Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Frederiksborg 2 stars

Avenue Broustin 118, Ganshoren, 1083 Brussels, Belgium

Review score

Based on 401 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Good stay just a few let downs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taps and shower closure a bit worn Mirror in bathroom was not properly fixed and looked a bit damaged too

    The breakfast was nice and service good. Shame the rooms from the pics in actual sense were so different No hairdryer plus the taps were worn bit the water pressure and water temp was really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Good beds and quite good soundproofing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good beds and quite good soundproofing. Gregory the manager was very helpful and efficient. I've stayed in this hotel before as my daughter lives close by and it offers good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Good for a couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was temperamental. We kept getting stuck between floors. Basic continental breakfast only. No option to upgrade to English as advertised. On main road so noise from traffic.

    Basic but clean. Reasonably comfortable beds. Polite staff. Didn't seem to hear much noise from other guests. Free WiFi was fast and reliable. 10 minute walk to tube station and 10 minute tube to the centre. Great Brassiere across the street, had the best steak ever. Hotel food was also nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.3
    I would say it's not the worst I've been in. But it's not great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This room was quite small, which I did not have that much of a problem with but any more than one person will make it uncomfortable I believe. The issue for me was the bathroom and linens. Only one pillow was covered, and the towels were frayed. There was some hair in the shower stall. The AC was off the wall hinges and on the side not plugged in. You get what you pay for but. Did not feel great.

    I liked the location well enough. It was next to a park and quite scenic. The pub downstairs seemed friendly and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.1
    Everything I needed for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room option on Booking showed 2 double beds, yet that's not available at this hotel. It's either twin beds or one double bed in fairly small rooms. I had my expectation set on a room size with 2 double beds which I had selected, and that was a little disappointing when I arrived. The helpful staff did do everything in their power to make me happy and showed me the rooms I could choose from. Most rooms have a tiny bathroom so I went for the one with the proper bathroom and full size walk-in shower, which was very nice.

    Friendly staff, helpful to show room options and very accomodating at breakfast. Nice breakfast in a spacious and cozy breakfast room, relaxed checkout.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    This a pleasant property to stay at if you'd like to be in a more quiet part of Brussels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator was a bit small, but to be expected in older European buildings.

    The restaurant and breakfast room had a nice view over the local park and cathedral.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Neat hotel with a pub, but room too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was extremely small, no room for luggage.

    Located in front of park Elizabeth and its cathedral, but a far from the centre of the city, bus stops 50m away. There is a pub behind of the rooms with good food and drinks. Reception desk personal very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place to stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's quite hard to get to the hotel. :(

    The staffs are nice. The view from my room was a park. The location of the hotel is not so noisy or busy, good to rest.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.6
    Cosy hotel with few issues
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything critically overpriced and expensive and no mini bar. Also, quite limited selection of food and facilities.

    The staff were nice and hotel generally clean and cosy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.9
    Clean room, very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was not working very well. I don't know if there was work being done on my floor but it was very noisy at times.There were these loud banging noises that scared my children.o

    Clean room, very helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    6.7
    Good view of the Basilica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have told us when checking in at 9.30pm that the kitchen would be closing at 10pm - went out to the restaurant opposite and aimed to go back for a nightcap but the hotel bar was closed when we returned. Also reception is not manned overnight. Only one other restaurant and bar in the immediate neighbourhood, a 10 minute walk to others, corner shops and the metro.

    Good view of the Basilica. Had an excellent dinner on second night (1 plat du jour & 1 a la carte) and the restaurant was very comfortable. Staff were pleasant and well-mannered. Room wasn't that big but very clean and had a bath and shower. Also a pleasant temperature in the room. Probably nicer to stay in late Spring - Autumn as it was quite a long walk from the metro in the cold.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    2.9
    Appaling service, poor hotel quality, don't ever book a night in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy rooms (hotel's just located at a crossroads), and building works happening all day (including sunday morning!) in rooms just next to ours. Needless to say I didn't get a decent night sleep. Coming back from a party at 3.30am, we found out we had been locked out of our room , because apparently the person at reception had not taken down our credit card details correctly, and they needed it to allow us to access our rooms again. What a joke!! We ended up arguing with a dodgy looking night guy on duty who barely spoke any french or english, and asked us for our credit card details. He took our card and left us waiting outside of the hotel for 20mn!! We were very close to calling the cops or breaking in by smashing the door. He eventually came back, to give us a new key, allowing us access to our room. We had still no idea whether our card had been debited or not. We found this experience deeply shocking, in 20+ years of travelling, I never got locked out of my room because the hotel did not properly take my details and thought I wouldn't pay. The lady at reception the following day was very sorry, and kindly offered a coffee for compensation, but sadly the damage had been done. I recommend to avoid this hotel at all costs and find another alternative nearby.

    Not much to say here to be honest!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a good choice. It isn't "bang in the centre" of Brussels, but I needed a hotel in this area and this is the best option, clean and comfortable. I've stayed here before and I'll definitely come back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    7.5
    The restaurant was very friendly and the food quite good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My booking had not registered in their system, but luckily they had a spare room, otherwise it could have been a disaster!

    The restaurant was very friendly and the food quite good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.2
    Great location, super cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, super cosy. It is a great place to return to after a long day of sightseeing. There is a low budget belgian fries place and a supermarket nearby as well.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful area and nice food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful area and nice food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    Value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very limited

    Value for money. Restaurant below the hotel is nice for a quick meal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.3
    Solo business trip on a budget
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pokey but adequate

    Location, value

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Clean and close to metro.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection was poor.

    Clean place and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    All was super, for short trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was super, for short trip

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Locatio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. It is above from a restaurant and i can hear all the noise even after till 2am. Didn’t sleep well at all. Staff is nice

    Locatio

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    Second visit and for the money it's great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice and simple. I was at the Brussels EXPO for the week and its a short drive and great value for money compared with other hotels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel for the budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hotel for the budget. Value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult due to location.

    Friendly staff. Goo location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Temperature in room

    location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.1
    The room had a nice view over the basilica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service cleaning, the bed sheet was dirty. Everything is small.

    The room had a nice view over the basilica.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    4.6
    Don't try it trust me
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employees were unfriendly small hotel with small room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    5.0
    5 floors but no elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 floors but no elevator. I asked for 2 bottles of water, a staff corkscrewed 2 bottles and charge 7.2 euro

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little far from center. Small lift.

    Reasonable price. Elisabeth park is in front of hotel. Good view. big bathroom

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    4.2
    Impolite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was extremely impolite and made our stay worse than it was. Also, beds are pretty uncomfortable for a 3 nights stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    4.6
    Not a value for money choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows weren't well maintained as a result cold air was passing through the windows, the heating was barely on and the room was very cold.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable room, nice restaurant downstairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room, nice restaurant downstairs

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    6.3
    Good location, delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so clean

    Good location, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    4.2
    No reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, dirty, u can hear your neighbour always! If u need to leave or arrive before 7am u cant coz no reception :D

    Tavern on the 1st floor.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.3
    Fit for purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room (No.10) was stunning!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    8.3
    Rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costy breakfast with nothing good to offer.

    Rooms. Personel. Armosphere. Location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    5.0
    Find some other place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor hospitality.. Small rooms Insufficient light Sheets were changed the next day but room was not cleaned.

    Stayed in November 2016

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Hotel Frederiksborg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: