Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Domaine Du Chateau De La Neuville 3 stars

Avenue de l'industrie, 62, 4500 Tihange, Belgium

#1 of 2 hotels in Tihange

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 333 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    4.6
    Could even get a coffee on the evening and with breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above but look after your guests

    Could even get a coffee on the evening and with breakfast which only cold buffet, I got the impression that they put the stuff in the fridges on Monday and left them there all week.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely old château with charm and character.
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little dated with old fashioned decorations but still nice. Not within walking distance of town.

    Lovely old château with charm and character. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful old building not yet reached its potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nucleur powerstation across the road. Room looked empty and didnt feel homely.

    Staff (although only two of them) were extremely nice and helpful. Cycle storage. Beautiful old building. Nice brasserie nearby. Big room. Bath with water jets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Basic accomodation for ONE night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was like an oven facing the sun all day and the floor was bare wood. It looks like they are restoring the Chateau and I think they are trying but it is very basic. There are no scenic walks or even a neighbourhood, there is a Boulangerie 10 mins down the road and the food was ok but pricey and that is it!

    The bed was actually very comfortable, and the breakfast had plenty to eat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Ok, little run down and a lack of staff about to ask for help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    downside was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, something that would of gone down a treat. No tea or coffee making facilities anywhere other than breakfast room which opens at 7am. Unfortunately the milk for breakfast was gone by 7.05 due to selfish visitors making themselves glasses of milk to drink so there was none left for the cereal or to make a cup of tea, which for an Englishman is heart breaking. Unfortunately there was no staff around to ask for more. I know the breakfast is self serving, but the amounts some people where taking and putting in there bags didn't leave a lot of chose or leftovers for others and we were there at 7.05, 5 minutes after breakfast opened. So felt a bit robbed that I was paying for something that I couldn't have

    Beautiful old house. Huge room, lovely spa bath. Feels a bit run down and so much more could be done to it to make it more attractive to stay. Shame about the power station ruining the view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    3.8
    The place has a lot of possibilities but is in an minor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the site is an indication that the place is accessible for handicapped people. But there is no lift and a lot of stairways Only when we arrived there was someone to give us the key. In the morning we saw nobody. It was difficult to find. The coordinates were not right. They showed a place 30 km farther away.

    The place has a lot of possibilities but is in an minor condition

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    2.5
    Property to avoid! Hôtel à éviter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. After we (4 persons, three 60+, one 40+) have arrived, the payment was demanded immediately. Reception staff showed no interest whatsoever in any kind of welcoming. 2. Rooms are very old. The odeurs in the one rooms was appauling, smelling old pipes and stagnated waters. When this was drawn to the attention of the reception staff - no reaction. 3. Parking space in the property is sufficient but not lit in the evening. 4. Conclusion: Property to avoid! One will get no pleasure of spending time in there being on a leasure or business trip.

    The general outlook of the premise appealed to the eye but the building is awfully dilapidated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some people may not like the very close proximity to nuclear facility.

    Atmospheric old building. Very helpful staff. Wifi in rooms.Restaurant open on the nights we stayed - limited menu but delicious and good value for money. Three course Menu du Jour 19 /22 euro. Staff happy to make changes. Very nice self service breakfast. Close to Huy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    5.8
    Nuclear power plant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location next to the nuclear power plant, and no information about that on their website or booking.com site. If I could know this before, I would take better hotel.

    Nice architecure, good look bulding

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    A warm welcome on a cold winters day
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely old building with impressive stairs. After a days motorbiking in the cold, the big warm bathroom with a comfortable bath was a treat. On Saturday and Sunday the resturant is open and the food is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    6.3
    Fourth castle in Belgium
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant closed early in the evening and was not open at all on Sunday evening. The breakfast may well have started off to be quite nice but it was not replenished and therefore was not as good as it could have been.

    We like to find old castles to stay in when we are in Belgium. The rooms were large and quite authentic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    decent and reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location and beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and beautiful building. It gave a great feeling of history.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    2.9
    bugs in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bugs in the room. very very filthy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Great friendly and homely place with huge rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    its a great location for work and the family are very friendly and accomodating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    3.3
    Large room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant, next to nucleair plant, not a shower only bath, no one present

    Large room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Lovely building but in need of some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely building but in need of some TLC

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.0
    Beds comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern finish in an historic house.needs more of the colour and furnishings to match the lovely building

    Beds comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Easy and comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasant stay, easy check in, no issues.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    6.7
    It was a great experience for the kids to stay at the Chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub was coming off the wall.

    It was a great experience for the kids to stay at the Chateau

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    6.3
    far from great but OK for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom, breakfast, general state of the hotel

    parking, easy access, bike parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    8.3
    Family run, quiet, budget chateau a short drive from a large town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get an iron.

    I got to tell people I was in a chateau.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    3.3
    not much to like about this so called chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    ok I suppose we should've checked but finding out when we got there that it was right on the doorstep of a nuclear power plant was a bit of a shock. there is nothing chateau-esque about this chateau. it is incredibly shabby, very little works and the place is simply falling apart. the staff seem to be doubt their best but it finest make up for that level of shabbiness. breakfast was uninspiring.

    not much to like about this so called chateau

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    6.7
    It's a beautiful old house, we had a lovely (sized) room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room and especially the bathroom needed some DIY TLC. Breakfast could be displayed in a better/nicer way and slightly more diversity would be welcome. Except for check in and check out we didn't see any staff.

    It's a beautiful old house, we had a lovely (sized) room and a big bathroom. At night it was nice and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    2.5
    From the outside, great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No staff, no toiletries, torn curtains, bird droppings all over the balcony - once you could open the doors, a broken staircase, restaurant wasn't open (advertised it was). The whole experience was discusting. Would be nice to get a refund, but nobody to talk too.

    From the outside, great. As soon as you entered, it was run down, dirty, unclean & discusting. The shower was unplugged from the wall, curtains torn, breakfast was discusting and there were no staff to talk too. 0 out of 10, never ever recommend this on booking.com

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    6.7
    Lovely old Chateaux undergoing restoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of food and drink ! The Resturant, as such, is open on Friday nights and Saturday night ONLY.

    Lovely old Chateaux undergoing restoration. Run by a couple, but there is no Resturant , but they include breakfast, which is very limited indeed. For a short walk, there is a Tennis Club, who have a Bistro, which is excellent, and good value. Worth noting this on the Internet for future travellers. The bathroom is ENORMOUS, with an excellent jacuzzi bath ! with lots of stimulating bubbles, ideal after a day's travel

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    6.7
    Beautiful castle with very spacious sitting/sleeping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The website address is incorrect. I tried but was unable to resolve this with Booking.com prior to visit. Used google maps to visualize the castle and found it using my own directions as I was hiking from the backroads of Huy. There is one (very nice) restaurant around the corner at a Tennis Club, otherwise you're isolated from food/drink. Website advertises a minibar which I was counting on with late arrival but it was not stocked. Nuclear plant across the street didn't bother me but is unsitely. Not a good location if traveling by train/bus, fine for car or bike.

    Beautiful castle with very spacious sitting/sleeping room and a huge bathroom with spa tub. Friendly staff, fresh breakfast in a nice dining room. Cool overall atmosphere with the location and grounds. The owner gave me some strawberries he had just picked! Very relaxing overall.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    5.0
    You must have a car or bike to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You must have a car or bike to stay here. It is a fair distance from the train station and is quite hard to find. Oh, and there is a giant nuclear power plant right outside the hotel...

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    2.5
    The restaurant next door at the tennis club.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The proprietress made Basil Fawlty seem friendly. Room overlooked the nearby nuclear power station. Breakfast worst for a long time, plus hot water had run out by 8.30 am.

    The restaurant next door at the tennis club.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    8.3
    Hotel obviously former country chateau, but now close to...
    • Solo traveller

    Staff difficult to find, though not a major problem. No advice given but you must turn radiators on or off yourself, but quick to warm up.

    Hotel obviously former country chateau, but now close to gigantic nuclear power station and busy road, but building is beautiful and elegant, in pleasant gardens; liked chandeliers and massive fireplace, and my room and bathroom were huge! Breakfast had unlimited buffet, fresh and good quality.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    3.8
    nice and large bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    old house, bad indications to reach the hotel I arrived late in the evening and there was anything to eat, smelling old and dust, none at the reception in case you need something, none answering on the phone: I arrived late in the evening and it was already dark I had some difficulties in find it so I give a call but I have to ring 3 times before someone answered at the phone

    nice and large bathroom

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    8.8
    the enviroment, the charisma of the building (inside and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    limited breakfast (but in accordance with the price) to small desk in the room the noice of the other rooms (running water of the toilet/bath) no coffee/thee in the room

    the enviroment, the charisma of the building (inside and outside), the hearting greeting of the staff

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    7.5
    the huge bedroom & almost as large washroom/toilet ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no phone in room for making outside calls; spa bathtub jets when first used 'spat out' brown residue - icky look & possibly a health issue ! .. bathroom windows should have 'frosted' windows for privacy

    the huge bedroom & almost as large washroom/toilet ; historical lodging

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    4.6
    Design of the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smells from bathroom ( sewer) No hot water Nobody at reception when we needed to check out, to ask if everyhting was ok ( we just left the key ) Poor breakfast ( a couple of croissants and basic orange juice/tea/coffe) no eggs, bacon, very few fruits , no service

    Design of the bathroom

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.3
    Fantastic value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic value for money...... Big rooms, nice staff and good breakfast😀

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    5.0
    The place looked deserted.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hot water was not coming.

    The place looked deserted. I did see only one other person. It was convenient for my work though.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful old chateau spoilt only by the proximity of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful old chateau spoilt only by the proximity of the power station. A little tattered but a very comfortable room. Excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    5.4
    had the worst meal of my life .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    had the worst meal of my life . duck leg with strawberrys on the same plate ?

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: