Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gravensteen 3 stars

Jan Breydelstraat 35, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#28 of 44 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2191 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    5.8
    Ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned room in that it was quite stuffy. The doors lock and a doorbell system is used to get in, we could hear it up in the 3rd floor.

    Ideal location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    5.8
    Central location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior tired, as if there have been one too many tourists. Our room in the annex felt sad and there was a smell of drains. Everything worked but there was something missing.

    Central location. Staff helpful and kind.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant city break in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointed that the room we stayed in was in a modern annex which overlooked a service yard/hotel garage and was noisy at times

    Location. Very good breakfast. Nice spacious room.Very helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    being at the back in the second building, I was looking at a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    being at the back in the second building, I was looking at a wall from the building behind at about 6 feet. not much to look at when the city is beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful, medieval Ghent. Well worth a visit and the hotel a great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set of steep narrow steps down to own bedroom. Difficult after a couple of Belgian beers

    The hotel was in a great location for exploring Ghent city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    My wife and I had a fantastic few days in Ghent - great weather, city, people and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of anything negative to say. Although you mentioned croissants and if I'm being honest they were not as flaky as I would have liked. However, your little pastries were beautiful and I ate quite a few each morning.

    Room and facilities were very nice and modern. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice. Location was perfect for seeing the city. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location, bang in the old town and close to the castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is advertised as a historic hotel. But it has a new wing, which is not very charming (modern, nondescript exterior and interior, no views) and where the breakfast room is also located. Unless you mention specifically that you want to reside in the old part, it is likely they put L you in the modern wing. There is no price difference. Only 1 person at the reception. There can be queues at check-in/check-out times. Check out already at 11, check-in not before 3pm

    Great location, bang in the old town and close to the castle, nice historic part of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    It was uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered room with air conditioner, I got room without. It was impossible to sleep in this room. Sleep with window closed was stuffy, and with window open very noisily. Our friends got a room in a different building, a room was with a broken sink, on the next day the washbasin was repaired only.

    Breakfast was very good Staff was friendly Location was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    We had a lovely long weekend in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wardrobe to hang clothes ( that's fine ) but no drawers to put your smalls in!

    Great location with all the main attractions within walking distance. Very friendly helpful staff. Good view from our room. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    A Must Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was wonderful here. We highly recommend staying here and would love to come back ourselves.

    This was a wonderful place to stay. Located in the center of everything but hotel was quiet and peaceful. Staff was friendly and helpful Room was clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast also.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    The location is marvelous;
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room on the 4th floor - where there is no elevator? So we had to carry our bags (which were many! As my sister came to Ghent to stay for 6 months) and no help was offered. The stuff was overall not too considerate. The breakfast is not worth the money. The coffee is really really bad.

    The location is marvelous; and the decor perfectly fits the romantic feeling about this nice city!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We traveled with a little child and a dog. Was given a room where there was a very steep staircase and this made in and out of the room a bit difficult. Also when getting in and out of the hotel with the pram staff did not offer to hold the door or help with the pram down the few steps.

    Perfect location and good breakfast. Easy to get around the town. Had parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location to walk to the shops, restaurants and sites
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park at the back of the hotel was very difficult to find, and after finding it even when the reception said there are space was full, and to move big family car in very tight space was rather stressful. We stayed two nights and had on both of the mornings hotels breakfast, and both mornings either hot food was finished or the cold cuts, way before the end of the breakfast time was to end. So I do not think the breakfast is value for money at all.

    Location was perfect, rooms nice and clean. Pet friendly hotel big plus!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    Basic hotel. Comfortable bed. Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic hotel. hallways look a bit outdated with old carpet and doors can use some new paint. Breakfast a little basic if you are used to a breakfast buffet. But ok. And a nice place to wake up in the morning.

    Basic hotel. Comfortable bed. Great location. Nice view. Relaxed atmosphere to wake up in. Beautfiul open wooden door in breakfast room. Had a good start of the day there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful last 2 nights to our annual holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like.

    Superb location. Comfy, spotless room with spectacular ceiling rose! Good breakfast. Parking, on sight, at 15 Euros per day well worth it. Very helpful reception staff. Would not hesitate to return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Although there was a lift to the nearest floor our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although there was a lift to the nearest floor our room was on, we then needed to climb a spiral set of stairs to access the actual room. There was no warning of this on our booking. NO air conditioning only a fan although some rooms did have air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location in a beautiful little city. Very comfortable two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is over several connected buildings. Steps within each floor is inconvenient. Change of room keys/lock during stay was a bit ordinary. We were not informed of the change.

    Location and a place to park the car. Close to centre of city and there is to see in Ghent in a day. Room airconditioned making sleep during hot and humid weather comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    It’s in a great location and I had a lovely view over the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom configuration was a little odd with a tiny separate toilet one side the the entrance and an equally tiny shower and basin opposite. There was no where to put anything in the shower room.

    It’s in a great location and I had a lovely view over the castle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, lovely hotel, the choice for Ghent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is tight, as you have to maneuver into a pedestrian zone and then around a few tight bends. with a large shogun, it was a challenge, but fun!

    It does not come more central than this in Ghent, with luxury and location mixing together in a perfect blend. Lovely hotel, and helpful staff, making this short stay one that will be repeated, and I know where I will say ;

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is perfectly located, right in the heart of Ghent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small stairs to come down to our rooms were very narrow and difficult to negotiate. Our room was on the main street with no air-conditioning, and we had to sleep with the windows open, which was very noisy all night long. While our kids, who had a quiet room on the garden side had air-conditioning, which seemed illogical.

    The hotel is perfectly located, right in the heart of Ghent, with the castle a few meters away, and all the main attractions, cafes and restaurants in walking distance. It was very clean, with comfortable beds. The wifi was great, always a bonus with teenage kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderfull Room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderfull room, but too hot without airco and opening the windows was too noisy as the cleaning service of the "Gentse Feesten" started cleaning very early.

    Wonderfull Room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hit and miss with the coffee and tea replenishment. Quite noisy during Gent Fest but then everywhere is . No drawers or shelves to unpack into

    Fantastic location and wonderful view of the castle from our room 32. Very modern and efficient walk in shower. Stylish decor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Old hotel needs refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is difficult to approach by car due to pedestrianised area. The instructions could be much clearer. Breakfast items open to dust and flies.

    Convenient location for restaurants, castle and river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to find by car. Do not rely on your navigation, follow their instructions! Front room we had a little noisy at night with windows open, but a small price to pay for the great room and the view.

    Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, as a bonus we were given a room upgrade to what felt like a small palace, with a very high, ornate stucco ceiling and marble fireplace. Felt like staying in Versailles! Nice view of the Gravensteen to boot. Great location as well with a short walk to the old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel in Ghent for a weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to our room (50) were somewhat narrow. Once you got used to them though it wasn't a major issue.

    Excellent location. Close to Gravensteen tram stop, so easy to get to train station. Walking distance from all the main sites. Friendly staff. Breakfast room with charming view across the canal. Though we visited during a heatwave the addition of a fan in the room was much appreciated at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Location | Friendly Staffs | Lobby Details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that suffer is NO AIR CONDITIONING during summer

    Location - Easy and walkable to everywhere FriendlyStaffs - Staffs are so much friendly LobbyDesign details and really beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting there by car and to car park was tricky and busy. Rooms are old. No aircon so its noisy at night with the windows open.

    Location was great. Staff friendly. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room with big comfortable bed, I liked the fact it had a bath. The buffet breakfast had a lot of choice and the location could not have been better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    On the way to Graspop!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    The location was amazing. The hotel was beautiful, parking on site, the staff treated us very well. We we're able to come and go as we pleased. The restaurants are great in the area and all of the sites to see were a short walk. Perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    Liked location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above re: fan and parking situation

    Liked the location, room was very warm no A:C we asked for a fan, originally told they didn’t have one but the maid produced one. Parking: the reception said she didn’t know if the parking garage had any space so we elected to use the alternative parking lot. They said it was the same price. When we went to get the car instead of 8euros the machine was going to charge 28.5!! This was a parking lot of a church. A priest then told me ‘25 was enough ‘ I only had a 20 euro bill so paid him to get our car. Maybe receptionist should have given our license number to the church (which we had to give to the hotel) anyway we feel we overpaid for parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Good stay in Ghent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was broken when we arrived, and there were too many stairs to arrive at the room. The reception staff were nice, but a little complicated.

    Confortable superior room in the annex

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely fantastic location lovely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could benefit from a fan or air conditioning

    Absolutely fantastic location lovely friendly staff. Room very hot and could benefit from some air conditioning especially in the warmer weather but other than this the room was a nice size and very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Extremely central, easy access to all tourist attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room noisy as we overlooked the street and had to have a window open as there was no air conditioning.

    Extremely central, easy access to all tourist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    really great location right in the middle of Gent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking permit you need to display in the car has all your personal details for anyone to see which is not a great idea in this day and age. I covered them up.

    Very clean.comfortable beds. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location with helpful staff, rooms were clean and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tea and coffee in room facilities were not good

    Great location with helpful staff, rooms were clean and we enjoyed the fact that the rooms were split on multiple floors (although it may not suit somebody uncomfortable with stairs).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Needs refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For £100+ per night the room was rather small and dated looking.

    Couldn't be more central. View of the castle from the front rooms and very quiet canal view at the back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Stay here - it is exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    The room was the one we asked for and the loft was perfect. Reception staff very friendly & helpful. Location perfect. Parking on property exceptional. The town is lovely lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Breat hotel to stay in to see all the city attractions, and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lights in the corridor in the new building need to come on quicker as there were 3 steps up at the start and could be tripped on easily because of it being quite dark.

    Hotel is beside the castle and the old town. Central to all attractions Breakfast bar had good selection of food. Staff were very helpful. Very good for a 3 star hotel. Room spacious and bed comfortable. Room very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location and good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was accessible, there were no grab rails by the toilet or shower and therefore not fully meeting accessible requirements.

    Excellent location and good sized room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location for touring Ghent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathrooms and the doors to the room will slam if your not careful

    Location, location, location. Walk to everything in 5 mins. Breakfast Buffett is a good value. They could make it better by improving the quality of the coffee. Staff is welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Great central location, perfect for exploring the wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location, perfect for exploring the wonderful city of Ghent. Helpful staff, good selection for breakfast. Lovely clean, comfortable and spacious room. Would definitely recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Good stay, overpriced (opinion)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too soft so very rough on the back (but spacious). Mediocre cleanliness, but not dirty. Loud hallway with doors slamming all mornings. High price for value in my opinion.

    Good location (tram 1 to/from gent st pieters station, Gravensteen castle, restaurants, chocolate and beer nearby). Good spoken English. Walkable area. Bar fridge for groceries. Nice shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant enough hotel but does look a bit tired in certain areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds instead of a double. Room was very noisy in a morning.

    Location. And the hotel supplied me with the gluten free bread that I'd requested. Breakfast room and breakfast were really nice. Location great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location but seriously dangerous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked our room 5 months in advance and were given a room on the third floor where renovations were happening outside the door. Not only that, there was a huge beam that ran diagonally from the floor to the ceiling across the middle of the room. We managed to hit our heads several times as you just do not expect to have an obstacle of that size to avoid every time you come in or out of the room. However, the location of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location! But too expensive for what it gives you back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smells bad when you open the tap to use the sink! The room smells bad when closed for the whole day! The bed is too small for 2 people and not comfortable.

    Location is great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    thank you to the Guy for getting our bicycles out of the fitness suite at 6AM in th3 morning he was Roumanian ( I cannot remember his name). Please say thank you to him from us I would appreciate it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Good stay in Gent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints stayed for one night only ....

    Perfect location for exploring Gent everything in walking distance. Rooms are very nicely equipped and spacious. Beds are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable Hotel in the Heart of the City
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation work is taking place and the workmen started at 7am which was little inconvenient.

    Very central in the heart of the city, a clean and comfortable hotel which provided a good quality continental breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.0
    Other than the fact, that this hotel is in a very good spot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the fact, that this hotel is in a very good spot in the city I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. The room was lit very poorly, the bed sheet was torn, the parking is really narrow, a big sedan would definatelly be a problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Great place, ideally located, just beware if you have a car to park.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is an absolute nightmare. Though they cannot really help the size of the spaces, or how difficult it is to maneuver in the parking area, they can provide better instructions on how to arrive at the parking area.

    Unbeatable location, and a nice room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    3.3
    the worst experience ever to stay in a hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception people in this hotel are very impolite and unprofessional when they deal with customer. They subscribed twice of my payment from my credit card. when I told them about their mistake, they don't apologize to me but try to find other excuse to hide their mistake. The attitude of them are very arrogant and rude, and they never take the customer's comment and feeling as the most important things but only care about the hotel's benefit! definitely not recommend to live in this hotel!

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to go to the gym but the code didn’t work so no clue if there’s a gym and how good the gym is. Staff didn’t gave us the code for the door for our building or the WiFi code, we had to go back for this instead they told us immediately. Kinda weird arrival

    Nice breakfast, lot of choice. location was great, right in the center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely stay, came home refreshed and itching to book again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little.

    The distance from tram - 50m, the welcome, the history, the attentive and friendly atmosphere, the cleanliness, the city, the food, the beer, the light festival and in particular - the romance!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge beam from ceiling made it difficult to get out from one side of the bed. Little room at foot of bed.

    Well located, nice outlook over old castle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful Ghent is all around you..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was weak. Room interior was ok ..with no view of the beautiful fort.. but positive side is u will spend more time outside ;).. driving to this location is not easy at all .. so be very careful of road signs.. u may end up in a restricted area..

    Location.location location.. . every amazing structure in Ghent was just a walking distance from the hotel..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Location, breakfast, great value for money, room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At reception the staff could be somewhat more friendly (for example with check-in), be more customer service oriented/be more welcomy

    Location, breakfast, great value for money, room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice but a bit tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is terrible, they don't tell you if there is availability in very small car park until you are nearly there then the multistory down the road is queuing for a long time as its the cheapest in the area

    Nice area near city centre. very good staff, very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    Faded elegance, over priced and sadly disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sadly this once impressive building has slid into poor maintenance. During our visit (4 rooms 3 nights) the bedside lamp in my daughters room fell on her head and the door closure which keeps the bedroom door closed (fire door) broke, the first was fixed by Axel, the second I fixed my self after 2 days of waiting (i'm a maintenance engineer in a large Victorian building, so know what i'm doing). Along with mildewed ceilings in the shower, frayed carpet in the public areas, the slowest lift in the world,a poor cleaning schedule and tripping and falling down a flight of 8 steps, the hotel didn't really do very much to impress me.

    If is wasn't for the fantastic staff at the hotel it would have scored even lower. One person in particular (Axel) saved New Years Eve by finding a restaurant for us at the last moment, all the staff were attentive and very helpful. The location is the key to this hotel and that's probably why and how they can charge so much for the rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.8
    We were disappointed
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the main building, the room is in need of renovation, very creaking floor and much too soft mattresses. The douce is beautiful (and renovated) but very cold. The extraction system did not work. In the room of our children it smelled badly.

    The Location is perfect, breakfast room was to small. Some people must waiting for a table.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.1
    Great Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in 15:00 but check out 11:00 ?? I do not think it is logical. Also we waited half an hour to get our room for this they upgrated us to a bigger room but it was very at the top, we needed to climb with all the luggages :(

    Great Location, Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slippery bathroom floor, fell coming out of the shower. Car parking directions need clarifying as situated in a pedestrianised and one way system.

    Helpful staff. Comfy beds. Good breakfast. Fantastic location for the historic centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location, great value but manage your expectations for the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needed a bit of maintenance (ie automatic door shutter hanging from the door frame, Safe not working. The layout of the room is a bit dis-functional and the decoration is dull.

    Location is perfect, staff very nice and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location to explore a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to park near to hotel which was full.

    Excellent buffet breakfast, slight issue with the electricity supply on our last morning, but the staff rallied round to get all the customers served. Excellent location for Gravensteen Castle and the historic centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    The bed and the breakfast were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fitness room was very bad (very small, poor equipment). Bedroom comfortable but not enough for a 3 stars hotel (electric plug were visible).

    The bed and the breakfast were good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable for our visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 15; tucked in the corner off the first floor main landing. Historic building accepted but considerable noise from foyer, meeting room, circulation area and Bar [open until 3.00am !] & nearby nightclub with consequent external noise. Inaccurate directions for Hotel on B.com for tram from station, headed in opposite direction !

    good central location, easy access to all sites and areas, opp Castle and near canals. Comfortable room and bed and good breakfast available at reasonable times. Reception staff very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    3.8
    The location is good but the stuff qnd service is awful and dangerous to make you loose a train
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unprofessional on checkin - they made me wait 45 mins because of a lost key issue by the clealong lady - they asked me if I wish to drink something I v replied the simplest , just an espresso - I thought it was complimentary for the delay but I it was not - one day after they charged me without even send me a billl. On thé check out time 05 30 nobody was on the receception so I could not call a taxi and I had to run. The check In is already 1500 so is awful to be inside your room almost an hour after - the funny thing is if you wish to be earlier you get charger 10 € but they delay , no word! Unbelievable and no sense of hospitality IMHO

    Thé view on the third floor was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again and recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find the way into the hotel car park

    Perfect location over looking the castle and central for good pubs and restaurants.Transport is outside the hotel to get you around the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location, near old centre.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to find by car - my sat nav kept trying to send us up roads designated for taxis and buses only, or in the wrong direction on one way streets. HOWEVER, once we eventually joined the route given on the booking confirmation, the remainder of the route was fairly easy. Don't try to head across the city, get onto the ring-road first, then aim for Bruggsepoortstraat and Hoogstraat. Washroom / shower absolutely tiny - had to keep door open to create enough space to wash and dry properly.

    Great location, near old centre. Lots of good restaurants and bars in close proximity. On site parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    A good stay, very central to everything Ghent has to offer.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More parking to be available due to the fact if you moved your car you easily lost your space as there were not many, after which you have to park well away from the hotel, very inconvenient. When you pay for a superior room you do not expect to pay for all the little extras in the room (that make it superior) if you chose to use them eg: a bottle of water.

    The bed seemed to slope towards the middle. The room décor was tired and a bit dated, the whole hotel needs a good paint and tidy up although it was still very nice and in-keeping with the surrounding buildings. The staff were very nice and the breakfast was a good choice (typical continental).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.1
    Good Hotel, comfortable and well situated
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park charges are too high for leisure travellers. The younger female reception staff need training in customer care. At least look interested in talking to the clients

    Location of the hotel right in the centre. Stayed at the hotel in the 1980`s and décor has somewhat improved.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful city and good value hotel apart from the additional parking fees which ramp up the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to walk to another building for breakfast particularly in the rain. Lack of parking facilities and the cost of parking per day

    Well located to access the old town. We saw people with dogs in the town but not at the hotel so don’t know about dog friendliness. The staff were polite and helpful. The rooms were clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Loved Ghent and would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the annexe on the third floor. The window arrangement was not very convenient - tilt and turn and fully functioning curtains/blinds would have helped.

    Excellent breakfasts. Comfortable room with tea/coffee making facilities which were replenished, (as were toiletries). Superb location in historic centre of Ghent. Friendly, helpful staff. We were immediately given a town plan, which helped us explore right from the start.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel in excellent spot for Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good tea and coffee facilities, but no milk. Not the fault of the hotel, but the bin collection at 4.30 in the morning was a bit disruptive as was the high number of deliveries to the restaurant opposite.

    Good size rooms. Bathroom facilities good, shower excellent. Although the bath is a bit high to climb in and out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, but poor customer service really let this hotel down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    €100 taken by accident, this was rectified but through exchange meant we lost £7? When we questioned it, receptionist became incredibly rude & started shouting. So much so that a colleague had to step in. My husband apologised for any misunderstanding & receptionist gave us 2 middle fingers!!! Manager was informed & said both parties were to blame! This is a real shame as we enjoyed our stay, but cannot make excuses for poor customer service.

    Excellent location Fantastic room with castle view Great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location for sightseeing & boat tours - spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a hotel fault - but the restaurants & bars in Ghent seemed overly expensive....

    Great location for sightseeing & boat tours - spacious & comfortable room - good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Gravensteen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: