Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Galia 1 stars

Place du jeu de balle 15, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

Review score

Based on 935 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovation of hotel should be done years ago.

    Good location of hotel. But a renovation is need urgently. Hotel is looks like stopped in time. Good breakfast and easy access from train station of foot. But it has a charm, a sort of it anyway. ;)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Charming Brussels hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like. Just notes for travelers: hair dryer in bathroom didnt work, bring your own toiletries like shampoo and toothpaste, there's no air conditioner in the room but we kept the windows open BC weather was good. Sometimes elevator didn't work and we were on third floor, so I was thankful we packed light.

    Staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful with advice, direction, and anything we needed. The room was super comfy and clean. The breakfast was decent, with a selection of pastries and scrambled eggs with all the fixings. Hotel is very charming with lots of nice touches. There's always someone at the lobby desk any time of day. Excellent value for our money. Also, location is v good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Small hotel with a charming personality in an area with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-con so got pretty hot when +30C outside, though with window open and fan it was still pleasant to sleep.

    Small hotel with a charming personality in an area with loads of antique shop and market. The hotel offers basic accomodation in clean rooms, some wear and tear visible here and there, but the breakfast was really nice and we loved all the quirky objects in the decoration of the breakfast room, likely bought from the antique market right in front of the hotel. Staff was friendly and accomodated our bikes safely downstairs for the night, overall a very positive experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    The room was clear and newly painted, the bathroom clear and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small on the pictures looked bigger, the TV wasn't connected to the network. The clean of the corridors wasn't the perfect, quite worned. The hotel needs a little renovation.

    The room was clear and newly painted, the bathroom clear and new also. The staff was nice and kind. It is quet close to Brussel Midi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff was super friendly, easy check in, WiFi was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a bit away from central/tourist area. This was not a problem for us, as we like adventure and experiencing local culture, but not really walkable - we took bus to center and walked from Midi train station (10-15 min with luggage). There were tons of great restaurants nearby, but would not suggest walking byself to areas at night. Also a flea market across street was great for my family, but other families may be more reserved. A bit of noise early if your room is in front of building. the rooms were small, but this is Europe. the beds firm. No A/C (again, this is Europe). Lift (elevator) is super tiny, only 2 people can fit.

    Staff was super friendly, easy check in, WiFi was good. Breakfast was good, fresh scrambled eggs and sausages, with beans for an English breakfast with breads to choose from and jams. Held bags during day until our flight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Super staff, super breakfast, super value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music in nearby square went on until 11.30 one evening

    Super breakfast, super friendly staff and excellent value . Near to main metro , city centre and Gare du Midi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    I'd stay there again!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    I was traveling alone, but got a huge family room with 6 beds!! Very clean, very nice, much better than I was expecting. Lovely helpful staff as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, relaxed stay in interesting area of Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was never clear about whether breakfast was included in price.

    Staff efficient and super friendly, excellent English for non French/Flemish speakers. Seemed very relaxed about check-out time etc. Next to huge flea market and range of cafes, arty/antique shops and close to bus route. 10 min walk to Gare du Midi (for Eurostar)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Basic but good value for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toiletries are minimal, only 2 little pouches of shampoo/body gel. We brought our own soap.

    Very basic accommodation, but good value for the price we paid. 15 min walk to Brussels-Midi Station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    If you don’t mind the walk, 15 minutes to get to Grand Place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in my room. Also had to climb up from level 3 to 5 as the lift only stopped at 3.

    If you don’t mind the walk, 15 minutes to get to Grand Place and beyond. Friendly staff and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    A good solution for a low-budget stay, without too many expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Asking for payment at the arrival is not so pleasant. Sooner or later doesn't change much, of course, but I think it is nicer not to ask for it immediately. Croissants on the last day were probably leftovers. Common areas could be cleaner. The window in my room was broken (not the glass, just the hinges), I learned how to work around the problem but I got scared at first. Though the staff kindly kept my luggage for a few hours after leaving the room, so I could visit the city a little longer without having to carry it the whole time, they just had me place it under a bench in the hall and not in a designated room as I was told the day before when I asked the favor: not the safest solution.

    The staff is very nice. The hotel is a 10-minutes walk from the Bruxelles South train station and the city centre can be reached in 15mins. Breakfast had a vast choice (sweet and salty), though on the last day the croissants were leftovers from the day before because they were stone-hard (while they were excellent the other days!). The windows were soundproofed, so the noise of the strees is not an issue! Bed was comfy. They kept my luggage for a few hours after leaving the room, so I could visit the city a little longer without having to carry it the whole time, though they just had me place it under a bench in the hall and not in a designated room as I was told the day before when I asked the favor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Cheap and not a bad location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very early check out time (10 a.m.). Staff wasn't friendly. Coffee machine hasn't work, and the guy at the reception just told that he can't do anything. Very very small shower cabine. Noisy place (near a cafe, where young peoples in the evenings sing and cry till 1 a.m.)

    Cheap and not a bad location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    The breakfast was ok and the square where it is located is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a room in the backyard as there was a fleamarket starting eraly next day on the square. Could have been a mistake as the room I got looked nothing like on the pictures. It was rather run-down and the backyard was too. Moreover, I killed a big cockroach in the evening which was not what I had expected from a room in Brussels. So, I am not very thrilled about this hotel.

    The breakfast was ok and the square where it is located is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    A great choice for low budget accomodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building/decor and furniture are used and old. Wifi was not good and I preffered to use 4G on my phone

    Very friendly staff and great quality for the money spent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful view, friendly personnel, nice atmosphere overall...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was quite different from those I saw in pictures 😄 Firstly I was quite surprised with some missing parts of wallpaper, and strange stains on carpet, but the rest is good!

    Beautiful view, friendly personnel, nice atmosphere overall (some kind of provence style), nice location, bed and breakfast. Good value for the price! I would stay here next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite noisy. You can hear people in their room as if they were in yours. You could still smell fresh painting in the room. Breakfast products were quite industrial.

    Good value for money. Room was clean and refreshed. Bathroom was modern and really nice. Large breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    For a solo traveller, an ideal budget hotel located conveniently for both the centre & Gare du Midi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The décor throughout the hotel is rather dilapidated. The lift is very ancient and makes some worrying noises.

    The self-service breakfast buffet was open from 7-10am, and had good variety & decent quality. I didn't find the hotel at all noisy. The staff were very helpful, and it was useful to have a luggage storage facility on my last day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.9
    Perfect hotel for a city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tight stairs to the highest floors

    We had to do the checkout at 5 in the morning and so could not join the breakfast. The staff was preparing for us breakfast in the evening that we could take away. The room had style.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    Okay hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom tap/pipes were noisy. When the other rooms where using their bathroom there was a loud noise that woke us up. Also there was a leakage at the toilet. Other than these everything was fine.

    Super warm room in a cold city. The breakfast was great and diverse. The location was good and the sights were walkable. Also it felt quite safe at night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    central and reasonable hotel in quaint square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was a little scary but worked!

    Wonderful location central to train station by foot about 3 blocks and close to Grand Place about 6 blocks. Very accommodating, nice staff. Good breakfast. Very good restaurant in square across from hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Fine for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a small hotel with charm. The rooms in the attic are small but cosy and the view of the square is great. However the lift only goes to the 3 floor and the staircase to the 4 and 5 is very narrow. Location is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent price for the simple room with private bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator doesn't rich two upper floors. Wasn't a problem for me, but take this into account while booking. There is a flea market right in front of the hotel. Wasn't a problem for me either. But the square is crowded since early morning.

    Excellent price for the simple room with private bathroom not far from the center of not so cheap city. Metro and Brussels South railway station can be accessed either by 2-stop bus ride or by 7-8 minutes walk. Palace of Justice. Breakfast is good, not very diverse, but croissants are the best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Hotel is peaceful and good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasnt happy. Because the shower pressure was poor and the tempreture suddenly changed to hot or cold. I got sligtly burned my neck from the hot water.

    Staffs were kind and good location. Bars just near the hotel also supermarket close as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Good place for budget travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room seemed to be refurbished, the lift was a bit scary, the bathroom, Not enough light inside the room.

    Good budget hotel.. 15-20 mins of walk from the zuid/midi station.. situated inside the locality..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant hotel for exploring Brussels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi internet didn't work well in my room in the afternoon and during evenings.

    Perfect atmosphere of the hotel and the place, very pleasant staff, especially at the recepction dest. The breakfasts were tasty. The room was cleaned every day. I will return for sure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Great, lively location for a weekend away.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't necessarily ideal for a business trip - there was live music outside (on the flea market) until pretty late on a week night - would have loved this if travelling for fun, but a bit tricky as I had to be up early for work.

    Lively location (on the flea market), very friendly staff - perfectly reasonable for the price, central location - nice places to eat and have a drink nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    The little restaurant is pretty nice, my room was in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    attic is in level 5, lift only serve till level 3, pretty tough in carrying things up when you have big luggage

    The little restaurant is pretty nice, my room was in the attic and facing interesting flea market. bed was comfortable too, the staff were great and friendly 15 minutes walk to grand place, and 10 minutes walk from Midi station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Basic Worthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The structure and hallways are a little outdated, a little renovation would make this place more appealing.

    The Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the Zuid Train Station. There were also a lot of convenient stores, markets and restaurants in the neighborhood. We were surprised that the quadruple room was very spacious, it could actually fit 5-6 persons. The room is simple but clean. Towels are changed everyday. The breakfast buffet was very good since there was a variety of bread, cheese, cold cuts and drinks to choose from. The staffs are nice. All in all, it was a great value for the money!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    It's nice and interesting :)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The elevator goes just to the third floor (not to the fifth), facilities are clean, but not new. Breakfast was not very good: they had quite a few things to choose, but it was not fruits and almost no vegetables, the coffee was not good (they had broken esspresso machine), and it was not yet everything prepared for the breakfast at 7:00, when it started.

    I like the staff of the hotel. The location was also good, because it's near the center and also on the walk distance from train station. It was in interesting area of Brussels. They are flexible regarding choosing rooms. The hotel was clean. You may pay also with credit card. It was nice location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    The Hotel Galia provided everything I needed for a short stay in Brussels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. The Hotel Galia provided everything I needed for a short stay in Brussels

    The hotel was in an excellent location, only a few minutes walk from Brussels midi. The staff were very friendly and on arrival provided lots of information about Brussels. The room was clean, neat and great value for the money. The breakfast (included) was varied, with cooked food, cereals and pastries available. I would definitely stay at the Hotel Galia again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Recommended for short stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The overall appearance of the hotel is not that nice . There was no air conditioning/fan.

    The room was very clean and the beds were comfy. Good location and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    It exceed my expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bad points!

    The place is great. In the neighborhood there are plenty of art galleries and deco shops plus a great market in the square! lovely coffee and Tin Tin murals! This isn't a 5 stars hotel as you can see per description and price but this is what we loved. Independent hotel, great breakfast (a lot of options and croissants were something else!). Friendly super smiley staff.. Perfect and special stay! We booked a double room with shared bathroom and what a surprise when we found bathroom in the room! I asked for double bed and we had twins but they were together and all good. Comfy mattress and they clean the rooms everyday. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay with excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basin in the toilet could be bit bigger.

    Location was good. Easily reachable by public bus service from Grand Place. Staff was very good. As we had big luggage, we requested them for a bigger room and they let us choose from two rooms which I think is very generous. Room was quiet good at this budget. Specially tintin themed decors were fabulous. Breakfast was excellent and the breakfast place had really good ambiance with antique decors. Overall, recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Amazing hipster style hotel in the middle of Marolles :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are used to chain hotels with strict rules, it is not for you :) Staying in Gala was like staying at the close friends' home. The hotel and the rooms have a very awesome atmosthere. The beds were comfortable and the linen and towels white and very clean. We had a very good rest. We never used public transport and always get to the hotel on foot from the city centre. It serves hot breakfast (sausages, omlette, fried potatoes) and you can have it in a nice small yard. If the windows are facing the market, it might be a bit noisy in the mornings, but this gives city-like feeling. Highly recomended for relaxed tourists with a optimistic atiitude to life :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Decent stay near the center of Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we had was not the first room provided by the hotel. The first room was at the 4th floor (the elevator only goes to 3rd and you have to carry the bags on the stairs), number 42 or 43 and was not like on the site, like in the pictures. It was big, with one big bed and two smaller beds but it was not so clean, the walls were scratched, the bathroom was incredible small. We asked the staff if we can switch rooms and they gave us a nice room at the first floor. No AC in the new room. It was very hot. The room was getting sun all day long. One of the towels provided had rust stains on it. Parking is hard on the street and the closest garage is 700 m away.

    The location is great, right on the corner of Place du Jeu de Balle. In 1 km walk you can get to Grand Place and to Manekin Pis. The room was very nice furnished with old furniture, had wood paneling and wallpaper. Breakfast is great, buffet, with omelette, beans, sausages, cheeses, butter and many other, served in a retro looking place. Our room was on the first floor and had two single beds joined together and two bunk beds. The bathroom was clean and had decent space. Staff was young, nice and helpful. There is a Delhaize store on the next street but be sure to check the closing time (it usually closes at 19:45). Multiple bars all around the square. The bus stops at 50 m from the hotel and goes to the center or to the metro station. We arrived by car and stopped near the hotel just to unload the bags, on a corner. The car was parked at the Palais de Justice, about 700 meters by foot if you take the elevator that takes you to the palace level. By car is a little bit further because you have to mind the one way streets but is the best option to park in the area, a lot of room and 14.9 euro per 24 hours.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) The young man who checked us in, although pleasant, was scruffy and poorly trained - left us waiting a long time, did not know where the room was, insisted on taking 3 of us up the lift which afterwards noticed was max 2 people. 2) Hot humid night, and mosquitos in the room - no netting on windows etc. Therefore woke up bitten.

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Would stay longer with pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impression about the hotel was a bit spoiled because produced a sense of being shabby. Should be a bit redecorated (wall paper), room doors.

    Staff, breakfast, location, tidiness, bed,bed linen, music in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in the triple room was too small

    The staff was friendly, the triple room was big, there was basically another room for a third person. The hotel is at a walkable distance from the city centre and breakfast was ok. There are many restaurants/bars nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Very nice small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located directly at the wonderful daily flea market. We had a very quiet small room, so sleeping was wonderful. All very clean, staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast room looks wonderful and breakfast is big. Public parking garage 5 minutes away for 15,-€/24h.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    The location is good, close to the train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not as good as on the pictures, we had an attic room which was rather warm. Also, there is a square in front of the hotel, and we got up rather early because of the flee market. On the other hand, we had more time for sightseeing. :)

    The location is good, close to the train station (Brussels-Midi) and the city center. The price/value ratio was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for the Flea Market ! Quirky, Arty Hotel with Great Breakfast & Comfy Beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's all good as far as I have experienced

    Its the best location for the Flea market on Place Jeu de Balle, with really comfortable beds. and a lovely breakfast room with self serve buffet decorated with quirky flea market finds, they have great croissants !and a good range of hot and cold food. Also the staff are really relaxed and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accomodation was great, near to town centre, very nice, cozy, clean and breakfest was so yummy and tasty. Stuff was nice as well. I can recomend - for weekend trip is perfect. :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast is delish lovely variety of fresh bread and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have more pillows in rooms and the lift is tiny one person and a large suitcase fits well add a second person and its tight

    Breakfast is delish lovely variety of fresh bread and the croissants were fresh every day and hot

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Great guys at the reception: friendly and positive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great guys at the reception: friendly and positive atmosphere from the exact beginning of BXL trip. Nice and clean room. Breakfast is over expectations: great variety of the freshest cheese, fantastic warm croissants and aromatic coffee. Best place for this price. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is very well located, easy to get there from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the top floor and one room did not have curtains at all the three windows

    The hotel is very well located, easy to get there from the airport and close to the city centre. The room was big. The staff was kind and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Good hotel in the centre of Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast, good location (about 10 minutes walk to Maneken Pis), really helpful staff. We stayed here for one night only, but enjoyed this time. Very good place to stay in the centre of Brussels for such a price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.4
    Not a spectacular stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is too old. Even though the rooms are renewed, the building is in bad conditions. The neighbourhood is not nice. And I read that the hotel was 10 minutes from the centre but it takes 15 minutes walking fast and 20 walking slowly.

    The breakfast buffet (included) is the only good thing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    5.4
    Staff was friendly and helpful (but they had to consult each...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was very small - you have to stand on the (wet) shower area to use the sink. Some sheer courtains could be considered - lighting in the room is weak, and if you close the blackout courtains (because otherwise the neighbourgs can see you very well), it's very dark.

    Staff was friendly and helpful (but they had to consult each other how to call a taxi). The place was very clean. Nice location for tourist visits.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very cosy and has that charm. The location is very good - walking distance from most of the tourist attractions. Staff really friendly. Very nice breakfast. Slow wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.1
    No complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No closeby parking. Had to drive for 10 mins (due to one way streets a 600 m walk was a 2 km drive) and walk about the same. Not ideal for early morning departure Some of the lights didn't seem to work. No tea or coffee making facilities.weird step in the room that we kept tripping on.

    Breakfast was great abd i liked the breakfast room decor Several bars around the square if you want to avoid the crowded main sqare

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    The best breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing which was a little annoying that the door creaked a little when you opened it or you closed it.

    The hotel is really good situated, close to the Grand Place (aprox. 15 min. of walking). The supermarket is only 5 minutes away and the Gare du Midi around 15 min. of walking. It is a really nice hotel with helpful and kind staff. The breakfast was really good and extensive. The room was cozy and very comfortable and there always was hot water.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.5
    A very nice experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not have a problem with the fact that the room and bathroom were very small, but sometimes there was a strange smell in the room, even after the daily cleaning process.

    The staff was very friendly and ready to help us; the room was comfortable, nice breakfast included. Good and safe location, you can get by walk to the city center. Bonus, if you are passionate about flea markets, this is the perfect hotel for you - in front of the hotel there was a generous flea market every day. All in all, I recommend this place!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    owner was incredibly friendly and helpful, pleasantly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room smelled like smoke and was quite basic, some issues with broken outlets and windows, wifi was low and intermittent

    owner was incredibly friendly and helpful, pleasantly surprised by location right next to the antique market, close to train station and bus to airport. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    Helpful owner and staff, reasonable comfort in a good location especially for flea market lovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are not large enough or out of standards, but not bad who likes old buildings as J.Tati's film Mon Uncle, to reach room 43 you have to make a similar route like Tati...

    The staff and the owner of the hotel are very friendly and helpful, they provide a good breakfeast and the location of hotel is very good near the intresting flea market opens everyday, the hotel is 10-15 minutes to Brussels Midi station and 10-15 minutes to the Centre.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.3
    A surprise behind an unassuming front.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside I found was that the hotel itself, although very central in the city it's in, is difficult to find in the back streets it's in. They should get a new, more prominent sign up!

    The hotel is a pleasant surprise behind an unassuming front, and staff does their best to make you as a guest feel comfortable during your stay, while otherwise providing you with all the privacy you wish and respecting your personal space. Staff is friendly and polite, rooms are very clean and proper, the breakfast buffet offered was of fresh good quality food with plenty of choice for everyone, both hot and cold food. The hotel also offers WiFi for your connectivity needs for free, on a secured network so non-guests won't be able to snoop or kill your internet speed. The location itself is very central with good connectivity to the rest of the city, and only a short walk to transport hubs for tram and subway. Do expect a bit of a steep climb in that part of Brussels to get to it :) The rooms are constructed in a rather unorthodox way, with them being built in the inner space in a housing block behind the otherwise small front, but it most certainly works and the room I stayed in, even though booked as a single room, was extremely spacious. The reception desk staff member made sure, even with the language barrier, that I understood how to get to my room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.9
    I love the bed, the bed sheets were new and soft, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had problems with the shower in our room, the water as sometimes freezing

    I love the bed, the bed sheets were new and soft, the mattress was also comfy. the room was really warm and comfy.The recepcionists were friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    6.7
    The bed was comfortable and the location is great (near...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower turned colder and colder after some minutes. Dirt came out of the hair dryer. The house and its interior are renovated obviously, but still appears old/used in general; the rooms and floors are small and narrow.

    The bed was comfortable and the location is great (near Bruxelles midi station, a lot of pubs around, easy to walk the city from there). Free WLAN in second floor worked.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi was slightly touch-and-go on the last day and there was no late check-out for our room (completely understandable for a busy hotel, just an observation)

    The bed was super comfy and the decor of the entire hotel was charming. The bathroom was small but super efficient and the shower was great. The room was always toasty warm but the windows opened wide to let in a lovely breeze. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was central, with a great antiques market right on the front door step. At night the neighbourhood was quiet but with lots of great little bars and restaurants to discover. Al-Janna's, Restobieres, Jaffa and Vertigo are definitely a must-do on the menu side of things!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    very basic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no bar fridge in room. Rooms are very small. Bathroom needs an upgrade. Has a hand shower. not a great location for nightlife.

    very basic accommodation. The property is 2 star though. Clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    Quite nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heater in the bathroom, in winter it's cold in there.

    Pretty close both to the South Rail Station and to the city centre. It takes only 10 minutes on foot to get to the Manneken Pis and five more for the Grand Place. The room was on the top floor under the roof and had a window to the flea market square. All clean. Wi-fi is ok.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    5.0
    Not terrible, but not great either
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, not much space to move about in. The bathroom was like a small cylinder that was tiny. The shower curtain was so close to the shower that it stuck to you for the whole shower & water went everywhere. The location wasn't the best, it didn't take long to get to the tourist attractions but late at night some of the areas we had to walk past to get back to the hotel felt a little unsafe. It wasn't a terrible stay but I certainly wouldn't have wanted to stay more than one night.

    staff were nice & friendly & bed was comfortable enough

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    5.8
    Practical hotel near the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean and bathroom had a strange smell. Kind of a sketchy neighbourhood for solo travelers.

    Location was great, very friendly staff and cozy bedroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    5.4
    Poorer than its general score
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is severely overated in the general score. Frankly, I cannot understand how it got these numbers. It is run-down, with old furniture and the bathroom was poorly decorated. The photo appearing on the site is misleading, as I got a tiny room with space only from the one side of the bed. No shop after 8pm nearby to buy food, except from a durum-pitta cantine some 10 min away on foot. The TV did not work in the room and the wifi was on and off. Taking a shower was a risk, as hot water alternated with cold one! It is a cheap solution for someone who does not want anything from their stay, but I would not consider staying there again.

    The hotel was at a good location andf staff were kind and eager to help.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    8.8
    The staff was very kind, they have respected our timing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was very kind, they have respected our timing and were looking forward to help us when we needed help; the view on flea market and at the same time the noise didn´t annoyed us (the room was soundproofed).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! I would totally visit again if I am in Brussels.

    The room was small but really cozy. We had everything we needed. No problems with the wi-fi or the water. Everything was clean. The staff was really really friendly, they let us use the coffee machines for free and they offered tea. And the location is awesome! It's no more than 7-8 min to the mannequin pis on foot.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.5
    Great breakfast (though not included), very friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was a bit spotty.

    Great breakfast (though not included), very friendly staff, basic but everything we needed for a short stay in Brussels, and good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    2.9
    The worst stuff ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were waiting for 1 hour for receptionist and no one was answering at the phone number or ring bell. Other guests were also present at the time waiting for other requirements. We were waiting 15 minutes out in the cold and no one was opening us

    Only the vintage design

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    4.6
    Very basic hotel and how did they get such high reviews before ??
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where does one start ? There are certain standards that should be upheld. However, they took full payment when we arrived and no doubt if we wished to have left we would have lost our money or we would have possibly required to wait a number of days before the money was returned. The room we were given was on the 4 th floor when the window was opened, it opened fully and there was no safety measures ...just a four floor drop to the ground. Health and safety obviously not high on the agenda in Brussels. The room was basic, very basic. There was some paper coming off the wall and the bathroom was a small cabin with a cracked sink and no plug. The shower was very low power and was intermittently ran hot/ cold. In fact mid shower the water completely stopped at one stage. It took at least 5 mins before any further supply was available. Basically things like toilet roll should be replenished. Towels were of poor quality and the bed linen was never changed when we were there. As for the breakfast it was reasonable but it would have been nice to see that the tables etc would have been cleaned down regularly but unfortunately that was not the case. We have stayed numerous times in Brussels but would not recommend this hotel and nor would we stay there again.

    It was close to metro stations

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    Günstiges, sauberes Hotel in guter Lage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't expect normal bathrooms though. It's a plastic cabin when you're staying in a double room. The breakfast is too expensive for what you get but in relation to Brussel's ridiculous food prices still worth it.

    Clean and nicely furnished. Location is perfect, Place du Jeu de Balle is especially nice on weekends, with s flea market, pubs and relatively affordable food in the streets of Marolles.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice location near a flea market and easy walking to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was a little too dark for the room and the lights were not particuarly strong. Because our room window was overlooked by a communal stairway this meant getting dressed in the dark. Bathroom was very small.

    Nice location near a flea market and easy walking to the Palace of Justice and the old town. Room was clean and had everything needed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    4.6
    Please choose another place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am sorry but I can't understand how this hotel can have 7,6. I had a double room and it was big disappointment. The reception couldn't speak english at all. The room was cold and the heater didn't work. The water was time to time hot, cold, hot - so it was a bit difficult to have a shower. Wifi doesn't work properly. There is no place to put your clothes in and with larger luggage it can be really hard to fit in room. And obviously they have no need to improve it. As you can see previous comments they have similiar issues but seems that hotel doesn't care. It is not worth it to stay here.

    It is close to Grand-Place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    A very welcoming and homely place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water was not adequate on either of my trips. Not strong enough or no hot water. That was my only complaint.

    I went back there on my return trip because I liked the staff and they gave me a good and big room. It didn't look as modern as it does in the photos, but everything else makes up for it and it is clean and very comfortable for y purposes and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    For me the location was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For me the location was perfect. My first impression was it was old and untidy, but once in the room it was very comfortable and quite cute. Staff were very friendly and breakfast the best in any similar hotel I stayed in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff, good location and great buffet style breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Galia has special charm that you cannot find elsewhere. It is conveniently located in a safe and very interesting neighborhood, approx 15 min walk from the Brussels-Midi/Zuid Train Station. Our room was cozy and very clean, a bit on a small side, but still comfortable for two people. It had a great view of the church square. The oldest flee market in the city is organized every day on the square right in front of the hotel and there are many cafés and restaurants in the area. We loved the buffet stye breakfast. The staff is very friendly and they speak English. Good value for money!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Great location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't really anywhere to put your clothes, there was one high shelf, we were only there for two nights so just opted for the floor. Also the sink in the bathroom was very small and mostly occupied by the tap. There were some fluctuations in the hot water which made the shower a little more rousing in the morning. Overall good location and value for money so wouldn't complain. Oh and the tv didn't work but who's gonna watch tv when you're in Brussels for two nights?

    The location was great. It was right outside where the flea market is set up daily, which is fun for a browse and around a lot of little cafes/bars. Also in walking distance of the city centre and Eurostar station. Oh and there was a shop next door with a centaur skeleton!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Galia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: