Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel A La Grande Cloche 2 stars

Place Rouppe 10, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

#109 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1557 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    Free wifi is provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The environment around the hotel is not very safe even it is 10 min walking distance away from the police station. My iPhone got pickpocket in front of the hotel. The carpet and the blanket in the room are dirty.

    Free wifi is provided

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    The common toilet always was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For 2 adults and 1 children (5 years), the room is too small and there isn't an extra bed. We ask for an extra towel but they only gave us two each day.

    The common toilet always was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice and cheap hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not very safe. But if taken care of belongings, the hotel is very good!

    The management does its part of making the hotel safe by having security lock at the main door late at nights or when the staff is away on a break.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Goood location! And watch famous squares of Brussels as much as you want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very near to Brussels central station and Brussels Midi railway station. The famous tourist places of Brussels are in radius of 500m from this hotel.It has good location advantage.No need to take tram,metro or train to visit Brussels if you are staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and saggy. Would be better with a new mattress.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. It’s alao a great location and close to the old city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Fairly enough for you to rest and recover from your all day visiting places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed comfy but I only provided with double bed for two. I booked for 3 pax (2 adult + 1 kid). We were too tired to argue the case. So just get on with it.

    Lot of places to eat around the hotel and good walking distance to Grand Place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    The apartment for 4 people was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missing small fridge in the room. Not functioning TV. Complicated parking. Hotel doesnt have its own parking and there is not anything nearby or people at the reception dont know it. I was lucky that i found a place right in front of the hotel but was told it was a miracle. I dont like that i have to leave the keys at the reception when i leave the room. At night changes the reception and they gave me the key without checking my identity.

    The apartment for 4 people was excellent. Two separated rooms but connected with shared large bathroom. Ideal for families. Large terrace, excellent for a smoker. Hotel in pretty good conditions. Digital safety box in the rooms. Wifi was free and well functioning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Try to avoid this area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Paper" walls gives you a feeling of participation in sex orgies in neighbour rooms, unsafe and very noisy area, no sink in WC (it is placed in the room instead), weak water pressure in shower, waiting for a hot water in shower takes ages

    Good staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    First visit to Belgium and have a desire to follow it up asap.Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could have done with another easy chair in room but would probably have got one if we had asked!Maybe have a radio in room instead of a t.v. so we reduce risk of being unecessarilly distracted by the Media gods!

    I came with my wife and was delighted to find a very active Franciscan Mission Church at St Anthonys ,only ten minutes walk away so was able to get fortified by the Sacraments especially the mass.Sorry we missed breakfast,would have liked to have sampled the coffee and croissants but location excellent for visiting places and v.good view of the Square with fountain.Thank you very much,Andrew and Rogerette Woods

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, friendly old traditional European hotel, if you want air con avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the room was strange, it would have been good to have have toilet and sink adjacent rather than in two separate cubicles in opposite corners of a large room.

    We were on a cycling holiday and there was secure indoor bike storage. It's an old hotel with no air conditioning but we were supplied with an excellent, quiet, fan to offset the exceptional heat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location & value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in a single room - it was tiny but super cozy and clean. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and assisted with all my requests in a timely manner. The location was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    I would still try to stay at another place if I had to do it over again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No A/C... Cramped room with barely enough room to move around. One iron in the whole place located on the 1st floor. You had to go there to use it The WIFI was not consistent and I was kicked off a lot. One person that seemed like the head lady was not customer friendly. Could not even take a cup of coffee from breakfast to my room when I wanted to work. That was all I wanted. She could have been much nicer telling me it was not permitted instead of rudely brushing me off.

    Great location between Grand Place and Midi Bruxelles. Breakfast was OK The help at the front desk were nice. The rest of the girls working in the morning were very nice except for the older lady who seemed like the head person.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice small hotel very close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice small hotel very close to the city centre. Wi-Fi was excellent. Every day we had cleaning in the room, fresh towels and replenishment of coffee and tea pockets. We were lucky to enjoy the street view from our room. It was also nice to have a kettle in the room, we can make tea & coffee anytime. We liked breakfast as well. Everything you need for breakfast you will get, except fried eggs, but for me it's not a problem. Staff was very friendly and spoke English, I mean the reception. At breakfast servants didn't speak English, but the service was quick and good. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Very agreeable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The privacy

    This was a pleasant stay. We were a short walking distance from the centre hub. The room was clean and a short cab ride away from the train.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice, clean and spacious room and bathroom, bigger than the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, clean and spacious room and bathroom, bigger than the usual in Brussels. Very nice and helpful staff. Good breakfast with several options available. The surrounding area looks nice, with restaurants and cafes nearby and good connections to public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very friendly. Hotel is good, room is comfortably sized, clean fresh bed sheets, toiletries was provided daily. Room in very nice decorated. Location is good, close to tourist attractions. Good value for money. I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location, very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room had very efficient floor plan. Bed was very comfortable and room was very clean & functional but definitely not luxurious feel. I like my window open for fresh air. My window opened to the light well facing other windows on the interior (vs. street side) of the building. I could sometimes smell cigarette smoke or hear people having loud sex through their open windows. I imagine it’s not a problem for rooms facing the street side.

    Convenient location, just 12- min to the central station. The staff is friendly, room very clean and bed very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful! The location was excellent. Close to the station and could walk everywhere. I used a shared toilet but I never met people there!! I even thought I was the only one using that toilet. When I visit Brussels next time, I will definitely book this hotel again :-)) Thank you for a lovely stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Very central location, reasonable prices, helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cost for printing a page - half a euro, seemed very high to us.

    Very central location, reasonable prices, helpful staff, valuable advice, huge bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be sure to double check if you book the one with shared toilet or not. I did find out I booked with a shared toilet after checked in. The room is a little old-fashioned.

    Cheap. Comfortable room. Clean shared toilet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent Option for Downtown Bruissels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel, excellent location, just a 5 minute walk to the sights of Brussels, and 10 mins to Grande Place, but on the other hand in a quiet district. Car parking was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay, central, good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Less choices for breakfast, but still fresh and delicious.

    very clean hotel. in a lively area, 10 min walk from Grand Place. Close to Zuid/Midi Station and Central Station. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    I’m satisfied!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was slightly more expensive than other hotels. My question concerning the shared toilet to the hotel via booking.com wasn’t answered.

    The receptionist was really nice and helpful. Location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    The location is really convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff weren't that nice. We got told by the receptionist on arrival that breakfast is free for both our kids 3 and 5 yo) but the next morning we got charged half price for both. The staff that charged us even said extra €8 was nothing when I told him we got told kids are free. Told the other staff that and he say will rectified the following morning during breakfast but we did not join the breakfast.

    The location is really convenient. Close to the tourist attractions and food area. Old place but good for a night or 2 for the convenience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel very close to the center with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room to the street and especially saturday night it was very noisy. On the bed were no duvet just an old whoolsheet.

    Staff was very friendly! Location 10 walking minutes from the center and a very cool restaurant just on the other side of the street. Hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.0
    Very friendly receptionists, hotel noicy and small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noicy at night, a motor switching on and off all the time. All items of breakfast ice-cold including the boiled eggs, women staff very noicy. TV hangs at the ceiling, you to stand in the room to see programm clearly. Room extremly small for so much money.

    The men at the receiption very friendly and helped me to find my business addresses which was much appreciated. Next Metro station very close.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the toilet was on the hallway, but I knew that when booking, so no bad points from me here. Anyway, it was always clean.

    Very nice building, friendly staff, attention to details

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Brussels Fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like that our room did not have a toilet - only a shower and sink. We had to use a shared toilet down the hall. It was very clean and never had a problem getting in, I must say.

    We loved the location and how close we were to the Grand Place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.0
    I would never go again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old, no amenities at all, no coffee maker, the room is smelly so as the towel, the hotel is pricy in relation to the level of the service provided, no safe box as well

    The staff was really helpful and polite, the location is very good walkable distance from the Brussel Midi station, attractive spots, food, chocolate and square meeting point

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    We had a room with 2 bedrooms, the rooms were very clean, warm, comfortable, the bathroom was huge, the beds were comfortable. There were two balconies, one of them was insulated, in March it was possible to have breakfast and dinner there. The staff speaks English, helped to call a taxi to the airport. Location in the center, close to Grand place and Manneken Pis.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant place to stay in the heart of Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Having to share the toilet with other rooms, but having said that, there was never a queue. There are rooms with private bathrooms though - definitely the family room across from us.

    Lovely breakfast staff and the quirkiness of the hotel. The location was excellent as the hotel was in a quiet square, yet in the centre of Brussels, only a 10-minute (or less) walk to the Grande Place. Lovely big windows looking over the square really made the room nice. Also, the hotel was close to an underground station. The reception kindly let us store our luggage there on our last day as we had an evening train.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    A nice stay not far away from the city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was looking forward to having a nice view from my room in the 5th floor just after getting the keys - unfortunately, my window was situated to the courtyard.

    A great location near the city centre, pleasant and helpful staff, everybody speaking well English

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Hi, We have stayed at the hotel for 5 nights, and we really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hi, We have stayed at the hotel for 5 nights, and we really liked it. The staff are very friendly and always eager to answer and support with any arising question. The location is great - just 10 min of walk and you find yourself in the heart of Brussels, on the Grand Place. The room was neat and tidy, the bathroom was spacious. The breakfast was moderate, not serving anything hot (like scrambled eggs or bacon), but it was nourishing in any case, and croissants were gooood :). Thank you! You just added to the wonderful impression and flavor of the city and our stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location, lift available although very limited space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior somewhat oldfashioned, tv channels to local (majority french and dutch language)

    Good location, lift available although very limited space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    A nice hotel in a quiet location close to the Metro and La Grande Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sharing the toilet, with only one wc per floor. However, family rooms had a wc, and we never had to queue - so okay. And there were paper seat protectors. No hot food option at breakfast, which is €8 - would be nice in the extremely cold weather we endured on this occasion.

    The staff were polite at reception and the atmosphere was nice. It's in a good location - a quiet square in a very central location, close to Grande Place and the Gare du Midi. Our room looked out over the square with its big, lovely windows, which were double-glazed, so no traffice noise. Watch out when opening the windows though because you could so easily fall out. Make sure young children are supervised. The breakfast staff were jolly and friendly and the breakfast was adequate, serving the usual Continental breakfast fare.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant traditional style hotel. I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly expensive but I suppose the going rate in Brussels. Some noise from plumbing in other rooms late at night but nothing too bad.

    Nice position, warm room on cold February Brussels nights. Comfy bed and very clean bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was the 'electrical WC' which did not allow flushing paper in it.

    Nice location, friendly and helpful staff. Classic old style hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    A great location for staycation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charged me directly to the card though I chose the cash option one. Yet, it is not a big deal

    The location and facilities are exceeding my expectation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    3.3
    The room was just an obvious addition made in a corner of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was just an obvious addition made in a corner of the building, no real toilet and size of the room ridiculously small. When I got there the heating was off so it was really cold . Wanted to use a second pillow that I found in the closet but on it the sheets obviously hadn’t been changed as there were human hair on it .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower could have been cleaner

    Great facilities, nice and close to the main part of the city, staff were excellent and totally okay with storing bags until my train.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Pleasent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was facing the main street and it was noisy. In the room there was a very persistent smell of something chemical.

    Clean and very close to city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Very nice staff, I felt welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room was extremely small, which is the only reason why I would not stay there again (or I would stay in a bigger room).

    Very nice staff, I felt welcome. Quiet, although in city centre!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    V.good location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is not comfortable. Towalet and shower rooms are separated inside the room.

    V.good location 15 minutes walk from the central station and 10 minutes walk to Grand place. Accepted breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Good location (10 min to Grand Place, 10 min to Gare du...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was a bit noisy from the club nearby, but it was Friday evening

    Good location (10 min to Grand Place, 10 min to Gare du Midi), electric kettle and coffee&tea in the room, early arrival was allowed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    The location was excellent and very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi connection was very slow and only 1 person can connect within our group. The elevator was not working within our 3 nights of stay. They should provide hot water heater and Mugs in the room.

    The location was excellent and very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Good option if you want to stay in Brussels' city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested an invoice by email but never got a reply. Breakfast was good but not exceptional.

    Very comfortable hotel and good quality-price ratio. Very centrally located with some nice restaurants in the very same square. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic location. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told we wouldn't have to pay until we arrive at the property. The property took payment without our permission prior to our arrival. Was a bit annoying.

    Great location. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Friendly reception, quick check-in and check-out, easy to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room in front of the lift - sound insulation of the door should be better.

    Friendly reception, quick check-in and check-out, easy to reach with public transport, wide choice of restaurants and cafés around, at 12 minutes walk from Grande Place / city center. The room was small (but also booked as "small individual" therefore OK), all equipment in good condition.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small but comfy and clean (a few small stains on the chair in the room but otherwise spotless), bathroom great. Fantastic central location, great value for money and the staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    2.9
    Not recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the reception was not very welcoming, room was very noisy, i could hear people walk, talk and have sex as if i was in their room. Poor night in a bed i wasnt sure was clean.

    Staff from the breakfast was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    The room have not got toilet inside the bathroom and if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room have not got toilet inside the bathroom and if you want go to the toilet you have to go out at hallway. There is a toilet for all rooms in four floor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Within walking distance of both Bruxelles Midi train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decent breakfast, but not the best coffee.

    Within walking distance of both Bruxelles Midi train station and the Grand-Place. Spacious corner room with lots of light looking out on the square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay as the view was great. The location is a 10 minute walk from Grand Place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were a bit dated and there was a hole in the ceiling of the main bedroom. The comforters and blankets on the beds were very worn and had slight stains on them. The parking was very difficult. There is a parking lot attached to the hotel but we never saw an available parking spot the entire stay. We had to park in a parking garage about a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. If you have an SUV, it is a very tight fit.

    We booked a family room and the area was very large. We had two bedrooms, a large bathroom and two balconies. One balcony was enclosed which was great since it rained the majority of the time we were there. Great features for the price. There were English channels on the television package.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and a good location. Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff weren't too talkative. I don't know if there was a language barrier or a lack of hearing. But we had a great stay.

    Fabulous apartment for a family of 5 - two rooms connected by bathroom with a balcony and enclosed seating area. Fabulous views. Comfortable beds. Great bathroom. Limited parking right out front. Super close to the famous Manneken statue and a few blocks from Grand Place. Easy to walk to places. My daughter wants to stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    Good location, good for exploring the city, nothing fancy but does the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was way too hot. It was uncomfortable in the room at times and we had to sleep with the windows open at night in the middle of November. Toiletries weren’t added during the stay and they were a bit stingy with coffee and tea. They only made up the bed, didn’t actually change the sheets during the stay (5 nights). The reception staff changed every day and some were not very friendly. Certainly check in and check out were not very friendly, they didn’t really care at all, simply gave us the key and the bill when we left, no info given at all. The rooms need upgrading.

    Great location, easy to get to the hotel from Gare du Midi where the Charleroi airport shuttle arrives, as well as train from Brussels airport (15 min walk). City centre only a few minutes walk away. It has all you need for a nice stay, although nothing fancy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    The staff were super friendly and hotel was conveniently...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Its not fun bringing luggage from parking a street over.

    The staff were super friendly and hotel was conveniently located for some walking adventures.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.4
    I was horrified at the so-called fire exit arrangements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was horrified at the so-called fire exit arrangements. Signs on the first floor pointed the way along a dead-end corridor at the end of which was our room. A sign on the wall beside our room door pointed the way through our room! Moreover, there was no fire exit visible from the windows of our room. If there was a serious fire, and people followed the signs, they would be trapped.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No private parking Poor public parking space Safe to walk from this property to the center of Brussels. Not recommended to do it to the opposite direction after 9 p.m.

    Close to center of city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator in the room.

    Hotel has great location, very easy to reach Maneken Piss, and easy to reach from Brussels Midi station. Room are comfortable, bathroom was huge, well organised and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel, Perfect for a Short Stay in Brussels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It was in a great location, it was clean, the staff were helpful and it is very good value for money. If I went back to Brussels I would stay again and would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Very Clean.. Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Every time we went out the hotel, The front desk employee asked us to deliver the key

    Boutique Hotel.. Very clean rooms The location is excellent Room was quite big and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.7
    Large room, comfortable bed, and security box in the room
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking it was supposed to pay at the property ( no payment), but when I wanted to check out any pay, I was told that they had charged my card in advance!

    Large room, comfortable bed, and security box in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Nice room (with shower) toilet outside but realy not a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room (with shower) toilet outside but realy not a problem. The receptionist parked my car later as the parking spaces were ful when arriving - nice gesture ! Very close to everything ! Can only recomand this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff, Ok location, clean and Ok small hotel...
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, Ok location, clean and Ok small hotel w/o any extras. Breakfast not bad but for 10 EUR you can find the same or a bit better breakfast from the nearby cafés.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    location comfort accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    first taxi from airport at Charleroi was not welcoming and very expensive was unlike other taxi drivers during our stay

    location comfort accommodation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    3.3
    Dont go there.. unclean room and rude receiption
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and room smells.. bed sheet not clean.. drawers not clean.. extremly rude people at the reception .. dont go there

    Nothing.. dont go there even if it is within your budgget .. the location is good but there are many other hotes around..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    The best Hotel of our trip!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints, this property was amazing!

    I don't know if the man at the front desk owned the place, but he acted like it. He took great pride in being helpful and making sure that we were comfortable. I was surprised at how great the room was for the price. The largest most comfortable room of our entire trip. It was walking distance to most of the sites but just far enough away not to be touristy. I will be back for sure!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    Watch out, the "small room" IS small: a closet with a shower in another closet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do pay attention to the text on the description. They have 5 TINY rooms along with bigger rooms. I had the smallest room I have ever had in my life and LUCKILY there was no one using the lift since it is less than a meter from the lift doors. Tiny blurry tv

    Location, staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would take 2-3 minutes of waiting for the hot water for the shower to come through. A kettle was provided but no tea, coffee, sugar or mug.

    Room was clean, you could open the windows. Bed was comfortable. The city centre was walking distance. The main train station was walking distance. We had booked a room with a shared bathroom so were pleasantly surprised to find we had a shower in our room and only had to share a toilet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfort and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the wierd electric toilet, but there is a regular toilet in the hallway if it worries you.

    Lovely old hotel and nice room, staff very helpful and friendly. Good location if coming by train as between station and old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that i didnt like is that there is no Ac but a fan

    The location is perfect in the middle between gare midi and la grande place.there is a nice view on the a fountain.It was clean with two double beds and the staff was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    There's no bathroom in your room and it's not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no bathroom in your room and it's not specify when the book is made It specifies no credit card needed but you have to enter your card details 'just to confirm your reservation' and it doesn't say the payment for the accomodation will be done from your card. I was prepared with cash (euros) to pay at the reception and they told me they already withdrawn the money from my card (pounds). I was not happy with this transaction because I didn't allow it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Good location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge in the room.

    The location was very good, we did everything by foot. Although we only stayed one night, the hotel was very comfortable and most likely we will return to it when staying longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    A very good hotel. It is an old Dutch style hotel. But very clean rooms and neat bathroom. They even provide a kettle and tea/coffee sachets. Very close to all the attractions. You can see all the attractions by walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels had a bleachy smell but it wasn't too bothersome. Room was hot, we only had a fan and no air conditioning but windows could be open so it was alright.

    Located between Brussels-Midi and Central station (about 12-minute walk from each) and a 5-minute walk from the city centre (Grand Place, Manneken Pis, etc.) Bathroom was very large and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel A La Grande Cloche traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: