Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guesthouse PoortAckere

Oude Houtlei 56, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#33 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 755 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Charming rooms, friendly staff, ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only tiny drawback was the number of toilets available, and how far some of the rooms were from them.

    A large group of us all stayed in single rooms, which were exceptionally clean and very charming. Lovely bathrobes and slippers in each room for the trip to the shared showers (which were immaculate). Staff were very helpful indeed, couldn't have asked for better service. Location is absolutely ideal - five minutes walk from St Michael's bridge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Atmospheric but basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We're spoilt these days wanting all our rooms en suite. Here they were a walk down the corridor and a staircase. If you can put up with that I think you'll appreciate this place. If not, probably best to stay somewhere else. I skipped breakfast (17,50 is a lot) and instead had a croissant, orange juice and coffee sitting 2 minutes walk away on the Botermarkt for 3 euros...

    Great location in the heart of Ghent, and beautiful building. Simple but comfortable accommodation. Beautiful chapel that was open during the day. Friendly staff. I slept well here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Quirky, central but don't expect luxury. Wear a hair shirt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was quite expensive The breakfast was expensive @ €17 (I didn't take it) Toilet and shower were down the corridor Tea coffee some way down the corridor

    It was different, with some surprising features, such as a church with a stained glass window. It did still feel like a monastery (which you might like) Bathrobe and slippers provided

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Amazing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff...was very late to arrive, nice man checked me in very fast so i could pop off to bed. young lady at reception had great advice for breakfast places and shopping, and super cute!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    The atmosphere in the hotel is amazing, you can feel like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is old so it's squeaking with every move. Showers are dark, a bit scary. In the room sink with only cold water.

    The atmosphere in the hotel is amazing, you can feel like you went back to medieval. Candles everywhere, choir singing, absolutely stunning! Very good breakfast. Coffee, tea and kettles in the hall for use of visitors. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Quirky place close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy in terms of that you could hear people moving about due to the age of the place. The furniture was dated but I think helped towards the character of the place. (Undecided on whether the furniture should be updated)

    Quirky place, retaining its features. Definitely worth seeing. Staff were very helpful. Close to the centre. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Good value room in historic building, close to town centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently popular as a wedding venue, for which it is well-suited, but can be noisier in the evenings than one might expect from a monastery!

    Charming building, sensitively converted into a hotel. Not en suite, but robe and slippers supplied, which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Lovely and peaceful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This place was amazing, especially for the price! It is a medieval monastery, but equipped with all the modern facilities you might want (Wifi, TV, espresso, etc.). The staff are very friendly, and it is located just a few minutes away from the town center. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    - You got everything you need even that room is small
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Small bed - Outside bathroom

    - You got everything you need even that room is small - Free tea and coffee outside the room in corridor. - Beautiful place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I definately would come back, but then i would stay on the top floor. I was on the first floor and woke up because someone came back very late and because it is an historic building the floor makes a lot of noise. And the pillows were too thick for me. But the rest was very ok.

    Beautiful place and atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    A great place to say, not as 'monasterial' as I hoped
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy into the early hours of the morning

    Great accommodation for the price - very noisy at night with a private party so not as secluded as I thought it would be, check in was efficient and the rooms simple and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Great ambiance, perfect location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I didn't stay longer!

    Located in a lovely old monastery, with a great ambiance and a very romantic feel to it (I'll have to come back with my husband!). Reception staff was very accommodating and friendly, allowing me to check-in 1 hour before the established time. Very much appreciated since I had arrived from Rome with an early flight and was very tired. I'll come back for sure and highly recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    A peaceful value-for-money stay in a vintage building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The reception was closed before 11 pm in the night of 31st May (I went down at 10:50 pm). It was a warm night & I wanted to ask for a lighter blanket, but couldn't find anyone. - One WC per floor, down a stair-flight; if that is occupied, you have to search around.

    + Tea / coffee and electric kettle in the hallway + Poel bus stop (230 m. away) with many options +Pretty and peaceful premises + Helpful staffs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities were basic, and a bit of a damp smell - but one could expect this when booking this type of location.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice location, lovely reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors/rooms are not soundproof so if you are thinking about catching up on some sleep during the day forget it. People talking loudly in the car park, squeaky floors, doors opening, closing and keys jingling, so take your ear plugs. The lady who cleans the rooms was rude and wanted me to check out at before the advertised check out time. It wasn't a nice ending to my stay.

    The location is excellent! A very basic room but it does the job. You get a dressing gown and slippers which is handy for bathroom trips. The reception staff are lovely, a very friendly and caring greeting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Basic. Staff was pleasant. Location was fairly convenient. Should be more modestly priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very austere, no-frills facility, a former monastery. The room is small and spartan, and shower and toilet facilities are shared. These very basic features are tolerable, but the price is too high, with or without a TV.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Incredible and unique place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little bit noisy due to the building itself, but unless you have good neighbors, it’s manageable.

    Incredible and unique place! All the disadvantages disappear only because of such a historical venue.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful monastery conversion near the heart of Gent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit expensive at 17 euro. Also there was some construction work being done when I visited.

    Great location near city centre. Beautiful old monastery. Elevator access. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    A cosy guesthouse, well worth the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place could do with minor renovation in places, especially of the toilets and bathrooms.

    A cosy room without excessive luxuries but with everything one needs. Pleasant and helpful staff. Lovely location, close to the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely old building to stay in, and close to the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No improvements to suggest.

    Lovely old building to stay in, and close to the centre of town. Room was quiet and comfortable and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Very good accomodation. I'm happy to choose this.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kettle on the second floor. It should be change, because its bad smell.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice and stylish building and rooms. Comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Excellent historical location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and basic for that price but it was a one life experience in the history of the building

    Excellent historical location.rest and peace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice place to stay at Easter
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my 3rd time staying and even though I was charged the same price as usual I did not have a TV in my room. Also this is the first time I had a room bordering the parking lot and some of the guests were a bit loud outside which diminished the peaceful atmosphere.

    The monastery is very calm inside and the chapel is lovely. There was free Easter chocolate at reception. The ladies working there were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Clean but basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. No loos in room. Actually had to go down a floor! Very basic. Taxi ride away Clean from Gent station.

    Good location. Reasonably clean. Pleasant staff. Looked after luggage last day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved Ghent and this place made it even more special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and staff were superb, but best of all was this unique building's history, very peaceful and beautiful place, I loved it. And we pretended to be nuns...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Awesome stay, if I be back in Ghent - definitely will stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building and entire interior was nice. There was a live music act downstairs, walking distance from city center, it really exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    A perfect solution for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small bedroom with a low level of noise insulation

    It is a suggestive location really closed to the city center (about 5 mins by walking). The general level of cleanliness is good even considering the shared showers and toilets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Historical stay in a monastery
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What would for sure help would be the possibility to buy tram tickets in the place... Otherwise this is really a pain... Otherwise can not say any bad word, got what expected. Nice maze of stairs and corridors BTW.

    The place was fantasticic thanks to its history. Do not expect huge comfy rooms, but just about enough to have a good night sleep. Walking through the place was a highlight - especially the former cathedral! The breakfast was unexpected - really rich and very tasty! The staff was very helpfull.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    The location is excellent, five minutes from the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much - the room was maybe a little dark.

    The location is excellent, five minutes from the centre of Ghent. The staff was very helpful, providing maps to the city and agreeing to keep my bag on the day afterwards. The room was quite plain but very comfortable. The architecture of the building is very interesting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice place, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I went from a room with a promised view on the garden, to a view on the street. Now, the room itself was an upgrade, but the street was slightly more noisy. Luckily the street is fairly calm at night, so for me, it wasn't too bad.

    I came in past midnight, which should not be a problem, according to the check-in times, but there was some confusion, which resulted in a room upgrade. If there was something to work out in the morning, we would discuss it then. In the morning though, it was instantly clear that I had been given a 'normal' single room, instead of a 'guest room', and no extra costs were charged. The room was nice, nothing too fancy, but you are staying in an old monastery, if you want modern vibes, you should pick a hotel that offers you that.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    an experience!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was only one toilet

    the building is extraordinary and to live and sleep in a real monastery is amazing. the stuff is extremely helpful and nice. the showers and the toilet were exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. Could possibly use more toilets for those of us in budget rooms but honestly I’d have to work hard even to come up with that as a con.

    Quirky, but very comfortable. The staff were very accommodating and pleasant. Great location. Would very highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    The location was perfect, close to the main center, shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in was unfortunetly too cold for my liking. But it was wintertime and very windy outside.

    The location was perfect, close to the main center, shops and main sites. Easy to find, very unique in style. Service was perfect. I'd definitly recommend it to a friend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.8
    When the place is full it might be noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When the place is full it might be noisy. Bed was bouncy, toilet far away in the hallway and down a stairs which was a little creepy at night. Bring slippers for shower, but take care that the tiles in the hallway get REALLY slippery...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, safe, beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was glad I brought my own instant coffee. There was a communal teakettle in the hallway, but I preferred the coffee I brought. The furnishings are old which might bother some visitors. It did not bother me. (The linens are new.)

    Very cool old building complex. Worth it just to enjoy the architecture. I felt safe traveling solo (I am a middle aged woman) and coming and going on foot at night. Very short walk to the attractions in the center of town and an easy tram ride to the Sint-Peters rail station and museums. Quiet room. Excellent value. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic accommodation just outside the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disadvantage was thin walls between rooms and consequent noise at night

    Fantastic accommodation just outside the town centre. The staff were friendly and helpful and room was comfortable, making for a unique and enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    The size was nice since I was traveling alone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and toilette were decent, just a little small. Caffeinated coffee was missing on all floors while there. Only decaff and tea. Reception staff was not the warmest. Got a few mosquito bites :/ sleep was alright. Honestly, would pick another spot next time if it's affordable

    The size was nice since I was traveling alone. Loved the provided bathrobe. Heater and plugs in the room worked well and liked having a TV. Provided a key for after hours entrance which was nice and well thought out. Skip breakfast which was 17€, way too much. Luckily the location is near enough to the city center and a few restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast left a bad taste in the mouth, literally and figuratively.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was shocked at the price of the breakfast considering what was on offer. 17.50 Euro for some eggs, a little piece of bacon and yoghurt: this is the price of a main meal in a good restaurant in Ghent. Excessively inflating the price of breakfast in order to catch out the unwary traveller appears to be the business strategy of this property: it seems like sharp practice to me and was very much not appreciated.

    A beautiful building with comfortable rooms in a central location. Staff were friendly and efficient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Not enchanting as I envisioned it to be. My fault for expecting different what with the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby. Not very comfortable bed, creaky stairs and floorboards and not soundproof one little bit. You hear every step and word outside your room. The power went out while I was in the shower down the hall so it was very inconvenient.

    The idea of it being an abbey

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    Quiet, ambient monastery.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very low sound barrier - you can hear everything, but this was not a big problem, as long as tennants are quiet.

    Perfect for the lone traveler - city center, close to everything. Great WiFi, wonderful staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Incredible atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really liked Everything a lot! However, guests should know that this is a place for quiet & considerate people only - very thin walls between guest rooms.

    Incredible atmosphere. Delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Set in an old nunnery, the bedrooms might appear simple, but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Set in an old nunnery, the bedrooms might appear simple, but they are typical for such monasteries and it was all very attractive. For me, this was part of the unique character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.6
    Bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the idea of shared bathroom and toilet did not satisfy me (I did not pay attention when making the booking) they did NOT change the blankets even ones during my whole stay. if you are on holiday and you have rented a care they close the gate at 23:00 and when you park outside you will wake up with a fine! whilst you have paid for a parking, is that logic?

    the location, and nothing els!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for a short stay - great location and atmospheric interiors!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the room made an impression of being a bit shabby - the walls need to be repainted and the carpet replaced - a bit pricey, but still not a rip-off having considered the great location and the prices in the old part of Gent

    - great location - located in a nice street in the old part of the city and very close to the old centre (less than a ten-minute walk to Graslei) - the building of the former monastery itself! it really offers atmospheric interiors - staying in a building with a history is an experience - it is simply feels different - the room I stayed in (budget option) had a washbasin, which was quite convenient, and even though I shared a bathroom and a toilet there were no queues - free coffee and tea for the guests - quiet atmopshere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this chance to live like a nun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only criticism is that (At least my room) had a window above the door to the hallway through which the light from the hallway shone through at night. If light affects your sleep (like me) it is a little annoying!

    Absolutely loved staying here - it is a unique experience to stay in a convent when you aren't a nun and the place was full of character! The hotel is in a good location and a short walk away from the sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    Below average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its too expensive and is not worth the money. Wifii was bad. Room was too small and had nothing except one bed & table. It was super noisy outside. There is no sound proofing in rooms and the hotel is old so u can hear steps from the upper floor. I couldnt sleep. Its also abit smelly & not clean. The bathrooms are also tiny & have to be shared. I paid 90 euros/night for this. I would not stay here again. I

    The location is good and all the key sights are a 5 min walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    Already did
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only cold water on the room. The shower not in good state. Whenever came back on the room there was a very bad smell, like benzine, or gas. Breakfest was very expensive.

    Nice place from which to reach the centre and other things

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Really good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet too far from my room.

    It very special experience for me to stay in the hostel which before was church. And it is old building but they doing really good joy for extra everything which customers need! I hope I can stay longer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel close to the center for a cheap price
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was scary at night. I was afraid to shower. The light outside my room was not that bright. I couldnt find the lock at night.

    The location was amazing and i loved the woman at the reception. Also, i could store my luggage when i already checked out. I also loved the look of the hotel its really authentic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    For budget minded, with an interesting feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs general maintenance eg. lights in showers, peeling paint etc. You can hear the conversation of the people next doo.r

    Monastery feel was fun and staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Felt like a monk on a retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets could be better signposted. It took me a while to find them.

    The staff were very friendly and informative. Appreciated their flexibily and friendly smiles.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    The quietness and rustique of the place and the location !! possibility to choose for breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to know how the toilet water buffer works at floor1-2 . If not done properly, the water stays running through the toilet. Maybe a clear instruction for those who don't understand.

    The quietness and rustique of the place and the location: middle of the old centrum on walking distance. Possibility of choice for breakfast. The Convenience of nice bathrobe and slippers for walking over corridor to common shower and toilet. Good bedding and small table and chair and good reading light !!! Best ratio value for money that I know of in Gent. Good parking rate and flexibel use !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    I had a perfectly comfortable stay in a single room for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showerhead holder wasn't very sturdy and the water spray kept coming out of it, which was a little bit of a hassle. Otherwise the bathrooms were clean as was the room and I have no complaints on these points.

    The location is fairly quiet and the place certainly has some charm, although it is (my experience) budget-traveller orientated. It reminded me of being back at my Anglican school refectory.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    The staff was very polite and eagre to help me in any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very polite and eagre to help me in any possible way, recommending places to visit, eat or shop. They were very helpful with advices for my further travel/accomodation and helping me as much as they could. Plus, there are always oldtimer cars on the parking to watch from your window :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Awesome experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleep in this hotel is an experience,it is an original ancient female monastery. I was astonished when walked through the corridors. The room is originally keeped. The receptionist (daniela) is super nice girl who give you any explanations about the hotel the city and she is also a great painter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    3.3
    Smelly and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Damp walls, shower awful, breakfast staff rude, expensive parking, smelly bedroom. Conversion from a monastery to a hotel failed. Just needs to be managed properly.

    Location good, and breakfast ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    It was original to stay in a monastery, but the price is too much for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The price is high. For 49 EURO a night you don't get breakfast, and there isn't a bathroom in your room. If you want to have breakfast you have to pay 17 EURO a day (sick!!!). - The rooms (cells) are very modest.

    - This hotel was a monastery in the past. It is an interesting experience to stay in a real monastery cell. They preserved both the interior and exterior of the hotel to be like it was, so you have the feeling to be in a monastery. There is even a chapel that you can visit for free. - The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the historical center. - The hotel is clean and there is a nice silence.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Atmospheric, convenient and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I considered the cost of breakfast was somewhat expensive, but finding my own was no problem. Communal tea & coffee making facilities were available for use at will. Even though it was a monastic cell, some more hooks to hang up clothing within the room would have been convenient as well as a dedicated towel rail.

    The single room, shared bathroom & toilet was clean, well set up, and convenient. No difficulty at all in accessing the utilities. All staff were most helpful and accommodating. The old monastery setting was unique and away from the noise and hustle & bustle of the main market square, but still within easy walking distance by a number of different routes. ,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.7
    Afzetters !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged full for a breakfast we did not take and they were bot willing to lower the amount for that. Full price for zero food!!!!!!

    The place and athmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    It was interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well it was saying monastery in the name of the hotel maybe I should of see this coming but I wasn't expecting that it is really in the monastery. My room was looking to church directly and there was a chapel inside the hotel and for me this was quote creepy and I gotta say it was scary a bit at night. Besides they put a trace for teas and coffees in the middle of corridor next to showers.. ah one more thing, the guy at the reception was not warm at all but again it wasnt something important.

    Well the bed was very comfortable there are a lot of plugins inside the room and there is a sink which is very useful in the morning

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Great Value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that was questionable was the area around the hotel. Although not a big deal and I had no troubles, I would not want to walk alone through the street before hand late at night (which will be with everyplace you go!) And there was a bit of construction, but it didn't bother me!

    It was only a 7 minute walk to the canal where you could find all of the old town. It's far enough away that the place isn't swimming with tourists, but close enough where you don't feel let out. Upon my arrival the receptionist was extremely nice and provided me with maps, etc of Gent. Everything was clean and ready for my arrival. If I return to Gent, I would absolutely stay there again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.1
    Staff was friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a window to the corridor above the door room (budget single). At night the turn the lights on in all the corridors, so my room was full of light all the night:( if you're not good at sleeping with your lights on, don't chose this room...

    Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice atmosphere, incredibly friendly staff, very close to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flush of toilet needs repair. And: DO NOT FORGET TO TAKE YOUR OWN HAIR-DRYER WITH YOU!

    Nice atmosphere, incredibly friendly staff, very close to city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Characterful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was too expensive, so ate outside. Some guests who are not used to wooden floors and doors can be extremely inconsiderate to other guests, but that isn't the hotel's fault. Walls are thin, but if you've read other reviews, you should know to pack earplugs... to stay in this beautiful place is worth this minor thing.

    Close to centre, safe area, really nice characterful building, room bin emptied daily, clean and hot showers (but the shower head couldn't stay up), comfy bed, nice staff, coffee making facilities on the floor of my room. Would definitely recommend staying here for something different - warning: PACK EARPLUGS. Yipee, no TVs in the rooms!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent service, super friendly staff, amazing building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recently the municipality of Gent made the centre car free. Great initiative but due to this we were unable to get to the hotel by car and parked elsewhere. Also, Google Maps has not been updated about this yet...

    Amazing historical building and very cool to stay in an old monastery. Location is great too only minutes (walking) away from the centre. Super friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful, unusual location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had an odd smell. It wasn't overly bad or anything, not unbearable, but definitely noticeable. Almost like a chemical smell, like wood polish or something. When I left after one night, I and all my clothes smelled of it too. The doors were relatively thin, I could hear another guest snoring two doors over. I got up around ten, and by then all the hot water in the communal kettle for tea was gone.

    The chapel was amazing and church-sized, it would be great to have an event in there. Wonderful windows in the room, high and beautiful. I loved the communal shower, so clean and comfortable. It was easy to get back into the hotel after reception had closed. The WiFi was great, fast and easy to log into. The bed was comfortable. The room came with towels, body wash, a bathrobe and slippers.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.8
    Location is close to center, clean rooms, , room window...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small toilet only one I could find, breakfast is expensive, choose out side.

    Location is close to center, clean rooms, , room window wiew showing to garden peacefully, no noise. Everythink is well enough,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.8
    Great, atmosperic place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not ensuite, and the toilet a bit of a walk. Breakfast was very expensive - best to find somewhere else for this meal!

    Beds were very comfortable. Location was close to the center of the town. Staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.5
    Great location. Good for a solo venture
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had a window above the door from the corridor. This let in all the light from the corridor. Also due to the nature of the old doors you could always be woken by people getting in late or up early.

    Location was excellent and the staff gave me a map as i checked in. Shower was clean and powerful despite being shared.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.8
    A nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that there was gum stuck in the keyhole of the room I stayed in. It was also a little loud--I was able to hear other guests as they walked the halls. That is probably to be expected from a building this age though.

    I liked staying in a monk's room. It was an interesting experience. The staff was incredibly friendly. The location was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Ghent - central and good -
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was an extra 17.50 euro's which was the most money i've seen . - though it might have been worth it - we didn't opt for it so don't know.

    Excellent and reasonable price basic room - with bags of character, staff were helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    Convenient location, beautiful and unusual building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest drawback of the hotel is its squeaky floors. They heard as well on its floor, and the neighbors. Neighbors also heard well.

    Convenient location, beautiful and unusual building.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Lovely Hotel, fantastic location and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls and floors are very thin so you can hear people yawn, stomp around and even their alarms going off.

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, rooms were immaculate and the bed was super comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with more electricity sockets in the room

    Helpful friendly staff. Ambience and character of the building. Clean comfortable room. Great central location. Value for money. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.8
    room is very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    room is very small. I was woken up early since you can hear people walking on the corridor due to the squeezing old wooden floor. A bit depressing room and the atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: