Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Den Hof 3 stars

Stationsstraat 22, 9060 Zelzate, Belgium

#1 of 4 hotels in Zelzate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 136 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Attention to detail. Door to bathroom stuck on floor when 2/3 open. Electric socket loose, Wardrobe door no handle, creamer for tea/coffee set hard.. Just little things that took the shine off a nice hotel

    Nice room layout and grounds. Food in bar OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is most probably better than I found it, due to the room I was assigned. I was in a dark attic room up a very steep flight of stairs – no! The lift does not go up that far! the only daylight comes from a skylight and the end of the bedroom and bathroom slopes down to about 1 meter from the floor. There are barely enough electrical sockets.

    (Look at the "dislike" section to put this in perspective as they are based of course on the room I was assigned) The location is calm and peaceful (if you ignore wind and rain noise on the skylight - see "dislikes"). The bathroom equipment is in excellent condition, but lacks a stand-up shower, offering instead a handheld shower in the bath. The hotel itself is charming. the staff are pleasant, and the restaurant is extremely good (shut on Thursdays). I would certainly come back if I could avoid rooms 5-8 and probably 11 as well. I have heard that rooms 1-4 in the main building are so much better. In that case, my rating would most probably be higher.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not see A/C so summer travel may be less comfortable in rooms but they may have other arrangements for those times.

    Staff and accommodations were excellent. I will stay here again on my next trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there were no towels in the room during check in. This was dealt with. The liquid bath soap dispenser was empty. They charge you for drinking water.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a problem for me as a solo traveller, but my room (43) had no door on the bathroom/toilet facilities (open plan arrangement). As this area was quite cavernous and echoed every sound, it might be a little embarrassing for two people on their first trip away together! :)

    The Oak Bar within the Hotel is a great place for a drink and offers bar snacks and a few choices from the main restaurant menu. I stayed in the Parkhuis which is a separate building just a minute or so walk through the garden from the main building. Good parking and friendly, knowledgeable staff. The location is a good stopover point on the way to Northern Germany. Breakfast offers a wide choice of cold meats, cheeses as well as a hot choice of eggs, sausages, bacon and pancakes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room it said it had a King size bed and two twins. Tre first night we piled four people in a King size bed because it did not have he twin beds in the room. The second night they moved us rooms, the staff was really helpful however, they charged us extra even though the Booking.com said differently. I am a little upset that they charged us for breakfast for two days for my 5 year old who doesn't even eat (10 euro) He was at the table but would not eat. Other than that expect to pay 300 euro for two nights.

    It was close to all major cities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Air con Wifi was not working Restaurant was being used for an event so no quality food.

    Nice hotel, clean and could be great but... (see things not liked). However I will being staying a second time so that I can judge better the usual standards that the hotel meets.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    don't eat in the bar, it does not compare to the restaurant

    excellent location, good restaurant, very nice room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar closed on a Sunday night

    Exceeded expectations for a 3 star hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very kind. The atmosphere in the hotel is very good. Close to Ghent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Super spacious room in a good location in the hotel grounds. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Perfect location,clean and quite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar had excellent food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    spacious rooms, very suitable for groups with kids

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was good, more healthy foods (oats, seeds etc) would be appreciated

    The bed was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, rude staff, poor breakfast, poor food in general

    Room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very professional approach. Ideal as a business stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Despite the hotel undergoing improvements (due to be completed in the next week or so) we were extremely well looked after. Big bedroom with all comforts. High quality dinner and breakfast. Plus secure parking for our bikes.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming. Superb décor; we stayed in garden annex - brand new room & immaculate. Only built two years ago. Not so much fun going to breakfast if it’s raining, however. Food to die for.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a renovation going on and, on Saturday night, a wedding. The staff closed the restaurant to ordinary guests. Since the village doesn't offer much choice, I ended up having a miserable dinner. They should have warned me, and I would have gone somewhere else.

    It is a nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't really have a bad experience, but a lift would have come in useful when trying to take luggage up a flight of spiral staircase and then another flight of stairs. Kept us fit though :)

    Very warm and friendly staff who spoke very good English.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property is located 20 Kms away from Gent Centrum which is where all the tourist spots are. It costed us 50 euros to reach to Gent Centrum. Not a good location if you want to enjoy Gent and are without a car/bike. The room had no air-conditioning. For the price that we paid, we had assumed that this facility would be there. Since there was no air-conditioning we had to open the windows; but there was a private party going on till 3am. The music ensured that we didn't get a good night sleep. We also had to pay 6 Euros for 500 ml of water. Usually the hotels give you one free bottle of water. The location is good if you want to be away to a quiet place.

    The room was modern, clean and spacious. The lady at the reception was really helpful. We arrived around 9.30 pm and had to rush for dinner since the nearby places close around 10 pm. She gave us the directions to the restaurant and luckily it was not closed. The reason we could not eat at the hotel itself was because there was a private party going on.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not allowed into hotel restaurant for dinner as it was fully booked, no advance warning of this.

    Room 20. Pleasant, comfortable, unusual attic room. Close to other restaurants. Nice location. Good parking.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Do not go for the breakfast. It is 12 euros per person and it consisted of cereal, fruit, salami and scrambled eggs... basically the kind of breakfast any other hotel offers for free. The food was good, but for 12 euros I was expecting waffles, sausages, pancakes, etc. Plus, we arrived at 9:30 (the breakfast finished at 10) and there were almost no eggs left and no fruit salad left at all and it was not refilled, so we payed 12 euros for cereal and salami.

    This hotel is really beautifully decorated and the room was very nice and comfortable. The staff was super friendly and spoke english well.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about this place. The customer service was superb, the place is both modern and charming, very clean, they have parking, and the food was great. We went to Ghent for the Light Festival and this place was not that far away. We will definetly be staying here again!!!

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice and proper hotel; extremely friendly staff; good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The reception is closed on Sundays and had to call in to get the room key. A person from the staff showed up immediately.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was friendly and helpful Rooms were clean and spacious Restaurant was very nice Food was excellent (Sole)

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only problem was with the shower drain.

    New accommodation and spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was relatively poor this time, very unusual, used to fine breakfast.

    Feel very welcome in very up to date facilities.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing not to like

    The Hotel was very clean and tidy even though they were undergoing alterations,the rooms were wonderfully appointed

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfortable and I will use again

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    High standard bathroom

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    there was nothing not to like

    Every thing

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location

    friendly staff, nice restaurant

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Hotel Den Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: