Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Die Swaene 4 stars

Steenhouwersdijk 1, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#52 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 443 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, in the middle of the historic center, at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not free, there is a 24 euros tax for a night, but situated next to the hotel, it is a convenient way if you arrive by car. All public parking is limited to 4 hours and also not free.

    Excellent location, in the middle of the historic center, at a walking distance from all the important touristic places. Next to the canal and the oldest bridge in town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was over heated. There was no control for the heat other than turning on the separate AC. The separate toilet room smelled bad and the smell never went away. The room lighting was very dim and what truly dispointed us was that the pool was out of service our entire stay. We picked this hotel and paid extra because we wanted a pool to relax in after a busy two week river cruise. Also we were given incorrect information on where to meet the complementary city tour so we missed out on it as did another couple we met waiting in the same wrong location (so it wasn’t just us). The front desk attendant had told us she would take us to the location but she wasn’t there at the appointed time so we had to go on our own.

    Loved the location and the room was lovely. The staff was very nice and for the most part very helpful. One night they had a private concert in the lounge which was phenomenal. Overall our stay was fine but for the major disappointment with the pool out of service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    A little over priced - did expect more for the daily charge but location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could do with a refurbishment. Carpets needed changing or a thorough clean. Didn’t think our room was cleaned particularly well and had to bring this to the attention of the receptionist.

    Location and staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    We loved it, the furniture and furnishings were reminiscent of salons in the 1800s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very clean but in need of upgrading.

    The hotel is so picturesque and quaint so dont' expect perfection in the bathroom, but it is clean and the location and view from the room is devine. Our welcome to the hotel was professional and warm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Oerall the hotel was right for me and would certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom. I had a problem with the safe which kept miss-functioning. The breakfast was 25 euros which was expensive even though the food was nice.

    Very well located. A short walk to the centre of Bruges. Staff very helpful. Old world feel to the hotel and décor. Very quite at night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Nice Hotel with the best location of all the important places to visit in Bruges
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont have king size bed. They have only combained beds...

    Big room...nice helpful staff...they gave us discount vouchers for some of the things to do in Brugges. Good location close to all the important places to visit

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and a wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An old world and charmingly quirky Hotel in a perfect location. A few minutes walk to the heart but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Initially a mistake was made with our room allotment and arriving hot and tired due to a heatwave when we entered was disappointed and especially as we had paid for a deluxe room with air-conditioning. This was rectified and then we were shown to a romantic and beautiful room with french windows overlooking the canal - superb! Very much worth paying the extra. It was a shaky start but did not detract from a superb stay. The breakfast was wonderful and worth the money. We would return in a heart-beat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area was tired looking. Would also be better to have an outside seating area off the pool. Breakfast was very pricy for what you got so we didn't have breakfast in the hotel and ate out or bought food in

    Lovely location right next to the canal. Parking was good in their own grounds opposite the main accommodation block. Staff were brilliant and so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    The most perfect hotel in a perfect location in perfect Bruges!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully hotel exquisitely decorated with very friendly helpful staff in the best location, canal side and although was less than a minute from the centre was very quiet. Loved it and we will be back. We stayed during a heatwave and the large room with air con was a blessing. Thank you. 5* cannot recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful romantic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location and lovely view on the canal. The room was amazing. Also special mention for the young lady who welcomed us and was fantastically friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Our entire stay was fabulous. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was closed during our stay.

    Our rooms were decorated impeccably. The service is fantastic. Friendly and helpful staff greets us each time we stay at Hotel Die Swaene.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Exceptional staff and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the main hotel (we have previously experienced the rooms across the canal) and the rooms whilst aesthetically perfect, are very tired. For a hotel of this quality and price these rooms require a spruce up, particularly the bathrooms.

    The staff are exceptional and the location is ideal. The beds were very comfortable and the air con was a must!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    We really enjoyed our 2 nights in Bruges, hotel we excellent, we would definitely recommend this hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kettle and tea/coffee in the room would have been very nice

    Lovely large room with 4 poster bed, build in 1703, nice veranda next to the swimming pool. Staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was a great one and in the perfect location 20 meter from the Vismarkt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Wonderfully quiet and peaceful hotel in the absolute heart of Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Failed to notice before we booked the absence of Tea / Coffee making facilities in room. I must pay more attention in future. Breakfast at €25pp did seem hefty. That excepted it is an excellent hotel.

    Wonderful quaint old building with excellent period décor. Attentive staff. Superb location near everything but peaceful and quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Romantic, nice decorated room, directly in the heart of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a real double bed, but 2 mattress put together !! (so you fall into the border in the middle). This is found sometimes in cheap hotels or hostels but it is not what you expect to get for this standard and this price.

    Romantic, nice decorated room, directly in the heart of the old city, with a view on the canal. Perfect location, character and style, nice staff. Ideal for celebrating a special event, it was exactly what we wished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    perfect place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the swimming pool area could do with a little upgrade, it would not put me off going as it was still a bonus, but the area is looking a little tired,

    This hotel was perfect location for exploring, just a very short walk from the centre so it felt really calm and welcoming, Parking was quite easy if you are happy navigating the narrow streets. Room was very pleasant, The swimming pool was a lovely bonus after a long day exploring

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    We loved the staff, ambiance of the room/hotel, and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower could have been slightly better. It had low water pressure and the shower head was on the side wall of the shower which was awkward.

    The front desk was extremely helpful and accommodating. The room was beautiful and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    What a gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has had a change of cleaning staff, and our room was not cleaned on our second night/day there which was disappointing. The staff were apologetic when advised.

    This is s very special hotel with a lovely ambience, in a fantastic location. Our room was more like a suite and was very luxurious. Loved our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Great stay, great staff, super breakfast, we were cared for!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to complain.

    The whole atmosphere was just great. I had the entrance level room and it was fabulous. All the staff was super, polite, helpful and smiling. I definitedly recommend this hotel to those who want to match Brugge’s image and the living there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    The location of the hotel is unbeatable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little warm. With the windows open it cooled off quickly, but could still use a fan to help during the night.

    The location of the hotel is unbeatable. Close to everything but still tucked away on a quiet street. The hotel bar - The Pergola - is situated right on the canal and a great spot to end your day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Location and general ambience of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrobes were very worn and greyish in color. Breakfast expensive. Sauna was broken

    Location and general ambience of the hotel. Good service from staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    A Truely Wonderful Hotel Experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Truely Wonderful Hotel Experience !! The Building , The Location , The Ambiance and The Crew !! A treasured memory will come from our stay here.... Connor .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Artistically decorated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was disappointed that there were no tea making facilities in the room. I would have liked to have a bidet in the bathroom.

    Artistically decorated rooms. Incredibly pleasant and helpful staff. The possibility of a swim in an inviting indoor swimming pool. Fantastic central location. i would definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Location of the hotel and view from the room is ultra superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would highly appreciate a kettle in the room with two cups for a possibility to make a tea or coffee.

    Location of the hotel and view from the room is ultra superb!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel and staff in a great location. Perfect get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only tiny thing I would say is the room we had which was a pergola room is actually in a building opposite the hotel so we didnt get to benefit from actually seeing any of the beautiful hotel itself except for when we went for a look around. The beautiful lounge etc was one of the reasons I booked the hotel. As we went slightly out of season the pergola bar was closed so we had to use a back door in and out of our apartment. For me it just didnt have that wow factor of the hotel which is a shame.

    The staff at the hotel were super friendly and very informative on the check in. We ordered room service breakfast on the first morning and the 2 ladies who brought it were so lovely and the food was delicious. The room was beautiful and had a lovely fire which kept us super cosy. We also had a great view of the canal and the hotel is bang in town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.7
    Lovely staff but tired rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedrooms were very tired and in need of an overhaul. We had a great time in spite of this, but I didn't feel the hotel was good value for money at over 200 euros per room per night. (We did stay over new year).

    The hotel staff were lovely and the location couldn't be bettered. There was an amazing piano room on the first floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Google maps... Could not find the way through the maze of small streets of Brugge

    Great experience - staff exceedingly helpful as we were completely list in the small streets full of one way systems that had Google maps navigate system completely defeated! The receptionist stayed on the phone and gave clear directions for about 10 minutes! Then she parked the car for us. Breakfast fab, rooms great and setting could not be better!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    A fantastic place to stay over Christmas. Central location but quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No aircon control panel and we turned the heating completely off as it was so hot.

    Excellent location and quieter than main square area and we had a canal view. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed some TLC. Would be better for us to have a double bed and not singles pushed together. Breakfast was too expensive so we never had this at €25 each person per day

    Location is great, staff great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel with minor issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which we were very surprised about. The room that we stayed in was opposite the main hotel. For us it felt quite detached even though it's a short two minute maximum walk. It meant we had very little interaction with hotel staff. The bed looked incredibly comfortable but we both awoke aching. Obviously bed types are an individual thing and others may not have an issue. No iron in the room but not a major issue. The bathroom, whilst spacious, was a little shabby for a 4 star hotel. The paintwork was chipped and mouldy around the bath. The rain showerhead just worked like a tap and didn't actually spray water. There was no heater, just an electric one above the door which heated a direct part of the bathroom much like an outdoor heating lamp. Not a huge concern but the toiletries offered were refilled and not wonderful quality. We visited probably during the busiest weekend of the year (one before Christmas) so prices are high, so maybe our expectations were also too high.

    Perfectly located but I assume everything is in Bruges given the size of the city centre. Very quick and friendly check in. Informative receptionist. Spacious rooms. We also had a gas fire and a large bath as well as two sinks. We had a wonderful view of the canal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent in every respect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bar in the hotel would have been nice.

    The service was first class and the receptionist couldnt have been more helpful.My wife has a badly broken leg and is on crutches.We requested a room near the lift but on arrival were told the lift was broken and we were upgraded to a ground floor suite at no cost. Breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    very cosy hotel, not the first time i am there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very cosy hotel, not the first time i am there. I like the atmosphere, different than the normal business hotel i have to use for business trips. Next time again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    The kindness of the staff. Nice rooms. Bathroom out of date. Not a good price-quality ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the bathroom was really out of date: my friend couldn't stretch his legs in the very small bathtub and we needed to sit in the bathtub if we wanted to take a shower (we couldn't stand up because of the low ceiling) and use one hand to hold the shower head. The inserts in the wall where full with mold. The WIFI in the room didn't worked properly. The breakfast was expensive but there was a lot to choose from. Unfortunately there were a few missers: bacon with thick layers old dried up grease, bread from the day before with hard dried up edges, no refill when some products were finished. But when we told the reception, they helped us having a great stay and they where very understanding.

    The kindness of the staff and they where thinking along with us and solved all our problems. Nice beds, dark rooms, quiet rooms. The room was very nice, with a lot of character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    3.3
    Faded grandeur, grossly overpriced and the senior staff are rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was cold and facilities not working, our room was dark with a very old and mouldy bathroom. After booking the superior suite they gave us 2 single beds pushed together with 2 single duvets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect in every way 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is expensive, so was not an option for us. Perhaps a warning about the mosquitos, lovely idea providing a mosquito plug in but just a card next to it to explain what it was would be a great touch and we would have used it!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    OK, nice location but not worth the £150 for one night in a single bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a double room but got a twin room. The bathroom was tired with black mould showing around the bath seals. The base of the shower fixture was coming away from the wall. The shower curtain's beading at the base was hanging loose and the towels were not as luxurious or large as I would have expected. There was no bottled water in the room nor tea or coffee making facilities which I found disappointing. I was also concerned that when we returned to the hotel at around midnight, we entered the hotel and we just helped ourselves to our room keys from the open wall cupboard which is next to the front door, as indeed could anyone else entering the hotel. The reception area is also close to the room I had and I found it very noisy. The off site car parking is exceptionally expensive at Euro 24 per night when alternatively you can park 5 mins away at T'Pandreijte parking for Euro 8.70 per 24 hours. The breakfast was also expensive at Euro 25 per person, we ate elsewhere for Euro 13.

    The location is great, just across the road from one of the canals, close to the centre of Bruges, and you can drop off luggage before heading off to park your car. The room was well decorated and furnished to a reasonably high standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    g
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom in our room was separated to a small toilt and next to it a bathroom. Could have been better. Also the room didn't have any view to anywhere just a small balcony amongst the swimming pool and other rooms.

    Location of the hotel is great just next to the canals. The staff have been very helpful with tips for Brugge and recommendations for sightseeing and dining. It is close to all main touristic attractions and the price for the weekend was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall enjoyed stay, in hotel very little, and Bruge is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel very tired, in need of refurbishment. Our Bathroom had mould in all the sealant around the bath. Poor view from bedroom window.

    Staff excellent and very attentive. Great bar opposite the hotel (where the parking is ) Situation perfect, short walk to all attractions. A Room with a view over the canal would have been better

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, great location and amazing staff. Bruges is a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is provided at and extra 24 euros per night but I presume that is normal for the city. The hotel is old and has character but the rooms can use some attention including our on-suite as this has not been touched for some time and the ceiling left unpainted with little light. The room didn't have tea making facility and although old fashioned it is still useful if you want to use own tea bags for refreshments.

    Great little hotel with fantastic location and staff very friendly and very helpful. Staff and management also multilingual so we had no issues speaking English. Bedroom comfortable and very quiet location. We did not have breakfast as that wasn't included in the price so cannot comment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Not worth your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most important: while I was in bathroom with door closed, I heard the room entrance door was opened with key. Later on I asked the reception, reception lady said it was a cleaning lady coming to arrange the bed and pick up towels. But it was 8pm! What kind of cleaning lady comes to your room at 8pm to arrange your bed or collect used towels?? Then the rest: 1. My room was on the top floor. I barely receive any wifi signal. The whole stay I had to use 4G. 2. No drinking glasses, no kettle, no tea/coffee, not to say other convenient stuff like iron or umbrella. 3. Shower is sooooo old, sometimes cold water. 4. Room is very small. 5. pool is not warm.

    Good location, beautiful decorations, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Loved my stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel (including a bar and restaurant) is family-run, and all the staff members are very welcoming and helpful. The location is excellent, with great view of the canal and walking distance to most places & sites. A very good neighborhood and decent selection of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower at pool wasn't warm.

    great hotel, couldn't work out how to get bathroom light on but help was quickly at hand to sort the problem. pool is lovely. great location with good parking. would recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful facilities, lousy service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were unprofessional and inconsistent. They made a number of mistakes during our stay including giving us the wrong room, making us wait outside for over an hour to have a mandatory room clean - but failed to replace the toilet paper when they did so. When we asked for some we were told rudely that they had 'run out of toilet paper'!! The younger female receptionist was particularly rude and unhelpful. We will not be staying here again.

    The hotel is as beautiful as the first time we stayed four years ago - the rooms, the canal view, the 18th century salon, the pool and the location are all wonderful but the staff and customer service have gone downhill - a very disappointing experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    Hotel ok room not up standard and possibly dangerous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we of booked two rooms one was ok but th e other was poor.entrance to room was difficult up a narrow flight of curved stairs.The room was an attic and the had a low ceiling using the bath and shower required care if you stood up you banged your head on the ceiling.The fire escape arrangements were frightening a ladder outside a window which I assume you climbed through but as it was 4ft to the ledge you wood have to extremely agile and as we are both in our mid 70s we felt rather uneasy .If the hotel rent this room in future they need to advise prospective guests.

    breakfast expensive but good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.0
    It is never too late to learn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No internet access; room was not hoovered, shower water was brown, energizer of tv remote empty, defective toilet flushing; Shower head for a hand shower defect, accessibility of the lobby very fragmentary. Our criticism concerns to room no. 77only. During our stay (and we assume the last 20 years) the art of omission was practiced from the owner at its highest level. (we booked a so called superior luxury room with canal view)

    The friendly staff always tried to develop a common understanding regarding a relaxed hotel atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful, quiet hotel. Small with fine furnishings and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    coffee in the room would be nice, but not essential.

    Lovely place on quiet street, but very close to the center and more crowded area. Beautiful setting by canal complete with swans. We could sit on terrace and have our glass of champagne watching the swans and occasional boats go by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel right in the city centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lights for the room were alittle weird. Maybe we weren't working the switches right but we had to turn on a main switch before any other lights would come on (i.e. the bathroom light). This main switch controls most of the lights in the room which cannot be turned off by other switches. So that meant that we had to switch on most of the lights in the room just to get the bathroom light on at night. The height of the bathtube was also alittle high for my parents to climb in/out. Might be an issue for more elderly visitors.

    I brought my parents to visit Bruges, so we were 3 adults to a room. We got a very warm welcome at the reception and a room upgrade! The room we got fitted us very comfortably and it had a great view, we were right by the river. Super romantic, coupled with the period decoration of the room. The overall location of this hotel couldn't be more perfect as well. The main city square is only 5-min walking distance (slow walking pace no less). This means super easy access to all the main attractions and public transportation (the buses come at about 10-min intervals and bring you to/from the train station within 15 mins).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, great location. Staff was very friendly. The desk person was very helpful with our transportation questions. Comfortable bed and one of the only places in town open for breakfast. Beautiful location on the river and you can walk to everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Welcoming, friendly and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice if breakfast was either included or was cheap to purchase. Felt that was over priced so went into the town for breakfast instead.

    Staff were so friendly from the moment we arrived nothing was to much trouble. The room was very comfortable with a lovely view. Would definitely recommend the hot chocolate. Loved the vintage feel it really suited the hotel and location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    6.3
    Lacks basic facilities: not what it used to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facility for tea or coffee in bedroom. Duvet far too hot. Lighting poor: impossible to read in bed. Shower over bath with no non-slip surface and staff refused to supply one saying management objected because of the extra cleaning that would be involved ! Breakfast charge excessive . No restaurant .

    Location and helpfulness of reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Experience Brugge in a romantic way through this hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some quirks in the aged bathroom and interior (not really problematic). Breakfast is so overpriced that, for the first time in our touristic lives, my wife and I bothered to skip the hotel beakfast and step outside to eat (~3 times cheaper). Btw, great morning experinence in the neighboring centre of Brugge.

    A boutique hotel with very unique and romatic interior throughout the entire property. A gorgeous fireplace room for guests at the 2nd floor. Absolutely friendly and informative personnel. A nice heated pool. Quite centraly located.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and also the bathroom and toilet did not match the beautiful room, they were both basic and looked like they could have done with an upgrade. Having to pay extra for the sauna also a bit of an annoyance.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and what we saw of the hotel was beautiful. The swimming pool was a nice way to relax in the afternoon. A perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    the fire in the room was wonderful and the bathroom was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the lighting in the room was inadequate as it was very dim, we wanted a double bed and and only got two singles pushed together and there was no tea/coffee facilities in the room which would have been lovely , small footnote is says on the booking.com site that there is parking but u do have to pay extra for that

    the fire in the room was wonderful and the bathroom was very large and as we got an upgrade to the pergola rooms the view of the canal was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    A quiet and stylish hotel, but not a 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two singles to make a double bed. I mentioned the fact that I was there for my 20th wedding anniversary, but I couldn't stay close to my wife without being between the two beds (too uncomfortable). Bath and shower surely not 4 stars. No way to get a warm tea in the evening without having to go to the nearest bar. Nice relax spa area, but the water in the pool was too cold.

    Interior's style, quiet, staff and location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Confortable, quiet hotel with excellent facilities in the centre of Brugges
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Breakfast superb in a very pleasant dining room, decor tres chic and unusual, lovely gas fire in our room, perfect location, extremely good with our dog and most of all, staff are very charming and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    Great room, great location, just get a proper king sized bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was clearly set up as a double room only as it had a full height headboard, side curtains to the bed, and lighting above the bed. The whole room was designed around the double bed and it could never be adapted to two singles so it was very disappointing on a romantic trip to have two single beds pushed together - so if we wanted to cuddle one of us was always in the gap. A good king size bed would have made this so much better.

    Amazing room, beautiful location and great staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.8
    My room (#32) had a terrible sewer smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room (#32) had a terrible sewer smell. As I was only there 1 night I did not flag this, but the room was one in which no one would want to sleep, even with the windows wide open in December. I told the staff at checkout, but otherwise no one ever asked me about my stay. Other than this major issue, Die Swain was lovely and lived up to the recommendation of a long-time Brugge resident.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.2
    Venice of the North
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the prices for parking, breakfast and the stay of the dogs were additional ... a bit disappointing ... but we had the choice!

    My daughter and I arrived very late but we were still received warmly. We had two dogs with us and them too were cordially welcomed. Lovely people make for a lovely stay! We'd like to return to Bruges to be able to indulge ourselves again in the warmth that is "Die Swaene"... and there is much more to explore in Bruges, this wonderful "Venice of the North"! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    6.7
    Five star hotel with 3 star facilities and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was detached from the main hotel. The phone line or internet did not work. There were no tea making facilities in room, so had to walk to reception to get any room service. Over £250 for one night for this? Add £18 to park car and £

    Style of room was very good, with the addition of a gas log fire. However, for a superior room it needed a lick of paint. Furniture was also of poor repair.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    Strange feeling during booking procedure: a sudden rise of price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking-com procedure at booking the hotel: a sudden increase of the price of the room I was booking !

    Everything OK, exept that at the very moment I pushed the booking.com-button to book the accomodation the price raised from ca. 129 euro to 158 euro !! Fortunately the hotel gave us for this reason a discount of 20 euro on the parking fee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Simply enchanting stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is charming, the staff very friendly. The room was simply enchanting, with vintage furniture and décor. It was our third stay, but not the last one.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.8
    Loved Bruges.. Take the 2.30 p.m. Guided walking tour. It starts at the town hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    25 euros for breakfast is outrageous and the rooms are also fat too expensive. The bathroom was badly finished and the shower was from another century. Also 20 euros to park the car. Ouch!

    Location is excellent, right by the canal

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    Very good but need tiny improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It might not be bad side for everyone but I am an explorer of hotels. I visit and I write. Thus, here we go. 1) Bathroom: Shampoo and other products were made for men odour vice. The toilet had a distinct bad smell.There were only 1 cotton in a big jar. You must have checked it before 3) Breakfast : It was not included even if i had to pay 300 Euros for a night. Nevertheless, I have checked it, there were basically nothing and cost 20 Euro extra. 4) Occasion: My visit was for a special occasion as wedding anniv. I was expecting a wine or a champagne. 5) Internet: If you need it, you have to go to reception because it wasnt working in the rooms next to the river. There werent any problem, just the reception of wifi is not close enough. 6) I didnt use the spa or sauna so I cannot comment but I have read that sauna cost 25 Euro. This is not acceptable. 7) Parking is 20 Euro per day. It should have been free! Still as I say, the experience was good. I hope the hotel take into consideration those tiny drawbacks to improve.

    1) Room: It was decorated like medieval times. It was next to the river. I felt like I was in Venice. The bed was quite comfortable. 2) Staff: They were really friendly and helpful 3) Location : It is just very central but anywhere in Bruges will be central anyways. It is a tiny town. 4) There were a good isolation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    Location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and rooms very dated and in desperate need of a refresh

    Location excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Loved it, I highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming hotel, fantastic location, excellent room, good price, extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    A lovely stay in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Beautiful boutique hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    great location, nice old building and great bar opposite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the Bathroom is old and grubby - needs updating

    Interesting old property, large bedroom, bathroom tired and in need of updating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty and dark. Room next to cleaners equipment room!

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel - love it there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was too short!

    This is our favourite hotel in Bruges. We've stayed there four times now and will definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Extremely helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and quirky decor.

    Staff very kind and held up.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Amazing location, the room, the view of the canal from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, the room, the view of the canal from the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Best position would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facilities in room. Had breakfast out as price in hotel very high. Had problems with safe

    Everyone so friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    The location was absolutely fantastic, and the hotel was comfortable and cosy with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was not very powerful and could have done with being upgraded.

    The staff were fantastic, really helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    A superb city and a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom cleaning.

    The location of the hotel in downtown Bruges and the decoration of the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Die Swaene traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: