Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ghent River Hotel 4 stars

Waaistraat 5, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#27 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1816 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking! There's an underground parking garage nearby which is expensive and was full when we first got to Ghent. Finding the way to the hotel with the car to drop off luggage was quite complicated thanks to the one-way system in Ghent (our GPS gave up...).

    Breakfast was very good, the room was quiet and the bed very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked a view from the hotel room but the area around more than made up for it. Next time we visit I will ensure I request a view from the room when we book this hotel again.

    The room was very comfy, clean and tidy with a high standard of room service. We had a ground floor room with no view. The hotel location was perfect, in the middle of the old town and an underground car park close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No option to select type of breakfast - 1 cup of coffee cost the same as 10 full plates from the buffet. Staff went on hard sell for phone charger (expensive) but we discovered USB port on TV which did the charging for us.

    Good location, excellent shower, comfortable clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cooked breakfast poor quality

    Reception fine though restaurant recommendation on first night not very sensible - too pricey.Room fine and cleaning staff helpful Breakfast room on roof very good.Main breakfast OK but .. see below

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. The rooms were amazing, spacious and comfortable, with a view on the canal. The breakfast room has a beautiful view of the city. Wifi works great and is hassle free. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was a former textile factory there were a few signs of old panelling and metalwork and the bedroom was just above the river The breakfast was one of the best we have experienced. A great variety of beverages, fruit and hot and cold dishes The staff were wonderful and topped up dishes prior to them emptying Helpful desk staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower needed somewhere to put soap etc Noise from patio disturbed us one night

    Disappointed not to get a canal view room, but our room looked out over the bar/patio area and was very comfortable. Spotlessly clean with new towels every day. Bar prices very reasonable but breakfast pricey so had ours in a nearby square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer- Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast at 8:30 and croissants had all gone! Heating was not on as had been a hot spell and cooling was on instead.

    Room overlooking canal is interesting to watch the tour boats from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small. Too small for 162 euros/night I paid. It did not have the view on the river (the name of the hotel is Ghent River Hotel) and when I asked at the reception why I was informed that I did not specify I wanted a room with a river view on booking. I said that I would not expect 'river hotel' not to give me the room with the river view. If I had known this I would have chosen a cheaper 3 star hotel somewhere else in town. I do not think that this is a 4 star hotel, there is no bath robe, no slippers in the bathroom, no iron in the room. My room looked shabby and small. I am not satisfied with this hotel.

    I made my booking a few days before going to Gent. I liked the central location of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows lumpy Chargeable wine and Pringles places on tray of free coffee etc. Fortunately we checked first! We thought it was a welcome drink!

    Bed super comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was given a key to a room that was already occupied. First time of my life. That was awkward, glad that the guy was nice and still dressed. No plug for the tea boiler, so I unplugged the fridge ! My room smelled like smoke.

    the bed was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom didn't have a basket to put shampoo and other stuff in and if you don't ask for the room to be cleaned, it wasn't cleaned.

    The location is truly fantastic, within a few minutes walk you're in the center with the lovely cafes, bars and restaurants. The room had a view to the water. Overall it was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is little isolation between rooms so me and my girlfriend heard the neighbours across the hall being drunk at 1am until one decided to go to a room next to ours and talk with a girl, having fun for a perfect 20 seconds before it went quiet around 2am.

    Big breakfast, friendly staff and close to vrijdagmarkt and what we call the best restaurant of the city, 't fondueloft

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the ground floor and it was very loud. We were woken up throughout the night and early (before 9:00) by people leaving their rooms, cleaners etc,

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the breakfast was not included in the price and some stuff left out in the rooms like crisps and chocolate you would assume are gratis as they are left out by the coffee machine but when you read the mini bar leaflet find out that they are also chargeable.

    Lovely rooms and a very nice view over the river, and a great location for the town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very helpful, we were in a room which was definitely not as nice as expected from the website. The beds are not comfy. Our room was very loud and I didn’t manage to sleep for most of the night when we asked to move to a quieter part of the hotel we were told “you’re in a city there is noise” which is nonsense. After having to wait around and ask 3 times we were finally moved to a river front room which was far nicer and much quieter.

    we managed to a change rooms to a river view which was much nicer and looked more like the pictures on the website. The location is very good and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from the train station (Sint-Pieter), Definitely need to take a taxi. Check out is 11:00 am & they charge 10 Euro for each additional hour.

    Great Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel bar was a real dissapointment - on the Friday evening it was closed due to the barman not being there, and on the Saturday they had no brandy! Also (and obviously not the fault of the Hotel) parking in Ghent is really expensive - €43.50 for two nights parking in the local underground car park was excessive.

    Good, comfortable Hotel in excellent location. Polite and efficient check-in, with all staff seeming to speak excellent English. We stayed on the coldest weekend for 6 years in Ghent, and the room and public areas were all heated well. Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the room was very cold and is difficult to get warm. - the room was located next to the toilets on one side and a conference room on the other. - there was no view whatsoever. - I heard mice knawing away at whatever was located in the dustbin at night. - we didn’t get the advertised breakfast. - room service is unnecessarily pricey. - the interior design of the lobby is horrendous. - the receptionist couldn’t read. - the shower door didn’t close fully, flooding the bathroom with water. - the room is dark. - I requested a room on a higher floor, got the ground floor instead.

    + I was able to book the room easily + the hotel is located at a convenient spot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff showed little interest. Neither at check-in nor at restaurant entrance. Badroom floor around toilet was not clean.

    Good breakfeast. Good location. Good room at ground floor - waterside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is very dirty. Hairs in the bathtub, on the floor. Towel was on the floor when we entered a room on the day of arrival. Dirty mini bar fridge. Old and used towels. Dirty walls - not painted for a very long time. Breakfast coffee was undrinkable - I think this is some kind of instant powder. Selection on the breakfast generally OK but after 9 am all hot dishes were unfortunately cold - even scramble eggs. I don't know how the others rooms looks like but definitely our weren't on the 4* level.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms not so soundproof: You can hear everyone around and above you. The coffee for breakfast.

    Great central location room with view directly onto the canal. Very well refurbished loft feel of a historic building. Very good breakfast with many choices. Nice spacious rooms with comfy bed and rain shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I moved the suitcase stand and it was obvious that the floor had not been swept under there. an empty jam carton and a lot of fluff! Also it was raining heavily and there was a steady drip on my windowsill that was very annoying

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the design of the rooms, the brick, the beams, big enough TV screens that you don't have to squint at from the beds. There's loads of space and we had a fab view over the river. AND they allowed us an early check in - on NYE too!? Totally loved it here!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    BREAKFAST WAS FAR TOO EXPENSIVE AT €21 PER PERSON SO WE OPTED TO GO TO A LOCAL COFFEE SHOP FOR LESS THAN HALF THE PRICE CHARGED AT THE HOTEL. WE WERE THERE FOR 3 NIGHTS AND THE SHEET WERE NOT CHANGED. SMALL GRIPE BUT WOULD HAVE EXPECTED CLEAN SHEETS ON THE 3RD DAY.

    LOCATION OF THE HOTEL WAS PERFECT.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a little hard. Friday night noise from bar / club on other side of street was too much till 2 am

    Great Location. Good sized rooms. Comfortable beds. Nice spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were unfortunate that on our last night, there was a particularly noisy group upstairs from us and this group kept us awake.

    On arrival we were given an upgrade to a first floor suite, which was very spacious and had a river view. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a nightclub/bar immediately in front of the hotel. On a Friday and Saturday evening be prepared for loud noise and disturbed sleep until 5am. Try to get a room at the back of the hotel by the water

    excellent location near to old city breakfast superb

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlike the other times we've stayed, the hot breakfast items (sausages, scrambled eggs) were mostly tepid or cold. The shower didn't drain properly and our coffee tray did not get refilled. It was a bit off from what we've experienced before.

    It's a lovely hotel with a great breakfast. It was our 3rd stay here. Rooms are comfy. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the top floor... the room lacked of character than those of the lower ground levels. Decor a bit dated and looked a bit scruffy. Not worth the money spent.

    The breakfast room was worth the stay. Beautiful space overlooking the river.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym that’s all. But not a big enough problem to stop us returning.

    Staff decor location all excellent- Gym would have been a bonus but did not detract hugely. Our 20th wedding anniversary surprise trip so was hugely impressed by gent and the hotel. We will be back to both.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above

    It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we stayed in this Super hotel Within walking distance to all Ghent has to offer. the room was small (but comfy and clean) so they gave us a bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates! Superb breakfast in the lovely dining room upstairs. We parked a 15 minute walk away in a secure underground parking place recommended by the hotel - very reasonable. Only one thing - we came back from dinner at around 11:00pm and decided to have a nightcap in the bar downstairs. We were served but when some guests came in half an hour later with the same idea they were told the bar was closed, another few guests did the same and got the same answer. It clearly states that the bar was open until 2am! Around 10 guests were sent away and they all went back out into town. When queried, the man staffing both the reception and bar told us his manager said not to serve anyone after 11:30 due to guests staying in a bedroom next to the bar - this would disturb them. It was suggested that the guests would sit in the reception area sofas but the man was adamant he couldnt serve them. Maybe this can be addressed or state in the info that the bar will stop serving at 11:00pm. Other than that we had a lovely stay at the hotel and in Ghent, and would return happily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was fine.

    Location. Perfectly located near the water's edge. Lovely view from the rooftop breakfast terrace. Rooms spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked very late so I had to pay a lot for a twin room without a view. The toilet was creaky and the room needed some slight repairs. It is a nice hotel but I think the price was a bit steep for the room I got. The lift/elevator didn't work for some reason.

    Location was great. Breakfast with a lot of fruit and vegetables.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness below expected standard for class of hotel. Room was slightly dusty. Room servicing during stay was limited and cups were not washed.

    Panoramic breakfast room at the top of the hotel. Brilliant shower. Reading lights. Clever and interesting building conversion, though most bedrooms are modern and probably do not have 'heritage' features.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The contrast with rooms showed on the internet and the room we had was too big. That made the prise too high for what we had. Breakfast was OK but for a Hotel of that price the coffee was bad and the breakfast room very crowdy (too small).

    Ad a basic room it was OK. There is an older aprt and I guess a newer part. The older part should be renewed somehow

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice if the hotel had a variety of pillows to suit the customers. We also did not know that there was a minibar in the hotel...We never saw it..unless it was the peanuts left in the table next to the kettle.

    We booked this hotel as it was in a good location and the price was ok. We took the Eurostar from London which arrived at Brussels then to Gent-Sint-Pieters train station. From there we took the tram no.1 to the hotel which took about 20 minutes. We could have walked but it was about 40 minutes walk and we had our luggage with us! The hotel is, as the name suggests, next to the river and we had this view from the room, which was lovely. We had breakfast included which was quite nice, but there are other places nearby to have food if you want to book it without. The room was quite nice, clean and cozy and the bed comfortable, but my husband said that the pillows were not that comfortable. Overall we had a nice stay and would go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath water came out yellow from the tap. Shower was fine but the bath tap water was yellow.

    Room was beautiful and right on the river. Opened the window and was there

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room(s) were nothing like the photos shown on the hotel website. We changed rooms three times. The first room was just off the reception area and was so small you could hardly walk round the bed, the window looked out onto a service alley. We rejected that and were given a room on the third floor. The bed was hard, the pillows lumpy and the air conditioning did not work. We had to sleep with the window open and even then it was too hot and very noisy. The third room was on the ground floor. Again the bed was hard and the pillows lumpy. It was also very noisy. I would not stay at this place again. It is in a good position in the city but that's about all it is good for. I didn;t get any sleep for the three nights we stayed there.

    The location of the hotel couldn't be better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dark (135) and in need of an update. Furniture was a bit shabby and towels definitely need replacing. More chewing gum grey than white.

    Location is perfect, easy walking distance to main attractions. Hotel is clean and has a very good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern part of hotel not very cosy nor wellcoming ,rather uggly

    Silent location Room with river view Nice breakfast location rooftop Choice at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer- Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the breakfast room wasn't as stunning as I thought but still very nice

    Very beautiful hotel in the heart of Ghent. We enjoyed an extra comfortable stay and the breakfast had a wide choice of food. The special package was nice and the little champagne on the house was very much appreciated :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt that there was a lack of trained staff working over the weekend that we sent at the hotel. The reception staff whilst courteous we had to wait ages for them to serve us, and there was times when the reception was not staffed. To be fair to the staff on Friday you could time they had had a day from hell, with computer systems fail. but unfortunately we had further issues over the weekend, like two of the rooms set out as doubles even though we booked twins and we had to convert them ourselves because it was too difficult to get them to sort out. and when the rooms were serviced one of the rooms they took away the used towels but did not replace, and when we asked for replacement we had difficulty getting the receptionist to understand what we were asking for.

    location of hotel is excellent, with many of the sights of the city in walking distance. the breakfast was extremely good and the room was spacious and clean. there are nice touches such as a pod coffee maker and robes and slippers in the room. and the rooms with a view look out on to the canal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not well cleaned and had a smell of humidity and closure; Room on ground floor very dark, looking at noisy courtyard. Personnel somehow indifferent with the exception of receptionist on arrival day.

    Breakfast was good, location very good, size of room and shower were good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The trip was not comfort since there is no stuff for help plus the washing dishes was little noisy at the third floor ..

    The location is great and near everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing at this hotel not to like!

    Inspired conversion from an old canal side factory with unique in our experience décor. Extremely clean, quite and comfortable rooms. Superb breakfast catering for all tastes. Very helpful and polite staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a ground floor standard room (021) facing the canal. Canal smells. plus bout tours start operating around 9-10 and they are loud. Room was nothing like in the pictures (no cool brick walls or wood on the ceiling). Not enough light especial in the bathroom (was taking shower almost in the dark). Gym is horrible! 4 trainers and they are very old.

    Breakfast was great. Just was running low if you come towards the ends of service.. Far away from the train station but close to the centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to many roads being closed for roadworks, one way systems etc.... it was very difficult to navigate to the parking close to the hotel. No parking at the hotel. I had tried calling the hotel to obtain directions due to the road system after calling twice I was on hold for 22 mins before speaking with the reception. There was no view from the room. The value for money was poor. The breakfast was the poorest that I have taken in all the hotels that I have stayed in Belgium. Breakfast was until 11:00, however at 10:30 there was no bread to make toast, the eggs looked dried and undesirable, the bacon was a small pile of fat. The orange juice tasted strange. There was no management to supervise the young team. One server spent 15 mins folding some serviettes - non value added activity at the time, instead of clearing tables or filling the breakfast area. The young team lacked motivation, affability, passion in their job.

    The hotel was very central. However, due to many roads being closed for roadworks, one way systems etc.... it was very difficult to navigate to the parking close to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beautiful room with original oak raftered ceiling and very comfortable bed. A great choice of breakfast food available in the lovely glass walled dining room. Would definitely book this hotel again and although I don't know what the rest of the rooms were like, from my own experience I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, the lounge close to the reception had to be repaired. Necessary work, but very uncomfortable to wake up two times by a stone cutting machine at 7.15 a.m. It should be possible to start at at a more convenient timepoint. High impact on my value for money rating.

    Excellent staff! Nice rooms and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average.

    The hotel is a renovated mill and retained many original features which made it unusual but very attractive. Breakfast was served on the third floor and had a good view of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cost of parking - cheapest we found was 16 Euros per 24 h near the railway station, about 15 min walk away. No complimentary bottled water in the room, and a very expensive breakfast (20 Euros per person) when all we wanted was juice, coffee and a couple of rolls/croissants.

    Excellent location, just 5 min walk from the old centre with loads of restaurants etc. The hotel has a convenient bar and pleasant courtyard for a beer and smoke, and our double room was a good size with most of the facilities that one would expect for the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room with a river view, but found there wasn't really any sound proofing, so we could hear the city nightlife into the early hours of the morning. Not a problem for my partner as he is a deep sleeper, but for me it took ages to drift off.

    This hotel was perfect for our short romantic break. Great location in the centre with everything so near by. We were able to check-in a little earlier than 3pm, and the bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was neither friendly nor helping. The room window was in front of the parking lot... nor really romantic... Breakfast at 21 euros per person? Ouf!

    The proximity of the principal attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worth paying for river room as rooms on the road, although not busy, can be noisy due to cobblestones.

    We could easily walk from tram stop to our hotel, very convenient location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was not really a problem of the hotel but of Ghent. The hotel had no parking facilities and the nearest 24h parking cost 23 euros per day. There is a free park and ride by the Flanders expo on the edge of town but this was a 25 min ride then 15 walk.

    The air conditioning was an excellent bonus as weather very hot during our visit. Tea making facilities in room which is unusual on the continent. Happy hour in the bar from 5:30 to 6:30. Bedroom very generous size and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was high when compared to what the hotel has to offer. Everything was above average, except cleaning which was not let's say of high standar, and the personel was not of high standar either. All that would be acceptable if price was let's say half of what it is now. If I was in Ghent for another time I would look elsewhere.

    The location is perfect for Ghent, right where you should be.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the look of the cooked breakfast which was a shame. Everything looked undercooked and sloppy especially the sausages and bacon which were barely cooked. If you are booking a taxi back to the train station double check with reception that they have booked it correctly as they made an error with ours which nearly cost us missing our Eurostar.

    Location is fantastic. We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the river which was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room we got was v small and not great value for money. We requested another room which was a suite. It was a suite in size but not in standard although was v comfortable if a little dated

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lots of beautiful sights, interesting places to visit and numerous choices of restaurants all within walking distance of our hotel. Lovely to eat breakfast in the roof top restaurant . If you enjoy a good cup of tea made with a favourite brand then take your own tea bags for your room and breakfast, much needed before and after a day's sightseeing ! The river boat trip was very informative and went past our hotel and gave information of it's history. Before our visit I put in a request for a river view room and much to my delight these rooms were available for us. I loved the historical detail retained in our rooms. Our trip was enhanced by the beautiful sunny weather . Value for money was good given the time of year, river view/historical room and breakfast included.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the hotel room was not exactly sound proof. When other guests talked, or just walked by, it seemed like we had no door.

    The staff was great, very helpful and always smiling.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had booked an executive room but they had overbooked and gave me a dark and shabby family-room with a small window and 4 beds instead. It had nothing what so ever in common with the pictures on the website, no old wood or bricks that you see in the pictures. When I complained at the reception I was told that the room is actually a suite! Having 4 beds and 4 bathrobes hardly makes a suite..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm afraid everything was perfect :) so no complains.

    Sehr zentral - eine ehemalige Brotfabrik - Industriekultur! Absolut Superservice an der Frontdesk! Vielen Dank an den Praktikanten. Very central, a former bread factory - industrial architecture - at least the old part. I'd like to thank the intern at the front desk who was very friendly and forthcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures online were not at all accurate. The rooms were small and dark, rover view was a tiny window; out dated decor, rock hard mattresses and paper thin walls.

    Location in town was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying with friends and had booked the same type of room separately. They were given a much smaller lower graded room. Staff then proceeded to tell a few different stories as to why and we felt like we had been fobbed off. They then said we had been upgraded to a suite from a standard room. This was not true.

    Nice well kept building in an old property. Our room was decently sized.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer- Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service advertised all day but when called at 5pm Nothing was available and kitchen was closed Water pressure was appalling on the bathtub - had to fill via the shower Water was brownish - rather off putting Breakfast buffet was nice but hot selection was not replenished when empty - waited 10 minutes for a new fried egg !! Iron was needed for ironing a shirt - It arrived quickly but the iron didn't work, it was broken All in all a stay of highs and lows but was overall disappointed with my stay

    Location was close to the centre. Canal views Everything in walking distance Honeymoon visit and room was very welcoming with champagne and romantic themes

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking, it was necesary park on the street and update the day ticket each day. Anyway it is easy and cheap to park close to 'kongostraat' and you can arrive to the hotel walking in 5 minutes.

    The bed very comfortable and good sights to the river, very romantic. Good breakfast. Good location close of main points of interest of Ghant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Rooms are extremely noisy, could understand the phone calls of my neigboor word-by-word. - Square pillows - A lot of noise from the bar in the hotel - Overpriced - Gym is a complete joke - Not enough personnel

    Wifi is fast and reliable, location is great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we overslept on our last morning and missed breakfast

    Enjoyed the breakfasts, size of the bedroom, width of the bed, having a bath and shower, lovely toiletries and slippers, friendly staff, having a fridge, coffee machine, location, Ghent, boat trip, waffles, chocolates, beer, restaurants, very friendly and helpful people of Ghent who would offer help at every opportunity

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was touted as amazing but I found it overpriced and very average . The scrambled eggs were runny and cold . For that price a fresh cooked breakfast would have been nice . I had the executive room on my own but the bed was two singles put together not a proper king size bed that I was told I would have . Maybe because I was on my own ? I kept feeling the division of the single beds. . The gym facilities were not included which I discovered when I arrived . I found that a bit surprising ? I have never paid to use a hotels gym .

    The location was handy . I had a great view of the river . The room was warm and very comfortable . It had a lovely wooden ceiling . The bathroom was lovely . Good to have tea and coffee facilities! Reception staff were young and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The music at reception and the noise of people during happy hour and the noise of people checking in can be heard from inside the rooms. When asked if we could move to another room, they wouldn't help us as it would require upgrading our room. This combined with it being Saint Patrick's on Friday meant we got very little sleep. Also, the air-conditioning didn't work. And the view out the window is of the inner courtyard. Not great for the River Hotel.

    The internet was fast and reliable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - check in 15 oclock, check out 11 oclock - quite stretched - Room contains self vending option for coffee and tea - after I used the provided packs, they were not refilled. Remained there 4 nights and that created me discomfort.

    great location, good breakfast on the top floor

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Perfect hotel in the heart of the city. 2 min walk to the main square and all the attractions. Our room with river view was clean, very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reported to staff on our first morning that the bathroom door handle was broken but it was not repaired. We also felt that the happy hour drinks could have been served with a little more sophistication - ice and lemon in the tonic and a few nibbles with the wine. It might have have made us stay for a second drink.

    We loved the river view from the room. The breakfast was fabulous and the breakfast room stunning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an executive room on the ground floor. The high ceiling, brick wall and view of the river were great. Not so great: room is small 12m2 at most. Bathroom was a joke. Shower was 50x50cm and felt claustrophobic when the door was closed. No where to put your stuff other then on the floor of the shower. This was way below par for any 4 star hotel I ever stayed in and was a major disappointment. The room is also very noisy. Noises from the bar til 2AM and as of 7 AM the maids started with loud voices and cleaning noises. The 2nd night we hardly got any sleep. Breakfast is about as average as you can get in a hotel: Bread, Cheese, Eggs, sugary fruit juices and stale coffee. The lovely town, with ampel shopping, lovely pubs and restaurants combined with the A+ location of the hotel makes it a nice trip overall.

    Location of the hotel. River view from the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ghent River Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: