Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Gent Belfort 4 stars

Hoogpoort 63, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#12 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4045 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Best hotel from which to explore Gent’s many wonders.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location in the historic centre of the city. Everything extremely accessible by foot. Very large and comfortable room. Great bar and very welcoming, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Location and car parking are the best parts of the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very tired with torn wall paper and a dirty bathroom

    Location and car parking are the best parts of the stay. Front desk were helpcul and the bar was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Well located and they let us check in early
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person who checked us in was pretty rude and the actual decor is rather depressing but the room was big and clean

    Well located and they let us check in early

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Gent is perfect for a weekendtrip; this hotel is a great 'basecamp'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a lot of background noise from the fridge in the minibar. Eventually I had to pull out the plug, due to constant zooming and clicking sounds. The room we had was in front of the elevator and some people in the hallways were very loud in the morning.

    The room was very clean and we had a lot of livingspace. Nice bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful. Extensive breakfast. The ultimate sellingpoint of this hotel is the location: just superb! In the midst of the old centre, but quiet at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, great rooms and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, although would like it to have a gym but not a deal breaker

    Superb location. Got upgraded free to Excecutive room which was lovely, plenty of extras and great room. Parking underneath was excellent as usual. Stay here every year at the start of our European tour and it's a great place to begin a holiday

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Very central to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival could not check in until 16:00. Bed sheet was stained and mini bar fridge not working. Both items were attended to promptly by very helpful staff, although no acknowledgement by management of the bed sheet issue even though we were there for 3 nights

    Very central to the old town. Large room, comfortable bed and extremely quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Loved Belgium but hotel was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a room which backed on an alley which had a bar at the end. The bar didn't open until 11 pm and the noise from the customers was unbelievably loud both when they left and they were drinking on the street outside. There is a visible sign indicating it must be quiet this was obviously ignored and the staff in the bar didn't enforce it. The staff at the hotel moved us to a quiet room after we complained which was fine. I question why those rooms on that side of the hotel are used this isn't 4 star service. The staff were excellent. The hotel was 4 star and as regular travellers I don't feel this was 4 star. There were large chips on the bathroom tiles, dirty carpets, plus sockets that didn't work and the breakfast although reasonable was the same everyday. Overall I was very disappointed with the hotel and feel it certainly wasn't value for money .

    Bed was very comfy and staff were helpful and friendly.excellent location .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff was welcoming and collaborative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was welcoming and collaborative. They took good care of us, we were travelling in a big group, they assigned us adjoining rooms and were especially helpful with our extra requests for small child. The hotel is placed right in the center in a beautiful part of town and everything is a small walk away. I have stayed in this hotel multiple times and it has been a pleasure every time. The rooms are big and the beds are huge. There is ample parking on the property and the staff was very helpful as we wanted to keep the car in the garage for a couple of hours post checkout.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Great room, abundant breakfast in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ordered breakfast in the room, which was delivered on a trolley and was simply wonderful and abundant. A real treat during our one night out together.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely Staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially in a new room which was lovely but had to be moved as the air con did not work and we couldn’t sleep. We were then moved to a larger room but wasn’t a refurbished one and again the air conditioning didn’t work so we left a day earlier than planned. The staff were excellent and tried to assist as best they could.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    100% loved our stay there, well done NH Belfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there is a negative then it would be the lack of a proper resturant (it is a bar/resturant; but with hundreds of cafes, and resturants within 300 mts of the Hotel it is not surprising. So nothing really to complain about.

    The location for the city centre was excellent, just a few minutes walk into the old city and canals. The staff were always on hand and most helpful with advice, requests etc. Our room was very comfortable and the sound proofing great. Will definately stay at the Belfort when visiting Ghent again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    I would recommend this hotel for your stay in Gand. Very close to the main things to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to complain

    The rooms were quite big and bright, the bathroom was well equipped and the towels clean and new. The breakfast was nice. A wide range of products from croissants to hams and cheese to fruit. All fresh and tasty

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Great 2 night stay - excellent hotel with lots to see and do for a weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury hotel at a reasonable price and can’t beat the location. Very attentive staff. Convenient central parking - ask for the directions into Ghent though as the new restrictions mean you have to approach from the East.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea / coffee choices in the room were limited. Breakfast seemed expensive compared to what was available in nearby cafes

    Centrally located and near plenty of good restaurants and cafes. Very helpful and efficient staff. No problems with room and sleeping despite the very hot weather. Quiet bar area for a late night drink or a casual end to a day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel. Close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 1500 and were told to wait until 1600 for check-in. A group arrived at 1520 and all 25 got straight into their rooms. The room's services guide said 1500 check-in for individuals and 1600 for groups. Something going wrong there! I don't like being given incorrect information and told to wait.

    Great location - city center. Large room. Good breakfast. Excellent parking. Short walk to most attractions, restaurants and canals.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Location, clean, good choice at breakfast, helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had separate toilet should have had sink in there as well! No bedside tables only space behind us in headboard looked good but not practical!

    Location, clean, good choice at breakfast, helpful staff, would recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Great location for our trip to Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for our trip to Ghent. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. we arrived by bicycle and secure parking was available in their underground car park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    The location is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-conditioning was a little noisy.

    The location is incredible. The bed is very large and comfortable. The wine from the mini-bar was very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    There was great attention to detail in all the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift music is irritating

    There was great attention to detail in all the facilities. The location is fantastic and the whole venue luxurious without being intrusive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    A mixed experience but the pluses outnumbered the minuses by a mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upper corridors and rooms were a bit tired and the bath had some mould and chips in the enamel. The shower head could have been from a pound shop.

    The room, location and staff were great. The breakfast was the best quality we have had at an NH hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Location in center of the city (down side: very noisy),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel need renovating, car parking costs are too high, seriously overpriced.

    Location in center of the city (down side: very noisy), clean room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Prefect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front of the hotel becomes an outside bar, which is cool, but hard to get through, maybe open a side door for hotel guests?

    Location is brilliant, staff are great, breakfast was lovely, genuinely a nice easy to use hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated that I had to pay 25 euro for parking my car at a nh garage for 1 day. I was shocked to be paying for parking as a nh guest.I don't understand that...

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.5
    bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff is very bad service. When I checked out yesterday, they told me their system is not working so can't send me invoice and will send later in the afternoon. I received nothing until I called them again today. The one who answering the call is very impatience and unfriendly.

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Very well located, modern and clean, breakfast very good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well located, modern and clean, breakfast very good and staff friendly and very helpful. Room comfortable and very clean. Could not really ask for more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Ideally situated hotel for a stay in Ghent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charge for the car park is €25 per day. The room was a little old fashioned and in need of a refresh. A power socket was hanging out of the wall

    The hotel is ideally positioned for exploring Ghent on foot and has an underground car park. The breakfast is excellent and there is a very large choice. The people on reception were very helpful and welcoming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, helpful staff, great lounge area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet, trim, doors and other areas are starting to look very worn and are stained. Definitely in need of a refresh.

    Fantastic location, helpful staff, great lounge area. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is buffet-only (they do not allow ordering a la carte) and expensive. We decided to buy yogurt, croissants and fruit at a grocery store to make our own breakfasts.

    Great location, comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Somehow noisy, coming from the street but as well coming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somehow noisy, coming from the street but as well coming from the corridor. Room seems not very well isolated to block outside noise . Clean, polite staff, good bed, nice breakfast, but somehow overpriced for what you receive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, spacious room and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't properly serviced the second day (glasses and coffee cups missing), but we received an upgrade which is great customer service!

    Excellent location, spacious room and great breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable city. Although busy, you did not feel overwhelmed by tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot breakfast food choice was Luke warm even when served fresh from the kitchen. Additional cutlery was hard to find and the milk and sugar sachets were very difficult to read.

    Very good hotel in an excellent location. Staff were helpful and the room was well appointed and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major

    Perfectly situated in the heart of the old city. The room was incredibly spacious and the bed was huge and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The small gift left in our room upon check-in was a nice touch. It is also located on the "Illuminated Walk" route which I also recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Wish we had found this place years ago for our visits to Ghent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    LOVED this hotel. The location was perfect--in our favorite area of town, close to great bars, restaurants and access to all the best sites the city center has to offer. Even though the hotel is in the thick of things, it was very quiet in the room and we slept peacefully. The breakfast was great--they even had decaf coffee available on the buffet, which is not always done. We got upgraded to a suite, which was AWESOME--big room, very clean, with a comfy bed, big tub in the bathroom, as well as separate stand up shower. The water temperature was great and the shower head had great water pressure. The temperature of the room was very comfortable--it was warm outside and there was air conditioning in the room. The staff at the front desk was friendly and check-in/check-out process was easy. The elevator was convenient with minimum wait times. Didn't use the bar in the evenings, but it looked very inviting!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    Location is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They ask for additional parking price for the hotel underground garage, but the price for parking is not mentioned on booking.com. The hotel is already expensive why we have to pay an unwritten price for a facility shown on booking.com. I think this is new method of hustling. The receptionist lady was not kind when I discussed for the parking payment.

    Location is really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Did not have anything that made my stay noteworthy except...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms and toilets are old fashioned and not as seen in the pictures for sure. For the price, I feel it was not meeting expectations. The breakfast was quite standard. Some items keep vanishing much earlier that finishing time like mushrooms, scrambled egg was always overcooked and dry,

    Did not have anything that made my stay noteworthy except the reception personnel who were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Very happy short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, secure underground parking. Right at the centre of town and hence could walk everywhere. Staff very polite and helpful. Good quality room and facilities. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Greta hotel normaly, disappointing this time around.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 236 - really poor, tired, noisy air-con and poor facilities AND €230 per night !!! I stayed at this hotel in Superior room in Jan for €158; in March (Superior) for €157. Now standard room €230: I expect some premium according to season but an extra €70 per night for a lesser room is a bit steep. Staff good about it and moved us to 130 (renovated room): much better but VERY noisy from either next door or adjoining staff room. ~On mentioning this they waived the car parking fee of €50. this was a disappointing stay in an other wise glorious hotel which I like very much. I don't think I will switch allegiance back to the Marriott as this hotel is a whole lot better for several reasons and I will put this particular stay down to a random bad experience - but beware the old rooms and new rooms with adjoining doors !!!

    Good breakfast and staff, good feeling to the hotel and excellent location. Car Parking easy and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    beautiful historic city for leizure sight seeing and great atmosphere.easy access by street car #1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 8 nights

    .breakfast was very expensive,20+euro.Outside at water edge coffee with fresh choice bread only 5-7 E with cappuccino included. Good restaurant in the hotel but very slow service with little ambience.

    Location was perfect ,clean but room was clean in waves ,had to wait for clean cups and coffee supplies till 3-5PM even with complaints. Great museums,, easy access to train station St Peters to travel to Bruge or Ieper for day trips. .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior room in the executive suite side is not as modern as the rooms in the pictures. The room we were in had absolutely no view. We stared into a blank wall. They only gave us 1 small bottle of complimentary water between two people.

    The location was really good. Staff very friendly. WiFi very good. Superior double room was very spacious. Breakfast also really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.0
    Terrible and over priced for the rooms in these conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot weather - Air conditioning only blowing out warm air! I was bitten 8 times by mosquitoes in the room on the second night - very painful and sore. I complained when checking out and told I could have free parking. I deserved a total refund for the pain caused/ lack of sleep and a long drive when I left. All in all a terrible experience and I will not recommend anyone stay there. I would like your feedback on my comments please.

    Room clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    When my safe wouldn’t open the staff went to great efforts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was infested with ants. I saw them on the serving counters, on my chair and table.

    When my safe wouldn’t open the staff went to great efforts to open it and thankfully allowed me to leave on time and make my connections.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    A very good good hotel in a beautiful city .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very pleased with the way we were received at reception, and we were given the opportunity to upgrade if we wished.

    The hotel was situated in a very convenient place for getting around .All the historical places are within easy walking. Very large and airy room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved this hotel and location, would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    25 Euros per night for parking is a little expensive, but it is a safe underground car park

    Great Location in the centre, staff were very knowledgeable and helpful, very large breakfast buffet. Nice Bar, reasonable prices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    Bit steep for the quality, but the location is unbeatable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the bathtub would drain, it would cause a black substance to start coming out of the drain of the separate shower which didn't smell good. We also found a sizeable flying insect in our salad at breakfast, which suggests that not much washing or prep goes on.

    The location and other facilities in the hogel are fantastic. The food at the cafe is excellent, I had the waterzooi and was thoroughly impressed. The beer selection at the bar is quite good as well, and I was lucky enough to be present when there was a performer doing well known opera.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location but really not worth the money if you want to experience something special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really outdated and worn room even tho we stayed in the superior room which was over 200 euros per night at the time. There was hairs in the shower from previous guest and only one complementary water bottle (the same supermarket brand bottle in the minibar cost 6.5 euros - carrefour price 0.2euro!). The outdated room made it hard to do simple things like charge your phone; no usb plugs and no outlets that wasn't connected to a lamp (all of which didn't even work so we had to take turns charging so we wouldn't be in the dark). The feeling was that the superior rooms, at least on level 2 were older and worn down, hidden away with a long walk from the elevators and down a couple of stairs (so not wheelchair, bad knees or baby stroller friendly). There were a lot of noise from other guests so wasn't very good isolated either in case you're sensitive to that. We stayed Sat - Sun and took advantage of their Sunday late checkout time but they blocked our keycard (which we got quick access to again when asked) but then got several visits from cleaning so felt quite rushed to get out of there earlier.

    Me and my sibling stayed in one of the superior rooms, we booked it due to the great location and tight schedule (we were just staying overnight). The hotel truly has a great location, right by the busy shopping streets, near monuments and tram connections. We saw that there were a lot of tourist groups with age range of 40+ - 70 staying there so suppose that is the location to be in. Checking in we easily got two twin beds when asked which was appreciated. The room on level 2 was large, had a sitting area and big closet space, both which made it easy to enjoy the room even with siblings that can get on your nerves and that tend to pack everything but the kitchen sink... We stayed Sat - Sun and took advantage of their extended Sunday checkout time which were as late as 3 o'clock!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was not man enough to keep the room temperature at a reasonable level. Tea and coffee sachets were not replenished.

    Good rooms comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous few days in the city centre - location was superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was difficult to operate, it leaked and we ended up with puddles on the floor -had to use the shower head hand-held instead, then it was fine.

    The bed was super comfortable and huge! The location of the hotel was wonderful, as were the view(s) from our room. Very close walking distance to lots of places of interest as well as shops, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Great central location, newish hotel, rooms (exec) of good size, parking under hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although freshly decorated and fitted, basin drain plug needed adjusting or wouldn’t drain ( fear not, I fixed it) and bath drain plug was oddly uncovered. Otherwise a VERY nicely appointed bathroom.

    Nice view onto residential streets, southward facing (so sun in morning), corner room 258, plenty of room, large bed. Good room with lots of space (and rooms - dressing room, toilet room, bathroom all separate!) with sitting area too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the decor of the lobby is very modern an chic, buy the rooms decor is a little outdated.

    The location is perfect. Right in the city centre, but no noise. Thee bed is super comfortabel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location and happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Very limited option to eat within the hotel 2. They charged around Euro 20 for my 3 year old daughter's breakfast. I am not complaining, but we think it was a bit steep. 3. Bathroom are a bit old, but not uncomfortable.

    1. The location was very nice, close to the main areas. 2. The bed was really big and rooms were decently big and comfortable. 3. We liked the breakfast too. 4. Hotel staff were helpful. 5. Many eating joints close by. 6. Tram was 3-4 mins walk, starts from the Mc Donalds. Easier to walk down to the station than walk up from there to the hotel. :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Spacious room and bathroom with a huge bed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom decor was a little tired and the shower wasn’t great - impossible to get consistent tempurature.

    Spacious room and bathroom with a huge bed. Superb breakfast and excellent location right in the centre of the old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    I think we won the lottery with our room 340 (you should ask...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    I think we won the lottery with our room 340 (you should ask for it if you can) I just booked a standard room but we got the room highest right in the corner with amazing views from 5 different windows. It was better than thephotos. The bed was HUGE never slept in one that big. For a four star hotel and amazing location - I thought the price was very fair. We got the breakfast included and it was very rich - waffles, pancakes, eggs different ways, breads, sweets, toast, yoghurt, cheeses theres really a lot. If you're going to get it buy it included with the booking cheaper because I think normally its 20 euros a person if you buy it there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, very quiet rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water in the bathroom not so warm. Looking around for one paracetamol due to fever, but there was none available in the hotel and the staff were not helpful.

    Great location, very quiet rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Central Downtown Gent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Interior is quite old fashion and outdated, looked like in the eightees, but hey, this is 2018 we live in. So, how about renewing / renovating the room, getting rid of the old carpet etc. Also, there are just 2 power plugs in the room, no iPhone charging close to the bed at all.

    Very much in the middle of everything. You can walk the very center of Gent from there within 2 Minutes. Good view even from Standard Room (401) towards the old historic City Hall. Good and easy parking garage but the rate is quite expensive (€ 25 per day / per 24 hours).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, in this amazing city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING

    From the minute we set foot in this hotel, we knew we had chosen well! Professional, friendly check-in staff; spacious well-equipped room; fab location. Small gym for customers' use at no extra cost. But the BREAKFAST was just the BEST breakfast of any hotel we have ever stayed in! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed a number of times before at this NH I was disappointed in the quality of the room for the price, not the same as in the past, and also the level of service was a bit off from normal. From our room it was quite noisy both from inside and outside of the hotel. When asking about tickets for the team on the first Sunday of the month we were told you could not buy tickets on the tram and had to buy in advance by the front desk. Turns out not only can you buy on the tram but after purchasing tickets we also found out that the first Sunday of the month was free. Bummer to waste the money.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely worth for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It could be noisy outside, especially on weekends and rooms are not sound-proofed enough. Also, it would be great to have more storage for clothes.

    Probably the best location and the view from the room you could find in Ghent. Wonderful breakfast, on Sundays one can have it until noon which is absolutely great. The bed is really huge and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overnight parking was bit expensive, but overall it was a pleasant stay.

    Great location. Close to square and restaurants. Room was quiet if I don't turn on the fan. Clean and kind front desk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable, centrally situated hotel. Perfect for our needs. Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh water supplied foc which I would have expected. Tap water tasted disgusting. Whenever we asked staff for reccommendations for places to eat they just offered a map and circled certain areas. We didn’t find this very helpful.

    Room very comfortable, hotel centrally located, breakfast excellent. Efficient checkout. Taxi arrived swiftly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    only the location as It was really central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we had paid our accomodation in advance before we even arrived, during check-in 150 euros were blocked in my creditcard with the confirmation that this amount will be unblocked as soon as we check out. NO info about this was available on booking.com so we couldn’t know. Even worse, the unblockage happened after a week where I called the hotel 3 times a day!!! Booking.com MUST have informed us about this so-called deposit.

    only the location as It was really central

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Very large room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instead of putting shoe cleaning cloth in room, toothbrush and toothpaste would be more useful.

    Very large room. Clean, comfortable hotel. Very good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location but needs refurbishment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has not been refurbished in years probably >10. Holes in walls, rust and dirt in shower. Non working faucet (one of two in the room).

    Location, breakfast choice, comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    There were issues with the hot water, not being hot when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were issues with the hot water, not being hot when we arrived. We were offered another room but the water was also not hot there though the receptionist tried to tell me it was fine for him despite it being cold not even tepid! We had hot water other days but on the last day none at 5.30am perhaps they only have hot water at certain times!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i sent them email to ask if there’s any complimentary for a birthday, because when we checked in, it was a birthday of my partner but no response on it, i sent again another email still no response. So we got nothing special from the hotel, we expect to get atleast a small birthday greetings from the reception would be nice but nothing. The room was old, and the wallpaper in the room was already damaged, i expected more from the amount i paid for. So this hotel except for the location, is not recommended from my point of view. Really disappointed

    The location is good, a stroll away from most of attraction, the breakfast was good as well with wide variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Best hotel for a romantic weekend in Gent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is way too pricy and the view from the window is not amazing

    It's the second time I stay in this hotel in Gent and it never disappoints. The room is very spacious, with the biggest and comfy bed I've had so far. The bathroom had everything (shower AND bath!!). An added bonus is that it's very quiet in the weekend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably a bit not clearly written on Booking.com about the award up to 10% in the case of NH membership. I expected additional discount from the advertised price, but finally they let me know, that this was already awarded price :(. I am not sure if I would made the reservation if I had their explanation already at the beginning - only because of the price.

    Very good location. Easy to reach by public transport. Helpful and very friendly staff. Very good - excellent breakfast. Excellent hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    The room are nice and big.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My card has been charged and refunded several times for no reasons at all. Staff apologies but I could not be given a clear reason as of what was going on. It really does not give a good impression and made me worried I would be charged even more or not get a refund of the 100 EUR deposit...

    The room are nice and big. Bath tub in the bathroom!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    It was very central for touring Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did find the room very cold unless you had the air conditioning up full which was noisy and cooled down very quickly if you turned it off.

    It was very central for touring Ghent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Would stay again in a heartbeat. Will be recommending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the prices ... but it's a city centre hotel so can't really complain.

    Reception staff very helpful. Bar staff nice and friendly. Room was great, bed big and comfortable. Location fantastic, only a short walk to trams, tourist attractions, bars and restaurants. Great hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Excellent location - less than 5 mins to the centre and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t included in our room rate & was too expensive to add when there - €20 per person. There are lots of bakeries to purchase croissants etc at nearby.

    Excellent location - less than 5 mins to the centre and public transport links. The room we had was very spacious, the bed and pillows very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel right in the historic centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent position right in the centre of the historic centre. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing with everything you could wish to eat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Perfect weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was perfect from start to finish. The staff were attentive and always on hand to help. The room was perfect. There was a wide selection at breakfast. 10/10 hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Staff were lovely and very informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar was overpriced. Would have been nice to have had complimentary bottle of water at least. Quality of bathroom products was quite basic.

    Staff were lovely and very informative. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Very satisfied.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't access the parking the first night because the center was closed to car transit for a nice event in town and I wasn't informed nor this was reported on booking or the hotel main website so I had to go back outside the town to park and use the public transportation wasting a lot of time. Anyway the stuff was very useful to suggest me the alternative by phone but I will appreciate being informed in advance.

    Executive room was very comfortable, quite, clean and big enough, very good deal for the money I paid, the breakfast it's always very good. The position it's perfect, walking distance to everything including some of the best restaurant in the area. I was in this hotel in the past few times and I will continue to choose it in the future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Awesome location close to the center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somehow, out of 5 hotels during this trip this one had us listed as only one occupant. Rather than charging me the same price for city tax and breakfast, my husband's breakfast was almost 30% more than mine. I understand it was probably my mistake in booking, but obviously I wasn't trying to sneak a second person in and booked with the expectation of my husband having the same thing as me.

    Location was fantastic for walking anywhere in town! The staff were very friendly and the accommodations were very good for the price we paid! The breakfast was very nice and the bar in the lobby had a very nice beer selection.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH Gent Belfort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: