Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Gent 3 stars

Akkerhage 2, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#26 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1949 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    That's what you need on a long journey through Europe :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Apart from medicore breakfast buffet I'd rate this hotel as VERY GOOD. Clean, in perfect location for travelers, comfy beds, good showers, what more do you need? Staff is helpful and polite, and value is there. Recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Did the job - breaking our home from the Netherlands. C
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was busy at breakfast and there was no crockery. The firm pillow was very high and like a brick and the soft one very thin... so not my best night's sleep.

    Very comfy bed and lovely clean room/shower room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    The room was a very good size and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very limited. The bar staff were nearly rude but under staffed. Air con in the room made more notice than it did change the temperature.

    The room was a very good size and very clean. The facilities varied from room to room, some had coffee machines others didn't.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    The room is clean and beds comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cook breakfast as other hotels do.

    The room is clean and beds comfy. Breakfast ok, unfortunately no cook breakfast just boiled egg. Location is also good near the motorway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and welcoming, staff were helpful and friendly, easy access when driving, rooms were clean comfortable and the food in restaurant was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Affordable access to a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location wan't great - busy roads nearby were audible from our room, and it was quite a distance into the city centre.

    The young woman behind the counter was extremely helpful. The hotel was fine, beds comfortable and breakfast nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff when we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    paid parking? never seen that before. breakfast is not bad, but could use more variety. I've seen hotels charge less, but with a lot more choice.

    Very friendly staff when we were there. They helped us out whenever we needed them with a smile, and no hesitation. The room was tidy and all staff was friendly. I would came back just for how the staff treats you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Decent, good staff, but should be cheaper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decoration is outdated - could use some renovations. Shower has curtain, not glass door. Breakfast was very disappointing. Not worth the money at all. I suspect actually nobody pays for it, since no one checked our room numbers or anything like that. I guess if you get it for free, it's good, but not worth the price. Hotel is the middle of nowhere and still charges you for parking, which I think is a very stingy policy (it's already not cheap).

    The room is very spacious and the bed is super comfortable, with several pillows to choose from. The night staff at check-in was the most efficient one I've ever seen - we were tired and in less than 5 minutes we had a room and payment was made. Everything was super clean. Free bottle of water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    As expected--good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have a car so the location was not ideal. The transport is infrequent and does not run mornings/nights. If you have a car, I can imagine the location is fine. Although then you have to pay for parking despite them having their own parking lot.

    The hotel was as expected--the Holiday Inn experience is pretty standard. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to say

    Altogether a superb facility: spacious rooms, showing a wonderful attention to detail, very comfortable, large adaptable room, ingenious shower-room layout, excellent service, air conditioning on tap. The list goes on - starting the day with a free breakfast is a bonus, plenty of doorstep car-parking adds to the package. Outstanding reception and personnel made our short stay a delightful, first class experience. Very professional indeed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Easy access just off the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located a bit far from Ghent city centre.

    Easy access just off the motorway. Large room with two double bed, which was perfect for family with small kids. Breakfast was good too. Would be great for stopover.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Enjoy paddling along channels, eating waffels and drinking special beers on the streeets of Gent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive car parking, lack of bathroom equipment, too far from the city centre.

    Very comfort and big beds, rich brekfast and helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Quick night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs just a fresh touch up of paint

    Passing through from England to Holland on a weekend trip 1.5hrs from the channel ports and easy to find . Hotel staff was very helpful and a huge car park so lots of spaces .Plus the bed was huge and very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Location 15 Euro taxi ride to city centre but annoyed full service could not extend to weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closure of full bar and restaurant service on the Friday and Saturday evenings (do not know if closure extended to the Sunday) especially as there were no suitable local alternatives within walking distance in what proved to be a commercial area of Ghent; high cost of parking car as a 4 day resident (12.5 Euros a day)

    good customer service, staff very polite and helpful especially the duty manager, good sized and comfortable rooms, fridge and coffee making facilities in room, help yourself breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Very effective place to stop when travelling to northern side of Germany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some dusty corners - where housekeeping may have cut corners, a small shame but not offensive to a client.

    We arrived at 3am due to delayed Channel crossings. Staff were expecting us, quick and efficient to ensure we got to our room. Room was very spacious, for 3 people. Ample parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Our first stay at Holiday Inn Express in Gent was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be it will help if there is a Holiday Inn Express sign not only at the front of the hotel but also at the road side(the bridge side) so the hotel can be easily be spotted if you are coming for first time in Gent.

    Our first stay at Holiday Inn Express in Gent was excellent.All the staff was really friendly and helpful.Special thanks to Luc Schollaert(Guest Service Manager)who made us feel very welcomed,comfortable and helped with all our requests.We will recommend the hotel and Gent to our friends and family!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight urine odour in the bathroom on arrival. Brown hard water stains in the toilet bowl are a bit off-putting and should really be breached.

    Great beds and nice linen. Good breakfast selection served early at 6:30 on a Sunday. Easy parking at 12 euro. Frequent bus service into Ghent city centre just outside the property and takes about 10-15 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    The manager was very understanding to allow us extended...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a nice hotel for family. We could do better with a space for kids playground or corner.

    The manager was very understanding to allow us extended check out for another hour because my children were sleeping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Perfect stay for a road trip. Best holiday in rooms we’ve ever stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking costs 12 euros and city tax not included in price.

    Prefect for a road trip. Close to medieval city center (driving) and the room was more than perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    3.3
    Not a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a twin room given a double, had to sleep on sofa bed. Iron for the room didn’t even work and was told it’s the best they have. Air con was a disaster in all fairness. Breakfast was a free for all and bread was very very dry. Felt very uncomfortable when checking in as the 2 check in attendants were having a private joke. Only one towel between 2 people. No bedding for sofa bed. Not pleasant at all.

    Not a lot really

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    Ideal location for hospital trip. Close to the team.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not thoroughly cleaned the second day. The bathroom smelled even after the room had been cleaned.

    The location was great for us. We had an appointment at the hospital and we were able to walk there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    As expected
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains didn't completely darken the room but didn't bother me too much as I had to get up early anyway.

    Perfect location, close to the highway and at walking distance from the companies and Ghelamco Arena. Safe parking (extra charge). Spacious and clean bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    functional location, good services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom lacks some spots to put down or hang up stuff and please find a solution for the shower curtains that let water spill all over the bathroom. location itself is not charming but soundproofing is good, it makes for easy access everywhere

    location near main roads and industrial site: not charming but easy acces to city center or to go out afield. breakfast buffet: fresh and neat but real orange juice and some hot breakfast options would be nice. all staff very friendly and helpful. room big, clean, well furbished. bathroom also very clean lobby bar has drinks and small snacks. adjoining brasserie perfectly charming in the evening proposing decent food for reasonable prices and some veggie options. Wi-Fi free available everywhere and working well! very happy with our stay and thumbs up for friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    3.8
    The elecitrical heating installation the room is not only...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elecitrical heating installation the room is not only noisy, it is not powerful enough. At entrance the temperature in the room was extremely low, The elecitrical heating installation wasn't able to get it above 19 degrees C Very young staff, they seem to be new on the job and where missing experience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Location, comfort, nice breakfast spread.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking rooms on the 4th and 5th floor. That smoke seeps down for the lower levels.. not a great smell. Just smoke outside.

    Location, comfort, nice breakfast spread.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, but a bit pricey compared to other hotel chains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater is so loud that you can't get a good night's rest. No bath, only shower. Also very little soap provided, no shampoo or conditioner.

    Breakfast was simple but sufficient. The rooms were bigger than expected, and bigger than competitors in a higher price range (such as Novotel)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Good for family use, it's cosy & spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room where I am staying is bit cool, even I set temperature of the room at 30 degC. it seemed to rarely meet at preset temp.

    Clean & convenient, bedroom is good for family

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water when we arrived. It was fixed after an hour an hour or so, but pretty inconvenient because we all were tired and ready for a hot shower.

    Breakfast selection

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Very helpful staff - they have accommodated us to the room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit too compressed space with food stand at breakfast - people queued. Parking is overpriced (12.5 euro). Location is outside of town centre (5 km), not far from the highway (although no traffic noise).

    Very helpful staff - they have accommodated us to the room, where kids had a bigger bed at no extra cost - really appreciated. A lot of space for parking, which you access via code provided. Quite tasteful breakfast despite limited choice. Especially, coffee is very good. And fruits were excellent (kiwi and clementines). There is restaurant and bar. Good WiFi. Very nice town with good architecture and atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, location could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was just off a major road with not a lot nearby but decent place to stay and venture out to other places in Belgium like Brugge and Brussels

    Nice accommodations good breakfast but busy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.5
    A good quality hotel with breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was quite a long way from the centre.

    On arrival reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room was clean tidy and warm with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was very good and food very fresh.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    We were nervous going abroad for the first time. Our stay at the hotel gave us peace of mind and com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy with everything, including the friendly staff

    We were greeted with a smile , our rooms were comfortable, and the beds also. Overall added to a great experience in a foreign country. I loved

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Would certainly stay again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower kept falling off, but when I reported it to reception they immediately said they would let maintainance know. I suppose if no one says anything they don't know!!! A more extensive menu in the restaurant would be good. However the food was very good. If having the steak be aware that medium is rare by British standards.

    Staff very friendly especially the gentleman doing the bar service in the evening. He even remembered us even though it was 12 months ago that we were there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Not bad for 2 nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next room very noisy as connected by door. Not ready for family with children - big towels ready only for parents, one bedsheet for children is not comfortable. The wall of the room was wet because of snowing

    Breakfast ok, comfortable beds, near the bus stop.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    lovely place to stay to see gent and well connected by public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paying for parking did not see it before also local taxes

    Bed was large king size staff recommended gent ride and attraction ticket well worth it(30 euros)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff, good breakfast but could be improved in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from city center - information on booking the hotel was a bit misleading not to say false.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast but could be improved in terms of variety of products, room was clean but daily house keeping could be improved.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Good value or money for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor and there was a huge queue for hours. The location was near the motorway in an industrial area.

    Hotel was good, clean and modern. The staff were all really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Definitely will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park charge was a bit too high given its not a city centre hotel. I'll pay to park in a city hotel cos space is tight and you can appreciate that. This hotel has enormous space not to charge or charge a token.

    Overall, it was a very decent hotel room with enough space and super clean facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel shame about the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large well prepared room, comfortable bed, everything spotless. Large car park away from main thoroughfares Good restaurant, Tricky to find from the motorway, too 3 attempts, although having done it once I should find it OK next time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    What you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost for parking which is not the Hotels fault but it is hidden in the Bookings.com site. I hope hidden costs is not a think for the future Bookings.com!!!!!!

    Excellent size rooms with comfy bed. Very good choice for breakfast. Good location 10 minute drive from the centre of one of the loveliest and interesting Cities we have visited anywhere in the World.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant for an overnight stop on our way to our destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was amazing. I think it was the biggest bed I have ever slept in and so comfortable. It was a family room so obviously more spacious room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    the spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lady staff during our check in last 2nd of September 2017 around 9 pm. I felt harassed by her. I booked 4 standard room for 8 adults and 2 children ages 7 and 5. I read their policy several times that up to two children under 16 are free. she called my attention upon check in and told me things and mocking me as if i am lying and as if i am taking advantage of the hotel. I always book thru booking and I am very particular with the hotel's policy and this is the first time I encountered this problem, upon check in she asked me why i booked standard room and it is maximum of two adults only, i told her ive read their policy but then again i asked if i can check the room and will just split the kids to my sisters room and request for extra bed. but she insisted that as if i am taking adavantage and mocking me that this is then first time it happened to her, so i read to her their hotel policy then she suddenly changes her reason and told me she is just concern about our comfort. when we came into our room the room was spacious and has a sofa bed. the room may fit 4 adults! thats why I am bit surprised about her sudden outburst, i felt I was discriminated. too bad i didnt get her name but i left a thourough evaluation addressed to the hotel's manager.

    the spacious room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Overall this was a good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The express breakfast was very limited. And it didn't change from day to day. For the money i would have expected at least some eggs and not just a variety of dry pastries, cereals and lunch meats. The Hotel was not close to the city center which we were expecting, it was about a 20 minute bus ride.

    The beds were big, the room was big. It was cleaned daily and there was 24 hour reception. these are important for foreign travelers staying for a few days.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Will def come back if I need to be around the area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking should be free for hotel guests. Its 10% of room rate, which is very high.

    Extensive breakfast buffet with Good coffee! Room was very nice and big.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    I won't come back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast basic, not cosy area, NO SERVICE ON TERRACE outside, dirty tables, disgusting. Very expensive for what you get. I don't know any hotel where you have to get your drinks yourself and still pay them expensive !! Restaurant very noisy, not ok for business meetings

    The room very clean and spacious, fantastic bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed the size of the room and all facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed the size of the room and all facilities available in the room. The breakfast was better than I remembered, fresh and variety food option, good for kids and adults . The staff was friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Location easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad noise insulation between rooms. Noisy neighbors felt like they were inside our room.

    Location easy. Good noise insulation from the highway. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Beds really comfortable and had a great night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be noisy first thing in the morning by other guests. Family rooms should really have a double bed and two single beds like in the UK. Wasn't ideal having two double beds with children.

    Beds really comfortable and had a great night's sleep. Breakfast good value too. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    An enjoyable stay, with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps, could have been more pro-active to ensure mosquito plugs are switched on before guests arrive

    We had an enjoyable 2 night's stay (despite the mosquito's) we had some good bites from the hungry little insects. A friendly environment, friendly and helpful staff, a good location and great breakfast that set us up for the day - Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel looked a bit run down, desk staff were not very welcoming

    Accommodation was comfy and clean, breakfast lady was always busy, kept filling the food up and kept it clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Good accommodation but strange parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking area around the hotel was very full. We had to walk more than 200 metres with luggage twice up and down. In addition I had to pay for parking for one car EUR 10. Why? Is it business of the hotel to earn money for parking? The hotel is far away from city center and away from paid parking zones and at this area the parking should be free. And it is not guarded. And the hotel does not enable guests to decide because hotel approach road is closed by gate and when you cross it you are trapped in EUR 10. Very strange and unfriendly. The only logic is that hotel tries to increase incomes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the water cooker, it's a cheap one and the one we had was burn inside, so couldn't use it.

    modern furniture, clean room, nice lobby, friendly/helpful reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was good and the hotel was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In fairness, the details provided by the hotel make it quite clear that the hotel is on the outskirts of Ghent so I was expecting this and the receptionist was very helpful in telling us where to find the bus. However, I was not expecting to find that the hotel is situated in a not very attractive industrial area.

    The breakfast was good and the hotel was very comfortable. The staff were polite and very helpful. I particularly liked the provision of a fridge in the room. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay. Good location at the outskirt of Ghent. Definitely a go-to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not "holiday-inn" worthy, could definitely be improved. Only one bus to-from city center so not convenient if you plan to stay out late.

    Parking on-site for free. Bathroom was really cool. You can divide it between a toilet and a shower. Room was super clean. Staff welcomed us nicely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel in Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some hot products at breakfast.

    Actually going to Bruges but this was as close as we could get at a reasonable price needing two rooms with our 4 adult and 4 kid clan. Staff was great and the property was nice. Parking was the easiest we had on our 11 day trip. Big open parking lot. It is at a super premium in Europe and expensive. 10 euro a day here which was also the cheapest. Breakfast was good but only continental. Breads, cold cuts, cheeses, cereal. Had better at other hotels but it was good for what was there. The room was nice and slept 4 comfortably. Overall a good propert.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    website said there was laundry service,but when we got there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    website said there was laundry service,but when we got there we were told there was no service on weekends. This was very frustrating because we booked the hotel specifically for this service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    breakfast was good, nice family rooms, polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is not very near the center and you must take the bus if you don't have a car. Location is a bit isolated.

    breakfast was good, nice family rooms, polite staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.8
    Friendly reception suggested use of local 8 seater taxi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shame about the patchy room service, on some days we were left short of towels and the room supply of tea and coffee was never topped up during our stay.

    Friendly reception suggested use of local 8 seater taxi rather than tram or bus, a saving for our party of 8.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    So close and easily accessible from the main road, this hotel offers excellent easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we entered the room the bathroom wet room floor made the room smell with an overpowering odour. Not totally unbearable but very strong odour.

    Staff kindly allocated an accessible room for my wife in her wheelchair

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Good modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the towels provided had a mark on it that looked a bit like blood. We didn't complain as the towels were changed daily so it wasn't a big problem for us - just unpleasant.

    The hotel was nice, comfortable and clean (apart from towel issue) with breakfast included. No problem for them to call a taxi for us and changed money quickly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    3.3
    Expensive, poorly located and badly managed. Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hideous location with chemical plant on other side of the road Poorly signed from main road Entrance to hotel hidden at top end of the car park Trip hazards by front entrance Grim corridors Shower curtain too short, so bathroom floor got very wet and slippery Dangerous slippery shower cubicle Very noisy air conditioning Hygiene risk from clients slicing bread. Would you want to eat bread that others have touched? Staff observed touching breads with bare hands having wiped down tables Breakfast area looks like children's school No other local facilities, so little choice other than to eat at the very expensive hotel restaurant. Main courses average over 22 euros Restaurant looks like a motorway service area, so decor doesn’t match high prices No snack meals on offer other than a very limited range of sandwiches in a machine WiFi isn't secure. Browser produces security warning Only one reading light over large bed

    The beds were comfortable and the room was clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Clean with hidden extra costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay an extra €10 to park the car. The hotel is quite a distance from the city centre, need to drive or get the bus there.

    Room was clean, staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    A really nice stop over hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal hotel for a stopover in Ghent. Convenient for motorway and near bus and tram stops into town. Really good choice of food at breakfast. Clean and well maintained with friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Tesla Supercharger was just great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff should give you a two minute summary on parking zones and meters in Ghent, Red Zones expensive, Orange Zones cheaper - Ham Street great place to park to go down town

    Great fruit loaf!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location for a short stop.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast choices are not that great. Not so close to restaurants or to the city centre.

    King Size bed. Laaarge room. Well design bathroom space. You can order some things to your room from some delivery services. Bonus: a Tesla charging station in the parking, so you can probably admire all the models.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.1
    Recommend for stop over on way to Euro tunnel from Northern Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No option of not having / paying for breakfast I left at 6am and service didn't start till 0630

    Was concerned of potential road noise but nothing at all heard so sound sleep Lovely refreshing shower

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic bedrooms, with massive beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    OMG, we found ourselves in a bedroom with 2 extremely comfy queen sized beds each!! Great shower too. The Hotel Manager who allocated the bedrooms could not have been friendlier. Just 15 minutes drive outside the centre of Gent and close to the motorway, but no traffic noise! Highly recommended, we will stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.8
    Great stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are started to look a better tired. The breakfast is okay, but I've had better.

    The staff were extremely helpful, even starting breakfast early so we could leave when we wanted.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    5.4
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled of cigarette smoke. The breakfast was very French.

    The bed was very comfortable. Most staff were friendly and helpful. They spoke good english

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location when visiting Ghent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing I would suggest is to include a bath mat in the shower as it can get a little slippery especially when you have younger kids that tend to like to move around a lot in a shower.

    We liked the location of the hotel since it as very close to the city center of Ghent which we visited. We also used it to make a day trip out to Brugges. Room was clean and staff was friendly. Front desk personnel spoke English and were able to check us in and out quickly. We enjoyed the breakfast since there were plenty of selections and left us satisfied in the morning. Thank you for a good stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.1
    Good beds, nice and quiet room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not that great breakfast is very minimal, nothing special staff was not that friendly, especially in the bar

    Good beds, nice and quiet room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.9
    Stayed there 3 times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed there 3 times. They have refurbished the room we were in. It was excellent and huge, and fantastic for family of 4. We use it got go into the city centre. Tram is only 10 minutes walk and a tax is 12 euros. I will stay again and again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    4.5
    Room location important
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a constant sound from a cooling house besides the Hotel. The in-room AC was far to noisy to be operated during the night. Although offered I could not get a spare tooth paste, run out.

    Close to my customer

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.1
    helpful and nice staff, especially at front desk,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    when arrived to room, it was very cold there, it took one night and day to heat it up with air-con (if you are there for one night only, then take warm clothes), average breakfast menu, stinky water coming out of the tap from third day of my stay, cleaners should take better care of the place under beds....found 2 EUR under first bed and under the second found slipper :-)

    helpful and nice staff, especially at front desk, comfortable bed and pillows, internet connection fast and stable,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    Good stay highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with Double Bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bin in the bathroom of room 330 had not been emptied from previous visitors and the hand soap dispenser in the basin was empty.

    The service and attention of the staff good. We were late arriving but this did not present a problem to the desk staff who dealt with the registering efficiently and quickly.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: