Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Erasmus Hotel 2 stars

Poel 25, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#20 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 829 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    First of all, we got an updgrade for our room which was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The options for breakfast were rather limited. It would have been nice to be able to eat a warm meal (as in scrambled eggs and bacon) and it wasn't very obvious how to make soft boiled eggs (plus not enough water so the top was raw). So that could be improved.

    First of all, we got an updgrade for our room which was a nice surprise. We were allowed to compare both options and obviously, the upgrade was great! Our room was very big and nice and the beds were relatively comfortable. Even though we were on the side of the street, it's quiet enough not to be bothered by traffic noise or other. So all in all, very pleasant stay and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, convenient location, adequate breakfast. Happy we reserved the limited space in the parking garage as Gent is popular and metered on street parking would have been annoying. EXCELLENT location. Walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice and quiet for a city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room with windows facing the wall of another building. Didn’t really bother me though. If I wanted to look outside, I would go outside.

    The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and I had a private bath and toilet. This is all I needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Great place but needs refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mossi ! There are fly screens over Windows but they have holes so really not effective. Normally they don't bite me but this one did, at least 10 bites and still hurting 3 days later. At least Mossi will have had a good meal Really liked the place and the staff, but it needs at least a surface refurbishment. Hope the owners and willing and able to finance and do this. If not within few years will not be viable business. Would I go back ? Thought yes but now probably not until refurbished, when it will be worth increased prices

    Ground floor communual rooms very grand and easy to imagine a return to previous centuries Rooms basic but clean and comfortable. Yes whole room and furniture shabby ( but unfortunately not chick) Don't be put off by outside, we arrived after dark and there were little to no lights, door locked ( but buzzer works to get service) , reminded me of the Adams family home. But once inside really nice and different

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    So, I liked the hotel, it’s in a great location, it feels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs some love. The room (at least the one I was in) needs a deep clean, some fresh paint and did I say it needs to be cleaned? The hotel,is so cool, it’s just a little sad to see what could be a true gem in the state it’s in.

    So, I liked the hotel, it’s in a great location, it feels quaint, the room was a good size, it could be a great hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Just around the curve from the city center, Erasmum Hotel is a great spot for seeing Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The initial impression is a large locked door with little instruction on how to gain entry. The street is rather non-descript, but once inside the hotel is very nice. The location, of course, was perfect for our stay, and we are glad we quickly got past that first impression from the street.

    We wanted to stay near the Ghent Festival that takes place downtown. While we were not sure about the choice at first blush, the location turned out to be perfect. We were very near the city center, but around the curve so that the noise from the festival was not an issue. For exploring the city, while avoiding the big corporate hotels, Erasmus Hotel was a great location to explore the city and enjoy the festival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Acceptable hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the Rough Guide touts the historic nature of the rooms, ours dated to the 1980s (complete with period clock radio) and the decor was a bit tired. Although the hotel had no control over the heat wave sweeping across Europe in 2018, the room was incredibly hot at night (with no fan provided, and no aircon installed). Choosing to leave the windows open only invited in a horde mosquitoes. We did not sleep well either night we stayed.

    Location cannot be beat. Close to tourist spots, but 3-4 minute walk from all the tourists. Staff were friendly and allowed us to store our bicycles in the back garden. The formal garden in the back of the hotel was a bit of a surprise. The breakfast room is a historic gem and the breakfast itself was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    I would come back here anytime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent placing in the middle of the old town. Beutiful interiour - just like in a museum. Spacious room and bathroom. Good breakfast. Good parking possibility. In one word: everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    excellent breakfast host very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was true to the age of the property, with a historic feel, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food and beverages the host kept everything replenished.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Unique and enjoyable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A surprising and unique place to stay, right in the centre of the city. The owners are extremely helpful; they gave us an upgrade to a large room on the 1st floor, because there is no lift, and I don't walk so well anymore. The facilities were good, with beautiful old-fashioned furnishings and real paintings (not reproductions) on the wall. Breakfast is in a beauitul dining room, with a view of the breautiful gardens outside. We will certainly stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift- no stand up shower- just a hand held in a tub. ( in twin room).

    Excellent location! Peter is a great guy with seemingly boundless energy - he works hard to insure your comfort and satisfaction! Btw the top floor is not for the older or limited mobility- many steps!!! A different ,kind of quirky , but lovely place! Breakfast in the salon was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Good character and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom and bathroom perfectly adequate but would benefit from refurbishment.

    Helpful hosts. Beautiful house with amusing objects and a fantastic staircase.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Quaint and delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the hotel, but it was a bit warm, being a very hot day.

    The hotel is charming, a very old building with many original features. It has a suit of armour in the dining room and an organ and piano in the lounge. The staff member on duty was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It doesn't have a lift if it's important for you.

    The location is great. The staffs were friendly and helpful. Breakfast room has a good view of the garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Adequate for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea tray but no coffee in room. Lots of stairs and no lift.

    Traditional old characterful building, more a B&B Comfortable bed, good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is located in a very beautiful house with many old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub didn't have a curtain for some reason. No elevator.

    The hotel is located in a very beautiful house with many old furniture items (not in the rooms, but in the common area). Breakfast was pretty good. Very close to the city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable but old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable but old. Still has charm. Only breakfast I've ever had where you cook your own egg! Very fresh! I forgot my kindle and they called me the next day. Extremely accommodating!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Great place with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place with character. The front desk was very helpful. The staff informed about the problem with plumbing and supplied me with a bottle of water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    A Night in Historical Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast and facilities in the room was so good. The staff was also so kind and helpful. Although we were reached there before our check-in time, they accept to keep our bag while we are walking around the city. There is not a luggage room but they kept them in safe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Great location, very friendly staff, clean facilities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only complaint was maybe the lack of a shower curtain in the bathroom.

    Great location, very friendly staff, clean facilities and absolutely gorgeous location in a 16th century house. Great value for couples and families. Located about a 5 minute walk from the canal side and 10 minutes from the city centre. Room was very spacious and had a very large bed. Also had a great, hearty all you can eat breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Good location in the center of the town, but at the same...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be careful - the staircase in the hotel is steep. And there is no lift in the building. But it's the price for the antiquity.

    Good location in the center of the town, but at the same time in a quiet place. Nourishing breakfast in the old hall with paintings. The supermarket is located in the next building, but it's better to find another one on the corner of Ramen and Burgstraat. In our apartment we found electric kettle and a tea set. Also there is a mini-bar, so you have an opportunity to chill your beer and enjoy Gent even more (:

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Loved it - would defintely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a problem for us but the only rooms with twin beds are up 2 flights of quite steep stairs - clients with mobility problems would find it difficult (no lift)

    The overall ambience was delightful - like being in a Vermeer painting! Breakfast was excellent and staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    Close to city centre and carried luggage upstairs for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get a hot bath or shower has the water wouldn’t stay hot for long. Breakfast wasn’t the best.

    Close to city centre and carried luggage upstairs for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    It was very nice place best for couples in a romantic trip...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water did not work for some time.

    It was very nice place best for couples in a romantic trip and friends. Staff was extremely friendly when my friend got sick they helped with tablets and other things.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Converted medieval house, great location, very good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Converted medieval house, great location, very good value for money. Staff were very friendly. The breakfast was excellent, a lot of choice in an antique setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Perfect location from which to explore Ghent's Old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    We were thrilled with our stay at the Erasmus Hotel. The location is perfect for exploring Ghent's Old City. Within 5 minutes, you can be at Gravensteen or St Michael's Church. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We used the hotel's reserved parking spot, which is conveniently located on at least 6 Euro less than nearby parking garages. Booking.com says no reservation is needed, but I only saw one spot so I suggest requesting it when you make your booking. Our room, including the bathroom, was quite large. The mattress may have been older, as another reviewer commented, but the foam pad on top made for a great night sleep for my wife and I. The WiFi didn't work so well in the bathroom, but was strong and fast elsewhere. The breakfast was pretty typical for a European hotel. My wife and I already decided we want to return to Ghent. When we do we will stay at the Erasmus Hotel again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Bath and lashings of hot water, spacious room, lovely staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep staircase to our top floor room and overlooked bathroom Belize window.

    Bath and lashings of hot water, spacious room, lovely staff and a great breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Well located within short walking distance from the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few things were very used or slightly broken (bath faucet, hair dryer, towel hook, radio).

    Well located within short walking distance from the city center. Kind and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Like staying at Hogwarts. Absolutely priceless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you stay in a house that dates back to the XV century you should expect some imperfections: it might be a bit cold, the bed might fail to be the softest in the world and there might be some problems with hot water. But the staff was really helpful. The only request to the staff would be - please consider changing the blankets. They are too old and shabby even for such an atmospheric medieval place.

    The atmosphere of the old house turned into a hotel 27 years ago is priceless. The location is excellent - 5 minutes walk to the Old Town and all the sights. Breakfast was a nice selection of different foods.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast very nice , good coffee .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to wait 45 minutes at night out in the rain because there was an issue with the door bell and we couldn't check in . That was very bad experience for us . Anyway, I don't think this will happen again. And the owner who came to open us eventually was very calm and apologetic .

    Breakfast very nice , good coffee . The hotel is very near to the most sights - walking distance. No need for public transportation , but the bus stop is 150m away . Big room nice quiet street. Also very helpful the baggage storage until we left Ghent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money and comfort in a historic building full of character.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was an ideal place for my one night.

    The style and size of my room was delightful. The breakfast was excellent and the location perfect for my needs. I like the historic ambience of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Hotel Erasmus made a large contribution to the enjoyment of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in our room was pleasant, but not really adequate for reading.

    Hotel Erasmus made a large contribution to the enjoyment of our stay in Ghent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    I loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee in the room, not just tea.

    Lovely quirky hotel in the centre. Such an old a property and kept the character. Rooms were basic but that added to the charm. Fantastic to stay in such a place, rather than a modern property. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Turn right out of main door and there is a great local bar with a Jupiler sign. Best prices in the town!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    I enjoyed my visit at a clean, quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bathroom had a bathtub with a shower head extension, but no wall mount or shower curtain, making showering difficult. Hot water was slow, then failed throughout the hotel.

    The hotel is about 3 minutes away from the historic center on foot. It was quiet, with a pleasant dining room and garden. The front desk staff were very helpful in hailing taxis and helping me find a power plug converter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need an update

    Great location, close to city center. Very nice building. It was very quiet in the night. Rooms are very dated, but functional. Parking-lot across the street, paid 19 euro for a day parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Very central, interesting 16th century building sympathetically decorated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ran out of eggs and took too long to refill. Finished breafast by the time the came. Very minor irritation

    Tourist Guide of city on checking in. Host carried case upstairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    This family-run hotel in an old (no elevator) town house is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This family-run hotel in an old (no elevator) town house is located very close to the main attractions in a quiet street. Charmingingly old fashioned ,with good breakfast, Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    4.6
    I was disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed. I booked this hotel because it was recommended as being the most charming in Ghent. However there is a difference between old deco and atmosphere and being almost run down. In particular the bathroom was aweful (only a bathtub, no shower curtain, sink taps very basic). Far too expensive for what it is. I would not recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Hotel full of character and lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff helped us with our issue of lost luggage. They kept our luggage late into the afternoon of our checkout day while we waited the arrival of our missing suitcase.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location - close to all "sights" in the city...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During my stay in October: The dim light in the breakfast saloon - this would of course be much nicer in summer time. The hotel description should mention that all bed room can only be reached via (rather steep) stairs.

    Great location - close to all "sights" in the city center & easy to reach from train station with tram (or taxi). Historical builiding with flair! Feels like being a family guest.....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Very old 16th century building - full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom somewhat in need of refurbishment. Downside of wonderful central location with a room facing the street was some noise from traffic and passers by late into the night!

    Very old 16th century building - full of character. Amazing bedroom with antique style furniture, leaded windows, marble fireplace and seating area. Kettle and coffee and tea provided. Buffet style breakfast good and friendly staff to ask for extras like eggs. Very central location - you could walk everywhere - parking very nearby in underground car park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value in an excelent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms on the top floor entail a long and steep climb up the stairs.

    Buffet breakfast was excellent with a range of cold meats and fine bread as well as cereals and fruit. Staff were all friendly and helpful and the location, five minutes walk from the Korenmarkt was ideal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    It was an excellent location with nice rooms and a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in Room 10 which didn't have much of a view and one of the windows couldn't open. We should have asked for a fan but the bathroom window gave us some air. It wad

    It was a very lovely hotel, and we loved that it was so old but very comfortable. The breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Old world hotel keeping it's atmosphere of yesteryear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old world hotel keeping it's atmosphere of yesteryear. Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast, fresh orange juice, free range eggs, fresh croissants etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    It was more like a pleasant B & B than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower and shower temperature difficult to master. No lift so not ideal for older people with a big suitcase.

    No fuss. Pleasant staff, good breakfast. Very central for sightseeing on foot. A parking place by prior arrangement.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Far from your standard hotel, but excellent if slightly quirky, and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - suited us fine.

    A hotel full of character - a tad old-fashioned, slightly tired decor, but a very welcome antidote to anonymous standard international hotels. All the facilities in the bedroom worked fine, a very quiet location plus a view from the bedroom overlooking a large private garden. The hotel proprietor was very friendly, most helpful and spoke excellent English. The bedroom itself was extremely spacious and airey, the food was plentiful, and the location full of interest near all the sites of historic interest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Can't Beat The Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was advised that breakfast was served between 8 and 10am. I arrived in the dining room at 8am and the breakfast was slowly being set up. I would say it was fully set up by 8.30am but luckily I was able to eat things as they came out. I would have preferred everything was ready to go at 8am. There were also eggs in a basket which I presumed were hard boiled but they must have been put there only as a decoration because I cracked one and a raw egg fell onto the bread on my plate.

    The hotel is in a fantastic location within a short walking distance to the main city centre and all the main attractions. The room was a really good size with nice furniture. The bathroom had a deep bath and hand held shower. It was a quiet room. There was a music festival going on a short distance away and I couldn't hear anything even with the windows open. The staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price and it was a very good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    A Piece of Ghent History
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly not a good idea for anyone with a mobility problem.

    A beautiful, characterful, ancient townhouse on the very edge of Ghent's old city. Charming, helpful staff and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is pretty nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There might be elevators. Even though they offered a help to carry the luggage it is not easy to climb to the top. The breakfast is really nice but the variety of the selection is a little bit poor. The room was a little bit dark at night. It would be nicer if there was a night lamb with a weak light that I could use during the night.

    The hotel is pretty nice. Stuffs helped a lot during the visit. The ambient was also nice. I am glad that I stayed in this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    A period gem in the centre of Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not find much information on the hotel's website so I had some concerns beforehand but these were dismissed upon arrival. I think the website may undersell the hotel.

    A beautiful period hotel. An excellent location within the heart of Ghent. Very friendly and helpful staff. It was a great discovery and will use on any return visit to Ghent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Our room was huge, with super comfy oversized leather chairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was huge, with super comfy oversized leather chairs and wooden beams on a ceiling that was about 12 feet high. The hotel manager was very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Best value in Gent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't care for the shower/bath thing, but I knew about it before I reserved the room. The only other problem was that there were some pretty big spiderwebs in the room. I don't understand how a cleaning person could miss the huge spiderweb just above the bathroom door. If you're in there cleaning the bathroom, why not take down the spiderwebs too?

    The building is old and the rooms need to be renovated, but I really liked this hotel. I was on the top floor and it was soooo quiet up there, the WiFi was excellent, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was great. The location was incredible, too. The city center was just around the corner, and a SPAR grocery store is just next door.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    nice:)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was nice, but could be varied with some tomatoes, cucumbers and olives

    The hotel was very close to visit historical places, especially Gravensteen. The room was clean and staff were very friendly and hospitable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.7
    Great location but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's very basic - the shower is just a bath tub with a shower head that you have to hold up yourself. The towels were very old and threadbare but did the job and were clean. The furniture and facilities are very old and basic. It's far too expensive for what you get.

    The beds were surprisingly comfortable. The room was clean and the hotel is quirky and interesting. The breakfast was absolutely fine - nice tea and coffee, and you can boil your own eggs. The location is wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.8
    Cultural experience at nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only drawback: no elevator. If you have big luggage prepare for a nice workout.

    Perfect location, but more importantly a fantastic old building. Great atmosphere which makes staying here with (foreign) customers a good idea to show them some Belgian culture. Good breakfast also.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    attractive historic hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    while the location is very central it is not in the most attractive street but that isn't a problem. historic building so no lift only stairs but good rooms on the first floor so not many stairs.

    very characterful hotel with large, comfortable, quiet room with period style furniture in a historic building. good breakfast in attractive old main room of the old house. very convenient central location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.9
    Stay in a lovely 16th Century House!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You must not book here if you cannot do very narrow staircases. On the other hand, this is normal for an historical home--just so you know! Breakfast is ok--go find a waffle.

    Large, charming room with view of a lovely interior garden. And tea in the room. The ambiance is great in this 16th century home, and you are steps from the canal and boat trips, minutes away from the tourist heart of this small medieval town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a bathtub, but we prefer showers. This comes with a hotel this old. Could hear everything outside and in rooms nearby. Again, to be expected for a hotel this old and not an overly loud road so it's not too big of an issue. We must not have locked our door properly because it swung open in the middle of the night, which left me feeling a little wary. I do not believe this is anyone's fault other than ours, just a note to make sure you check the doors as you manually have to lock them with the key from the inside as well.

    Proximity to sights. Amazing staff. Great breakfast included. Upgraded our room so it was very spacious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    Great location. Very dated, but ok for short stay. Avoid rooms on the side of the property (6).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small nut mainly very very dated, especially the bathroom, smell of cigarettes in the room, no view whatsoever just a white wall right outside.

    Friendly staff, great location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Old and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have a view but would have to.pay more

    Nice breakfast old building a bath as we only have a shower room at home comfy beds tea and coffee in the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location. Short walk from the very pleasant city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Obviously the property has lots of history. The location was excellent, a very short walk from the city canals, restaurants and stunning buildings. Excellent multi-storey car parking 2min walk away

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.1
    Go back in time but think about parking cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking so be prepared to add at least €12 per night to cost of room by having to park in secure 24/7 underground car park. This is about 300m away

    Bed comfy. Very quiet room. Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Most wonderful hotel I've ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head wasn't on the wall, which was a little annoying and the bathroom had some where and tear that could easily be fixed. However given the age of the place really just added character

    The building was so old and full of character, warm and comfortable of what would be equivalent to an English stately home. The next time I'm going to Ghent I'm staying here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely period hotel in the old town of Ghent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel in a great location in the old town. Old fashioned in a good way; eg suit of armour in the breakfast room! Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Location, Free WiFi, Breakfast and Bedroom excellent. Staff superb very helpful Car Parking on Street 7.50 euros after 7pm at night until Midnight. Then free from Midnight until 9am next day Free all day Sundays

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.8
    Great location, large rooms, charm of an ancient building, helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People with difficulty of going up and down stairs should know there is no elevator. The curtains don't shut off all the light from the street, for people who like to sleep in absolute darkness this would be a consideration.

    The location is excellent. Within minutes walk from the most beautiful part of Ghent and yet very easily accessible by car/taxi/tram. Many restaurants at a stone's throw. We loved the enormous rooms, at least the ones we stayed (4 and 5). There are armchairs, a table, a cabinet for your clothes and objects etc. Ancient building (1593) in which much of the charm has been preserved. The are many beautiful objects. Good beds. Good shower. Refrigerator in the room. Very quiet. The breakfast is fine, though not sumptuous. Price is quite reasonable. The hosts are very helpful and pleasant, speak Flemish/Dutch, English, French.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    8.3
    Like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I forgot Sth in the hotel. But no one contact me.

    The decorations are very attractive for me, and esp the breakfast room, all people are taking photos there. And breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.5
    close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not an adventuresome "period" traveler and the hotel is a 16th century home that has been converted to a hotel. the room was beyond spacious- loads of room but it really did feel like I stepped into a victorian (or earlier, really) home. I would have liked a real shower, not just a bathtub with a portable shower head ( maybe I am describing it wrong) It included breakfast, but I am super picky and it wasn't to my taste, but lots of variety.

    The location was great- the people were super nice and helpful. I hadn't realized where the city center of Ghent was so it was farther from the train station than I thought but it was so close to all of the great sites in Ghent. literally 1-5 minutes walk. The room was quite spacious, the wifi worked great ( limited plugs to charge things as you might imagine with an authentic 16th or 17th century home)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was extremely good, with fresh baked goods and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instant coffee is always a drawback at breakfasts. Beds could have been comfier, but otherwise the room was fine.

    Breakfast was extremely good, with fresh baked goods and meats. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely, older, somewhat creaky, but authentic hotel (built...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given the price and the location, nothing.

    Lovely, older, somewhat creaky, but authentic hotel (built in 1593, renovated in 1996). Very welcoming owners and staff. Location could not be better. Overall: very, very pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Great hotel near the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right near the centre it also offered parking. We had a huge comfortable room and thr breakfast was great we give the hotel 10 out of 10!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Comfort and convenience in Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the 'old country house' ambience is delightful, the thin towels should be replaced. While the bed was comfortable, it was both too short and rather narrow for two.

    Friendly, helpful staff. There had been a mix-up with our booking (they had us down for 3 days instead of 4), but they coped admirably. Pleasant, unpretentious place to stay. Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    The breakfast alone is worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast alone is worth the stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location, breakfast and access to old Ghent for a reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet (wifi) dropped out occasionally

    Beautiful old Hotel with loads of character, great location and breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Fair hotel in good location, very antique
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very suitable for travelling with babies.

    Fair hotel in good location, very antique

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: