Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Belgium hotel reviews
  3. West-Flanders hotel reviews
  4. Bruges hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Grand Hotel Casselbergh Brugge

Reviews of Grand Hotel Casselbergh Brugge

Hoogstraat 6, Bruges Historic Center, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#15 of 100 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2559 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay. Will repeat if we get the chance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not stay for long and could not take advantage of the spa and gym, but in my opinion, it is not very easy to go there from the room and spend a short time.

    The bed was indeed "extra comfy". The location is spectacular, as is the decoration and "old age" feel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    8.3
    A big slice of heaven in Brugges
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the cyclists in the town are little short of criminally dangerous. Keep your eyes peeled. As far as the hotel goes, nothing to dislike although parking can be a challenge with a large car!! But very secure and worth the effort.

    Wonderful staff - absolutely faultless. Hotel is perfect in every respect - location, facilities, elegance and comfort. Breakfast about the best you'll find. Opposite is a nice little bistro which saves going into town.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel and location. Pricey but to be expected for quality and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sold as family room, but double bed for adults was downstairs whilst the single bed for the child was upstairs via open stairs and banister. Ok for an older child/teenager but for our child we felt this was not suitable and our child even said he did not want to stay up there. Breakfast staff not as amicable as the reception staff although this could be that they are constantly on the go filling up the food rather than checking with the residents whether they needed topping up with hot drinks etc.

    Very clean modern looking whilst still retaining some of the old character. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room was ready early and larger than expected with a wonderful bathroom with separate shower cubicle (family room).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    8.8
    A very decent hotel, centrally located! Breakfast and room were excellent! a bit pricey though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only think that did matter was the price. Probably the reason was that we booked it a week before our stay and there was 99% occupancy in Bruges! If the price was lower i would definitely visit again. We paid 270 euro for a night!

    Hotel was indeed very nice! 4 min from the main square, clean and well decorated! Room was big, bed was very comfy although the view from the window was not so nice (towards the opposite blog). Staff was nice and ready to assist you. Breakfast was very decent!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, great location, fabulous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything!!! Brilliant staff & stunning location. This is our 3rd visit to this hotel and it never fails to amaze me with it's splendour and opulence. Would personally recommend the deluxe rooms as they are beautiful and spacious. Can't speak highly enough of this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms with an upstairs aren’t really suitable for younger or less mobile guests.

    The hotel was fabulous, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The location was great. Felt like a real treat.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Bruges is a wonderful city and this hotel was a perfect place to stay while there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was perfect... right off the square. The hotel was very clean. The staff was friendly. There was a nice bar area decorated for Christmas. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant place, can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel doesn't have a restaurant which is a negative however there are plenty of places nearby to eat. My partner did not sleep well whilst there because the pillows were too plump and even when we asked for flat ones they were still so big! So if you have a particular preference for pillows, take your own!

    Very fancy hotel, great breakfast and helpful staff. Room was brilliant (huge bed!), and the location of the hotel cannot be beaten. We had a spa treatment at the wellness center which was great. After we checked out we left our suitcases at the hotel until the evening, so we were able to spend an extra day out in Bruges since we didn't have to pull our luggage around. The hotel is expensive, but for what you are getting it is excellent value.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    9.2
    An amazing trip to beautiful Bruges made perfect by our fabulous hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath towels way too small. No room service. No restaurant if you did not want to go out for dinner. Shower cubicle would have been nicer if bigger

    Perfect location and stunning hotel. Very comfortable seating in the bar. No waiting for a table at breakfast. Comfortable bed with lots of wiggle room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    The hotel was beautiful inside and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was absolutely nothing to dislike except the one member of staff who was not rude, but not presenting as willing to assist.

    The hotel was beautiful inside and out. The rooms were lovely and the beds exceptionally comfortable. The staff could not be more accommodating on the whole bar one at breakfast who stood out due to the service provided by all of the others, particularly reception and bar staff. The location was perfect, really central and enabled us to pop in and out before dinner etc. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.1
    Cynical, soulless tourist trap at odds with gorgeousness of facilities and location. A shame
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cynical, soulless tourist trap, at odds with loveliness of building. Would stay elsewhere next time. Perfunctory staff focussed on their own tasks, not on customers. Would ignore you if you were not insistent Maximising profit more important than customer experience. Slippers not provided in room, have to ask at reception. Similarly bathrobes only provided on request to reception and on payment of a 50 euro deposit. Not classy from a four star hotel. Absolutely everything is carded access even ground floor bathroom facilities Common areas busy and noisy with conference guests Breakfast an absolute rip off at 25 euros.

    Beautiful building, lovely comfortable rooms Great location Gorgeous wellness centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Absolutely Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a wonderful hotel, in an excelent location, the staff is extremely friendly. The breakfast is one of the best I've seen, definitely will come back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    9.6
    Delightful place, would definitely recommend for a weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location - lovely hotel. The room was very comfortable and quiet. No view really but that wasn't a priority - quietness was. The lounge area was elegant and the whole place was very appealing. The staff were courteous and helpful. We ate out for breakfast- plenty of places to choose from. Loved Bruges - so pretty! Busy though, so it may pay to book ahead for any restaurants that take your fancy. We didn't, but eventually managed to find a couple of excellent places.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, quiet rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive parking. Rooms not cleaned every day even though we had asked. Considering it was my birthday, a complimentary drink would have been a nice touch.

    Great location, comfortable quiet rooms, staff friendly. Overall great stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    6.3
    The double room was in the cheap section of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The double room was in the cheap section of the hotel. Everything else about the hotel was great, but our section was very old and worn down and not nice at all. I would not recommend it unless you go for the most expensive suites.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay in Brugge for a bit of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only very minor niggle is that service at the bar, or in the lounge, can be very slow or non-existent at times. It’s as if the staff are doing three jobs and tending to the bar and lounge is just one of them. Given this is such a big and popular part of the hotel, the staffing needs to be better.

    The room was fine and the breakfast, as ever, was of good quality with a wide variety from which to choose. The bar lounge is just fantastic to sit back and relax.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was beautiful and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms in the new wing which do not have a canal view, feel generic and did not have the character of the historic part of the hotel. Staff was kind to move us to the historic side.

    The hotel was beautiful and well located. Very nice hot sauna and steam room. Wonderful beds.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you travel by a car do not forget to reserve a parking place in a hotel.

    The location is excellent! Hotel is really in the heart of the old city. This place is perfect for the weekend escape.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location - good value - cozy Victorian ambiance - friendly English speaking staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I would have liked is better lighting in the room and room service. The room service offered is only for drinks from the bar, no meals.

    The location is excellent. Just 2 minute walk from the main market square, restaurants, shops, etc. Very kind staff, everyone speaks English and is eager to assist. The sitting area in the lobby feels like a home living room designed in Victorian stye, very nice and cozy ambiance. Located less than 10 minutes from the train station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    10
    The three days were excellent blue sky with a slight nip in the the air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The overall feel of Historical Bruges was excellent, with a lot of places to visit and stroll around. There are plenty of places to eat at and have a relaxing drink.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    7.5
    The reception desk seemed a bit choked and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception desk seemed a bit choked and the staff scrambling to accommodate. When hoping to be able to take possession of a card key, after having checked in well beforehand, I was reprimanded for cutting ahead of a line in front of other guests wanting to initiate check-in, even though that was not the case. Access to and from rooms made complicated by card access system and absence of a person to assist with luggage.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room on the ground floor had a view into the backyard. The hotel took a deposit from the credit card several days prior to our arrival.

    Perfect location - 3 minutes away from Bruges main square New comfortable building and large rooms Own parking garage Nice friendly reception staff Pretty good breakfast Good pillows

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.2
    Wife's 65 birthday she loved it happy wife happy life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Later checkout 11 am is good but 12pm would be better and one up on the other Hotel's.

    The hotel history the comprehensive breakfast and all the hotel staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel ideally situated for exploring the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel parking very expensive, but receptionist recommended secure public parking close by that was much cheaper, so no drama

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, really nice breakfast selection, huge comfortable beds in our room (canal view) and not that expensive for a central hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    The hotel made the stay in Brugge pleasurable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The glass bathroom door was awkward not enough room it should open into the bathroom not the other way round

    Nice comfy bar area fir drinks any time of the day

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived and had been offered a free upgrade. Our room was wonderful, with lovely high ceilings and a beautiful chandelier. We had a nice cocktail in the bar before dinner which was very relaxing after a day lots of walking and sightseeing. The wellness area was calm and quiet and could have only been made better by a hot tub. Location could not have been better and the staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.9
    Great family room with mezzanine level for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking expensive and noise from neighbouring room not expected

    Great family room with mezzanine level for children. Low beam a bit of a problem for son who is tall. Location is very central. Breakfast good but room it's served in a bit soulless vs rest of historic parts of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Had an enjoyable weekend break at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have done with bottled water provided in the room. Had to pay3 euros for a small bottle from the mini bar. I do feel water should be provided free.

    Very helpful friendly staff. Clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very comfortable, I love the view and the bathroom was lovely. It is beautiful inside the hotel and it is in a fantastic location. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    10
    Excellent location top hotel with professional staff - we will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    waiting to check out - this could have been quicker in the morning as we left

    Reception staff excellent, Room was large, clean and comfortable. Car parking was easy. The hotel was in an excellent location. We also enjoyed the food and drink.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t much I didn’t like with my stay in Brugge .

    The property had a lot to offer. Fairly helpful staff, the central location was perfect for walks around the city and exploring everything Brugge has to offer.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at reception were not particularly welcoming on check in, though this improved a little later in our stay, and there was no one available to help with luggage. The room was a little tired, and the TV rather small by current standards, though the bed was comfortable, and the air conditioning wasn't too noisy.

    The hotel is situated in a fabulous location in the historic heart of Bruges. It has an underground car park which was very handy as we were on a driving tour. Note though that access to the car park is not easy if you have a really large car. I managed (just) in a Range Rover Sport but not sure how you would fare in an Audi Q7! Breakfast was of the buffet variety, but was very nice with a good variety of food available. The bar was an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing space.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    An excellent and comfortable hotel, just around the corner from the Brugge experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing!

    Hi expectations for this hotel and they were met! It was our last country/hotel experience over a 7 week vacation and this hotel was the best. B'fast was also excellent. Well done to all.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Would highly recommend others to stay at this facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only problem we encountered was with a taxi service. The hotel had arranged for a taxi, but it did not show up on time. The staff worked really hard to make sure we made it to the train station. Do not feel it was the hotels problem.

    Great facility. More than meet our expectations. Location was excellent. Well within walking distance to the main area of town. The breakfast was the best of any of the places we stayed on a month long trip.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, didn't want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Initially given room 1103, room was fantastic but the bathroom was accessible for disabled, so the toilet was too high and was a wet room instead of a shower, so after the first night asked to change room, the lady on reception sorted this without fuss whilst we were at breakfast, and we were moved next door to room 1104 which was perfect, with views of the Burg sq and the Belfort tower.

    Our room was beautiful with high ceilings, a chandelier, and the comfiest bed ever!!! Also amazing breakfast, with so much choice, the hotel location was perfect, and it was lovely to sit in the bar in the evening, the barman was great recommending drinks and the surroundings were just perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.6
    Compact room in good location with friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smallish room - but not a showstopper for one night

    Well appointed room, although small. Room was on the canal side in the roof but you could see the canal. Area was quiet and well located just off the Burg Square. Staff were friendly and helped us with all our questions. Held our luggage and offers directions.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    10
    Exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, was great!

    Room was of a high standard and exceeded expectations, very spacious and breakfast had a large range of foods to cater for every need. Staff were always friendly and willing to answer any questions or recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing (and it’s a small thing) was I would have liked a softer pillow - many hotels will have a choice of firm or more soft. I’m sure I could have asked as the staff was very accommodating.

    The ambiance, location, underground parking, beautiful room (complimentary upgrade :) and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.1
    Overall, the stay was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been better. There were a lot of stairs to get to our room. The beds were tiny.

    The location was excellent with everything close by and easily accessible. The hotel had a quaint feel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    9.6
    Great location steps from Burg Square and a few more to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location steps from Burg Square and a few more to Market Square. Beautiful restoration building. Very comfortable room with plenty of closet space and nice bathroom, including a tub and nice shower. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    Absolute perfect location and a treat to find out part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough tea, coffee and milk supplied to the room each day.

    Absolute perfect location and a treat to find out part of the hotel was the palace of King Charles II while exiled in Belgium. The lavishly decorated reception rooms are wonderful for relaxing in. Accommodation standard is very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    The history of Brugge, its beauty, wonderful museums, canals...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    That we needed to leave.

    The history of Brugge, its beauty, wonderful museums, canals and bridges, its people. Your hotel's strategic location. What a place! Wow! My wife and I celebrated our 60th wedding anniversary there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    An amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect

    What a way to begin our "Road Trip" to Bavaria! The Grand Hotel Casselbergh exceeded our expectations in everyway. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, especially for their advice on the super efficient under ground parking facility, an experience in its self!! The rooms were majestic, high ceilings, large chandeliers and beautiful furnishings. Every comfort was catered for. Breakfast was comprehensive and delicious. Plus of course, we had the added bonus of being situated in the heart of historic Bruges. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer........next time! Thank you all so much. Maurice and Jane, Ben and Katie (The Rushbrook family)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    5.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the garage. difficult to access. not enough room to maneuver for getting into the car elevator. ended up scratching my car. very disappointing.

    location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    10
    It was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa did not include a whirlpool spa. The rest of the spa area was not usable by me and my guest because there were only hot saunas to use and nothing to soak in or cool off with.

    The friendly reception staff. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.8
    Abdullah Alayadhi's Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were 2 seperate beds rather than a King/Queen Size one. The gym has poor items. Also, the price is high.

    1- Location : Nice location, it is really good and located in the village center that has most of the historical attractions as this hotel is considered one of them. (10 points). 2- Staff: Respectful and friendly staff , especially Ms. Flare (night supervise) who helped us change our far room as we had lots of luggages. She also suggested some really great restaurants and attractions for us (10 points). 3- Cleanliness & Quietness: The room and bathroom are sparkly clean. The room and hallways are quiet (10 points). 4- Room Size & View : The size of the rooms depends on the type of the room you have selected. For the regular ones are very small; however, the executive rooms are spacious and have a wide bathroom along with a bathtop. The view of the room was not that much (8 points). 5- Amenities: When you approach the hotel at the beginning, you would have an impression that this is an ancient place, where you can find a quite number of old painted wall pictures of famous characters are hanged on as well as the lobby has a fireplace. There is also a bar located in the lobby for those who care about drinks/chatting along with comfortable classic armchairs. Furthermore, the hotel has a very small gym; however, you can't find the most basic machines and even dumbbells. (7 points). 6- Price: The price of this hotel is very high, but it's worth staying (7 points). 7- Service Level: It is really good in overall as they provided the room with a Tissue, Towels, and bathropes. The only thing we have not satisfied with is the bed as they were 2 seperate beds rather than a King/Queen Size one (9 points). Overall, (8.7 points).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.2
    We go to Bruges 2 or 3 times a year and, since finding this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is quite expensive but it's worth it for the security.

    We go to Bruges 2 or 3 times a year and, since finding this hotel, we always stay here. The location is perfect, just off the main square. This is agreat place to spend a long weekend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast overall is bland and everyday basically the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast overall is bland and everyday basically the same. Orange juice taste as usual in most hotel like a medicine. Coffee / Espresso is not as it should be.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was placed under a very low sloping roof and I kept banging my head. Had to put coffee maker and kettle on the floor to use them.

    Location fantastic. Large very comfortable and nicely decorated room with great view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They need to revise their payment policy. Initially they authorized 2 credit cards of mine and they said it is a mistake then when i stayed they authorized my credit card again with full amount, usually the staff can do extra effort and reduce the amount from previous blocked amount. Till now i am calling the bank to release the un-used amount which is now 15 days from initial authorization. Like other hotels it would be easy if they block amount of the room and use same blocked amount to charge the room. I may not very expert with this but i am a frequent traveller and rarely we see this brhaviour from a hotel and usually payement with other hotels are very smooth.

    Breakfast, location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    8.3
    The location was wonderfully situated, staff were friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few small issues with our room including a blocked sink but nothing that took away from the grandness of the hotel.

    The location was wonderfully situated, staff were friendly and helpful and the building was beautiful. We particularly appreciated the chocolates left for our anniversary as it made our stay that little more specials

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.6
    It is a palace that makes a hotel, a clean and amazing and beautiful place and fun to be in!
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't like only the request for payment. In booking.com they write payment at the property, and the hotel send me emails and call me many times to pay before arriving at the hotel even before the free cancellation date, I talk with the reception and promise him that I don't need to cancel and I need to pay at the property when we arrived at the hotel especially, I never put/use my credit card on the internet and or through the phone. and in the end, they told me that they need to ask his manager/colleagues and call me back, and here is done. I arrived at that hotel and pay using my credit card and everything was OK. I just don't like This attitude and they do not believe clients, especially that I am a longtime customer of booking.com and I have had no problems with hotels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    The location was great and the interior and room size were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast, amenities and service were closer to 3-star hotel quality (e.g. want a bath robe - go to the reception to get it; no good tea or coffee in the room; shampoo / soap / shower gel were quite poor quality)

    The location was great and the interior and room size were on par with a 5-star hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    10
    Front desk staff - above and beyond the call of duty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would like to have learned more about the Charles ii connection. Brochures would be nice.

    Front desk staff - above and beyond the call of duty. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    9.6
    strongly recomended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms furniture needs to renewed

    A big and nice hotel just in the middle of the city, excellent breakfest, nice and helpfull staff, rooms are nice and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    9.6
    Pristine period property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In spite of a last minute deal our superior room was €200 (€338 without)

    Pristine period property. Huge rooms, full bathroom with separate bath. Very comfortable bed. Amazing. Excellent location and onsite parking (book)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was quite pricey but in a lovely location... the carpark is tricky for large 4wds!

    Staff helped us alot especially parking and with dinner reservations and pillow changes!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    10
    This does have a grand hotel feel. Chandeliers, beautiful staircases and marble everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My friend cannot eat dairy. There was no soy or almond milk available in the hotel -

    Lovely sitting areas to read your book or get a coffee/drink. Beautiful chandeliers and a grand hotel feel. My friend stayed in a canal room - slightly smaller but lovely view of the canal my executive room was slightly larger - but we were travelling as singles so plenty of room. Breakfast was good and location excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    9.6
    Well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows might have been better. A bit neither one thing nor another. A jacuzzi would have tipped off the spa

    Well located. Breakfast has a great choice. Rooms a nice size with bath and a separate shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, Calm, Classic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Zero negative.

    I love this hotel! Classic decor. Great location for the tourist sites. Calm atmosphere. Very helpful personnel. A breakfast with many choices. The air conditioning worked well during the heatwave.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    Fabulous beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing.

    Fabulous beds! Best nights sleep I’ve had in months! Reception very very very helpful (Sunday 5/8 am) in guiding us on the best ‘day trip’. We took them up on the suggestion of Knokke, and it was brilliant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    5.4
    Central and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When booking for three adults I was offered three single beds. During our stay we had two single beds and one bed which was more suitable for a child! Two mattresses were good but the ‘child’ one was too soft/sagging. When i’ve Asked the staff to look into this they all said that that was a standard family room and they did not offer to move us to a more suitable room or any compensation.

    Central and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    10
    Awesome Property in lovely location that is close to it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    My wife, twin sister and Partner celebrated their 40th birthdays, as we stayed at the Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges last week for 4 days and had a fantastic experience all around. By the time we left, we felt like it was our home away from home as we explored Bruges and the surrounding area. The hotel is very plush, utterly clean, very comfortable, and very welcoming. The location is picturesque on the canal with the boats trips jetting up every minute during the day time. Situated in the heart of everything that Brugge has to offer from the Chocolate to the Beer to the Tourist Sites Our room (2206) was large and Modern and everything was in tip top shape with a firm but comfortable bed. The restaurant served Breakfast in the morning and The service and choice at the restaurant was great and enjoyable as well. If anything, the service overall at both the hotel and restaurant is something that we found explicitly excellent. From arranging transportation for us, providing recommendations, and taking care of odd requests.... everyone (Receptions and Bar Staff) went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. They left a lasting impression on us and deserving very much of a 5 star rating from our group all around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Were in newer part...would have liked to be in old building...more ambience! Parking a bit expensive but convenient amd secure.

    Very comfortable and virtually in centre. Good ambience. Fantastic breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    10
    The best hotel I’ve ever stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location. The hotel and the rooms were incredible. We spent 12 days in four countries and this was, by far, the best hotel. Don’t book anything else!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    4.2
    İt was bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    İ think that if a visitor comes via his/her car parking suould be free and alsa breakfast was not included the price.. İt is really interesting with this expensive price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    8.8
    Seasoned travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small shower area, would’ve been better to have a shower over the bath. Not enough space from door entry into room as bed protruded out so we weren’t able to wheel our medium size luggage into the room. Rather, we had to carry over the bed in order to get them into the room. If the had used a not quite so wide wardrobe, this may well have solved this problem. Very tight getting into garage from laneway so suggest small to medium cars for ease of manoeuvring. Space for each car park tight also so beware.

    Comfy bed and pillows once asked for different profile. Location sensational, in the heart of it all. Private underground garage wonderful even at €25/day. Room very pleasant, cosy and inviting. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable indeed, was the perfect place to stay for a 50th birthday treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a criticism by any means , but you have to be careful with the tight turn in the narrow street to & from the lift entrance for the underground car park.

    Perfect compliment to a stay in the wonderful city of Brugge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    What a fantastic hotel! We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was easy to find and park at this hotel. the location is perfect for wandering around! When we arrived we had been upgraded to a deluxe room with a balcony that looked out of the front of the hotel. The room was absolutely exceptional, especially for what we paid! The staff were really friendly and helpful too. I cannot wait to go back to this hotel and visit Bruges again, It was fantastic and very romantic!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place to stay in excellent location near the main square. The staff was extremely helpful in assisting with our questions. Overall a great experience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    It was yards from the centre of Bruges, elegant with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    It was yards from the centre of Bruges, elegant with lots of character. Huge comfortable bed plus air con meant 2 very good nights sleep which had been lacking at home due to heatwave. Staff were always helpful and charming. Not a cheap place to stay but worth every penny.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As it was our 40th anniversary we would have liked a better view than a wall and a roof when looking out of the window .

    Very well situated for main sights and shopping. Lovely and clean. Breakfast excellent.staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    We had a pleasant stay, room was spacious and we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a pleasant stay, room was spacious and we had a connecting room with my kids. The hotel is very convenient, right near the grand place and restaurants everywhere nearby. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    The included breakfast was very good - lots of choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The included breakfast was very good - lots of choices. Location is excellent. It was very hot while we were there and the air conditioning worked very well. The hotel is in the old area of Brugge, yet it's a modern hotel inside. The front sitting area/bar is very swanky - a great place to sip coffee and read the paper in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.9
    Long weekend in Bruge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The thing I didn’t like about the hotel was the fact there was no restaurant on site, therefore, no room service available for food or snacks. This was an oversight on my part.

    The location of the property was excellent, two minutes to the square. I had breakfast delivered to the room each morning which was also excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Grand Hotel Casselbergh Brugge Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: