Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B Eremyten Hof

Achterstege 9, 9940 Evergem, Belgium

#2 of 3 hotels in Evergem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 253 B&B reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were not very comfortable in the family suite. Breakfast was too expensive for what it was. (at the end for our 5-members family we paid a huge amount). Coffee was as transparent as tea.

    The place is amazing, the mansion in the large property is beautiful, one could take the time to walk around. The people a friendly. The rooms are spacious and very well maintained. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we were upgraded the room was small with no space to put suitcases. The wifi didn’t work in our room. There is no sitting room for guests where wifi works. We accessed ours by standing in corridors.

    It is in a lovely old building with spacious gardens. It’s a short walk, about 10 mins to the tram line into the centre, so no need to use the car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Wouldn't go back here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner (man), he asked for us to pay the room in cash to avoid additonal charges. He also mentioned the fee to booking.com which honestly is not my concern. The bed was horrible, we had a terrible night sleep. I think the price of our stay was overrated, definitely not worth it.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Definitly a place I could take my love one for a romantic weekend..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower head could need a cleaning for lime and some shampoo could have been good. But this is minor details..

    This is the perfect place to get the pulse down again after a long hard work day.. Also a romantic place to invite you love one.. The breakfast is above middle, maybe some scrambled or boiled eggs could make it better, but the bread is fresh baked and warm, the juice is the real deal. Their "own" local beer is excelent.. And dinner quality, taste, looks and quantity is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Romantic place with some restriction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had issue because we get the roof room. My husband couldn't really move around in the room, he hit his head continuously into the roof. I did also a few times. The double bed is two single bed, which was sliding away,so we were sleeping next to each other on our engagement anniversary. Between the room and toilet no door and you need to keep the curtains on as from the restaurant they can see in. This room wasn't on booking.com

    The place and the house is romantic,the house drag you back one century. You can feel the history in that place. The owners are very kind and we appreciate a lot their flexibility to let us go in at early morning. We are planning to go back in summer time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money stay
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entry code after hours was slightly problematic (but hosts came to rescue), would have loved fruit added to the very nice breakfast (as we are vegetarian).

    Lovely hosts, beautiful old house, amazing grounds, close enough to Gent centre for meals. Will stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Peace and relax!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To far away from the center. We had many luggages but there was no elevator. The stairs were too steep (look gorgeous but a bit dangerous). Bathroom utensils are rather old style. Comparing to recently remodelled property this is an old mansion.

    This place is located in a very remote country side. Quiet and peace is advantage. There was a perfect silence and peace there. In the morning a group of goose was in the garden. Clean air, stable and beautiful garden. Breakfast was served in the separate building, bulit more than several hundreds years ago. Breakfast was simple and delicous.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Traditional and authentic B&B with friendly and welcoming host
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traditional and authentic B&B with friendly and welcoming host, not far from the city of Gent (about 10 minutes). Our room was very spacious and comfortable, perfect for families with children. In a old depandance overlooking the park and the lovely old renovated mansion we enjoyed a very tasty breakfast, with fresh croissants, rolls, artisan bread, and delicious coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    3.8
    Never again!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got the top room which has a roof in such a way you can only stand up in the exact middle of the room while crouching in the rest of the room. The bathroom was in the room with no privacy at all. The host was acting inappropiate when we arrived scolding us for closing the door on him, we had no idea he was coming after us and had no idea that we closed the door or that it even could be closed (it's supposed to be a hotel right??!). He tried the "our internet is down so you have to pay cash" scam when we left but we were warned and we just refused and like magic the "pin machine suddenly worked". Sure buddy, sure!! Don't go to this place if you have other options!

    Nice surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Absolute treasure and wonderful place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners are as charming and sweet as the house. The room was beautiful and comfortable. I had a wonderful view of the garden. Breakfast was fantastic. Location is perfect, nudged in a quiet and scenic area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    My daughter is studying in Ghent for the next two years. I will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host , Jan, was very friendly and helpful. The property is very old and has been very sympathetically restored by Jan and his wife. The furnishings suit the property admirably.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Looking forward to coming back to the property
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all

    The couple who own the property were delightful. We were delayed and did not arrive until midnight. The lady of the house stayed up to let us in and could not have been more pleasant given the late hour

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    2.9
    Very terrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    1.The hostess is never smile,the host is not nice. 2.We had two rooms,one is nice,the other one is on the top floor.The top floor bath room is terrible. when you push the toilet button,you will smell the bad egg:( 3.One suggeast you should prepare your money,the host does not have change,even every one pay cash:(

    The garden is nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Birthday break
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    unfortunately at the time of our visit, the pond was very low because of the warm weather over the last few months

    The history of this property and the beautiful house and gardens. The ease of travel into Gent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Private gardens, friendly welcoming host with great atmosphere, very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very hot. Lacked ventilation,

    Excellent setting in a private garden. Very large and spacious room with stylish and chic furniture. a little unusual as bath was in same room as bed. Yan the host was brilliant and very friendly making us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived, without being intrusive, he makes the stay. Sells good beer as well. The geese can be noisy but along with the ducks they make the atmosphere of the place, very tranquil and relaxing, enjoyed our stay and would recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.4
    Imprisoned in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived for checkin at 2.15 (check in was stated as 2-6.30pm) and the gates leading to the property were locked so we could not enter. The proprietor was contacted and told us he would be back later...he was, at 6pm. The following day we prepared to take our car to visit Brugge to find we had been locked in! The proprietor returned at 6pm to unlock the gate so we could leave. A whole day of our holiday wasted. We recommend at checkin guests are provided with information about accessing the property or an automated gate system be installed. When this was raised with the host he was very unpleasant.

    Beautiful grounds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Calm, bright and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The calmness of the house and the lovely attention to detail. It is clear this is a house which is loved by the owners and the bonus was the fine antique collection which captures moments of history.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    Very pleasant location and helpful hosts but wouldn't accept the attic room again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the attic room we had, I couldn't stand upright except in the middle of room, we both banged our heads on the low beams, there were two flights of stairs (spiral) to go up to the room difficult to negotiate with suitcases. Advertised as having wifi but didn't work in our room.

    The location and grounds were stunning and very comfortable bed. Hosts were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice location, but very bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a B&B owner you must know the importance of hospitality and customer service. My stay at Eremyten Hof showed me what a warm welcome should NOT be like. After parking the car we came to the conclusion that the entrance was not very clearly marked. A brief search around the house led us to the side of the house where a door was open and someone was present. When we asked if that person could tell us where we needed to be, the response was literally: "Does this look like the entrance?". Completely flabbergasted by this reply, the question was repeated a few more times. The entrance was located on the other side of the house we were eventually informed. Oh, and if we were Dutch because Dutch people "often have difficulty finding the entrance of the house". After arriving at the other side of the house, the same person (Jan) eventually showed up there as well and asked: "Just look at this door and tell me, does this not look like the entrance?". After Jan opened the door, he introduced himself as the owner of the house. Writing this review, I still cannot believe what actually happened. As the owner of a B&B, why in the worlds name would you want to talk to your guests like this? It's an understatement to describe this behavior as extremely rude and completely unacceptable. If you do not want/need/like guests, just say so. During a tour around the place of about 20 minutes, we got a complete history lesson including quiz questions. To Jan, "I do not know" is an unacceptable answer and resulted in him repeating the same question over and over again. After noticing some frustration from our side, Jan actually mentioned that he had the feeling not everyone was interested in the history lesson. One would assume that would be the end of it, and we’d be shown our rooms. Not here because the history lesson continued.

    Quiet location, very nice garden, nice old house, comfortable beds, breakfast was good. The lady who assisted us while checking out was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    We enjoyed the nicely decorated, silent and confortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the nicely decorated, silent and confortable rooms in a charming property close to the beautiful city of Gent/Ghent/Gand. The breakfast was excellent and served in a separate building facing the large parc with old trees.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    Stairs can be an issue for older or physically impaired...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs can be an issue for older or physically impaired people. Great location outside of Ghent. Very old building, but the owner has done a great job of restoration. A bit on the rustic side, but a work in progress.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.6
    Five star setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couple of extra additions for breakfast would have been perfect and some newer towels.

    The property is located in an amazing (five star) setting. Rooms are superb, bathrooms great. Host, Jan, was very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    Charming farmhouse with a touch of eclectic cool
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in the attic room is situated under the roof slope, man unfriendly!

    Quiet location yet only a short walk to the team and village centre, great owners, brilliant breakfast room and bar with terrace overlooking private large garden. (try their own beer, it's amazing)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    What a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    It was a fantastic place to stay the owners where great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    Charming place, nice people and nice garden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi not working

    Charming place, nice people and nice garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Very peacefull and nice place with a helpfull owner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are clean and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful accommodation. Lovely owners. Perfect!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.4
    Host lady was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi,no hair dryer and a rude guy asking cash for payment trying to avoid booking.com fees and taxes. Not good..

    Host lady was very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Loved staying at the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved staying at the property. Very cosy and beautifully decorated. Host was very helpful and welcoming !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice B&B, not far from the centre of Ghent. Great value for money. Sufficient parking. The owners are also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Close to Gent via tram, an oasis of quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building in lovely grounds. The staff were very helpful. Lovely breakfast room in the stables.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.4
    Towels were old and dirty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels were old and dirty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Warm host, great location, nice view, perfect place if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm host, great location, nice view, perfect place if you are in Ghent and the bread is awsome

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.6
    The country house atmosphere was wonderful and the owners...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The country house atmosphere was wonderful and the owners were very kind interesting people. Had a short walk to an excellent restaurant for dinner that was suggested by them. Our room and private bath were very comfortable. The breakfast was in an adjacent nicely decorated "coach house" looking out onto a lovely garden that included geese - real ones! The breakfast consisted of delicious warm breads and natural yogurt with meats and cheeses and fresh juice. The home and coach house were decorated with beautiful loom woven tapestry wall hangings, bedding, and decorative pillows designed and produced by the owners. It was the perfect ending to 3 weeks in 4 countries.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    Very nice place close to Gand.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The stairs to reach the first floor have very narrow steps.

    Very nice place close to Gand. Friendly welcome. Quiet and clean room. Very nice environment. There is a small lake close to the building which is cute.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    6.7
    The owner had a very kind way about her.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no credit card payment facility or warning about this. No coffee in the room and a 6.30pm check in limit makes it difficult.

    The owner had a very kind way about her.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.3
    The atmosphere of the house, hospitable family and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room in attic is not good for tall people so you have to watch your head :)

    The atmosphere of the house, hospitable family and good location. Breakfast was outstnadig!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    4.6
    The house and garden are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This should be a lovely B&B. However a number of things added up to make it an unpleasant experience overall. The very long check-in, nowhere to make yourself a cup of coffee, a room so cluttered with furniture that you couldn't sit at the desk or conveniently store your luggage, the mosquitoes prevent you from opening windows, a very long and unpleasant check-out, a host that makes you feel uncomfortable.

    The house and garden are very nice. On-site parking and a tram stop within walking distance made access to the city very convenient. The charming and hard working hostess.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    2.9
    The location,the nice historical building was almost the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At the end of the second day I told the owner that our room wasn't the one I saw on the internet but he tried to convince me it was a "standard room".It was a room just under the roof,we reached it through a too narrow stairway,we couldn't raise our heads in the room without hiting the ceiling,fingerwide hole by the entrance door so you can see out on the corridor ,hole on the roof-somebody tried to fill it with a tape,the bath has neither door nor ventilation so you can feel,hear and see everything from the room,no curtain in front the bathtub so the water goes all around the place,almost no furniture in the room,what you have, can't use it,it was like a warehouse for useless furniture,without sense and taste to put them together,the first day the towels stinked,they were probably not dried enough,the second day they were replaced ok.,the room,the carpet were not clean,one window in the dining room was so dirty that you litterally couldn' see the nice park,the breakfast was ok but when we asked the second breakfast earlier-seven o'clock-because we wanted to travel,the owner was not willing to give it to us-he said it is going to be sunday and he can't imagine getting so early up-so we had to cancel it,the WiFi was there but disappearing all the time,when we arrived -it was cold in the room,and we had to sit for a half an our in our coats and when we arrived the second day home the heating was switched of again,the heating body had trapped air in it so it was so noisy that we coldn' hear anything,the thing(whatever it's called in english) on the toillet was broken,the new one nearby in a box but nobody had changed it,the electric socket broken next to the door,etc.,etc.,etc.-I could go on and on about the equipment,about the staff,the price-but does it have sense?--and everything I wrote down I have a photo document.

    The location,the nice historical building was almost the only thing what was really fantastic,the beds very good-just you couldn' reach them without hiting your head,the surrounding and the park could've been very nice when maintained...

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    Nice and kind owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice and kind owners. Good breakfast. Wonderful place.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.5
    Very nice setting, beautiful garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small bathroom (room for one person). No creditcard accepted.

    Very nice setting, beautiful garden. Good location (close to the north side of Ghent).

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    8.3
    Lovely location, historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    N/A

    Lovely location, historical building Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.3
    Charming environment, you feel like a baron in his castle!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Charming environment, you feel like a baron in his castle!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    The house and garden were serene, beautifully presented and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The house and garden were serene, beautifully presented and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Safe parking for trailer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    prefer more choice of evening meals but meal itself was excellent

    Safe parking for trailer. Excellent location.Easy travel into Ghent

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.9
    Full of character, lovely hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only downside was the towels in our room. Really need to buy some new ones !!

    Full of character, lovely hosts.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    Rural tranquility so close to the beautiful city of Gent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rural tranquility so close to the beautiful city of Gent.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse B&B Eremyten Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: