Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Dukes' Palace Brugge 5 stars

Prinsenhof 8, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#11 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3038 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously, nothing.

    Property is located in the middle of Bruges with a short walk to all attractions in the city center. The hotel is clean and very well appointed/kept. Staff is welcoming and warm. A wonderful experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is by NO means a 5 star hotel. Not close. There was ripped and dirty carpet walking toward my room. I guess because it is an old castle they turn on a very loud fan in the bathroom from 8:00 to 22:00. It's bearable if you close the bathroom door. They give you tea and coffee, which is nice, but when I used the two bags of English breakfast, instead of replacing it, they just kept giving me more green tea. Just simple things like that kept occurring. The pillows for a stomach sleeper are unusable. They are so large and they do not compress. I had a hard time sleeping well as a result. When I was checking out, a couple and their very young daughter were complaining about having to pay for her to stay in the room. I see there are many similar complaints in previous reviews. In any case, I think this hotel, while pretty nice, is overpriced for what you get. Please read the one and two star reviews before booking, there are way more than their should be for a "5 star" hotel in my opinion.

    The location is great. The exterior of the hotel is quite nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed single in double room and after first nights they desided not to change second towels. It was strange as I payed for two person accomodation. It was main disappointment. But in general it was ok.

    Nice hotel, good location, but qite expensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd have liked to have breakfast included in the room rate.

    Excellent hotel in an ideal location with a fantastic service from attentive and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is outrageous- reception is understaffed, i got offered to make an appointment with the manager when i requested to speak to them at check in. I had to tell the reception lady that the manager’s job is to call me rather than me making appointments! When i called for shaving kit, i thought the housekeeping person would bring it to the room within 15min- nope, i went downstairs to reception to ask for it again after 40 min wait and the receptionist happily admitted she forgot about it and whipped one out from a cupboard behind her. At the same time another person found us a pleasant babysitter with few days notice. So i suppose it really does show u the staff is inconsistent with their skills and lacks some hospitality training you would imagine they get in a 5 star hotel. The duplex family room was dark, bit damp smelly and with tv only in front if adult king size bed- a note for the owners: please place the tv in front of kids bed, no one else watches tv in bed nowadays. Also, you may want to consider checking with guests if they are not offended by sleeping next door to the Church chapel (even if decomissioned).

    For 460 euros per night the breakfast was not included. For 30 euros extra per person you get « extensive » breakfast which « chefs spend a lot of time on »-not true. No yeast or gluten free options, hot plates with scrambled eggs and sausages sitting there for 3 hours of service barely make it extensive unless you count the Cava which few people got excited about until they realised it is not a champagne (seriously- Cava?) and it would make them drink cheap fizzy first thing in the morning. This place is serving Babybel as one of cheese options- that tells u all u need to know. Oh, and the only non diary milk is soja- really, no one cares for few cartons of oat or almond milk there?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    but was disappointed that so many lights, including hall lamps were switched on 24/7, which I think is wasteful and not in keeping with the times of needing to conserve energy consumption

    food - excellent; room and the whole hotel was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well hard to tell.have Been around the World.It Was the Best Hotel ever.Friendly kindness Beauty The Hotel is Perfect.Will come back soon.not the first Time in Brugge.The Most Relaxing Place.Thank you Thousand times.ps.had a bad Accident 2 weeks ago.The Duke Palace did me soo Good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is beautiful but staff was aloof and inattentive. We had an early morning departure, taxi was going to take at least 25 minutes to arrive, previously told to call ahead 10 minutes for taxi Front desk staff unconcerned. We ended up walking (almost running) to train station. Would not recommend staying here.

    Beautiful hotel and grounds, great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is really nit-picking!! But we didn't have euro adapters with us and usually in other hotels we have visited, there are USB ports to charge our phones etc and there were none available. I realise that it's an old hotel and that this probably might not be possible but it would be been great if that was available. And to be fair, I called reception and they had one for us to borrow. Also, there was no bottled water provided. Would have expected it in a 5* hotel, but otherwise it was fine. We went to the shops and bought large bottled water and put it in the fridge anyway. None of the points above would hinder our stay again!

    The staff were amazing, the location was so close to everything and the hotel itself was absolutely stunning- very majestic. The restaurant at the hotel was incredible, everything was delicious and they made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn’t work and room was so hot. Made for an uncomfortable night. We were told it takes awhile to cool off but our other room was nice and cool.

    Beautiful. Fantastic staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a family room. We loved the setup but wish the bathroom was located on the bottom, master level. We were not aware of the toilet location upon booking. Other than that we really loved the room.

    Location was perfect. The Garden is lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light on the smoke detector right above the bed flashes all night. Not great if things like that annoy you. But amazing hotel.

    Hotel and breakfast were lovely and location was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was poor: at the reception not too friendly & nobody to help with luggage. In the bar we had to wait a long time before being served, although 4 waiters were chatting with each other

    The location and beautiful view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On checking out it was a free for all.. no organization or order. Some guests oblivious to the que! Hotel staff could organize better to avoid the annoyance!

    Central to Bruges Centre.. clean accommodation and staff were pleasant, helpful and informative

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad experience with house keeping. After 4 hours our room was not ready yet. We came back and we got a call from the housekeeper that woke up the baby. After that the cleaning lady was very fast. The room was not tidy at all. She didn’t pick up empty bottles and we didn’t get our complimentary water. I’ve flagged this issue during the checkout and I didn’t get any discount for this inconvenient (e.g free parking or breakfast). I expect something else from a 5* hotel.

    Location is amazing. Breakfast expensive but really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Himalayan salt wall in spa was not working for the three days of visit. Apart from that a faultless stay.

    Location excellent. Breakfast superb. Staff very polite and welcoming. Spa was a welcome facility at the end of each day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old rooms No sound proofing Our room was in a chapel(!?) Distance from elevator to room is far TV had no hdmi input

    Great architecture Historical Place Only 5 Star Hotel Great Breakfast Quiet Has nespresso machine Bathroom kit is high quality but has low selection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a guest I expect to be able to have dinner in the hotel. I was told on check in that that was not possible! I don’t expect this from a 5 star hotel! As a result of no room fir dinner we asked for a recommendation , and it was terrible! The worst meL I have ever eaten! On return to the hotel we sat at the bar as no lounge seating was free, where upon a waiter asked us to move because it was not making his life easy! Again , not a 5 Star attitude I was expecting! On checkout we where put under pressure to leave!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff enters the room immediately after knocking the door... this is not acceptable the room cleaning was poor - the sponge was forgotten at the bed table the pillows are not comfortable at all

    extremely friendly help-desk staff very god restaurant best location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nicer is there had been a swimming pool Coffee machine provided but no kettle so couldn’t make tea in room

    Great central location yet set off street so quiet and secluded. Amazing breakfast including glass of fizz and chocolate!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer in the room was not good at all. For the quality of the hotel, I think it could provide a higher quality dryer.

    We especially liked the location.....close to restaurants and attractions but a block off the beaten path.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke detector flashed all night making for a disturbed sleep. When reported to reception, we were told that this is what smoke detectors do and they were trying to resolve the issue. It appeared as though the hotel had not placed much importance on solving the problem

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room didn't really have a view which was disappointing we overlooked the roof of the Spa.

    The Hotel was beautiful the beds were really comfy and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The two-up, two-down split level bedroom has the bathroom/toilet located with the 2nd upstairs bedroom. Slightly inconvenient for the grownups sleeping downstairs. Only one TV downstairs means sharing with the kids.

    The hotel is located in the most ideal place from which to go out to the various attractions. It is in a quiet, secluded mini square. The two-up, two-down split level bedroom was perfect. Hotel has its own sub-street parking. There is cheaper parking close by but this was perfect for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was exceedingly hot and the instructions were not clear on how to turn down the central heating. Strange to thing to say, but the pillows were too bulky. The buffet breakfast was nice, but a bit pricey.

    The hotel is beautifully kept with excellent facilities in a central location. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was lovely, spacious and very clean. The bar was one of the nicest places to chill relax as was the small outside garden. Will definitely revisit hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could be more luxurious for a palace.

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. They were quick with requests. Excellent facilities and location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of room service was 'over the top'!

    The Hotel is situated in the centre of Brugge, easy to walk everywhere. The rooms were fabulous and very comfortable. We did not use the restaurant as we wanted to explore the city. The City itself is well worth a longer stay, as there is so much to see and do. The Dukes Palace is ideal for all the sights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    What a truly amazing hotel, staff were amazing, the young men working in bar were to total credit to the hotel....luxury....amazing food, amazing cocktails,can't wait to return x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff was not very nice, the SPA was plenty of children as such was very noisy and difficult to relax, the hotel should put age access limits

    Excellent location and very nice Hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the bathroom was equipped with a proper hair dryer instead of the small ones as it takes ages to properly dry your hair with those. During the night, the temperature was quite high in the room.

    Excellent property with lots of style and comfort. Rooms and bathroom were spacious and had all the necessary amenities for a comfortable stay (e.g. Nespresso machine in the room, mini bar, etc.). Our bathroom had separate shower and bathtub. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice regarding hot and cold food. I enjoyed the complimentary glass of champagne in the breakfast and the Belgian chocolates.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the hotel with pay at the property option but they deducted it from my card!! The funny thing is that in check out they asked me to pay again by cash!! And told me the money that deducted from my account will pay back in 5 days!!! It is unbelivable!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a gin and tonic, which was excellent, but at 15 euros I didn't have another. I stuck with the beer, which was more reasonably priced.

    We had a single night stay so didn't sample all of the facilities (the spa etc) but what we did use was very impressive. The shared spaces were generous, with plenty of places to relax in peace, whilst the room was very comfortable and spotless with a well equipped bathroom and a very comfortable emperor sized bed. The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and considerate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought that we had breakfast included in the price and an extra €28 per head was a bit steep. The Spa doesn't have a pool area which we had assumed it would, I clearly need to do more research.

    Classy hotel in the centre of Brugge. Large Room and Bathroom, comfortable bed. Excellent bar with friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downstairs toilet in Duplex Room was permanently locked, so we had to go upstairs for the toilet during the night, with the risk of disturbing the children!

    Generous sized rooms! Super friendly staff and a great bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is popular and therefor - a little crowded and overpriced. Not all the facilities at the wellness center did work properly. Brealfast selection should be better for 5*.

    The building is really charming vintage. Lockation is really good. Room was spacious and comfortable and service prompt. Indoor parcking provided extra convenience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ‘spa’ facilities were not on constantly so if you wanted to use the steam and sauna room before 4pm you had to ask to turn it on which meant they were not very hot. No iron in room or hotel which is strange for a five star hotel. Bring a travel iron.

    It was such a beautiful building and the restaurant is amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up by maintenance work banging n also a member of staff entering my room whilst I was sitting naked on my bed was horrendous!!! The same person entered my sons room next door. Privacy is very important in a hotel room!!

    Space n cleanliness was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fire alarms are located above the beds and their lights are very disturbing during the night. The cleaning service is quite noisy in the afternoon (forget to take a nap...)

    Excellent location, nice rooms and amazing breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spa was very basic, weird, cold, no swimming pool and no SPA staff. Room service menu was very poor, limited to 4 items. Room shower didn't keep a constant temperature, changing from very hot to cold. Toiletries supplied were very basic. No extra bedding, no choice of pillow sizes and hardness.

    Staff, location, room size, quiet, the bar and reception area. Great looking hotel. Comfortable big bed, nice quality linen and towels. Lots of storage, well stocked room bar. Nice coffee. Turn down service a nice touch. If you left a do not disturb at the door, you were left alone. Big sized shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything.

    Absolutely everything. The hotel is one of the best we’ve stayed in and it’s the perfect location for exploring all Brugge has to offer. Staff were super friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a non-smoking room, but our room smelt of smoke and we have to leave the window open all day to help freshen it up

    large room, bath and shower and large good bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, lovely restaurant and staff couldn’t do enough to help. Close to the Markt although in its own little quiet area. Travelled with a toddler - main attractions all within 15-20 min walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was expensive, but you are right next to lots of lovely cafes if you don't want breakfast at the hotel. You were only given one complementary bottle of water between two people for a four night stay.

    Other bed was extremely comfortable, and the bar was relaxing and welcoming!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was quite a way from the hotel for me as I’m disabled. Staff were not helpful. Inadequate lighting in the bedrooms. Flashing light above the bed made a peaceful nights sleep impossible. Expensive. Dinner menu looks looked ‘strange’ & unappealing. Many nice nearby restaurants for half the price.

    Great bathroom. Room comfortable but very dark. Location was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were ‘snooty’ all except the very nice porter. The room was very poorly lit with 3 lamps only so it was too dark at night to read a book. There was A RED FLASHING LIGHT above our bed. It is a security/smoke detector because the building is hundreds of years old. Consequently I couldn’t sleep all night due to the flashing red light. The staff were not sympathetic at all. To be fair to guests, like me, who cannot sleep with a RED FLASHING light above the bed the hotel should warn guests about this on their website. Another crazy point was you only get 1 bottle of water free per room per stay. So they charged us €7 for 2 bottle of water on check out! Paying a bill of €800+ that is just MEAN! The duty manager (Tibo) was rude & unhelpful. Sadly for a beautiful hotel the staff are poorly trained in customer relations. I would not recommend staying here as the service is not what I expect from a 5* expensive hotel.

    It’s a beautiful & historic hotel right in the center of Bruges. The breakfast was very good. The rooms are beautiful. Exceptional bathroom with walk in shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At 28 Euros per person I thought the breakfast was a bit pricey

    This is a luxury hotel located right in the centre of Bruges which makes it a great base from which to visit all the museums etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The rooms are nice and comfortable with modern bathrooms and comfy beds. The hotel itself is beautiful and the breakfast is the best I have had at a hotel. The location is also perfect for exploring Brugges. Not the cheapest but worth it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "Health Corner" can be slightly improved i.e the solarium, maybe adding more facilities...and a little bit more of a green touch.

    I LOVED every single detail, if you are looking for an out of order romantic weekend, detached from everyday life: this is the right place to go. A jump into history, the Hotel is an authentic palace in the middle of the city center, dramatic from the entrance, pure luxury. Every corner is stunning, amazing garden, you breath flemish art everywere, also in your private room! The staff was extremly professional and helpful, 5* service from the very beginning, Big thanks to the receptionists who helped me arranging a surprise in the room for my boyfriend. The breakfast buffet was just a dream, you have endless choices for every taste... i.e unlimited Belgian Chocolate and Champagne! Fresh home made juices, at least 7 types, uncountable types of bread and pastries, I ate way to many belgian pancakes. The overall quality is excellent! Again, 5* standards, they do it 100% right!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows they where very firm. If you want to be served drinks in one of the lounges expect a long wait not great considering we where the only ones in the lounge also the menu in the restaurant seems to be the same every night so I would recommend going out to eat.

    Very good breakfast plenty of choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drilling all day. Room next to a very noisy lift. Rude staff for evening room service with a extremely limited room service menu. Charged extra for a baby cot

    very big room in a great location. Nice bar area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went for the special St Valentine's evening meal on 14 February and it was superb - expensive but everything was included (food, wines, water, coffee) and worth the money. A lovely central hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. Very comfortable room with quality toiletries. Nice to have windows that open and look out onto a lovely lawned area. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of choice. The bar had a lovely ambiance, great menu and staff. The parking garage was located directly under the hotel and the hotel was easy to find. Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break in the heart of Bruges.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really not what I expect for a 5* Hotel . The staff were extremely unhelpful & rude . The room was very dated . I have never been in a room before with no kettle !!!

    Only the location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You get disturbed by noise in the room next door and they give you ONE bottle of water for a room of two people. It would be better not to give you anything. Also the dressing gowns are old and tatty

    The bar is lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is pricey (but first-class, so try it once anyway). Water can escape from the doorless shower.

    Friendly and professional staff. Parking is remarkably good for Belgium. Modern, comfortable quiet room with a view of beautiful Bruges. Elegant architecture, decor and garden. Excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee machine we couldn’t work out. The shower was very average and also the hair dryer. The view was okay but would have like a higher floor with a view of the city

    Very nice hotel well located friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spa is limited to just massage and steam and sauna rooms (No other treatments and no swimming pool).

    Champagne and belgian chocolates for breakfast made it feel like a luxurious holiday. Restaurant was top quality if a bit pricey. Bar was really comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a family room on 2 floors - master bed downstairs & twin beds upstairs - Bathroom & lavatory were on the upper floor, through single bedded room. Rather inconvenient having to go upstairs to use lavatory in the night & wake those sleeping upstairs. Car- parking facility was public Carpark underneath . Arrived with lots of luggage, in evening - only given limited time to unload - female receptionist who checked us in, had to act as porter & help take our luggage up in lift & along passageways to our room. Found this rather surprising for 5star hotel- No kettle in room for tea making. Only coffee machine present. Had to order room service for tea - Rather dated decor - worn carpets. Whole place requires a new lease of life . Lots of potential but rather ‘sad’ - disappointing. Did not eat in so cannot comment.

    Exterior architecture & setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating system was on the blink in our room and couldn't be adjusted so we were hot and slept poorly.

    The lobby and staircase was lovely. Nice room and bath. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pillows were really hard, room was hard to control the temperature, we had the window wide open but it was still roasting.

    hotel was great, staff were really helpful and rooms spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was expensive. The cost of drinks was extortionate which put us off using the hotels bar. No kettle for making tea you have to use coffee machine and there was only powdered milk, yuk.

    Lovely rooms, bar area overlooking the garden was nice. Coffee machine in room is lovely for coffee lovers. Very clean hotel with friendly staff, very quiet with no traffic noise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was overall good but eggs every morning were bland. Not sure why. Looked delicious but there was no taste. Rather surprised but plenty of other things to choose from.

    Restaurant was outstanding. Bar & service was great. Rooms and amenities were nicely decorated & what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Meet my expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a travel cot for my infant daughter and I had communication back from the hotel the next day with confirmation. All the staff made my infant daughter feel at home and not out of place as some 5 star hotels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were decorated to a high quality standard and such a comfortable bed. Hotel is perfectly situated within Brugge with everything in walking distance. Nice selection at breakfast and the bar was perfect for pre-dinner drinks. Lots of areas to sit and relax throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifey a bit unhappy that they wrote L’occitane toileteries on the room details but had some other brand in the room

    Belgian Chocolate n Champagne for breakfast was an awesome expereince! Greatlocation and very friendly staff! We got an excellent room on the 5th floor overlooking the Belfry! We loved Bruge and hotel experience made it even more memorable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    €25 daily car park fee seemed a little steep and we didn't find a pedestrian access from the rear of the hotel (creates an extra walk around the block but perhaps we didn't look passed the locked gates and missed a trick?). Very minor points when considering the overall experience.

    What a perfect location! A couple of nights bought as a Christmas treat for my lovely partner, I was very pleased as the quality throughout made the time together special. Garden facing Superior room had all we needed, huge bed and a modern inviting bathroom complete with separate shower & bath. Plenty of space for hanging & storing clothes. Trouser press and hairdryer complete the picture. Bathroom has most Shower/Bath lotions required with gown & slippers to relax with.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think it would be good for the chef and waiting staff in the restaurant to know that the equivalent of an entrecote steak is ribeye in the US and Porterhouse in the UK.

    We were there at Christmas and the decorations and Christmas trees were lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is the real winner, walking distance from city centre,very close to railway station as well. Breakfast is good. Front office staff is very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff, beautiful building with a lovely decor in a great location. Large rooms and bathrooms with comfortable beds and a very good breakfast choice .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't like having to pay for parking - they have enough room and should provide parking for guests. Also, the entertainment (TV) wasn't great - there were no movies, and not much of an English language selection...and no DVDs.

    The location is amazing...in the middle of town. The property is gorgeous - like being in an old palace...with beautiful wood, lovely lighting, cozy lobby and bar area, and well-appointed spa and fitness center. The whole building is gorgeous - looks like a castle - in the middle of a quaint and classy town center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was expensive at €28 per person per day.

    The bed was very large and comfortable, the decor was beautiful, the staff were friendly and helpful , the bathroom nice and big!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. The room was extremely well decorated and maintained. Food and drink very good. Location within Bruges was central yet extremely quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast choice was excellent, from continental to full English breakfast including Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Egg from the buffet. There was even Milk, Plain or white chocolate with Champaign available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was disappointed that the "spa" didn't have a pool and Jacuzzi - I thought these were standard in a spa hotel.

    Bathroom was outstanding, very contemporary style with perfect facilities. Bed was huge! and comfy. Free wifi was great. TV channels very good. The whole hotel was beautifully decorated and presented, very spacious, too. Hotel location was perfect. Breakfast was really good. Staff extremely friendly, polite and all helpful and happy to converse in English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of valet parking, the lack of concierge servcices and the general lack of trained, efficent staff both in reception and in the bar areas. While the hotel's decor has remained a high standard under new ownership the level of service is not 5 star.

    The location is the principle reason to stay in this hotel. The reception areas are very pleasantly designed.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Dukes' Palace Brugge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: