Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Europe 4 stars

Kapucijnenstraat 52, Oostende Centre, 8400 Ostend, Belgium

#29 of 34 hotels in Ostend

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 936 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location steps from a beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 Spacious rooms next to each other on the first floor. We could not get the air conditioner to go on in one room but the breeze through the window was enough so we didn’t mention it. The location is ideal and when we wanted to stay for the full day at the beach after check out the desk attendant opened lockers for our bags! Breakfast was amazing too!!! Many breads and croissants, scrambled and boiled eggs, cheeses and meats, bacon and sausage, champagne and coffee ... so good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice overall place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough parking. Make sure you call the hotel directly and reserve a spot. Nearby lots are only minutes away, but are full during a busy weekend.

    location was perfect, minutes to the city and harbour and the beaches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Easy walking distance from promenade;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff unable/unwilling to help a) print out travel tickets b) provide additional bedding - the weather was cold and there was no way to control the temperature in the room; c) pillows were lumpy.

    Easy walking distance from promenade; good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Not worth the price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel to have a bit of relaxing time after the walk in the beach. In the description hotel said they have sauna which is not true which is really really disappointing. Also cleaners could do better job.

    Location is next to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Good time there if we were to go back to Ostend would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got there was told the room was cold but would turn the heat up first night didn’t happen second night it was not a big issue parking was good on site but I thought slightly expensive

    The hotel location was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice, clean comfortable hotel in the centre of town, near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking in the hotel, but then that's not an issue as this hotel is in the centre of town.

    Nice room, large and clean. Standard breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice spacious rooms with good beds and plenty of towels and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room is a windowless slightly warm room on the first floor. Although the quality of the breakfast is great, the setting leaves something to be desired.

    Nice spacious rooms with good beds and plenty of towels and toiletries. The hotel is very close both to the beach and the Wapenplein.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Location is good, 1 mins walk to the seaside and promenade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is good, 1 mins walk to the seaside and promenade. It is also close the downtown and the port. The hotel is fair ok for a short vacation. Staff were so polite and helpfull

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Good clean central hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For some reason, the Belgians push twin beds together! Not too much of a problem unless you roll over too far in the night. That could be embarrassing for two old guys like us! Eccentric shower on cradle - you stand in bath and hold hand-spray to wet yourself - put down hand-spray and then soap yourself - then pick it up and rinse off. Would be easier to fix it to wall in conventional manner. We could only find 1 x socket outlet in room and the kettle was plugged into that; strangely our adapter did not fit!!??

    Very pleasant and helpful young lady and man on check in; also showed me to good secure underground carpark and gave me tips on the easiest way to get out. It is tight but not a problem if you pay attention. The room though small was comfortable. Fridge, tea, coffee facilities and a room safe were provided. Also, toiletries in the bathroom. Bar prices were reasonable for a hotel. We didn't go on the beach but it looks great with lots of families having fun. The weekend was very hot so we slept with balcony door open to give plenty of fresh air. Good selection of drinks in the bar. Buffet style breakfast was fine with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.7
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a disabled room. We received a disabled room but were not informed it would have to be a superior room and therefore cost 30 euro more. We should have been informed of the extra charge and given the opportunity to make alternative arrangements. The staff were not very helpful on reception.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.4
    Overall, I would not class this as a 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was not cleaned, the shower was too low so had to be hand held. There was no available parking spaces at the hotel. 2 nights stay on the public pay and display 45 Euros. On the 1st night of our stay there was no service in the bar at 10.30 pm after waiting some time we gave up and went to bed.

    beds were very comfortable, breakfast good, very good location. The receptionist in the day time couldn't have been more helpful, she went out of her way to supply us with information and is a credit to the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    5.8
    nice king bed the location of the hotel pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv to small to far from the bed could not see the toilet not convenient With glass door wide open to the bedroom not elegant at all

    nice king bed the location of the hotel pretty good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    4.2
    Really Disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed five nights and paid 1000 Euros for a superior double room. I can't believe this is a four star hotel. Very poor looking hotel and rooms! Linens and towels are too old and not clean. Beds and pillows are extremely uncomfortable. Two beds pushed together. Windows are so dirty, disguisting! The staff wasn't friendly at all (except a few people). They seems unhappy about working here. The breakfast is short in variety. Wi-fi works slowly. Really disappointed. We will never stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom no shower no milk in room for tea.decor looking very tired only one bedside cabinet parking very dear breakfast small choice.

    pool.gym.bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    2.9
    Very poor service. Dirty. Old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and dirty place. Even fruits at breakfast wasn’t clean and not fresh. Poor breakfast. Limit of stuff. It’s for sure not 4 star hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Ontbijt was ok :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ontbijt was ok :) Bedden super Will come back ;)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    It is quiet, clean place with a good location and nice sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool is small.

    It is quiet, clean place with a good location and nice sauna. The pictures on the website is real. Good breakfast as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, super parking and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows.

    Super breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel, close location to the beach and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower head is hung too low, making it difficult to use.

    Staff were flexible and able to provide for all needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Good value town centre hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Good location. Sensible bar prices. Secure on site parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Wi-fi only in the hall, brown water on Saturday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi only in the hall, brown water on Saturday. Beds too soft, location very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    nice location to the beach !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice location to the beach !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    3.8
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.3
    Good stay if you have children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't very clean, dusty and lots of calcaire. Same with the sport and hamman facilities.

    The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.4
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's more likely to be a 3 star !

    good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.5
    The Hotel indeed does not deserve 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel indeed does not deserve 4 stars but location is good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff went the extra mile in looking after us and even provided an extra mattress to help a poor sleeper !! Brilliant !!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.3
    Reception staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Underground garage is very hard to get into so if you have a large car don't even attempt it! Hairdryer didn't work. Choice at breakfast could have been better.

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room was nice, bed very comfy.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.5
    Location is excellent and staff friendly and helpful to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom - shower not up to scratch (only a hand-held shower-head). Sauna / Hamam area needs to brought up to date too (didn't use the pool so cannot comment).

    Location is excellent and staff friendly and helpful to a fault. Breakfast OK.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    7.5
    The room was big enough and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was quite short in variety. The gym only had 3 machines and one of them was broken down.

    The room was big enough and clean. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    7.9
    Very modern room with balcony, loved the shower very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The underground parking was a bit of a squeeze , to get in and out with large cars ours was a 4x4 so anything larger such as a van or minibus would not fit in it !!

    Very modern room with balcony, loved the shower very powerful and good location. Private parking underneath the building which you have to access via a car lift ? Can't review breakfast as we missed it .

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    4.6
    I will never stay here again, or recommend the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I will never stay here again, or recommend the place. To begin, the cost of two rooms booked were taken from my bank one month before our stay, this, I have never experienced. The car park is underground, unless you have a small car, you have to carry out a succession Of manoeuvres to get you car in, getting out is worse. For this privilege you are charged 20 euros a night, It is secure! The Hotel staff (with the exception of Heidi -who was charming and helpful) are miserable, and surly close to point of being rude. The room sizes for a supposedly four star hotel are extremely small. Ibis have bigger and better rooms. The bathroom was a joke, you could not swing a cat, there were no shelves, no toilet roll holder, no high lever shower bracket. If you wanted a shower, you had to hold the attachment above your head. But the beds were comfy. The room had a nice flat screen TV, but no remote! -It had a fridge, which did not work. Sleep was difficult, as the rooms pick up all the noise throughout the night of passing traffic and revellers. The room had tea/coffee facilities, but supplied powdered milk. When I had the audacity to ask the receptionist on Saturday evening for some milk, I was told ‘you are allowed two a day per person’ THIS FROM A SUPPOSIDLY FOUR STAR HOTEL!!!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.9
    This is a comfortable hotel close to the centre of Ostend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very dark and needs more lighting. No view from the window, just another building.

    This is a comfortable hotel close to the centre of Ostend. There are many shops and restaurants within a few minutes walk. Room was clean and breakfast was OK. I enjoyed having a swim in the morning and there is also a sauna.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    5.4
    Location was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given keys to an already occupied room on arrival. Having got our own room we complained about a dirty duvet cover. Despite promise to change it, it remained there throughout our stay. The swimming pool was small, the area dark - nothing like the advertising photo. There were no tissues available in the bathroom. The car park involved a car lift and was extremely cramped - do not use if you have anything bigger than a Mini!

    Location was fine....once we had navigated our way through Ostend!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    6.7
    great location, close to the beach and the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    on the phone they told us the sauna would be open until twelve, upon arrival we heard it was only open until 9 and we had to pay extra, which wasn't on the infosheet at booking.com

    great location, close to the beach and the centre

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Good size rooms with easy access and bathroom well designed...
    • Group

    Noisy seagulls waking me up early in the morning. The swimming pool was great but slightly on the cool side. It would be nice if it opened half hour before breakfast.

    Good size rooms with easy access and bathroom well designed and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the room temperature was good.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.3
    Room, with fridge, coffee- tea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Difficulties with cleaning tables during breakfast - one morning - people could not find clean tables

    Room, with fridge, coffee- tea. Excellent location, very good breakfast ( with cava !)

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Simple check in and very pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing really serious but choose a room at the back if possible. Bin men came by at 04.00 and street cleaning machine not long after. Twin beds are fixed together which causes awkward embarrassment when our two elderly friends were sharing. The beds should be apart. Strange shower arrangement; head hung low so you have to splash all over, soap down then use the shower head to rinse off. Better if fitted higher in conventional position.

    Simple check in and very pleasant staff. Very comfy bar. Room pleasant and bright. Tea making available in room. Although I was there with my wife, we still had a "Twin bedded" room. Beds were pushed together. See "Dislike". Swimming pool available if you need one. Good location for town centre and far enough away from beach to not hear the pounding disco that goes on until 02.00 hrs. on the beach at this time of year. The main reason we transferred to this hotel. On site secure underground carpark gives security for your car. We shall definitely return!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.8
    Bottle of bubbles on arrival was a nice touch and Jacuzzi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and balcony could have been cleaner. Need to be quick to breakfast so you don't miss out.

    Bottle of bubbles on arrival was a nice touch and Jacuzzi bath lovely. Room spacious and bed very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    5.0
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfriendly staff at the desk. Manager included. Booked via booking.com and added a late check out and a parking. What seemed to be impossible by the staff at the front desk. Helloooo!!! What about the confirmation email I got. Breakfast very poor and have to sit next to other people. Restaurant is way to small. Staff unfriendly and no fresh juices. Tables not cleaned, etc

    Good location. Nice room. We had the junior suite with balcony

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    10
    The location of thehotel, friendliness of the staff, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location of thehotel, friendliness of the staff, the breakfast, also grandson lost his phone which the staff handed in to the reception, he was very grateful.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    7.5
    service room not made one day out of two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    service room not made one day out of two with no soap given. Paid all before going and visiting the room. Jacuzzi in the bed room for one person only.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    5.8
    Comfort of bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Grumpy receptionist when we checked in Toilet stained and smelly The other room we booked had a shower over the bath that had no where to hang shower head

    Comfort of bed Breakfast Location

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    5.0
    You are near the see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked a suite with jacuzzi. Price is way to expensive for what you get; Personel was not frendly at all.asked the hotel for parking arrived at 20h an needed to leave the parking at 11h Breakfest the Bread was old.

    You are near the see

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    4.6
    Location good, breakfast Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to pay to use very poor sauna steam room. Cold, dark bedroom Changed rooms which was no warmer, only had two single beds and next day got no room service.

    Location good, breakfast Okay

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    7.9
    Not a complaint but we noticed the window ledge was cracked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a complaint but we noticed the window ledge was cracked and may fall onto people on ground level outside the hotel. We were in room 601.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    7.5
    Overall good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking facilities

    Overall good value for money

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    7.9
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    English style Breakfast not good. Bacon very fatty and greasy

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.2
    Great location & staff!
    • Solo traveller

    Great location & staff!

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    A quiet location 1 block from Langestraat and an excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A quiet location 1 block from Langestraat and an excellent Den Artiest restaurant next door.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and supportive staff much beyond their duty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and supportive staff much beyond their duty. Very comfortable room and bathroom. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    Swimming pool steam room sauna comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all

    Swimming pool steam room sauna comfy room

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.9
    Small towels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small towels!

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    We are return customers as we enjoy ourselves every time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We are return customers as we enjoy ourselves every time!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    Location and facilities are excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and facilities are excellent Parking facilities are very good Close to sea front and town centre Staff are very helpful

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    Great friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mattress was a little soft and should be a double rather than two singles.

    Great friendly staff. Loverly pool. Good location. Modern Room.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    excellent location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    excellent location, good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.0
    Very good Localization.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spider's web in bathroom, the spa bath was broken, dirty ventilation grids, bird droppings on balcony.

    Very good Localization.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    4.6
    Location, comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Mouldy bathroom, rude breakfast staff, breakfast selection ok however no fresh food

    Location, comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Np parking in spite of request, no wi-fi in room, no seaview which was booked

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    8.3
    Location and rich breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Location and rich breakfast

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Hotel Europe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: