Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Flanders Lodge Hotel 3 stars

A. Dehemlaan 19, 8900 Ypres, Belgium

#9 of 14 hotels in Ypres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1043 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative that we could see about the hotel was the wooden floor in the corridor. You could hear people walking along and pulling cases. Luckily we were at the far end room so didn't have anyone walking past.

    Great location, friendly helpful staff, plenty of parking, good food, reasons prices drinks in the bar. Would stay again and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner menu could have given more choice. The corridors are noisy at night when people are coming and goingl The location was an issue for us as there are no pavements on the walk from Ypres back to the hotel we had to have taxis to get to and fro.

    The accommodation was very good. The breakfasts were also v ery good. The restaurant dinner menu was limited and we could have had more choice. The receptionist was very helpful when we checked in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Defiantly the front of house staff.

    This hotel is perfect for a short visit but I got the impression that the front of house staff are just a little jaded and not particularly interested.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More or less a standard hotel, with standard rooms and standard breakfast. Nothing special, but nothing negative to report, too. Clean rooms, helpful staff, good parking, quiet area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably could do with a few more front of house staff as the few staff we came across where multitasking which was causing hold ups if someone was ringing the bell at reception and the guy was serving in the bar.........

    Breakfast was of an unexpectedly high quality,nice to find a fresh orange squeezer for instance. Bathroom facilities where neat,tidy and efficient whilst the room its self although basic did the job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was clean and tidy. A warm welcome and easy check in for our group of 14 bikers. An excellent shower in the bathroom. Breakfast was nice with plenty of choice. Took about 25 minutes to walk into the town centre but was not a problem. A pleasant 1 night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 6 very noisy, couldn’t hear everyone coming and going, so whilst the bed was comfy, I had a poor nights sleep.

    Nice room, comfy bed, very helpful staff found a place for our bikes, decent breakfast! Ypres centre walkable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was a little further from the centre of Ypres but I should have checked.

    I left my phone in my room and was 200 miles away before i realised but the hotel had found it and will return it to me when i return in 10 days. We all slept well. Food was plentiful and set us up for our journey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in. We were also in an annex with a view of a Truck Park. The annex seemed like a School Trip section of the hotel, with two single beds and two bunk beds folded up??

    When we arrived, we stood at reception for 10 minutes with no member of staff present. I then called the hotel from my mobile phone, the phone rang at reception and out loud as there was a loud speaker ringing. No one appeared... Eventually a member of staff appeared and immediately went away, saying he was busy in the restaurant! Then another came and Eventually checked us in... Really POOR customer service!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window didn't have any curtains or screen to allow light in whilst providing some privacy. The only option was to close the main curtains which blocked out all the light.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy due to laminate flooring in rooms and corridors. Lighting poor in the rooms. on arrival BW did not have correct dates booked and we were apparently already checked in. Irish army in residence and were very noisy coming back late at night exacerbated by the lack of carpets to dampen the noise. Then we were subjected to their wake up call in the morning and a great deal of noise getting everyone up for at least an hour very early. The location was not described well and is in the middle of a trading estate a 25 minute walk from town with no footpath to walk on.

    Bed was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was adequate for a few nights. The bathroom was bigger than most and modern but the only toiletries were soap for the basin and bath/shower. The hotel was a 20 minute walk from the town centre with an infrequent bus route. It was fine for us but anyone with mobility problems would have to take taxis everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the lower ground floor . It felt a bit cold at times and rooms were very dark .

    Great choice at Breakfast time and cleanliness of hotel was spot on ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to ask on two occasions for a cup (three adults sharing a room and only two cups). - an extra glass, milk for the tea and toilet rolls.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like.

    The staff were amazing, helpful and friendly. The rooms met my needs, comfortable, clean and provided water, tea and coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decoration wise the bathroom in particular seemed to have been badly finished. The timbers on the wall weren't straight and in line. The whole thing gave a bad impression

    A nice breakfast was provided

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was very understaffed. Ate in the hotel one evening. 1 member of staff taking food orders, working bar & reception. We had to wait 45 mins to place an order after being shown to a table. No complaits with the staff but please give them a hand.!!

    good breakfast. Friendly staff. well appointed room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately as with many eating places in Belgium and France there was no restaurant in the hotel on the Sunday evening; the market square in Ypres had plenty of places that were open.

    Super location, friendly staff all of them were so very helpful, lots of parking and convenient for the Menin Gate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to drive into Ypres. Required to move room after 2 nights to make room for school party - inconvenient and poor planning.

    Room good and up to date. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise level from adjacent rooms and corridor was very high because the floors were wooden and no carpets. This looked nice but meant there was no soundproofing when people were walking about in corridors and in the rooms above us.

    The facilities in the room were very good. Shower was wonderful. Beds comfortable. Kettle and coffee making facilities in room which is unusual for on the continent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect

    The friendly staff Quality of accommodation and location. Very easy to get into the City by taxi = 8 euros and booked by reception. Very reliable taxi service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a Best Western standard, rooms are in a basement, looks like a converted warehouse. Exposed electricity cables. Staff was friendly but not a BW standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good mid range comfortable hotel close the types centre about 10mins by car. good location to explore flanders ww1 memorials. helpful and friendly staff , clean rooms , small beds .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not great. Sausages were hot dog like which is not good first thing in the morning. Not a fan of streaky bacon either - too fatty. A lot of choice however but the full English option just could have been better.

    Liked the fact that the hotel was very modern, decorative and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really not much you complain about but maybe the drinks in the bar could have been a bit cheaper?

    The room was very good and comfortable, the shower was one of the best I have had in a 'chain’ hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower drain and sink drain needs to be cleaned as the were very slow to drain.

    We have stayed here numerous times and is an excellent Hotel. Very convenient location and spacious onsite carpark. Breakfast is excellent and lots of choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room missed some decorations like paintings, quite noisy too from your neighbours and the hallway. It also quite far from the city center so you have book a cab what cost 10-15€.

    The bathroom was quite nice, nice open shower. I chosed this hotel to be less noisy and not to many kids, but next time i prefer the city center to have more of the aphomsphere of Ieper

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opted for room with bathtub. Had to ask for a switch upon arrival

    Very good allround breakfast. Helpful agent more than willing to switch our room for a room with bathtub

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is on an industry park and still some green in front of the window. Noise was not a problem, however you could easily hear steps above, speech in the corridor. Apparently there was done no effort to reduce noise level.

    A big double bed, firm though perfect. The wifi connected immediately in the room. Beauty location with proper light. We arrived at midnight and lively welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was excellent with a good choice for all tastes Room was very good and the bed was comfortable All staff very friendly and polite which is nice to have, makes you feel more relaxed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned after previous occupant. Moved to small loft room without reduction in price . As a man you cannot stand at toilet as ceiling is so low (unless you are very short). Very poor lighting, toilet is in the dark. The other room looked good but didn't want to sleep in unwashed sheets.... colleagues room was good but he was not in the loft.

    Easy parking, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In industrial area. Along a busy route. No walking outside.

    Modern clean hotel. Very pet friendly. Very friendly staff. Superb breakfast and bar ! Nice bathroom with walk-in shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was very good, staff friendly and efficient, room was warm and comfortable, easy parking, and an easy walk into Ypres (all together a lovely experience)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything.Very comfortable

    The room was very quiet, and dark ie no artifical lights illuminating the room. Comfortable beds, good shower. Evening meal and breakfast good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nothing really as it really ticked all my boxes and met with my expectations.

    Rooms were superb warm clean and very comfortable after a long day, perfect way to relax and chill out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and excellent service for English speaking customers. The hotel is a kilometre from city center, but this was an advantage in accessing the many memorial sites in the Iepers area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all.

    Ideal for our break - car park on site, all staff were very pleasant, spoke English, understood our efforts at Flemish. Good central location for visiting WW1 battlefields and museums.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a few kilometers out of centre. I arrived late by train in Ypres and there were no taxis to be found. Therefore had to walk to hotel, which was close to 30 min. Nice walk through nicely lit up Ypres centre, but after that a dull walk on the dark streets. There is apparently only one receptionist on duty. At checkout in the morning, the receptionist was having a long telephone conversation, making everyone wait. This does not work.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls of the rooms are a bit thin so some noise carries.

    The location on the edge of town was easy to get to by car. There was plenty of parking. Good English is spoken by the very friendly reception staff. The breakfast buffet was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking seems to have been lost in the system - nearly did not have rooms no signs to rooms in new extension - wandered around until discovered stairs behind a closed door usual complaint for hotels - despite new room and shower no place in shower to put shampoo and soap etc - had to put on floor. I am sure the managers that specify the shower have never used it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, it is a good 20 minute trek in to town, however we were aware of this when we booked it. Rooms whist clean and well sized are a bit bland and could do with some colour.

    Very strange hotel, more like a Ski chalet than a Best Western, Parking was safe and right in front of the main reception area. Good sized room and beer in the bar was very reasonably priced. Good choice at breakfast with buffet cooked option along with usual continental stuff. Would stay again if in Ypres.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was fine.

    Ideal location for exploring Ypres and the Flanders region. Good sized bedroom, if a little dark. Excellent breakfast, plenty of parking when we were there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the man serving in the bar verged on rude. He did not have any sort of uniform, wearing tracksuit bottoms and a T-shirt, we presumed he was an employee. He maintained a towel/tea-towel over his shoulder and seemed to use it for drying glasses , drying his hands and wiping his face!!! He picked up ice for the drinks with his hands - no ice tongs or gloves. One could only hope his hands were clean. He washed glasses by swirling them in a water filled sink which we presumed was hot and soapy!!!He then poured himself a drink and resumed his seat in front of the television! None of the staff had name badges so you did not know who you were talking to or their position.

    Large Rooms. Good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival at the hotel after a very long day of 14 hours driving - we were initially not able to check-in due to there not being anyone available on reception. I eventually had to phone the hotel to get someone to come and check us in. The person who did this appeared to have had a few to drink and found it impossible to comprehend that my father and I would both need our own rooms (as per my booking for 2 rooms). The hotel itself was fine for a bed for the night but we were expecting a better experience for the money. We were not advised of the wifi password and after the performance we had experienced just trying to check in - I didn't feel I could face another encounter. The doors in the part of the hotel that we were in were very loud and we were both woken at about 5am by people (we assume the staff at that time of the day) opening and closing doors and walking up and down the corridors outside of our room. We wouldn't stay there again.

    The breakfast was of a good standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like to have been quoted an all inclusive price upon booking, it came as an unpleasant surprise when paying the final bill. It was about 160 euros above the quoted price due to 'taxes'.

    The selection of foods at breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Restaurant does not open on Sundays. When booking, there was no information to suggest this was the case. When checking out early morning to travel to Euro Tunnel, had to wait for receptionist and then informed I couldn't check out as the system was currently updating. Thankfully within 5 minutes the system update finished, this seriously concerned me and I could easily have had to wait longer running a risk of not arriving at Euro Tunnel in time for my train.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind

    Have stayed here several times in the past and every stay has been a pleasure. The inclusive breakfast is superb, the staff are always friendly and helpful and now the rooms have had A/C and a mini fridge added. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the Ypres area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually everything was good but safety instructions were not easy to see also no info book as to what memorials etc around

    The breakfast we thought was the best breakfast we ever had in any lodgings we have stayed in we have travelled lots

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was OK

    This hotel met all our needs, the location although not in the town centre, is Ideal for all travlers, we took a taxi into the town centre and returned the same way which was under 2 euro's per head for 4 pasengers each way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom had a velux style roof window only, so no view and a bit of a fiddle to open and close. Location was a bit far out from the center of Ypres to walk after a busy active day, but this wasn't really a problem and the convenience of access, probably out weighed this minor criticism.

    Good location to access by car. Parking outside front of hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Room was clean. buffet breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little harder to what I am used to but this did not distract from what was comfortable and clean surroundings.

    All the staff (from reception, to bar to dining room staff) were friendly and always willing to offer help and assistance. The cleaning staff were also very good and considerate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little too warm, a/c was on a timer & didn’t stay on long enough

    This hotel is ideal for visiting Ypres, just far enough to be within easy reach, but quiet when you retire for the night. Very good range of food for breakfast. There was a mini fridge in the room with a couple of bottles of water in it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was on the edge of a business estate although only 1 mile from the Menin Gate

    Room was clean and of a good size, bathroom suffered with the shower water running down the side and has damaged the skirting. Breakfast was exceptional with a wide range of both hot/cold buffet, the coffee is good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, great superb value for money !!

    Outstanding breakfast, with unlimited options and sidedishes, even Northsea shrimp, fresh orange juice (unlimited) largest and best breakfast you can get in the area !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bad comments.

    Stayed there with a group of 17 persons who were visiting the Ypres area. We were able to walk to town centre in 15-20 minitues. Got taxi home, social scene is good. Breakfast in the morning is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is some sort of construction going on in the neighbouring plot. I'd left my window open..and they kicked off work at about 0700. I didn't need that lie-in anyway.. :-( So, if you're in a North facing room in the annex and don't want a rude awakening - shut your window..

    Despite my booking not appearing on their computer when I arrived, the lady on reception didn't let it present a problem. The room was spacious and had a great shower.. :-) The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the Menin Gate and town centre. Breakfast the following morning was, as has been mentioned before, excellent..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not soundproofed and conversations could be heard quite clearly. It was about a 15 minutes walk into Ypres which was fine for us but some might not be able to do this

    The rooms and breakfast were excellent as were the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free/safe parking right outside hotel doors. Super/free breakfast - the best - a nice surprise. Staff were all helpful and hotel is in a quiet area. Short walk or drive to downtown.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning was awesome and much relief after such a hot day. The room was a triple and was very comfortable. The only thing that we didnt like was being constantly woken up by the room attendant opening the door and in our opinion deliberately making lots of noise in neighbouring rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were given rooms downstairs,the lift did not work all the time,the room we clean ,however it was like being underground , the windows would not open properly and the air was stifling hot.

    it was ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 24 hour reception - ends at 10 - with entry through a side door - would find this off putting were I a solo traveller Whilst 1 mile from Ypres, which is great, the walk is along a road past industrial estates. Caught a taxi back after a meal in the centre - 9e. No restaurants nearby the hotel.

    Easy to book at short notice in an area where hotel rooms are at a premium - has parking on site and easy to find with sat nav

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hadn't been able to book family room - so paid for two rooms - only to be given two family sized rooms - doubled the expense

    Good sized rooms, good breakfast, clean and friendly enough

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great, the best sleep I've had in a long time so comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful plenty to choose from. Walking distance from the centre. Definitely would recommend staying here

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was not spectacular and the hotel is on a road with lots of car dealerships. It's a quick drive to the city and there's free parking on the roads just outside of the main block. Bring your own shampoo.

    Delicious breakfast, comfortable beds, clean room. Triple room large enough for a baby bed too, after moving the firniture around a bit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    About a 20 minute walk into the centre and have to cross and walk on some grass but the hotel will order you a taxi if you have people who don't want to walk for any reason. Came within 5 minutes and was 15e return!

    Faultlessly clean and the rooms were lovely and well kitted out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding looked very tired and was ripped in places. Parking is tricky if you arrive late in the evening.

    Breakfast was good. Complimentary tea and coffee in the room. Room was cleaned daily. Quiet location. Bathroom was modern and looked newly refurbished. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant closed early and had a limited menu. There was nowhere else to eat without driving. The rooms are good but we asked for a family room which was a series of single beds...

    Very friendly and in a good location for tours of the Flanders battlefields and also Ypres, which is about a mile away. Also the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The 👨‍🍳peter was excellent, usually eat in the town, but ended up having dinner at the Hotel restaurant every night as the food and service were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little small but ok

    The bed was excellent and the food was much better than expected. The parking was a little of a problem but ok overall

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was well.

    A good functional hotel. The staff were most helpful. The location was particularly good for easy access and departure. It was not necessary to go through the city centre and getting to and coming from the circular road and motorway was a breeze!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service could have been a bit quicker

    Restaurant was slow in serving evening meal waited almost one hour this being our only complaint otherwise excellent hotel will recommend it to friends thank you .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room lighting is eco-friendly and therefore quite gloomy

    Good sized rooms, plenty of parking, excellent breakfast, fridge in room - this hotel has many of the features usually only seen in pricier places. A lively bar compensates for the out of town position. Whilst situated on an industrial estate, don't be put off as it is more car showroom than industry. It's an easy 15 minute walk into town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast excellent - freshly squeezed orange juice, good coffee, really fresh fruit salad and yoghurts, toaster that worked, brilliant scrambled eggs that were consistently moist and creamy (I normally steer clear of these as they are often dried up and unappetising), wonderful bacon and sausage, and wide variety of breads and pastries

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather dark and stark. We booked and paid for 3 people but they had not sorted the extra bed.

    Awesome breakfast, and efficient at reception. Within easy reach of town, about 20 min walk or 5 minute drive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The television signal was almost non-existent. As we only stayed two nights, we didn't bother complaining about it.

    On the whole, the breakfast was very good although they did have some issues with the coffee machine. The room was adequate for the length of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: