily even if you have some heavy luggage. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. I definitely enjoyed every second spent at Hotel Castillon. If you are looking for a romantic place in town that's the perfect cocoon ever. Will definitely come back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    A luxury hotel with the best personal atention
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel its beautiful, tourist keep taking pictures outside. The owner its always looking to improve your stay, help,you with reservations amd personally lloking for every detail. The rooms are beautiful, everything its clean and in perfect conditions. All the hotel instalations are like new. Excellemt maintenance. Breakfast its very good. Location. its the best in Brugges. I recommend it 100%. Satisfaction garanteed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our first time in Bruges. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. The location was very central. The decor was beautiful throughout. Our room was luxurious and and the bed was very comfortable. The owners were extremely welcoming and hospitable. Breakfast was amazing! We couldn’t have asked for anything more. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    excellent stay would come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    liked everything

    Excellent hotel - the beds were comfy, room was very clean and stylish, staff at the front desk were very helpful and provided good recommendations on places to eat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Delightful little hotel! Would stay again and also recommend!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't really think of anything! Finding the place is a challenge! We gave up on Siri as she got lost, once we got into town. The Garmin in the rental car took over and got us to the hotel. Lots of tiny streets with quick turns this way and that, but worth the drive! Not a lot of parking, but the hotel has a small lot for guests.

    What an adorable place in the old city! A hotel that is loved and has been lovingly restored! Wanted to stay longer and would return, given the opportunity! Staff VERY helpful. There is a lift (elevator), but it is VERY slow, so allow time. Room and bathroom were very aesthetically pleasant and comfortable as well. LOVED the little Orfina candies in the lobby! Not too many hotels have a church virtually in the back yard! Always enjoy church bells! Breakfast was a lovely spread, down in a cozy basement! (See pictures) Hotel in a good location to walk around the old city. Very special little place!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful, renovated boutique hotel in heart of Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to the hotel by car along the narrow pedestrianised streets in central Bruges is challenging, but management went the extra mile to help us get there safely!

    A beautiful boutique hotel right in the heart of Bruges. The management could not have been more helpful, particularly when we had difficulty getting to the hotel due to road closures. Recently renovated. Couldn't fault it and the location was perfect for visiting Bruges. Recommend you book a car parking space in a their small but safe car park in advance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    The hotel was recently renovated and it was so well done!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was recently renovated and it was so well done! Beautiful finishes that are current but reminiscent of the elegance of interiors from long ago. The room was so well appointed- it had everything! The street view was even adorable! The beds were very comfortable with high quality sheets. The bath room has to be my favorite bathroom ever with an amazing shower and bath tub. The hotel is run by a family and they were very courteous, helpful and welcoming. The location was fantastic so close to the heart of the town and many shops and restaurants. Really lovely hotel. We are so glad we stayed there!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in the center of Bruges with delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    All ok..so nothing to say.

    Very good family restaurant in the center of the city and many good restaurants and of course excellent pubs with delicious beers. The hotel is very cosy, clean and parking places. Breakfast was amazing with a lot of choice. Certainly a place recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Charming stay in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard for our taste. The staff worked with us to improve our comfort level. Happy with results. Kudos to the staff!

    Loved this charming little hotel! The breakfast spread was very nice, elegant setting in an old wine cellar. They even had champagne to make mimosas. Location was great. Off the beaten path somewhat, but close to pop down the street into the action and a short walk to main square. Beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful, charming boutique hotel and one that I will stay again should I visit Brugge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing I didn't like about it, I would say the breakfast could have expanded in its variety but that's not to say it wasn't sufficient.

    The hotel was very welcoming and warm. The staff always available to help and they did whenever we needed them to. The room was stunning in terms of comfort, cleanliness, everything was well thought out and beautifully decorated. My son loved the chocolates bowl in our room and the chocolate biscuits left on the pillows each day. The locality was absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    From the moment of reception, until we checked out, it was a perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was weird, but we are American and it was probably just an adjustment issue on our part.

    The room was clean and had plenty of room for our clothing. Breakfast offerings were varied and very good. High tea was AMAZING!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Perfect for weekend city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine

    Family run hotel is absolutely great. Nice interior design, location is perfect for sightseeing, very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet and comfortable room. Very lovely breakfasts with good choice of food, high quality of products. We felt like a home!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was in a great position to explore Bruges. Our room was gorgeous with a very comfy bed and very clean. Oliver who runs the hotel with his Sister was a great host and nothing was too much trouble for him or the other staff. Our stay at this lovely hotel made our wedding anniversary very special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    beautiful hotel, gorgeous town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bigger parking area is really the only thing that could've been bigger (many guests with cars so we had to double park and leave the keys at front desk)

    bed very comfy, temperature - air conditioning COLD just how we like it! bathtub was very nice and chocolate gift at night yummy, very pretty hotel and DOG FRIENDLY - those two things typically don't occur together

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Good location for a city break. Have breakfast in the city square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room is in the basement, with no natural light. The furnishings were not of the same standard as the rest of the hotel, and the breakfast itself (and the service) whilst perfectly acceptable, was uninspiring.

    Perfect location for sight seeing. Lovely, well furnished room. Small on site car park. Hotel helpfully provided directions for arriving by car, and locations of public car parks near by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    This family run hotel with its recent renovations is an excellent respite for any traveler!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have appreciated some snacks or breakfast to be included given the premium room rate.

    The family room was perfect with its 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms separated by a very cool staircase with 2 king sized beds! The teens were very pleased with the Hotel and the terrific wifi. We loved the location - best in Brugge!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Belgian beer everywhere and stay in the center of historian age
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Real heart of city old town, everything close and can reached by foot. Nice small hotel, historic building, from the window the abbey's cathedral windows can be seen, amazing. Funny room, there was no door on bathroom and just glass door on toilet 😁👀

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    A real gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Hotel - comfy beds and great location. Very nicely appointed rooms which are both traditional with modern features - usb charging etc. Family run and we felt very welcome. The bar and Art Deco room are stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Prefect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small by American standards, but completely within expectations of typically sized European rooms.

    Charming and upscale! Completely enhanced the Brugge cultural experience!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    -nice bathroom but little things like shower curtain was impractical ( better to have door ), no place to keep shower gels, etc also when showering -stayed in junior suite but still could here footsteps upstairs ( bad floorboard insulation) -could here the flagpole hanging outside room especially at night which was annoying -very limited minibar -expensive for what you get

    breakfast was good and staff were very accommodative

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant as all ways
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found no dislikes. So Perfect place to stay !!

    Very good !! a must Hotel to stay in, caters for all ages, and a big bonus for Brugge is this hotel has on site parking. The owners are very nice people, its really nice to find a family run hotel these days, If you need a restaurant for the evening then the hotel can recommended what style or choice of food you would like just ask Nick or Delphine. This Hotel won an award for the best hotel, so congratulations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    2.9
    House of Hell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was by far the worst experience both my boyfriend and I have ever had in a hotel. There is a reason it is ranked in the bottom 20% in all of Bruges. Our room was filled with mosquitos, our bedsheets were unwashed (they stank of dirty feet and had small spots of blood on them) and the air conditioner didn’t work. We also found an old, used hairbrush and empty face cream bottle. After spending the night unable to sleep and trying to swat the mosquitos until 7am, my boyfriend ended up passing out on the tiled floor of the bathroom like a prisoner. The hotel states that it has a laundry service although they declined to wash a small amount of our things because we were "only staying one night". Pathetic.

    Nothing. This hotel may look luxurious but it is ranked very low in Bruges for a reason.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Gem Boutique hotel perfectly situated in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been great to have a kettle in the room but as soon as we asked for one, it was delivered in minutes!

    This is one of my favourite boutique hotels I have ever stayed at. The family that run the hotel are absolutely fantastic, friendly helpful and super warm. The hotel itself was immaculately renovated and decorated recently in a luxury and designer way. My family stayed in 3 different rooms and each were done so well, much better than the multi themed hotels I've stayed in say Madrid or singapore. Easy to walk to all the best sites and they gave us great tips for restaurants. We also had a 4yo and 1yo and was so happy they had a lift although many of the rooms have 5-6 stairs so beware if you have trouble with them although lots of old European hotels have way more!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Posh digs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entrance into the bathtub and shower was a little odd as you had to step over a high sill down into the tub. It was just a little awkward and not well designed. Also, there was a step down out of bathroom which again was a bit awkward.

    The hotel and room were decorated quite sumptuously. Breakfast offered a great selection. There were macaroons on offer in reception, and also a selection of sweets in the hallway which was a nice treat.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel De Castillion - Small elegant hotel traveller photo gallery