Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hébergement Chatoîment 1 stars

Rue Brixhe, 39, 4900 Spa, Belgium

#9 of 13 hotels in Spa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 158 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice old chateau of 1850.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared facilities of shower and toilet were no problem. But just be aware that to reach the toilet (at least from our room) you have to either ascend or descend the stairs which could be tricky for some. Also, and this is not a criticism of the hotel, there is a steep hill up to it from the town. Again, maybe difficult for some.

    Nice old chateau of 1850. Close to centre of Spa and near restaurants and bars. Great host willing to please. Breakfast set us up for the day no problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Charming B&B
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very special Bed & Breakfast, with charm. Breakfast super good, they even include soja milk wo having to request it, what I really appreciate. Confortable and clean. The owners are warm, polite and helpful, they def made our stay better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice centenary house in a good location, but ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are clammy (by sunny autumn days). May be better during the wintertime. The kitchen (to share) is in the cellar and really humid. I was desappointed by the beakfast : no local products (Aldi/Lidl), except for the bread which was good and various. The egg was overcooked and almost cold and if you don't eat Gouda cheese, so much for that.

    Location : short walking distance to the city center (downwards) and the Thermes (upwards). The price is reasonable The owners are welcoming and inconspicious; yet I could practice a bit my dutch ;-) where I didn't expect it ... The place is really quite - this obviously depends on the number of gests ! This is an old house ... The beautiful wooden floors creak ...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    nice play and overall very welcoming owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    the amount of showers.

    you dont look for luxe, but the owners are extremely kind and the breakfast is very good, coffee, thee, cheese, bread, croissants, etc..there are many toilets in the property which is perfect. I would add two more showers for the rush hour moment. the property is perfectly located and only 5 minutes walking from downtown.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Very Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one Electric plug in. Some difficulties To recarge Electronics eqipment

    The owner i Very gently, Friendly Ready To solve each problem. The old house is new refitted. I hope To visit again The apartment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    I agree with all those who say that if you ever return to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's something that comes with an old house, not a criticism: there is no lift - and the stairs are quite steep, even just to get to the house. So if you're thinking of minimizing your stair count, I'd recommend going for a room on the first, rather than on the second floor.

    I agree with all those who say that if you ever return to Spa, once you've stayed in Chatoiment, you'll want to return. It's full of interesting furnishing details, lovingly kept, with views over the town, not too far to the Thermes. The hosts are multilingual hosts, prepare you copious breakfast and provide lots of help if you need it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Charming and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs and floors in the hall creaked, so it might not be suitable for light sleepers if there were many guests. Not really a criticism. It is a side effect of staying in an authentically old villa.

    Beautifully furnished with antiques. It was like living in a mansion! I wish I could have sat in the garden, as it looked charming, but it rained quite a bit when I was in Spa. 10 minute walk into Spa.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Enchanting
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    A truly magical place run by friendly and considerate people. I cannot recommend it enough. It was magical. I felt at home! And the bed was the most comfortable bed I slept in a long while.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    Unique setting. If you can look past (very) minor issues, this is great accomodation for €100/double
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable, minor issues (faucet hard to close, breakfast could've had yoghurt, cereal/muesli, more fruit)

    Very friendly staff, nice eclectic interior. Easy to find and in good location!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Sophisticated antique guest house with charme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are business guest of modern luxury chain hotels, forget it about this place. If you love old houses with atmosphere, nice sophisticated owners to chat with, high ceilings and wonderful antique furniture around you with lovely breakfast then it is the perfect place for you to stay in Spa. If you don t mind to have clean, but share bathroom and stairs without elevator. For me it was just perfect. Spa is small place walkable, Spa thermal is short walk from the house as well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Wouldn't dream of sleeping anywhere else in Spa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about this property. It is old and quaint and it has tonnes of charm. The hosts are very friendly. Really at a loss to find something we didn't like!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Great staff, location and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, location and rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful location, but the room was comfy and the owners wonderful. The back garden is a wonderf
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful location, but the room was comfy and the owners wonderful. The back garden is a wonderful place for a cup of tea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Very charming historic small hotel, it's back in the woods it's front 3 min on foot from center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts turned the heater on before my arrival so room was warm when I arrived very pleasant and attentive!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    The hotel is very beautiful in the interior, a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very beautiful in the interior, a good breakfast, up to the terms 10-15 minutes walk. The owners are very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Charming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Stylish and charming accomodation:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many thanks to the wonderful owners. We will surely come back one day!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    breakfast
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Lovely bed and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This lovely bed and breakfast was great to stay at. The staff was very helpful in accommodating us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    8.3
    It was great to spend a night at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The house was a bit cold Friday evening as during the winter it's only open during the weekends.

    It was great to spend a night at this hotel. The owners were really kind and made me feel home.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful hosts. Perfect location. I really enjoyed my stay here. It is close to beautiful walks in nature and you can just walk into the lovely city of Spa. Lovely breakfast and a very comfortable room. Nice and quiet. I would really recommend Chatoiment!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful hosts, really charming castle-like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful hosts, really charming castle-like hotel, located on a hill (in a quiet area) but close to both - the city center and the famous spa, tasty and generous breakfast (I've never left the hotel hungry)

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    The owners are wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owners are wonderful. The building is funky. Spa is a nice place to take a break and this place was perfect. You have to share facilities but everything about this place is good. The owners and the breakfast are the highlights.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    The hospitality was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing, everything was perfect!

    The hospitality was amazing.. Such a genuine couple who went out of their way to make my stay perfect! Was attending a wedding and wanted to get a taxi to the venue but instead they gave me a lift as it was nearby

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    A great experience which added to enjoyment of our trip to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not being able to stay longer in Spa.

    A great experience which added to enjoyment of our trip to Spa. We took a trip around the town aided by information from our hosts. We were 6 miles from our venue at the race circuit, which was easily accessible from the hotel. Plenty of good restaurants 300 meters from the hotel and all not expensive. I would like to thank our hosts for a wonderful reception and hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    We stayed at this hotel last year and the stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I really cannot fault the hotel

    We stayed at this hotel last year and the stay was good. This year, the owners have listened to complaints and improved the wifi connection. The hotel is great, perfectly located, quiet, warm and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    This was my third time at the property and as always it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was my third time at the property and as always it was an excellent stay

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    9.6
    Unique, homely and fantastic hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No ensuite facilities....

    Unique, homely and fantastic hosts.....

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.6
    Great hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Great hospitality. Good breakfast. Host speak both english and dutch. GREAT

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    5.8
    A CHARMING PERIOD GUEST HOUSE.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    TOILETS UPSTAIRS/DOWNSTAIRS. SHARED SHOWER. DIFFICULT TO FIND.

    A CHARMING PERIOD GUEST HOUSE.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    10
    Wunferbar plüschiges altes Bürgerhaus - absolut stimmiges...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wunferbar plüschiges altes Bürgerhaus - absolut stimmiges Anti-Plastik-Hotel

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    10
    Extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely helpful. Good location to town centre

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.2
    Staying at the hotel is to experience Spa as it was in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staying at the hotel is to experience Spa as it was in nineteenth century.Proprietors very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful family owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Wonderful family owners. Amazing property with fabulous period rooms. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast and unique style
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Never had a bad experance in 10 visits

    Breakfast and unique style

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful old house charm and the owners are a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful old house charm and the owners are a lovely helpful couple. The wifi was strong and worked excellently.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.5
    The landlady was very pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One of the toilets had mold and the property was very cold in temperature

    The landlady was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.2
    Hosts always go out of their way to make my stay perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hosts always go out of their way to make my stay perfect

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: