Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Duc De Bourgogne 3 stars

Huidenvettersplein 12, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#42 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1283 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow.....what a place and right in the middle of the city. This is a privately owned hotel which excels in its customer service. If you are looking for the perfect hotel for your stay.....then this is the one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit minimum for the Porte of the hotel. Thought should have more staff during breakfast and coffee and juice should make more available. Only one staff checking guests out and serving us coffee and juice. We have to wait to be served

    Location location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steps were a little tough to climb. And wish they had a top sheet not just a duvet.

    the location and view were great. Breakfast pretty good for Continental. Beds comfortable but wish they had had a top sheet not just a duvet. Dining room very charming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an older building so there's no air conditioning. It would have been helpful to have a fan in the room to help move air around. I was hoping for more selections at breakfast.

    We had a Canal View room with a window that opened to let in fresh air. The hotel is ideally located among little shops many restaurants and Canal boat tours. It was a perfect place for a one-night stay. The bedding was very comfortable and the room was clean and well-appointed with antique pieces. The bathroom was updated modern and very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only slight draw back was no lift so have to carry suitcases up/down the stairs but were notified of this when we booked. Staff would have carried them I am sure if we had asked.

    The location was perfect. The breakfast very tasty. A public carpark was 2 minutes walk away. The staff were all super helpful and very friendly. The age of the hotel & atmosphere was gorgeous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked a canal view room. The coffee machine did not work and had to get it changed (no problem) but the second one did not work properly either. IT used those silly "bullet" pods that would not work. Better to have standard coffee sachets, the tea was okay as the water flowed but the whole machine was rather noisy. A kettle would have been nicer and cheaper for the hotel.

    This was an extension from one day to three. See other feedback. 눇Location, staff, breakfast, ambience & customer service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a canal view room. The coffee machine did not work and had to get it changed (no problem) but the second one did not work properly either. IT used those silly "bullet" pods that would not work. Better to have standard coffee sachets, the tea was okay as the water flowed but the whole machine was rather noisy. A kettle would have been nicer and cheaper for the hotel.

    Location, staff, breakfast, ambience & customer service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    found bed uncomfortable, friends room had shower in bath under the eaves so totally unworkable. Manager unhelpful on this but did remove any drinks from their bill. Needs upgrading to fulfil potential.

    great location, car park near by 300m

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we can think of.

    Great staff who spoke numerous languages,a dn were only too happy to provide tips and advise. Super easy and convenient underground parking that was cheap. Location is ideal for seeing the sights of Brugge. Close enough to everything to pop back to the room to use facilities etc. we dined in on our first night,a dn the food was delicious, quickly served and a decent selection of wines. Breakfast was great every morning (try the bread pudding).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and I had the room #5 which is the best room in that hotel with 6 large windows facing canal views in 2 sides right at the most popular view point.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was dark and in need of updating. The bath was so small that my husband could not get in it and the ceiling so low that he couldn't stand up either.

    The bed was very comfortable. The dining room was beautiful with a lovely view of the canal. The continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remodeled shower was very nice, but the floor was dangerously slippery when wet. Had to be very careful.

    Loved the location. Attentive staff. Restaurant excellent. A truly enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location couldn't be beaten, our room was large and comfortable with a fabulous view of the canal, and the breakfast in the morning was terrific!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    The hotel location was excellent. Although there was no car parking available at the hotel, they advised us of a public underground garage within a short walk, which was very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs up to the third floor rooms were a bit difficult with luggage.

    Fabulous location within walking distance to attractions. Dining room was lovely with spectacular views to the canal.Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge area is only a small corner of the restaurant, but this is understandable as it would impact on the number of covers available.

    We had a standard room and although small, was comfortable with a lovely view. Ok the room was small, but who is going to spend much time in their room in such a beautiful city? The staff were very busy on our arrival but we didn't have to wait long to be checked in. They were not sure about motorcycle parking but there is usually plenty of space in the nearby Vismarkt.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downsides were no on site parking, but there is a public underground parking area 3 mins. away and no elevator. But the staff took our bags to the room. (so travel light!)

    Fantastic location on a canal in the center of Bruges. My wife and I stayed just one night but would definitely come back. Staff accommodated my son who had flown in last minute from |Canada. Great restaurant with excellent food and a wonderful breakfast that was included in the cost of the room. We loved the intimacy of the hotel which only had 12 rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the wooden furnishings show considerable wear but both the bed and sofa were quite comfortable.

    It has a lovely location with a perfect canalside restaurant where a very good breakfast is served. The room was large and comfortable with a sitting area. The bathroom was delightful. The soaking tub was almost a private spa experience. Although it is a very busy spot with tour groups stopping out front during the day, it is very quiet at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom.

    We thought the room was a little dated and cramped. No mirror in the bedroom. We enjoyed the breakfast, especially the boiled egg and coffee delivered to our table. Also a good variety of cheese, pastries etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't a problem for us, but our room had a bath where you couldn't stand in to shower, so you had to take a bath. What i also had appreciated was a minibar. But furtheron, perfect hotel to explore the beautiful city of Bruges!

    The hotel is perfectly situated to explore the city. The ambiance is great. The breakfast is basic, but good (fresh orange juice, boiled eggs, croissants etc.) The staff is very friendly and helpful. Dogs are very welcome in the hotel. (charge for dogs 11 euro per night)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 12 has a small bathroom so to shower you had to sit in the bath and shower. Not ideal for 6' person.

    Good breakfast overlooking the Canal. Friendly staff. Excellent location as right in the Centre with a car park very close by where we left the car for our 4 day stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing this is the best location in brugge

    The location absolutely can’t be beat—right on the most photographed spot in Brugge The dining room sits right on the canal and is elegant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Honestly one of our favourite hotels ever. Staff were so incredibly attentive and breakfast was delicious! Added to the fact that the location was as close to the action as you could get. Really fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a bit of a smell from plumbing in the bathroom- just keep the door shut and call it medieval city charm.

    Location is specatular and dining in that stunning room for breakfast each day -looking out the window at canals was delightful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location overlooking the canal. Staff very friendly. Room was newly refurbished and very clean. Breakfast exceeded our expectations, wide selection of food and drinks. Great value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weekend staff was not polite and mainly during breakfast the refill of the open bar was slow. Always had to ask for something. Once we received tha answer after asking for some cheese and cold cuts that she was busy with something else... while the other guy was continuously hovering the carpet during breakfast.

    Perfect location in the heart of the city. Nice room. The restaurant is on the canal side. Romantic place for stay. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in is only at 14h, and I checked by phone before arriving, to know if there was the possibility to leave the luggage. However, the person that was there when we arrived was not the same, and was very rude, which was an exception to the other people of the staff.

    The location is great, very close to the main squares and the canals. The breakfast is excellent, with many options and views for the canals. The room was small, but cozy and warm, and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was amazing. The food was terrific, view incredible and the staff very accomodating. This hotel far exceeded what I had in mind. It is the most wonderful hotel I've ever stayed in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was really well done, but the shower barely had any water pressure.

    Great hotel with lots of history. We were upgraded to a bigger room when we arrived with no additional charge. It is right in the center of the city and underground parking is available within a 5 min walk to the hotel. We paid about 8.50 Euro for overnight parking. Breakfast was great and staff were really friendly. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely old fashioned Hotel but still having all of the modern facilities. Lovely room with a view of the canals. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast with all food very fresh.... would stay here again if we visit Bruges again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Myself and my daughter had a wonderful overnight stay at this beautiful hotel. The staff at the hotel are amazing. We loved everything about it from the rooms to the food. We both had a shocked at breakfast as there was a very rude guest who spoke to a member of staff appallingly, this made us quite sad as the member of staff was so lovely and went out of her way to help everyone. I will be returning to the hotel on my next visit to Bruges. Thank you to all the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was a bit feeble and the bathroom, although big, was quite dated.

    Excellent hotel, very traditional with a beautiful restaurant. Good continental breakfast. Stayed in a Junior Suite which was huge and lovely views from the dual aspect windows. Very comfy bed. Ideal location for exploring Bruges - just a few steps away from Burg Square. Underground parking a 3 min walk. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Great little pub almost next door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is beautiful with lovely canal views. All the staff were very friendly and breakfast was good. The hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk from the Markt.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stayed was as small as we thought :) It was hard to use the bathroom but we managed.

    The location of the hotel was perfect. The staff was very kind and heplful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    Beautiful, old property. Possibly one of the best locations in old town Bruges. Having breakfast with a wonderful view each morning was amazing and unforgettable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked the small double with canal view - the bedroom was tiny with eaves which made it even more restricted and difficult to move around the room without hitting your head. Our 'canal view' could only be viewed through a tiny window, on tiptoe (I'm 5'6) - this was also the only window in the bedroom so very little natural light. Room stank of gloss paint to the point we had to open the window to be able to sleep. The rooms are not at all soundproof - we could clearly hear everything from the other rooms on the floor, particularly when in the bathroom (nice) and including a screaming baby for an hour at 4am one morning (I've never been woken up by basic noises from other rooms before). Only mirror in the room was the bathroom mirror above the sink which made it awkward to get ready. Shower was just a shower head over the bath with no shower screen so you had to squirm around in the bath trying to wash without drenching the room. Overall felt that the hotel guests were an inconvenience to the running of the restaurant. More engaging staff would have certainly helped - we only saw reception staff to speak to when we checked in (very basic, here's a map and a key, no orientation or pleasantries) and when we checked out (no 'how was your stay', just 'how do you want to pay'). We stay in a lot of hotels of varying standards around the world and this was one of our most disillusioning experiences. :(

    Breakfast items were nice but limited choice and the boiled egg, although excellent, was the only hot item. Location is difficult to beat right in the centre of everything and on the canal, however this didn't make it worth the money in our opinion.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    At our arrival we felt a little bit un-welcomed since no info has been given at the check in. Hopefully a kind gentleman from the Restaurant gave it later. Tea facilities would have been appreciated in the room or at least in a common area.

    The hotel is very clean. We had a nice room with nice view on the river. We had a good breakfast and a very nice lady attending us for coffees and for the check out. Many thanks to her. It is after all a very positive experience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels weren't changed and we had to ask. Forgot to make up bed on one day. Staff too busy with resturant to take notice of my request for clean towels

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure.

    Lovely hotel, we had the canal view rooms so perfect for us. Two twin rooms booked, room no3 was small room no4 was huge! bathrooms were lovely but water pressure a huge problem, couldn't wash hair as shampoo and conditioner couldn't rinse out, took over an hour to run a bath. Looked great but not functional. Breakfast was lovely, not too much just what you need to get going. Location is what makes this place. Perfect and a really old building . There are car parks nearby that charge at most around Euro15 per day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had just been renovated so it smelled a lot of paint. The staff was not very friendly, we were supposed to have a bathtub but did not get that as they had just renovated.

    it was a nice stay, good view over the canal, the breakfast was simple but good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner in the restaurant was not really up to our expectations although breakfast was excellent.

    Central location overlooking the most photographed spot in Bruges! The room was small but charming and clean. Ours had a dormer window overlooking the canal. The restaurant is beautifully located with a magnificent view of the canal. Breakfast was quite good. Staff were very polite and hard working.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a bathtub and shower but you couldn't stand up in the tub.

    Breakfast was fabulous. The food was excellent and the view was gorgeous! The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    hotel s very nice ,the room was superb, the bed was very comfy, the view was incredible.. we ll happily return with our dog who enjoy his day in hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small and terrible shower. On arrival our room was made up as a double bed and I had specified two singles on booking form. I pointed this out to reception but was told no such thing was requested I assured the man on the desk I did and asked him to re check booking form, as he was checking he continued to insist I was wrong, when he read the request he never even apologised just said he'd sort it. We returned 2 hrs later after dinner, ready for bed, only to find the room was still a double, he said he was busy ! we had to sit in the hall way while he changed the beds, again no apology whatsoever..Poor customer service, such a pity...

    location was excellent, and young girl on reception and breakfast duty was lovely. Comfortable bed and very quiet. Nespresso machine nice touch, beautiful period hotel, and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The very small double room on the second floor we stayed in requires extensive refurbishment and in particular the tiny bathroom. However, we are aware that refurbishment of this floor is planned for 2018

    see above

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the staff was a little brusque but that seemed to be his nature an he certainly helped well with everything we needed.

    The location must be one of the very best in Bruges. Overlooking the canal at one of the most picturesque locations in Bruges very close to all attractions. Restaurant was good and breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no lift, can be difficult for an elderly people to access the room.

    Beautiful location, view from the rooms are great! Staff is very Friendly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t blame the hotel. I was freezing most of the time

    Awesome location. In my opinion the best place you can get to enjoy the beauty of Bruges. All I had to do was to open my room’s window and look outside to feel I was in paradise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms were ok but could have been bette although I understand they are being refurbished.

    Excellent quirky hotel if you are looking for something with character this is the place. The decor is fabulously gothic and the staff really attentive. Fantastic location with bars restaurants and the square so close.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A choice of pillows would have been good but I'm nitpicking

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location of this beautiful hotel is excellent have at least one meal in the restaurant because the food is delicious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location was perfect very central. This hotel was a beautiful old building full of old world charm. Lovely large room with very large modern bathroom. No onsite parking but reasonably priced car park minutes walk away. (8.70 euro a day). We eat in the restaurant and the food was great. Similarly a fabulous breakfast overlooking the ducks playing in the canal. Fabulously attentive and charming staff. Would happily recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Should have a bit more hot foods like scrambled eggs, not just boiled egg. Self serve orange juice rather than waiting for the single waitress to keep on topping it up all the time.

    Location is optimum. Decor being both very old style yet with newly renovated facilities like ultra modern bathroom. In-room Wifi works well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic with no hot drink facilities.

    Perfectly situated in probably the most scenic part of Bruges. The breakfast was very good and dinner was also excellent but pricey.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’d like to drink and eat some snacks in restorant but they dont serve “just snack”, it was rude thing.

    Our train was so early, and they prepared quick breakfast and left in front of desk for us, it was really good surprise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here last year and will do so again. Such a nice place with friendly staff. The rooms are dated but clean and very comfortable and the dining area downstairs has an amazing view of the canal. We looked forward to staying there again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the location of the hotel it was value for money and our room was very clean but the decor in our room was very dated and although the bathroom was small it was still adequate in size but the biggest problem we had was the lack of head space to stand up and use the hand held shower over the bath tub. The ceiling above the bath followed the slope of the roof which meant there was no room to stand up in the bath to use the shower so you either had to have a bath or kneel down in the bathtub to use the hand held shower. Also our room was described as having a canal view but the description forgot to mention that the window was very small and it had to be reached from 3 steps above floor level. But the view from the window was beautiful though especially at night when the surrounding buildings and the canal were lit up.

    The location of the hotel was excellent and the view from the restaurant/breakfast room was fabulous & the decor of the restaurant/breakfast room was done very nicely and completed the old world charm of the building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in this hotel on 23/10/2017. We chose it largely because of its location, right next to the canal which Bruges is famous for. We booked our room thru Booking.com which issued us a confirmation describing it as "a deluxe room on the 1st floor with one or two beds has views of the canal" After checking in, we found the windows were all facing an inner square. We asked the hotel manager where the described views of the canal were, and he coldly said we could see the canal thru a gap (app. 10 feet wide) between two buildings surrounding the square. Our demand for changing to one facing the canal directly was flatly declined. We wrote to Booking.com after our trip but couldn't get any meaningful helps from them nor the hotel after writing several long emails (one even with a photo and a diagram showing the windows overseeing the square and the narrow gap thru which one could 'enjoy' a tiny slice of the canal). So, beware, ask and confirm how exactly they define canal views before doing your bookings. Bruges is indeed a beautiful town. Its canal is superb. You would never want to have your visit spoiled in the way we suffered. We consider ourselves a loyal customer of Booking.com with 71 completed bookings since 2011. We had never been so disappointed until this one.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was in small bath, it was an attic room so not easy to use....being refurbished soon so may solve problem....however it would put us off booking again.

    Comfy beds, breakfast was fresh and good choice.perfect boiled eggs, rooms warm without being to hot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was the best you can get in Brugge at the most fotographed spot in town! Breakfast was really nice with lovely views of canals. Our deluxe room had a big new bathroom with Villeroy Boch sanitair.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing. By the time we got down to eat there was no meat or cheese left, the donuts were stale, we had to seek out a staff member to get some coffees and boiled eggs, and when we did finally get our eggs mine was completely hard and my partner’s was uncooked to the point that he could not eat it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was travelling with a friend and booked a twin room assuming it would be seperate beds. We arrived to find one large bed that was two singles put together which we were told could not be seperated as both joined to the bed head. That was disappointing.My understanding of any twin room I’ve ever booked is two seperate beds either two single beds apart or two double beds apart...not the case here. Just check when you book!

    The hotel was in taste of the area, quiet medieval yet quaint at the same time. On the canal so picturesque. Loved the view from the dining room. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I accepted with the old hotel that staff told me. But the toilet is too old and not comfortable. It's very difficult to take a bath with shower.

    Breakfast is good. Location is nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing i don't like

    Our window was directly on the lake and I wish I never had to leave. The room facilities were all super modern in spite of the middle age setting and appearance of our hotel. The hotel is located on huidenvettersplein which is a lovely square where the canal boats depart so it's a really busy tourist stop yet surprisingly is really quiet and not noisy at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffet breakfast was quite good and varied. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and clean, as was all the linen. Location is perfect and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    to have lunch or diner was expensive but this was in all restaurants and bistro in Bruges

    fabulous location, in the heart of Bruges , in the river our room was fantastic, the best view from the room to the canal nice breakfast, very polite personel The whole location was like a fairy tale

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower was uncomfortable, you have to be sitting on the bath tab because the roof would not let you stand up

    The location, the view, the bells sounds, the people

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant excellent for breakfast and dinner. Spacious Suite 3, well furnished, big bathroom, corner suite overlooked the canal, with huge and multiple windows that fully opened to the most photographed area of Bruges. Was a magical room, the best in Bruges.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only teeny problem was that to use the room safe you had to ask for a key from reception. I didn't bother and left stuff in the room with no problem.

    The location was perfect. The style of the hotel especially the dining room was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were on the second floor and with no lifts this proved a burden. We knew there were no lifts due to the ancient character of the building so this cannot be remedied .Getting the car within easy reach of the hotel is also problematic due to pedestrianisation of surrounding streets. My wife and I are in our 70,s so we had some difficulties! If you are arriving by car the hotel could give some advice on how to get your vehicle as near as possible to drop off luggage. The underground parking is some 300 yards away!

    Excellent location in a beautiful old building in the city centre. Very comfortable with great staff and good breakfasts eaten in a fabulous dining room with spectacular views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not overly friendly and were not very welcoming. We specifically booked twin rooms only to find they were single beds but joined to the bedhead and made up as queen beds, unable to be separated. This meant we put one mattress on the floor and had to make it up ourselves. No problem for us but there is no lift which may make it difficult for some people.

    The location and the dining room were fantastic. I really enjoyed the decor and the breakfasts. It is a lovely old building in the heart of historic Bruges- would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was rather small - only just a double really - and felt as if it needed redecorating. The promised view was only partial. The hotel was not easy to find by car, but the worst problem was parking: there isn't any for the hotel (which we knew) but the staff were most unhelpful in advising us where to park. In the end, we found a space in a side street and lugged our bags 200-300 yards over the cobbled streets to the hotel.

    The breakfast was good, and restaurant and its view were very good indeed (albeit there was a feeling of 'faded glamour' about it). The hotel is dog-friendly, which was excellent in a major tourist town. The location is great - very central and within easy walking distance of everything tourists want to see and experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room, especially the bathroom, actually it's impossible to use duche standing, your need to seat. Modest to poor in-room facilities. The river view is possible only if your use stairs to small roof window. Modest to poor breakfast, especially to the hotel with serious restaurant in the place. TV in my room didn't worl properly with vast majority of channels. No lifts - it's not convenient with the luggage. No conditioner or vent.

    That's the very nice place of Brugge Center, best location! Nice building!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a complaint because it posed no problem for us but there is no elevator so if that is a concern just make sure you are on the lowest floor and if you have problems getting in and out of a tub that might be a question to ask as well. The hotel staff are wonderful and helpful with all concerns.

    This was a wonderful stay. The hotel is right in the heart of Bruges, along a canal, old world charm, excellent dining, breakfast was included ( and what a lovely breakfast), very comfortable. All the furnishing is old and the decor is enchanting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath/shower was not very accessible due to a sloped roof.

    The breakfast was fabulous and the service was excellent We had a delicious dinner there with our friends. Rates for Joel very reasinable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't stay longer!

    Lovely hotel, full of charm and atmosphere. It's in a great location with some rooms having views of the water. Our rooms had been renovated and work is currently being done on the top floor rooms although I wouldn't have noticed. There was no noise and disruption. Although central it is very quit at night. Had a really good nights sleep! The restaurant is beautifully decorated and has amazing views. We just had breakfast there but if (and when) we return we will eat in the restaurant. There is a fixed price menu which seems very reasonably priced. The staff are attentive without being overbearing. Special mention should go to the young guy who was on reception and working in the breakfast room (studying hotel management I believe). He explained the history of the building and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Duc De Bourgogne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: