Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Groeneveld

Torhoutsesteenweg 655, Raversijde, 8400 Ostend, Belgium

#25 of 34 hotels in Ostend

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 364 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    7.5
    pleasant and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    concrete stairs need a carpet

    parking rooms only on the second floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    6.7
    Not for a warm and humid night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My disappointment started when I noticed there is no lift and I have to take the luggage upstairs (only one floor of course) myself. The size of the room was OK. The main problem was with lack of airconditioning in the room. It happened that the night we stayed at this hotel was warm and humid. We hardly slept! Moreover, the matteresses were not comfortable for me. They were too soft. I know that its a matter of taste but it added to the warm humid weather and avoided us from sleeping. :-)

    The hotel has a nice garden where you can relx and have a nice time. The staff are very nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.3
    Pros - nice room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cons - No reception for TV ... So no TV ... Internet gets cup off before you check out so couldn't let family know I was leaving .. Mine was cut when i awoke .. no staff around to ask for it to be connected till i left .. Expensive for what you get

    Pros - nice room .. comfortable bed, clean, close to centre ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent selection of bread,pastries for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only downside is the restaurant is not open every evening (appears to be for private functions only)and lack of alternatives nearby without a car, particularly on a Sunday.

    Excellent selection of bread,pastries for breakfast. Easy access from the motorway. Lovely patio/garden area to sit out when the weather is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    very good mattress and we had a really good night sleep.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good mattress and we had a really good night sleep. the breakfast is excellent. it is situated in a busy road with lots of shops and also close to town. there is a nice garden in the back. although it is on a busy road it is quite in the room and in the restaurant too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    7.9
    We'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic clean hotel out in the Ostend suburbs. Excellent if you like to be surrounded by used car dealers, mattress shops, electronics shops and tyre dealers. Buses into town every ten minutes from a stop about 400 meters away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    6.3
    Don't bother !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Distinct impression that the hotel couldn't have cared less about its guests. States has a restaurant the reason this hotel was chosen. Enquired about dinner, advised to book only to be told 5minutes later that there weren't enough people staying at the hotel so restaurant wasn't open that night. Two mile round trip on foot along a busy road to get a meal at a recommended restaurant-most expensive mussels we have ever eaten!! Only way we knew there were staff in the hotel was when one of the bells was rung and someone grudgingly appeared. Belgian family with young child suffered similar fate . Their plight was worse as they arrived after6 to no one there. Do not believe what they claim to say they offer on the website.

    Breakfast included in the room price and was the only time the staff interacted with the guests. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2016

    7.5
    Excelent choice for family´s or overnight to catch an early flight from the nearby airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In their restaurant there where 3 tables having supper. I was seated there 20 minutes without seeing a waiter. I left the restaurant.

    The hotel rating is a 3* but deserves a 3+, almost a 4*.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2016

    8.5
    Convenience of location in relation to motorway and visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being aware of restaurant closed in the evening, contrary to information provided in the room.

    Convenience of location in relation to motorway and visiting the Commonwealth War Graves

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.1
    Clean, amability
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kind crew

    Clean, amability

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely family room, just the right size for 4 and only a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely family room, just the right size for 4 and only a 5-10 minute drive from central Ostend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was very comfortable, the only downside was the...
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea or coffee available within the hotel.

    The hotel was very comfortable, the only downside was the Restaurant and Bar were not available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wifi signal in bedroom

    Convenient location. Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.5
    Well , I arrived late after midnight 🕛, and left early . Not too much to say
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    6.3
    If you need a short stay close to airport
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very cold. I had to open the heater to the max and removed the bed. Internet was not working.

    Very close to airport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    10
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    10
    Very good breakfast
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2016

    10
    Great stop off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Located in a commercial area

    Staff very helpful, nice breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2016

    3.8
    I would not recommend this place to a friend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly staff, room smelt of smoke, bed uncomfortably, no hot water for a shower in the early morning before I left.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2016

    7.5
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distant sound of music coming from the restaurant until 03.30 a.m. doesn't help having a good night's sleep.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2015

    9.2
    very good continental breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good continental breakfast.FREE PARKING,main road position about 3 miles to centre Ostend,1 mile to good beach,own transport is a must,no hot drink facility in room but I take my own,used this hotel about 25 times in last 5 years

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2016

    4.6
    cant comment after looking at the menu didn't eat there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the attitude of the staff no bar empty restraint

    cant comment after looking at the menu didn't eat there

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2016

    5.8
    Staff were very friendly and the situation was great for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very basic and dated

    Staff were very friendly and the situation was great for our onward journey to the Channel Tunnel

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2016

    9.6
    Great stay as usual!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great stay as usual! For me this hotel ticks all the boxes. - location,parking good breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2015

    6.7
    Staff and car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor location for eating out

    Staff and car park

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    8.3
    On the main road easy for trips into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the main road easy for trips into town

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2015

    5.0
    Restaurant shut both evenings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant shut both evenings. Nothing around the hotel. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Could do with a little updating.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: