Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Flandria-centrum 1 stars

Barrestraat 3, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#39 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1556 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    Building control may wish to inspect this place out asap.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (nr 25) is in a very poor state. Located under the roof it is quite warm in summer. But more importantly the room has very poor standards. The electricity in the bathroom is frankly scary. I never been in a hotel room where the lights give a nice humming sound and the light cover over the sink hangs half off the fittings, exposing the bulbs and wiring. The hot and cold water taps of the (cracked sink) are back to front. This hotel is build in an old house with wooden floors. Wooden floors on wooden beams which are not designed to hold a a makeshift bathroom. So the floors are under rather interesting angles due to the extra weights of the tiled bathroom floor and shower.. I have been in many low budget hotels in my days and am happy to take down the expectations when in a budget accommodation. This however was not worth even half of what i paid.. Sorry but no repeat for me.

    Breakfast and the people working there are very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    It was too dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was too dirty. Bed was uncomfortable. There was no window in the bathroom and light had a timer, so it would go off while I was having a shower. Walls, floor and bedding were dirty!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Right around the corner from St.Bavo church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very nice experience in all aspects. Checking-in - we brought our luggage literally in the morning, and had spent the whole day sightseeing. No problems. The room with the view... See the picture. That's the central St.Bavo church visible from our room window. We were lucky with that. The room had a sink, which is convenient. Combined with a small kettle which was loaned to us at the reception, we had a wonderful option to have a cup of tea before falling asleep. The description of the hotel has that they do not provide towels (we had a pair for that occasion in our luggage), but in fact, there were towels provided. Recommended to verify with the hotel if carrying your own towel is not what you want to do. Facilities (closest to us had a shower cabin and a toilet) were sparkingly clean. We were lucky not to have many competitors, but the facilities were really clean. I guess you noticed that I already said that, because the cleanness was to the level of being memorable. Breakfast area was simple, but the breakfast itself had sufficient options for experienced traveler - various cuts, breads, toaster, coffee/tea/juices, yogurt, cereal, couple jams/nutella, no problem to have a morning start for the omnivore like myself. No thrills, one may say, probably, but it is the reliable and refreshing place near the city center. Read the rules - the reception is not staffed 24x7. They leave, I believe, at 10pm, you use your room keys to enter the building after that. So consider your arrival times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    Good Location near the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are very small and Dark, Bed Mattress quality is very bad, breakfast choice is very small. Sometimes taps dint work in the sink.

    Good Location near the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, but small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room that I stayed was too small. Out of the bed then there is a sink right in front. There was a table but to access it you need be on the bed only. So the only place to put the suitcase for easy access is on the chair. It was difficult to open and close the room with key. Bathroom was shared and its door won't lock fully.

    Breakfast was good, hot bread and cereals. Location was close to the bus stop and walkable to restaurants. Easy to find the place, free wifi was good when language was an issue. Room was clean and towel changed regularly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gent has mainly one way roads. And lots of construction. Hotel was hard to find at first. Google maps did the work. There is no parking around the hotel. But we found a spot near the water and walked.

    Rooms are small but beds are good! Breakfast was good. People that work there were very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff that let us put our push bikes in their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff that let us put our push bikes in their storage area. The hotel was very hot as we were at the top of the building but with a fan on and window wide open it was ok. Character filled building and just really nice for what we paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    It felt like staying at the boiler room of a dormitory and paying over 100 euros a night! AVOID!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is dirty, old, dark... We were given a room in the basement which was very dark and felt like we were staying in the boiler room of a dormitory. Avoid at all costs.

    The employees are very helpful and friendly. But that is about it. You should avoid this place unless they renovate the whole place from scratch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    perfect location, clean, nice bed, good shower pressure, ok...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didnt bother me much how old the building is (it sort of had a charm), but i do care how old the bathroom is, When we opened the door the first thing i noticed was the smell of old bathroom in the whole room eventhough the windows were open. The tiles and bath furniture were really old and dated; the tiles are color brown very 70s so you can get an idea how old it looks. When trying to find cheap places I usually choose rooms that seem to have a decent bed and a decent bathroom by looking at the pictures , but in this case they didnt have any pictures of the bathroom so i had to gamble. Bed was good like i hoped but i got very dissapointed by the bathroom. It was a shame because the place has a lot of potential, it was clean and had a nice bed, even the shower pressure was really nice, but there was this smell of old bathroom that i could not ignore.

    perfect location, clean, nice bed, good shower pressure, ok breakfast. We arrived late for check in but they called me before hand and clearly explained to me where to find the key.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    The staff were good and so was the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and bathroom were dreadful. They both should have been decorated years ago and the room was so small you struggled to walk round the bed.

    The staff were good and so was the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    I recomend hotel, but next time I expect price less then 90 euro incl. breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can hear your neighbors from nearest rooms. Please note: - building is old, so you can hear everything inside/outside hotel. - rooms are different, so some rooms with not good view (wall, etc), so you should know about it before order them with this price.

    Excellent location - 2min to the center. From 5 hotels we stayed during our trip Flandria hotel had a softest beds and they were very comfortable. We had room for 3 and view from the window was excellent! Staff was very friendly and we received information we need. Hall of hotel is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    The property is a little tired looking, but the location is just fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if there was tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    The location of this property was terrific. Right at the side of the cathedral. Comfortable, clean beds. Breakfast was excellent. Hot rolls, plenty of juice, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Not very nice!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bedroom, many stairs and no elevator or somebody who helped with luggage . We ask for a bedroom on first floor and it was on the third!!!

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.4
    I ordered a king size bed but when we arrived we were in a...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a king size bed but when we arrived we were in a room with two seperate beds. The friendly receptionist put the two beds together but it wasn't very comfortable. It wasn't a bad hotel but it's not a lot better than a hostel, apart from the fact that you have your own (very clean) bathroom and toilet, and a tv.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Location was really great and staff was quite friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a bit of a bad smell in the room and not a lot of food during breakfast so you had to wait longer.

    Location was really great and staff was quite friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit dated place and a lot of things in the room could be renewed. Also room was quite small.

    Staff was really nice, and during breakfast they did do their best to refill things and keep tables clean. Location was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, quiet side street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room perfectly adequate, nothing fancy, but comfortable.

    Location good, the expected steep staircase, staff friendly and helpful. Shared bathroom clean as a whistle. Nice to be able to get a cup of coffee at almost any time from the staff on duty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    solid 1-star hotel/hostel in very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The very central location in the old city of Ghent is definitively the main asset of this hostel. If you come by car, the public parking garage "Reep" (25EUR/day) in 5min walking distance is the best and only choice to put it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early and were able to leave our luggage at the front desk while we went out sightseeing. We also were leaving early (before breakfast) the next day and our host left us a basket of breakfast goodies to eat on the train...wonderful, would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location, clean room, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is all good, except that there is no elevator and bathrooms are all on the left wing of the hotel.

    The room is clean and cozy. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Very close to the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, you should climb to the second floor by steep and narrow stairways. Small confined room. Automated light switcher in lavatory, which shut off the light if you don't move some little time. No beer opener in the room :)

    Very close to the center of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    If you just need a place to sleep for one night, is ok. Suitable for backpackers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not very clean. Stairs were very narrow, not suitable for climbing with bags. The bathroom has a light that turned on only with movement, so it turned off while I was in the douche or with a contact lens in the hand. The mattress was very soft. Breakfast was too simple, I was expecting some warm treats typical for Belgium, fresh bread or croissants....

    Location was perfect, steps to the centre. Room was quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Okay for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the room was quite tired. It was cramped and the bathroom obviously had a leak so it smelt damp. There was only one towel and one hand towel for 2 of us.

    Location was very convenient to the main part of the city. It was within walking distance. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was nice. The building had some character.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is expensive compare to the comfort and cleaness.Old house. Room is small, bathroom is small and the door of bathroom is broken. You pay for the location only.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall, it was comfortable and friendly and in the fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was sometimes noisy even during the night - I don't think that there was much insulation between the rooms.

    The location of the hotel was excellent - in the center of the city and close to the attractions. The hotel staff was very friendly and spoke English. The included breakfast was very good. The hotel is old and the rooms very small but the heat worked well and the rooms were clean with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    Really bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nothing like in the pictures, toilet smelled like pee, the room smelled weird, old meubels, really expensive for what you get

    Was close to the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Hotel Flandria is located just steps away from the center. I highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable. I was very pleased with the extra assistance and the kindness they demonstrated to me during my stay.

    Management and staff at Hotel Flandria are professional and personable. They were very helpful to ensure that my flight arrangements were done properly and advising me on train schedules to the airport. Excellent service!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    Decent place, while I add some suggestions for improvements.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of suggestions for the owners which will help easily with improving the perception of guests: - While I encourage turning of the heating systems when nobody is in the room, it would be nice if the heating could be turned on a couple of hours before a guest is coming. Definitely when it is freezing outside, my room needed a several hours before it was comfortable. - The building has seen a couple of renovations/modernisations. As a guest, this is clearly visible. If all the cables & tubes would be hidden, the place would then feel less as 'quickly-fixed' and would show as cleaner.

    For this price, you get what you expect: it is decent, although not exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is normal, but the breakfast is good, and the crew...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is normal, but the breakfast is good, and the crew are PERFECT!!! We had a problem, the train's strike for all Belgium, and the two girls help us in all moment, calling to the train and the bus station and giving us all the information needed. 10/10 for the crew, thank you very much!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Lovely location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay but there wasn't a huge selection. Even so for the cost of the room including breakfast in the city centre was extremely good value for money. No on site parking. Public underground parking approx 5 min walk away. €16 per day.

    The location was great, set right in the city centre. Had a great view of the church from our window. Room was a good size, beds were clean and comfy. Staff were friendly and happy to help. Wasn't your normal sterile looking chain hotel. Had a bit of character to it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Uncomfortable, had to leave early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room, no.23 was grim, pokey with mildew on the wall. It was just a little bigger than the bed. The door got stuck half way open (45 degrees). There was no cold water in the sink, there was hot water.

    The staff were friendly and understanding, the breakfast was good, location very central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Explore Ghent with a great B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only minor issues with cleanliness but nothing major. Just a little bit of a smell near the toilet after a while.

    It was perfectly placed in the city close enough to get to everything we wanted to see but not in a busy area so it was peaceful. We even had a view of one of the Installations of the light festival from our window. The breakfast was perfect, and the staff were really friendly and I believe it was a unique experience in how they treated us. Always happy to help. Definitely worth staying here if you want to explore Ghent for the weekend or a stop on your trip through Europe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    The people of the hotel is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people of the hotel is awesome!! They solve us a lot of problems and everything was wonderful thankfully to them. The Hotel was in the town center...so...just amazing. Thank you Flandria

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    4.6
    The hotel infrastructure is insufficient to meet the necessary conditions as a hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the evening of my arrival my room was on the second floor. (1)The curtain was broken and it could not be lifted manually. (2)In the lavatory of my room the water was not draining and it remained for a while. (3)In the shared shower/ toilet in that floor, the water was also not draining. (4)The double-bed was too big for such a tiny room. I could not move with a minimum of freedom. The second day, under my request, I was moved to another room in the first floor (with share shower/ toilet)but with a single bed. (1)The mat was not good and it did not give enough support. (2)In the shared shower in this floor the water was not draining properly. (3)The last nigh, around 19:30 I found myself lock-in the building. The keys opened the lock but the door was too heavy (and old) to be opened easily. It took me like 7 minutes to get out of the hotel. (4)Staff was not available after 19:00, no-one to help if something would happen. (5)There was a visitor with a pet in the hotel. Were pets allowed?? My conclusion: the charming building is too old and its infrastructure is insufficient to meet the necessary conditions as a hotel to step into the market site. Hotel Flandria not only did not offer enough comfort to target the price of Euros 56,- for a room with a shared shower/toilet while, at the same time, is neglecting regular cleanliness norms and minimum standards that a hotel must offer. Unfortunately, the place was not worth it For Euros 56,- is possible to find a neat and sober hotel or B&B with the necessary facilities. I was in Gent for work and I did not get the minimun comfort. Definitively, I would not come lodge there again and I will recommend none to pay Euros 56,- staying at Flandria neither. It is a shame that the hotel is available for a booking. It should not.

    The staff have been kind and helpful. The breakfast was between a regular-to-normal standard. The location was good, the hotel was well situated and in a not crowded area. The mat of the bed in the second floor was a good one. A day after, the staff accepted to switch me to another room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit crowded for 3 adults. Narrow staircase to get the luggage up and down. No parking in the immediate area.

    Very good location. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.4
    not worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was clearly really, really old. The shower cannot be closed, so every time somebody showers the whole room gets flooded. The bathroom was also tiny and there was not space to put anything. The room was very smelly (sewage smell) The room was too much heated but the stone floor was really really cold The room was flooded twice

    staff was friendly and the location is perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Excellent price-performance ratio!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel is amazing, right at the heart of Gent, the staff is very friendly and everything went smoothly. The included breakfast was very good, you get everything you need and the coffee was great. I have to travel to Belgium quite often and on a lower budget (you have to remember that Gent is an expensive city). Finding a single room with breakfast included, in the city centre and in a clean place for this price was amazing, so I think I'll come back next time!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    shared bathroom was a little discomfort. the room was very small.

    location is just few meters from the center. staff was fun and helpfull, very polite. everything was clean. breakfast good, but no vegetables

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfy bed, great breakfast would go back tomorrow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little tired in places but who cares.

    Cracking hotel. Fabulous breakfast and really comfy bed. Location could not have been better and we had a lovely view of St. Bavo’s tower from the window. Would definitely go back. p.s Gent is beautiful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Not bad but expected better for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking inevitably had to be a long way off but at least the staff let you know where to go to make it cheaper. Steep stairs and no lift so that one evening my wife, having a dead leg, couldn't leave the room to get a meal. Horrendous 25 centimetre step to get in to the ensuite from the room and stupidly wide bed for the available space.

    Very helpful staff and the breakfast buffet was very good with the staff alert and ready to top up any shortages. Great spot and very easy to walk to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the faucet in our room barely worked.

    I liked that it was not too expensive and in the middle of the centre. Communication was good and the breakfast was simple but good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Sufficient to our requirement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to add

    Staff were fabulous. We had to check out early so would miss the breakfast so they left us bread and spreads and orange juice outside our door. Arranged an early taxi to the train for us. We were on a budget so knew the room would be small so not a surprise. Shared bathroom but luckily it was available every time we needed it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.8
    Overall ok. Not the best, not the worst.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely tiny room. Couldn't move even around the bed. Drains were blocked so the shower tray was filling up. Dodgy looking electrics, was a bit worried putting plugs in.

    Excellent location. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Old-fashioned hotel in the historical center of Gent-just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Old-fashioned hotel in the historical center of Gent-just steps away from the cathedral. My room was located on the second floor and I had a good view on the cathedral. WIFI worked well from my room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included and is quite good. They start it at 7:00 during the week and at 8:00 during the week-ends. All in all, I'm pretty happy with my stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Location was good, enjoyed Ghent very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a grim dark brown & dark mustard. One bed was squished in a narrow alcove so bathroom access had to be agreed in advance. Could clearly hear people next door and above. Loo had seen better days.

    The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room would have been better painted in lighter colours - green, and purple made it a bit dark. en suite was tired but clean. I think the flats opposite could see in so we had the blinds down when we were in the room. Breakfast (for a vegetarian) was bread and cheese so a bit limited.

    Staff were helpful and pleasant. Location was central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.4
    The location is good both for access to the center and to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel only accepts certain credit cards. Also, the room is grossly overpriced! There is no way this room is worth 50 euros! It is a small, very mediocre room in a hotel with a sterile, corporate atmosphere, especially since you have to take a shower and go to the toilet down the hall.

    The location is good both for access to the center and to the smaller of the two train stations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Great place with special atmosphere of an old historic...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place with special atmosphere of an old historic building. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location-perfect, close to all main attractions in the city center and in a quiet place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    Not good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, room too tiny. Bed mattress too soft, I have back ache and that didn't help. It was a bit hot and I asked for a fan, they didn't have any even though the hotel s leaflet said they had free ones. The window couldn't be open wide. Hard to sleep at night because of all the noise and having to have open window. One of the guests coughed all night.

    Very good breakfast with a good range of food. Good communication with staff. View of the cathedral

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Even if the room wasn't like in the picture ( which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even if the room wasn't like in the picture ( which is not fair!), it was pleasant, the bed was clean and comfy, the view from the room was amazing, the breakfast was perfect for a new day and the staff was helpful and nice. Thank You very much!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Good location, fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They seem to have a problem with the pipes. The sink in my room was not working, the drain in the shower was very slow... All facilities show (bad) attempts of renewal.

    Staff was great and very helpful. Rooms a bit old fashioned but clean and for the price big enough. Great location in a quiet side street but right in between Gent Damport train station and the city centre within 5 minutes your right in the middle of the city centre. A lot of free information for tourists right in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect position for a few nights in beautiful Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had luggage that had to be carried up 42 steps to our room!

    We arrived on the first day of the annual music festival in mid July.....jazz, blue grass, awesome vibe. The hotel was nearby to the city centre so we could walk there within a five minute hype. Friendly greeting from the young manager. The view from our windows was of the side of cathedral and it's spire. Great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.0
    close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    two floors and tight stairs with luggages and a toddler to stay just one night. the inside is really ugly, the room was terribly hot and humid and not clean enough in my opinion, specially under the bed and the bathroom.

    close to the center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Great budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a budget hotel with basic facilities.

    The location was very good, close to the centre, there is car parking close to the hotel. The breakfast is very good with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.0
    Nothing to write home about
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since i recently had suffered a heart attack i was given a ground floor room outside of the reception and to the right which was dark and the interior in need of a major renovation. The same applies to the rest of the hotel (reception and breakfast area). Breakfast very average. Some plates and bowls at the breakfast buffet were chipped or broken at the edges. Why they haven't thrown them away and replaced them with new cheap bowls and plates from Ikea is beyond comprehension. I mean its a matter of hygiene if anything else. There was a dead ant in one of the salt shakers (see photo underneath). But what mattered most to me was the way were treated even before arriving at the hotel. We were on our way by car to Gent from Brugge on a hot June sunday afternoon and we got stuck in a massive traffic jam on the road since people were returning from the beach plus there was some roadwork going on. I called the hotel to let them know that we are running slightly late because there is a traffic jam and the woman on the phone said that the reception closes at 19:00 and that she would only be willing to wait for us only for maximum 5 extra minutes after 19:00!!!!! (which practically meant that we would have to pay for the hotel room since the price was non refundable and that we would also have to start searching for another hotel to stay). I found the whole attitude as completely unprofessional and incosiderate. Would i stay there again? No, not really. (With the same money we could have stayed at ibis which is equally centrally located in Gent, something i recommend you should do too if you want to avoid similar nerve wrecking attitude which will surely ruin your short or long holiday).

    Convenient location was the reason we chose this hotel. Basically that was the only positive side to our stay there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Gent Belgium
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs

    The hotel situeted in the center of the city. Very good place. Is avieble restorants, public transport cathedral. I recomendetet go to the Vosken restorant. The personal is very good. Only It is not avieble the lift. I like that hotel. The 1 tram station is a 5minutes. It goes to St Pieters train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.3
    Lovely quirky hotel with grumpy staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of staff members were incredibly rude and bad tempered for no reason. My room was very hot with no aircon and there were mosquitos.

    The rooms were interesting and bohemian feelings whilst also being clean with good linen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    3.8
    Bed was OK;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    television had bad connection; bathroom wallpaper fell on the floor...very very basic bathroom

    Bed was OK; choices at breakfast were quit limited but OK

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Great location, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was really nice and helpful. The room we had was great and breakfast was good too. The hotel is 3 minutes walk from the center which was awesome to walk around. Thanks a lot!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Hotel with Personality in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Gent Dampoort train station is closer to the hotel and within walking distance if you want to save a tram fare.

    This is a hotel with personality. It is in a great location to all the attractions. The staff are conscientious and helpful. The breakfasts were of a good standard. For its price it was of a good standard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Where you want to be, but a little funky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities old. Some non-functioning items: our bath had no cold water in sink, no light. Problems never fixed while there.

    Great location, friendly staff, breakfast was wonderful, very reasonable rate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Very good location and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sufficient but basic bath facilities. The first room that I was hosted, the attic room was rather small, with roof beams in the middle, not that suitable for a tall person. For me was OK.

    Nice breakfast, not a great variety but very good quality and quantity and good coffee too. Nice bed and good heating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Good hotel in wonderful Gent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful, despite our late for our check-in, due to the patient host we anyway settled into a hotel. Location is central, close to touristic attractions and restaurants. This hotel is located in historic district of the city, so we had a really nice view from our windows.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    6.3
    Location - near the centre of Ghent,really good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, it looks more spaciusous in the picture, there was only one rest room for the whole floor,

    Location - near the centre of Ghent,really good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.1
    Ghent, it's not like Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The city authorities are relaying a lot of the cobbles in the city so you find yourself walking through roadworks a lot (most of this work should be done by the end of May). Navigating by car is a nightmare even with the sat nav (so many roads are diverted or just closed). Ghent's roads, once you leave the ring road haven't changed since the 15th century & are narrow, uneven, and meandering. The €30 for parking was my least favourite encounter (almost as much as I paid for the hotel). Although I think that would've been the cost If I had been there for 2 or 3 nights instead of 1, cost was for 24hours+ but I don't know if that was per 24H or a one off covers all. Ghent is not a day town with regards restaurants/ bars for tourists, most places on the Lorelei & Graslei don't really come alive until dusk.

    The breakfast room was a a nice unhurried place to sit & plan your day over coffee, orange juice & the normal rolls, ham, cheese offerings. The hotel was ideally placed between the out of sight rush of the working city (& it's traffic) & the centre of the city. Ghent, like Brugge is a maze of small back streets & lanes, the hotel is down one of these & initially takes some finding, but once you have your bearings it is easy to find your way back to it from the city centre. The underground car park I used (when I eventually managed to get the sequence of 1 way streets correct) was ~150M away which is for Ghent very close (unless like some in the centre your hotel has an underground car park).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.0
    City under construction come back in a year or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of general maintenance terrible view of old buildings with peeling paint. Bathroom size okay however really filthy need of paint ,flooring plumbing fixtures etc. Basically everything in the bathroom needs a full renovation. I give it a 1 star at best .😠

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    4.2
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down and the toilet was disgraceful and there was wallpaper hanging off the wall TV programmes were scrambled so only about 2 watchable in english

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money & location wise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel has a good location. 10-mins walk from Ghent-Dampoort St., & 10-mins walk to city center. The receptionist was nice enough to attend to our late check-in. Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    4.6
    I like the internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the breakfast, the room is so gloomy, the soap and the shampoo. It is hard for you to put things on the sink because of the design of the sink. It is quite expensive to print for 0.5 eur per page (I printed 15 pages). There was miscommunication because I put information on the website that I stayed alone with double bed. Then I communicated with the staff and they made me pay 30 euros more for 2 nights, but after that they didn't have initiative to give additional towels for that, they just simply put the room as it is as I stayed alone. So basically 15 eur more per night only for additional breakfast and additional key.

    I like the internet. The bed is comfortable also the pillow.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    Loved the quaintness of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallway and stairs were quite noisy...we could hear the comings and goings of the other guests in our room.

    Loved the quaintness of the hotel....great place to stay if you are looking to stay in a small non-hotel chain.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel in an excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic but to be honest I didn't spend that much time there, gent is too pretty to hide indoors!!

    The pillows were nice and soft. The location of the hotel was excellent!! 2 minute walk from the centrum

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.5
    Clean, very helpful staff, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with some fresh fruit for breakfast.

    Shower was easy to use, good water flow and plenty of hot water. Excellent location. Very quiet area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    We didn't ate breakfast as we left early from the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms don't include shower inside the room.

    We didn't ate breakfast as we left early from the hotel so I can't say something about that.Is a little bit overpriced for the overall experience .The location is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    5.8
    Good location but a bit scruffy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit scruffy. Shared bathroom looked dirty and shabby. Cleanliness and decor wasn't great. Felt more like a hostel than a hotel.

    Great location. Only a minute or two from St Bavo's cathedral. Friendly staff. Breakfast was good. Good wifi. A good hotel if you just want somewhere for the night in the city centre, not the kind of place you'd take someone you were trying to impress.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast, location and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to complain about. Only the sink in the room was clogging up easily at times but I guess that's easily fixable

    Clean room and clean shared bathroom. The location was excellent, right in the city center but at the same time it was quiet and cosy!The breakfast was very decent, I was pleasantly surprised!I also have to mention that the staff were very nice and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Flandria-centrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: