Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Groenendaal 3 stars

Groenendaalsesteenweg 145, 1560 Hoeilaart, Belgium

#2 of 3 hotels in Hoeilaart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.3
    Avoid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During my stay, the internet didn't work and they blamed me for breaking it. (Seriously.) They claimed that they were going to try to fix it, but it never worked over three days, and I'm pretty sure they stopped trying to fix it -- their goal was just to wait me out. What's worse, they were very unpleasant about it. I needed internet to do work, and they were basically just like: "it doesn't work; quit asking us about it; go away." That was my main problem with the hotel. (I posted my complaint on another travel website, and the manager replied and did not deny any of this! He just said: "you are annoying." Yes, I guess it is annoying when a guest asks you to fix something and you don't want to!) There was another kind of annoying thing about the hotel: it's very tightly insulated, so when someone opens the door to the restaurant downstairs, your room door moves upstairs. Given the internet and door problems, I wanted to leave early. But they charged me the full amount for my stay (3 days in advance), and they said they couldn't give me a refund at the hotel. I would have to call a number at a central office for a refund, and that office was closed over the weekend. Ultimately, my view is: this place is run on the cheap. It's a nice and comfortable room in a good looking building. But the service is no good. If you need help you have to ask the waiters in the restaurant. And they can't help. You can take a chance like me (wish I didn't!) or find a proper hotel.

    It's a nice room and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Historic building;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from train other traffic; no breakfast available in hotel nor nearby other than at gas station.

    Historic building; big room, located in small village about 30 min from Brussels, forest for walking nearby; forest appears to be a horse-riding paradise

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, Comfortable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an uncharacteristically hot few days and there were only quite thick duvets on the beds which was rather hot in the night. We were also surprised that there was no option of breakfast on the Sunday morning.

    The hotel was really lovely and beautifully decorated. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. It is in a perfect location for the train station and the restaurant and outside garden are lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    No breakfast until 12:00, but late checkout included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mention of no breakfast at check in. Fortunately we know the area well and found a bakery not too far away. But that might not work out for most people.

    The description should mention that this hotel does NOT serve breakfast, at least not until noon - when they open for brunch. On they other hand, they don't mind if you check out at 1:30 or 2:00pm. So in a sense a late checkout is included for free. This might be ideal for late sleepers or people who would like to go biking or running in the forest and take a shower before you leave (like us). The rooms are nice and clean. Note however that next door there's a bar/club and it's also close to railway tracks. We got a room on the 2nd floor and it didn't bother us too much. But if you have sensitive ears and don't go back to sleep easily you might want to look elsewhere. All-in-all the quirky no-breakfast-but-late-checkout situation fitted our needs perfectly, but it's better that you're aware.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    6.7
    Convenient for visiting Brussels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In spite of a restaurant on the premises, there is no breakfast available. I had a room above the kitchen (room 1) and it smelled continuously of smoke. Good for one night, but if you want to stay longer, you better ask for another room. The focus is clearly on the restaurant, and the hote-reception is not manned very often.

    The hotel is well situated in a green environment, next to train station. But with the windows closed, there is little noise. The restaurant is reasonably good, and comfortable, it has a large outside terrace, which must be nice in summer. Coffee/tea facilities in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Still the best easy airport access hotel I've found around Brussels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The previous week they had a flood on the second floor because of a guest, not their fault but they were still recovering from that. The room had a noisy radiator (it was clear they were aware and trying to hammer out the problem) and the window did not seal property resulting in a whine unless it was opened. There is one of those enormous circular shower head in the shower stall but it was not yet hooked up. Shame, I love those. This place is newly re-opened and still working out some bugs so I would not want to judge them based on these details.

    Great location, I stay here when I need to be at the airport the next morning. Ring road hotels are awful, I tried this place years ago and never looked back. Its right next to a rail stop but the trains do not run late and are impressively quiet. The hotel is now under new management, has had a major face lift and is being run more seriously than before, but they are still working out the bugs. Nice sized rooms, high ceilings and comfy bed. Every room very distinctive. this place could not look less like a cookie-cutter chain hotel. I've never found anything compelling in the area, but with the adjacent train station Brussels is minutes away. Outstanding restaurant and they have developed the back into a nice terrace.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful friendly and helpful service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast - but coffee or tea available from bar in morning

    Wonderful friendly and helpful service. Splendid large room and very comfortable bed. Super clean - modern cheerful decor. First class restaurant for lunch or dinner. Peaceful setting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    No invoice at reception, too warm in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No invoice at reception, too warm in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Conveniently located for the purpose of the trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel next door to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise of the trains

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    no breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Amazing service from Willy the GM.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Amazing service from Willy the GM.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Friendliness of manager, nice rooms, good wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendliness of manager, nice rooms, good wifi

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    6.7
    Nice rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No one around in the morning. No check-out with invoice possible. I'm chasing them since weeks for my invoice.

    Nice rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.5
    Super service from the host!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was next to a busy rail line.

    Super service from the host! Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    5.8
    nice decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed not suitable for tall people. hot water comes from cold water tab. no shower, just a bad.

    nice decoration. fine restaurant, excellent cuisine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.2
    Efficient and friendly staff, rooms very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Efficient and friendly staff, rooms very clean.Wasnt sure about the reception decor to start off with but by the end of my stay had grown to like it.Nice relaxing garden area out the back and well kept. Would use it again if in the area

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    6.3
    Situated by railway station so ideal for travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No tea/coffee in room. Drilling at 12 midnight. Sound resonates from downstairs to rooms so sound muffling required when trying to sleep. Luminous blue light above door so difficult to sleep & could not turn it off. Isolated hotel & little there with grafitied railway station so grim area.

    Situated by railway station so ideal for travel. Hotel Manager friendly & helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Manager very much part of the positive impression
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Manager very much part of the positive impression

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Browse Hotel Groenendaal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: