Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ghent Marriott Hotel 4 stars

Korenlei, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#6 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2631 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, very stylish hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, very stylish hotel. Soundproof: even at the midst of the Ghent Festival, meters away from the main stage, it was relatively quiet in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Gent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best place to stay in Gent. Location was perfect. Loved your hospitality Marriott (and especially Clarisse:)) I would highly recommend this hotel... Hope to see you again and thank you for the water viewed room 💜

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Marriott Gandava
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you fancy breakfast go and explore local cafes as you may find 25euros breakfast bit overpriced :)

    Great location and very comfortable bed something that you need whilst spending time outdoor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Hands down the best location for a hotel in Ghent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds a little too soft for my personal preference but the room was excellent. The view wasn't brilliant but for that location you have to shed out the money for a river view (which I'm sure would have been excellent).

    The location is unbeatable with everything right on your door step. The breakfast was great, kids loved the waffles. Everything was very fresh indeed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Spacious (family) room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps doesn’t have the luxury (bathroom) etc of equivalent hotels but it was perfectly adequate everything else was good.

    Spacious (family) room Very clean with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great business hotel for a quick work trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a little dark and a little small for the cost but overall that didn't bother me too much.

    The staff were super friendly and helpful ! I forgot my plug adaptor and they found one for me immediately. They were also flexible about check-out which I appreciated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic central location, beautifully balanced mix of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is extra. Given the premium price, something as simple as a complimentary bottle of water in the room would have made it feel less commercial and more welcoming.

    Fantastic central location, beautifully balanced mix of old/modern architecture and staff who are only too happy to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Large comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com over sold the room / view etc. Sure it matched the small print but not the feel from the advertising.

    Large comfy bed. Stunning atrium. Best location in town. Early check in time notified by text which was very handy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely position, staff and bar area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was over priced for the quality of food. If their steaks were the best in town I would not want to try the worst.

    Lovely position, staff and bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location, nice hotel, pay for every little thing that would be free at other hotels of this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely expensive parking at the hotel One Free Drink ticket for two people, free only when you pay for very expensive dinner. Three Euro for a small water bottle in room. Basic service through out

    Room was clean and comfortable. Location right in centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Great location in the centre of the city easy to explore and use as a base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel bar area can be a little noisy especially with a large group in (there was a Ferrari tour staying) and the noise echos around the open atrium up to the rooms.

    Excellent location from which to explore the city of Gent. Comfortable beds, clean well equipped room (stayed in deluxe king) and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    super comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    that I couldn't open the windows to get fresh air into the room, the noise from the lobby is quite audible

    the location is most convenient & there is waffle making machine at breakfast, what else do you need?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel in the centre of Ghent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Address is difficult to find, sat nav takes you onto the pedestrian area of Ghent. Nightmare to locate the correct route for the parking, although was underground and secure when we found it.

    Excellent location, lovely modern hotel on the river Ok gym Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The bar staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative comment is the price of breakfast. Don’t feel it was value for money.

    The bar staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The location could not be more perfect. This hotel made our weekend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Slightly dissapointed - I've stayed at other Marriott properties where the stay was nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were smaller than expected and it was quite noisy during our overnight stay (probably because we were staying on the first floor and an event was organised right below our room in one of the hotel's meeting rooms). Shower head was broken.

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with the lobby view, so it was really dark inside.

    We liked almost everything about the hotel. Really nice and comfy rooms with all the essential amenities. The staff was excellent, big compliments to the housekeeper who was bringing us bathrobes and also big thanks for a nice chat with concierge. The location is really close to all the points you need to visit in Ghent. Definitely will come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Delightful experience! Awesome value for money. Comfort, service, and location could not be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel did not just provide accommodation, they gave us quite an amazing experience. Location could not be better! The staff were incredibly pleasant and caring. The food and service were impeccable. We travel as a family with two young kids, and the set-up in the lobby was perfect for us to relax and have coffee whilst the kids happily played in the kid's area decked out with a lego table. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Very nice Hotel, excellent located but expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest the hotel is a Little Bit expensive considering the service and quality. Means no bathing shoes in the room, no water for gratuity or you have to pay for....this is really outdated!

    Nice Hotel in the centre of Gent. Staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offered upgraded room with view of canal for €50. We had just come from hotel in Austria who gave us free upgrade. If rooms are empty it costs hotel chains nothing and is great promotion to allow guests to upgrade for free.

    Best location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Bed was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows unlike the bed not great. Mixed Town Grill Restaurant not worth the visit. Room ventilation a bit noisy.

    Bed was great. Room spacious, clean and quiet. Nice facilities and cool building design. Staff polite and helpful. Poppi bar really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet Breakfast is way too expensive. We asked for a continental, offered in the options. We waited long and nothing appeared so we left and had a wonderful breakfast nearby for a better price. Do not bother to have breakfast at Marriot.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Very good
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft and left my back & neck hurting. I also didn't really understand the point of providing an empty mini-bar and asking guests to visit a shop by reception to stock it. Finally, be warned that the car park is very small and very expensive. In hotel ads said it costs 26 Euros but I somehow paid 32 Euros, not sure why.

    Excellent location, big beds & big tvs in spacious rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to report.

    The hotel was over booked so we were upgraded to a delux room. Very nice view and very clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location; just a short walk to centre town. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.4
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking very expensive (35 euro per night), difficult to reach location, old rooms, no stairs to access floors, amenities poor, like 3 star quality tourist hotel

    location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Delightful and cannot wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I didn't like. Would be great if there was a pool but didn't make a difference really.

    My stay here was absolutely amazing. I brought my mom here as a mother's day surprise, she arrived in Ghent expecting to be staying where I live and was absolutely delighted when she found out I was treating her to stay in the Marriott. It was absolutely beautiful, staff were amazing, so friendly and attentive and the biggest treat was the robes in the room for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Great! We will certainly return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accessing the hotel by car is a bit difficult, as new city regulations are in place in Gent, which one should know in advance. There is an extended pedestrian zone (which makes the city quiet and safe once you move around on foot), but the impact on circulation outside the pedestrian zone is real. Also, strangely, the city is divided into areas between which one is not allowed to drive, so the access route should be carefully planned in advance. All this should be clearly indicated on the booking confirmation.

    A great hotel, large room, perfect location. The main hall is interesting architecturally, and a nice place to having a drink in the evening. We very much enjoyed the stay. Excellent breakfast, quality food, even for those suffering from allergies (gluten-free bread available), with lots of staff attending, all being very attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot and disappointing continental breakfast. Cold croissants, hard roll and cheese slices with curled up edges. We ate out the following two mornings.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room and excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    totally refreshed and ready for more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest in our case there isn't much room for improvement. Maybe the WiFi speed! That wasn't too good. But now I'm really nagging.

    The location is breathtaking. The service is like you wish it always is. You are treated like a king. Always a smile and a helpful hand. The restaurant is exceptional in service and quality of their food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    We had a great weekend at Gent. Place of Marriott rocks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a restaurant suggestion at the check in. I was given a suggestion by front desk ladies. They told us that it would not be necessary to make a reservation. when we arrived at the restaurant, we were rejected as it was fully booked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Only hotel to stay in Ghent. Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Midtown grill was a xceptional. Lisa my server went beyond to make a single dining guest comfortable. Location location location. Hotel is beautiful. Perfect in every way

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    We would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of parking and breakfast was very expensive.

    The location could not have been better. The concierge/bellman was fantastic! The room was very comfortable and nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Everyone in Gent was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool for the kids. Breakfast was very expensive at €25 per person so we decided to have breakfast outside of the hotel.

    Excellent central location. Secure parking. Comfy beds! Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Hotel in excellent location and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning: although we were out all day the room was still not cleaned by the time we returned. We had to cut our stay short by one night due to Belgian train strike, but still had to pay for the final night. We were told this was due to booking being with booking.com.

    Good quality breakfast. Good evening meal at restaurant (but you need to book in advance). Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    To get there by car is nearly impossible, but that's...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To get there by car is nearly impossible, but that's linked to the situation in Ghent and has nothing to do with the hotel. But be prepared for that. Local excursions can be done either walking or by taxi. The hotel itself is great, very friendly staff, great breakfast, ideal hotel for a citytrip

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    I love this place! Definitely will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would love to have smaller pillow on a bed, because Marriott's pillows were huge , but it is my personal preference and I would ask some if we stayed longer then 1 night. Parking and breakfast are very expensive but it is your choice to order it or not. We were glad that we have booked parking in hotel in advance, despite the price, because all other parking were full up. And we had wonderful breakfast in very nice bar just next to the hotel for 18 euro for two of us, rather then pay 50 euro in hotel.

    Perfect location. Good facilities. Beautiful reception hall. Very friendly and helpful staff. Personal thanks to Frederick, who checked us in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture was a bit dodgy, one drawer wouldn't open properly, a panel from a cupboard was loose. I expected a better hairdryer

    Excellent location, convenient in-house parking. Breakfast was very nice with lots of choice. I made waffels! The room was large enough, with a seating area with two arm-chairs. Good shower and bath with plenty of warm/hot water.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.1
    nice hotel but avoid dining at the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    limited parking space, expensive and very inefficiently managed. the hotel restaurant is expensive and not good (much better options around town).

    amazing location (right in the historical center of the town). best breakfast ever.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Friendly and comfortable hotel in a beautiful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hairdryer? That's a minor complaint. Things in Ghent don't really start opening until quite late morning so the early hours are rather dull, but that is not the hotel's fault! Otherwise everything was pretty great.

    We were staying in a beautiful room that was very quiet and comfortable. The location was amazing and the staff so friendly and helpful. We loved the central bar area where they served delicious Belgian beers and hot chocolate. Would definitely return here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Overall an excellent stay with extremely welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast although very good was on the cold side even though it was being regularly topped up.

    The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to change rooms for us as my daughter refuses to go in a lift. The young man who checked us in was an asset to the hotel. The hotel is also extremely well located.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Welcome from the staff.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New manager is slowly turning around the poor quality that the last one left. Breakfast back in the restaurant and more bar staff..great but still empty room bar, no water in the room, and room made up late..lack of staff. Good luck

    Welcome from the staff..fabulous as ever

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Great venue and rooms. Recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is excellent, but at 25€ per day it is a little bit on the expensive side.

    The hotel is very nice, with big beautiful rooms, the service is great. Excellent service: I got my flight cancelled due to recent weather conditions and got to the hotel one day late. I was past the free cancellation/modification period, but they did not charge me the room since the delay was due to the extreme weather conditions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Friendly, fun and atmospheric (we got snow and Christmas markets!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kids menu at the main hotel restaurant (in the lobby). While the staff accommodated our needs, we were not the only people staying at the hotel with kids, this should be something they consider.

    The staff went out of their way to give us information, make sure everything was ok. The customer service really stood out. Our kids loved the LEGO table- such a simple idea but a win for small kids.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel, wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom in the room we were staying in would benefit from being refurbished, to bring it in line with the very high standards of decor throughout the hotel.

    The professionalism of all staff there was second to none. Friendly, personable and attentive to detail they made our stay really special. The hotel itself is stunning, with a wonderful open reception. Right in the heart of the city the hotel is perfectly placed for visitors, with beautiful views onto the canal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Super friendly and accommodating, very central and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like checking out as I wanted to stay longer! Such a great hotel.

    Very friendly and accomodating staff. Jim the receptionist looked after us so well. The food in the adjoining hotel is delicious and the waiting staff were very helpful and friendly. You could not get more central that the location, with boat tours on the river right outside the door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    5 days before my check in, I receive an Email from the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    5 days before my check in, I receive an Email from the hotel saying they are very much welcome me to return there, as I am frequency stay their hotel for years. To my super surprise that, they has no room for me when I check in, they switch me to a smaller hotel where is lower price. I am UPSET but I have no choice to go there stay one nigh, then return to the Marriott hotel in the next day. To compensation to me, the Marriott hotel offer me free breakfase everyday, plus two free dinners. It's really not nice to know you are no room after you received their very warm and sweet welcome Email. I hope they will improve to keep all guest has one room as per reservation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic staff in a very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Fantastic staff. Couldn’t do enough. Special thanks to Stephanie on reception, and Hilde in the lobby cafe Big comfortable beds, high quality rooms, very quiet Great response to special requests re reservation and baby issues Every staff member has a smile Great central location, with parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Very disapointed, nothing compare to Hilton or Crowne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very disappoint for us, a very bad cleanliness problem and I can't accept that a Hotel like Marriot has such problem. Even they correct the problem very fast, I can't pay has I was rent a Ibis and even in Ibis I cannot accept this problem!! So you imagine that was a bad experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.8
    Gent was lovely, hotel let down the exprerience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected more from a Marriot Hotel. Our room over looked the river, but the windows hardly opened to see the view. Our room was very badly worn on the wooden floor & furnishings. We paid a lot of money for this room to finish off our holiday in Europe & wanted it to be special, but this was not what we expected for the room rate. We did tell the reception staff but got a negative response.

    The Porter on arrival was very helpful & informative about the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    A lovely peaceful location and comfortable stay right in the heart of Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was tight, with very one position available. Apparently it happens many Saturday mornings. Parking costs are quite high, but probably not unexpected in this part of the world. The reserved parking cost (which we didn't use) is pretty steep.

    Very central location with lovely large room. Great access to the attractions of Ghent. The Illy coffee in the cafe is a bonus (but long-life milk is a let down).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Very short stay, in transit between Bruges and Luxembourg City but quite delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little things. Safe didn't work. Hair dryer was missing. And 25 Euros for breakfast is way over the top by our standards. We got great breakfast at a nearby cafe for half the price.

    Location was perfect - on the canal in the heart of the Old Town. Gorgeous blend of old and new architecture. Staff were amazing. Special mention goes to Jolanda who gave us so much helpful information and treated us like royalty. Great to have our huge room available when we arrived before midday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Service at the bar a shambles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the bar a shambles. Waited thirty minutes for my drinks order for two people to be taken, and finally gave up. Spoilt what was a great weekend. Beware of hotel parking at 30 euros a night, but to be fair, I was aware of that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in the heart of Ghent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of staff were really pleasant and welcoming but one of the receptionists was a bit snooty

    Excellent location on the river bank in heart of the city Happy to allow us to keep our rooms for a couple of extra hours for free.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Incredible view but it for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a small staircase (4 steps) from the entrance (including the bathroom) leading to the bed area. Not entirely convenient when moving about nor for the more elderly occupants. Despite the size of this hotel, the breakfast buffet room was quite small and on a Saturday morning became a free for all and proved impossible to enjoy a leisurely breakfast - not what one would expect at the price! The underground cap park was extremely expensive.

    This is a typical large chain hotel with all that that implies in terms of staff, facilities, size,etc. We booked a room overlooking the canal and the view was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Most unhelpful front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absence of anyone to assist with luggage and queries. Check in staff were brusque and unhelpful. Our friends paid for a king room with canal view like we did and they got a pocket sized room- very different to ours and staff ignored their complaint. Bare minimum of bathroom toiletries supplied

    The central location and canal views in our particular room. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel situated right in the city centre of Gent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel situated right in the city centre of Gent. All the things to see and to do, are in walking distance. Friendly staff made our stay very comfortable and helped with any question. We had a nice family room with two queen size beds; fitted perfectly for a weekend stay with the family. Breakfast buffet was good, with nice waffles. Perfect hotel for a long weekend in Gent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Loved everything except the restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We arrived late at 22 and it was not possible for us to get anything from the room service, cause we are allergic to milkproducts and they did not have one single thing they could give us. Also, we worked at the hotel so we ate at the restaurant every day. The food in the restaurants was not of very high quality, and the kitchen kept forgetting parts of the dishes.

    Loved everything except the restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gates and barriers into and out of the car park wouldn't work without manual intervention by the staff (which menat leaving the car and going upstairs to Reception to get help). Also, the lights didn't stay on long enough in the car park which meant you were plunged into complete and utter darkness. It's a good job I had a torch App on my phone.

    The room was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    A hotel which you want to visit each time on arrival in Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The approach by car was very very difficult on our arrival due to tens of traffic restrictions. Even the inhabitants of Ghent, and two navigation systems didn't help. By guiding by phone we arrived !

    Perfect location ! Luxurious terrace with a roof. Ever never met such a breakfast. A great hotel straight in the heart of Ghent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative comments but if I have to find one it would be no swimming pool !! Loved the Hotel and will stay again and highly recommend.

    Ideal location- very close to the town centre, bars, shops, restaurants etc. Beautiful architecture of the building- the glass walls and roof to the main hotel was attractive and functional, letting in so much natural light.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Ghent is a beautiful city, and we'll be back again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is expensive when compared to nearby local Parking garages. 32 euros a day compared to 14 euros we paid at Ramen.

    Great location in the heart of Ghent. Amazing view when you step out of the Korenlei, canal side entrance. A complete contrast to the main entrance. It is like stepping out of 2 different buildings in 2 different cities!! Housekeeping staff were very good and gave us a extra full set of towels for our 18 month old daughter, and delivered within minutes of asking!! Very large and comfortable bed. Big bathroom that was modern, bright and clean. Very professional and helpful front desk staff. Pack walking shoes for the cobbles!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location in a stunning city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in 136 in the older part of building. Room quite small compared to other family members and the air conditioning was really poor, switching on and off and not really great when working. As there are other windows surrounding our outlook they had voiles on the window held by velcro but the larger bottom part of window had been removed so we had to keep closing curtains to get changed etc. Thought 25europp for breakfast was really expensive especially for a family of 4 so we ate out.

    Staff really great especially Lotte on reception. Location is superb, right on the river. Bar staff lovely and seem really happy in the job.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Location was excellent, staff were really helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, staff were really helpful and friendly. The bar area with the glass roof was great and made the hotel feel very light and airy. The food was excellent in the bar too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Stunning river view in comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    car park expense

    I booked a river view room. great to sit there with a drink and watch the world go by. Nice large room with polished wooden floors and nice rugs. very comfy SK bed. Didnt eat there so can't comment on food/breakfast. Easy to find and underground car park handy if a little expensive!(€32 overnight!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant stay at the Marriott and will be returning 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to book the Midtown restaurant, it was fully booked when we stayed and had to go to our next favourite resturant 😀

    Lovely hotel in the heart of the city, access to loads of restaurants and lots to see. Great atmosphere and very friendly people. This is my new Bruges 😀

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Location is perfect, the bed was extremely comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is perfect, the bed was extremely comfortable and the room was elegant, spacious and clean. The staff was pleasantly friendly and helpful. You can sense that they enjoy working at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Everything was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful. We stopped over night as was driving through to Holland in arriving in Holland we realised we had left €1300 in the safe! I called the hotel who had found it, drove back and collected it. Very honest and helpful staff!!! Can't thank them enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful anniversary stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint would be the shower. For such a nice hotel I think a shower over the bath is very old fashioned and would be better replaced with a nice walk on shower.

    Location was amazing right on canal front and central for everything. Room was very spacious and bed was very comfortable. Hotel lobby was stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay for brief weekend visit to Gent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one receptionist who was also responding to calls - internal and external including guiding driving instructions to reach hotel to a customer. Very user friendly to approaching guest but not to already arrived guest.

    Brilliant location - dead centre in Gent. All excellent except two matters. Poorly staffed reception desk both at check in and check out. Difference between parking charges on Booking.com and actual hotel charge. Reversal of amounts for parking and reservation charge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Great comfort, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely bad that you have to pay an additional 30-something € just to park the car when you are already paying for your stay. Parking your car should be included in the room rate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were too few staff on reception. Walked away after waiting for 5 minutes to be served (wasn't the only one to do so).

    Location could not have been better. The hotel was beautiful and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Our anniversary visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very very poor. No buffet, fruit etc. just rolls, a coissant and some spread. No choice. Our room had three steps down into the room which we were not prepared for. [I have some difficulty walking] No separate shower, difficult to get into the bath. . The advertised view of the river was obscured by a large grey plastic tarpaulin over a riverside kiosk put up for the previous weeks festival, plus a row of dustbins on the other bank! Cover not removed until our last day. Very noisy as they took down scafolding etc.

    Beds were very comfortable. Plenty of towels etc. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Large pleasant room [see below re steps]

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    This location can't be beat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This location can't be beat! You exit the hotel and are right on the canal -- it's beautiful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Staff at the front desk gave great restaurant recommendations. Easy walk to Gravensteen Castle, which our 4 year old daughter really enjoyed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and tried to help where possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food for room service was always cold or luke warm at best. There was also some inconsistencies from 1 day to the next.

    The staff were friendly and tried to help where possible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Best location in Ghent with ultra helpful and friendly staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all!!

    This hotel is in a fantastic location to explore Ghent, one of the most central hotels we have ever stayed in for the kind of price we paid for the room!! The staff were ultra friendly and very helpful, and we loved the extra touch of getting to send a free postcard from the hotel to anywhere in the world. The room itself was fairly small - but more than adequate and very light and airy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: could have been more complete, it's too expensive. You get excellent breakfast in little cafés around the hotel for less money.

    Friendly staff. Perfect location to start your city trip - right in the middle of the center of Gent. Big rooms and very comfortable bed. Super clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ghent Marriott Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: