Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ensor 2 stars

Speelmansrei 10, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#47 of 102 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1275 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Hotel Ensor
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Clean room, good shower and the breakfast was really nice. Great view of the river from are bedroom window Great location, right next to the market square and very close to the train station, and the owner was very helpful and spoke English very well

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing of note. A bit of table space, especially for the kettle/drink facilities and a little more cupboard/hanging space would of been nice.

    Owner was friendly and extremely helpful when I asked for suggestions about where to visit in Brugge. For a small pre-agreed additional fee, I was kindly allowed to park my car securely on site. Guest house is in a superb location for those wishing to explore the city. Breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    OK stay, good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an old building, not recently renovated. In my room, there was practically no work desk and no closet--just some hangers. Even the electric plugs were inconvenient. The bathroom was dark (particularly the bathtub area at night) and not very convenient. There was no Internet access from my room late the first night (even though they gave me access information), but when I inquired about it at the reception it was fixed immediately and then it was very fast.

    It is in a convenient location, between the train station and the centre of town (15' and 10' walk, respectively) and close to some restaurants and cafes. The bed was comfortable. There was an electric pot, coffee and tea in the room. Water pressure and temperature was good. Breakfast was good. Wi-Fi was very fast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.5
    Happy stay in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom with a poor sliding door nowhere to hang up towels .Bedroom was large but a little worn but comfy.

    The location walking distance to centre and all bars. Fantastic breakfast with very good choice. Very friendly and helpful host. Would stay here again if in Brugge. Host speaks very good English. Also bookable parking which is a plus

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    I love the central but quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was actually two small beds put together side by side. The pillows could be more comfortable. WiFi was very sketchy in room 7. Most of the time, I could not access the internet from my room at all. I had to go to the other end of the corridor or downstairs for WiFi. It was really annoying.

    I love the central but quiet location. It is close to almost everything. Staff were nice and efficient. Clean room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Very convenient and friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t find anything that I disliked.

    I liked this hotel for its proximity to the centre and also for the excellent service provided. I would definitely recommend to my friends.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    It provided a good base for my visit to Bruge and Blankenberge and enhanced that experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. It met my expectations fully.

    Good location half way between the station and the city centre. Very friendly helpful staff. Nice breakfast - croissants, rolls, cereal, cheese, meats - as much as you wanted.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but the wi-fi, which was quite on and off but this one’s really minor. I highly recommend this hotel for short stays.

    The hotel is a good 15-minute walk from Brugge train station and about 10-minute walk to the city center where all the tourist spots are located. The hotel is in a quiet alley but only a few minutes away from a huge selection of restaurants and shops. The room is quite spacious with scenic windows (I’m speaking for my room which has 3 huge windows). I supposed the reception guy was the owner - he was very pleasant and had given me a quick orientation about the place, its safety, where to eat and the must-visits landmarks, etc. Breakfast option was okay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Room was basic but clean and to a good standard with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was basic but clean and to a good standard with a comfortable bed, we also had a balcony with a nice view which was an unexpected bonus. Ideal if you are looking for a cheap hotel in a very central location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little dated but still a comfortable hotel

    Very friendly owner. Had secure parking for my motorcycle View over canal Coffee making facilities in the room Good wifi Good value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Great value for your money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, hospitality of reception( thanks Marc) Authentic building and breakfast room Great value for money Hope to stay there again Mesut G Turkey

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.5
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't really change anything except shelf in bathroom could of been cleaner and place could do with a lick of paint ..

    Bed was very comfortable ...shower excellent . Not too far from main attractions

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Given the opportunity I would go back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee refills during the stay . Noise from others using the corridor quite loud .

    Staff very friendly and helpful . Breakfast very good , lots of variety and very fresh . Towels and bedsheets left alone for my stay as requested ...lovely to find somewhere that understands we do not all want to be wasteful ...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    Avoid - this place has bed bugs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in room no.7. This room has Bed Bugs. I have notified the proprieter but he was insistent it was not bed bugs but mosquitoes. I know the difference, you do not get 20+ bites in groups on your arms and hands from mosquitoes. I found 4 mosquitoes in the room which I disposed with and only one had blood in it. I think I would have noticed 15 other mosquitoes if they had been in there! I would avoid this place if you don't want to become a feast for bed bugs!

    The breakfast was nice. The mattress was comfy as they are new from the beginning of 2018 because... they had a bed bug problem before!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money (Stayed 1 night for work)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although parking was nearby, I would consider a different location for work purposes. I was lucky to arrive before 22PM, since I didn't know the reception wasn't 24/7.

    Stayed for 1 night for work. Price-quality was good. Didn't expect more or less.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Value for money hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mattress protector on bed Bathroom was a bit dark and shower head could be changed and could be cleaner.

    Very central location offering great value for money in Brugge. Staff friendly and helpful on check in and check out. Lovely breakfast included in the price. Could leave bag after check out so I could more time walking around. 15mins walk to train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Great Value, Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I was in the attic room, which was very spacious but lacked a fan or any cooling. Be warned the steps are steep and narrow, but there is a lift to the 2nd floor. No complaints from me.

    Small, friendly, family run hotel, in a great location. Quiet street by the canal in the historic district. Easy walking to historic centre, shops & restaurants, railway station, etc. Breakfast was good. Owner was very helpful. I would stay again. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Lil hidden gem in the centre of Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think anything bad about this place!

    It's a lil hidden gem in a quiet part of the town. Surprisingly how central it is though, literally 5 min walking and you're in the touristic city centre. Staff is very helpful and keen on giving tips and advice on Bruges. You'll have your own keys to go in and out anytime, which makes you very independent. Good breakfast with a selection of bread, crepes, croissants, ham, cheese, jam and sweet spreads. Great value for money and highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Great short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Possibly a mistake, the tea an coffee weren't replenished. Very difficult to get to, probably due to another square being resurfaced that had closed a road that we needed to use , ended up driving through Brugge which was an experience with cars, bikes and tourists to avoid.

    Room was a good size with a view over the canal, location was great, about a 5 min stroll to main square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Very Nice compared to the price and to a 2 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was smaller than it was mentioned .. there was no air condition or even a fan and it was to hot and I had a problem with opening the window because it was close to the gardens and opening the window can make you suffer from mosquitoes and and bees and flies.. if there something you can add that can make me open the window and prevent mosquitoes from entering the room it would be wonderful .. there was no hair drier and no fridge .. and there was no safe box (but nothing happened to my stuff .. the hotel is safe) + Just add an air condition or even fan or add anything to the windows to prevent insects from entering .. a safe box .. a mini bar .. a hair drier .. and I promise you it will be the most popular hotel in Bruges.

    The staff was very nice .. The view was wonderful .. The breakfast was was Excellent and far better that I expected with many varieties .. The room was clean .. The bathroom was clean.. the location was very good .. just a few minutes from the center.. all of those facilities and more really good compared to the price and very nice for a 2 star hotel..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Quaint , basic but ok .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ok but again could be improved , maybe some fresh fruit !!Eggs cold and hard and pancakes not warm .

    Quaint , basic but ok . Needs a little TLC lick of paint maybe , a few hooks in bathroom or a shelf , but we loved the position . Quiet but easy walk into centre. Owners very nice and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get to by car as alterations in the city centre have screwed up the road network. Ask for directions before you set off and it isn’t a problem.

    Great location. Enjoyed breakfast. Owner/manager really helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, amazing view, would definitely come back and recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very simple, not new and bed cover also not new, but that is not a problem for me. I see no point in buying new things if what you have is good and still usable. The room had a great view to the canal, in 1st floor and there was elevator, which is very convenient with the suitcases -often apts or hotels in Belgium or the Netherlands to not have elevators (especially if they are in old buildings).

    I believe the hotel is attended by its owner, who was very nice, as his son. I arrived late (7 pm) and had a dinner and needed to check in, get changed and rush out very quickly and the man at the reception was extremely helpful in assisting me with all I needed (hairdryer, parking, taxi) and also checking me in very quickly. I woke up very late and breakfast was over, but still, I was allowed to take a tea and eat a croissant and banana. Great stay, great location, good value for money. The bathroom was all brand new. Tea and coffee are provided in the room, which is always nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice room, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few things were a little dusty and the door to the bathroom was a strange sliding arrangement.

    Great value for money. About a 10-15min walk from the centre of town. Room was larger than expected with a nice bathroom and comfy bed. Breakfast was a buffet of bread, cold meat and cheese, cereal and croissants. I think there was also a microwave to use, though I'm not sure. Staff were efficient and helpful though a little distant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant and enchanting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds.

    The little hotel is off the beaten path, yet close enough to everything. Easy to get to from the main square. The canal out side our window wax an extra bonus. Quiet and charming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect: location, room, bathroom, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit more bright light in the room and in the bathroom would be great.

    Everything was perfect: location, room, bathroom, breakfast. The view from the room was very beautiful: a canal with couple of swans. The owner of the hotel was very friendly, he told me where to go best to explore Bruges and let me leave my backpack after the checkout. I would definitely recommend !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is close to the main square and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault anything.

    The hotel is close to the main square and train station. It's also in a quiet location. Breakfast was good and the room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    High value for the money in top location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    High value for the money Top location: Very quiet but needs only two minutes to enter the city center. 10min to the train station by foot. Room was big enough, bed was comfortable. Owner is very friendly and provides helpful (insider) information.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice and quiet place to stay in Brugges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door was extremely uncomfortable.

    Really nice and quiet location. Room was fairly spacious.Very good breakfast and caring owner:) The interrior was a bit vintage in good and bad sence. But overall it was a nice stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    An awesome hotel for an awesome town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basically I liked everything, only a couple of minor remarks - stairs are a bit inconvenient and there was some spiderweb on the ceiling, but, considering the age of the building, it was even authentic :) . Definitely recommend the property and definitely will stay again when I'm back to Bruges!

    Pretty nice location - very picturesque and not noisy. Friendly staff. Very spacious room with tea/coffee facilities (cups, kettle, tea/coffee itself). Breakfast menu includes pancakes! Comfortable bed. Elevator (for people with big/heavy luggage).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean, toiletries included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work at all. The walls are very thin and you could hear everyrhing.

    Clean, toiletries included. Rooms spacious and with view to the canals. The breakfast was ok, we had from where to choose.Some vegetables would have been nice to be included. Close to city center. Nice owner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a little difficult to understand

    The location is excellent, right next to the centre yet on a quiet street. The room was much better than I thought, since the hotel is rated only 2 stars (it seems 3-starry to me!). The breakfast was varied and the dining area is spacious, very nice. Most of all, it was very informative to chat with Jan, the amiable co-owner of the hotel. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    our room had beautiful views of the canal and a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    could hear some muffled voices through the walls from neighbors but not a big deal.

    our room had beautiful views of the canal and a lovely little balcony. very spacious and comfortable. the breakfast was great with a selection of pastries, spreads, cereals and fruit. we enjoyed our stay here very much! bonus, the cafe next door(pastis) serves great food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to fault.

    Quiet, family-run hotel, with very helpful staff. Slightly old-fashioned, in a good way. Very good continental breakfast. I had a large room with two windows overlooking a canal. An easy 10 minute walk to the centre of town. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with a bit of updating especially in the Reception area. Nothing to do with the hotel but we had an unpleasant experience being stucked in traffic for almost 4 hours due to a gas leak and safety measures taken to divert the traffic, however we had a lovely stay in Bruges which is a charming town

    We had a pleasant stay at Ensor. Very pleasantly impressed by the kindness and very informative guidance given by Mark- at the Reception. Breakfast was diverse, fresh and good. Parking is 200 m away in a tunnel and Mark will inform you in detail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good option to stay in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two things could be more improve. In bathroom is no place to hang a towels. And second thing is in the bath part in bathroom is only natural light coms from glass blocks window. You can make a light in toilet, but it’s not enough for bath part. When outside is dark in this part of bathroom is just to dark to take a shower.

    The room was cozy and have inside whatever you need: big double bed, wardrobe, table with airmchairs, tv and electric kettle with tee or instant coffe. I like also table lamps next to bed on each side, because I don’t like use a main lamp in rooms. The big value is a plentiful breakfast which is included in price. Also the whole hotel is very quite, I realized only during breakfast, that in hotel are other guests. The stuff working in hotel is very helpful, give you a map and mark all worths to see things related to time, which you want to spent in Brugge. It’s realy good option to stay in this hotel. Also hotel localization is good value here. Brugge is not big city, all things are in view minutes walk distance and hotel is less than 15 min from that. It’s also close to main railway station (around 20 minutes by walk).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Great and quiet place near center of city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was not clean on the second day when we got back and dint get bathroom supplies (soap etc..) appart from this everything was perfect.

    The street was very quiet and the man at reception was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    The view was excellent and we were close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything.

    The view was excellent and we were close to the center. The man from the reception is kind and hardworking. We loved the room, it was big and quiet :) . We will be coming back for sure!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly. One of the owners helped us with areival and give us a map of tne city explaining what we can do. The hotel is few min walk from everything. Best location if you self drive. Loved the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location close to the railroad station and to the Bruges historical centrum as well. Very friendly staff, outstanding room design and nice breakfast. Highly recommend to stay here in short trips.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    A perfect place to stay while in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff, the couple who owns the hotel, are friendly and extremely accommodating. The hotel is centrally located, but on a quiet side street along a canal. A perfect spot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Landlord friendly and extremely helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find the hotel because of road repairs. Bit of a maze, Brugge. Find your way before entering the town and do not trust your GPS.

    Landlord friendly and extremely helpful. Arranged parking for us and gave os many detailed explanations about Brugge. Gave us a room with a big bed and a view over one of the canals. Also dug up a hairdryer for my wife.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    It was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect! The location is great: close to the train station and the town centre yet on a nice quiet street. Our windows were facing a small pretty channel. Breakfast is tasty and diverse. The owner is super nice and welcoming. Could't be better for this price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Definitely worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely!

    Super friendly and helpful owners, perfect location just around corner from the main street, peaceful location across from park and canal, good value and cozy, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    You feel you are welcomed here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not many options if you don't like sweet breakfast. But thats not my case :-)

    Friendly and helpful guy at the reception. Great and calm location in the city centre, beautiful building, cozy rooms and fantastic sweet breakfast. You feel you are welcomed here, thanks and see you again! :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    At the reception we found two great people who provided us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the reception we found two great people who provided us with concierge services and with a lot of kindness. We were very lucky and got the only room with the balcony :). The breakfast was good but it didn't include any vegetables. The room is a little bit noisy but renovated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location with view to the river and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was only 5 minutes walking from the center of Brugge and only 10 minutes walking from the train station. It has a wonderful view to the river out of the hotel. Breakfast was very tasty and from breakfast room there is also view to the river. We could also open and close the heater on our own, so the room was so warm and there was always hot water. Mark in reception was so kind and helpful. Everything was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    It was the perfect place for us. Well located, great staff, comfortable bed and lovely breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a bit awkward and the towels smelled bad. This is the only negative thing I can say!

    The breakfast was lovely! Delicious croissants and crepes, tea, fruit etc. Location is perfect, just 5 min from the train station and right next to the main roads. The staff were very helpful and marked all the places for us to see and answered all our questions. We were also able to leave our luggage there after checkout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay at Ensor - Our room had a view of the canal in front of the hotel and it was was very big, we had a queen size bed and plenty of space for our luggage. Free WiFi, hotel has a lift, which was a huge plus, and free breakfast. Breakfast food was great! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, it was a great stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish it would have been more clear that reception did not open until 8. I was needing to leave but had to wait.

    It was comfortable and convenient. I’d recommend to anyone wanting a nice stay at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay in a beautiful city.We stayed 4 nights and still weren't ready to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - decor in our room could have been updated but wasnt a problem

    Lovely friendly welcome from the owner who went out of his way to give us information. We stayedin room 9, double windows with lovely view over canal and its resident ducks. Nicely furnished, comfortable, bathroom refurbished, quaint and what we expected. Tea and coffee in room which is always a nicce touch and a TV although we werent expecting one. Breakfast was lovely, fresh crepes with a handy microwave to heat if required, the nicest croisants and plenty of choice to suit any appetite. Perfect place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Bruges-style cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator, but its an old building, so there couldn't be any elevator...

    The room was much bigger than I expected, wonderfully cozy and full of light. Also there was a real bath instead of a shower. And a balcony with a view on roofs of Bruges. It is just across the river from the city center and two main shopping streets, also a lot of restaurants and bars 2 minutes from the property - and still you can hear nothing from the room. The owner is very nice and friendly. And crepes for breakfast were delicious. Thank you very much, hope to come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was functional..(ecxept for water issue)..Comfy...would use again.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not fault of hotel but no water in morning to wash as pipes leaked on road outside...But was still charged full rate..

    Bed comfy...Room warm..Tea/coffee in room...BIG window that could open right up//(though at -7C outside I did'nt do......

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you can hear everything what's happening in the next room ))

    A very pleasant host! Sincerely met and helped with the sightseeing plan giving advise where to go first and where to have dinner - an incredibly warm and sincere person! The hotel is small, old, but neat. Audibility in the rooms, unfortunately, is the main disadvantage, so this option is ideal for 1 (maximum 2) night. A small but delicious breakfast with pancakes :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    Adequate services for the offered low price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Adequate services for the offered low price. Good breakfast. The hotel is located within 10-15 min walk from Grote Markt and about the same distance from the railway station.. Nice quiet area. recommend for those travelers who wish to avoid crowds in the city center. Jan, the co-owner was very friendly and cooperative.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Unpretentious, informal hotel old character hotel, a far cry from the corporate blandness of Accor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Couldn't put my finger on any faults! For the cost & location it exceeded any requirements I had/ have! Possibly only the rooms wardrobe/ storage needed improving. I had no problems as a solo traveler but a couple would've had to use some of their luggage as wardrobe/ cupboard!

    Quiet location, very accessible, not to crowded with a spread of customers from around Europe. Decent sized room (I had to stay in a travelodge in London on my return, it was one of their superooms & it was only slightly larger than the one I had here 'cept it cost £125 for the night & not £50)!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Conveniently located overlooking a canal , about 10 minutes walk from both the station and the Markt. Quiet and comfortable room. Good value for money. Very friendly and welcoming owner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.3
    Traditional Bruges building with lots of character overlooking the canal in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door in the room was a consetere door which we had difficulty closing, but it wasn't a big issue and certainly wouldn't stop us from returning.

    Great location overlooking the canal and within a few minutes walk to the centre. Lovely friendly owner who offered some great advice and recommendations for local area. Thank you, would definitely book again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Location, view, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dump and old smell, but that expected from an old house and can be done with airing the room.

    Location, view, breakfast. Great overall, would recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, good breakfast and nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom can be improved for sure, it is pretty old.

    The location is great, the city center starts 200 meters from the hotel entrance and there are a lot of restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel is very cozy and the owner is nice and he can help you with the orientation in the city. The breakfast is good, the room was clean and the view was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building could do with a freshen up and a bit of painting. Nowhere to hang towels in the bathroom

    Convenient location, great breakfast with lots of choice, beautiful view, large bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Perfect breakfast,perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no hair dryers in the rooms so be carefull about it.

    Perfect breakfast,perfect location..One of the owner of the hotel Mark was very very helpful and nice person.I would definately recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    BREAKFAST, LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (1) NO WAY TO GET THERE BY CAR DURING OR JUST BEFORE HOLIDAYS - HALF OF THE CITY IS CLOSED FOR TRAFFIC, UNFORTUNATELY NO WARNING HAS BEEN ISSUED (2) COLD BATHROOM - EL. HEATER DID NOT WORK; OVERALL IMPRESSION: PRICE SLIGHTLY EXCEEDS THE STANDARD OFFERED, THOUGH IT WOULD NOT BE DIFFICULT AT LEAST TO FIX THE BATHROOM HEATER...

    BREAKFAST, LOCATION

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    6.7
    It was a good stay. The location was perfect. If the room was noise proof, it would have been great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was old. The room is not noise proof. You can hear everything outside including cars and people walking outside. There's a small road in front of the hotel so not a lot of traffic, but you can hear cars drive by in the middle of the night, not many just a few here and there. I was on the top floor. The Wifi was horrible. The first 2 night I couldn't connect at all. The last 2 nights I was able to connect but it was so slow it wasn't worth it.

    The location of the hotel is great. It's right on the edge of the tourist area. The bus stop is near by and the train station is about 10-15 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    A Quality Hotel that met or exceeded our expectations in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don't change a thing.

    Everything about our stay was great from start to end. There was absolutely nothing lacking. Excellent value for the money. Yes, the croissants were exceptional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    The owner and his staff were super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small. The bathroom was a bit cold, the unique radiator in the room couldn't heat up the bathroom. The round table should get repaired as the tabletop was not tightened well to the table bone. The showerhead wasn't working as desired, there were only a few water beams.

    The owner and his staff were super friendly. The location of the hotel is super. The breakfast was convincing. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    it was great and thanks to the owner for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is basic but just what you need. The owner is the kindest person i met during my trip and was willing to help me in everything. The Hotel has a good location, close to the main square (about 10 min walking) and to the train station (15 min walking). Bruge is a small beatiful town so everything is walking distance. The breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Good location and good value in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really it was all good and we would be happy to stay there again.

    Good location and only a short walk from the main streets of Bruges. Breakfast was superb and way better than most, the owner/host was really nice and very helpful - we would be very happy to stay there again. WiFi worked well in our room as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    A convenient hotel for a short stay in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was looking a bit tired and in need of a refresh. Would prefer white towels as coloured ones never look good in a hotel. Some maintenance needed as bathroom door handle fell off and the toilet wobbled.

    Very good location near to everything you want in Bruges. Spacious room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    Quite nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought my room looked a bit worn out. It was also quite cold in it at night, even though I had all the windows closed. It's not at all cheap, especially for a single traveler, but since it's Bruges, it's to be expected.

    The location is great. It's around 15 minutes walk from the railway station and ~10 minutes walk to the Grote Markt. Canal view too if that is what one wants. The bathroom was clean and the bed big and quite comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was quite boring, though alright.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good choice of continental breakfast items including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In bath shower, no shower curtain. No drawers in the bedroom, very little hanging space.

    Very good choice of continental breakfast items including pancakes and fruit loaf. Very large, comfortable bed. Very helpful staff. Corner room facing the canal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    The location is great and the staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great and the staff was very helpful. We had to check out before the breakfast was served (early train!) so I can't comment on that.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Cozy place that feels like Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection not stable sometimes

    Very friendly stuff, excellent breakfast, good location to visit everywhere and walking distance to train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet connection is disaster. Very slow and disconnects all the time. If you have to be connected and planned to do your stuff during your stay there, forget it. . they don't replace your towels if you don't ask but in general the place is clean and well maintained.

    location is great. There is a city parking very close. The team is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    High value and great stay with perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was difficult to get to due to construction and one way streets.

    The location was perfect for exploring the city. We loved how we could walk everywhere quickly. The breakfast options were varied and of high quality. And the owner was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ensor traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: