Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais & Châteaux Hotel Heritage 4 stars

Niklaas Desparsstraat 11, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#14 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 86 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Nice little boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was the bathroom was immediately beside the bed and had automatic lights. Whenever you opened the door the lights would turn on which was not helpful late at night.

    Great location within walking distance of almost everything. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was well apportioned and clean. Lots of nice touches like fresh fruit and hand written notes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall ok. But hotel restaurant closed on Sunday... rooms on the small side. For the price your expect better from a relais et château

    Great location Close to a parking. Don’t use valet 9€ for 24h at parking and 35€ with valet...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything! Especially the lounge with fireplace and comfy soffaa. I spent good few hours relaxing and had tea which was served with chocolate mousse, chocolate coated berries and cockies, absolutely delicious and in every way this hotel exceeded my expectation. Way better than staying in a big hotel where your experience could be more average. This place has a real home feel to it. Definitely recommend to everyone else. Worth all your money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    A sanctuary in the heart of Bruges!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the hotel restaurant was closed during our stay however this was informed on the properties own website had we checked in advance.

    The staff were absolutely wonderful and ensured our stay was relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel most welcome. A genuine home away from home property!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was beautiful but a bit small for two people with luggage.

    Nice to have a Nespresso maker in the room. Breakfast was a buffet, but they did make eggs. GREAT location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Supurb hotel, and great location in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were amazing, and so friendly. The room came with a lot of extras and was very snazzy. We were going to take public transport to the hotel, but then change our minds last minute and snagged a taxi... which was the right thing to do. The hotel is tucked behind the market, and the market is full to the brim with people. Our taxi driver was amazing at getting us through, and it was only eight euro for the ride. Completely worth it. (He was also an amazing tour guide :) ) The location is great and close to some of the best sights in Bruges. I highly recommend staying here. The restaurant was closed during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Everything was very good - accommodation, breakfast, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very good - accommodation, breakfast, staff very attentive to the needs of the clients; I highly recommend the hotel and their services.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    No-brainer hotel for Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely terrific hotel. We even had the opportunity to privately use the sauna. Congratulations to the hotel's teams for their great service attitude

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    Romantic atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    * Room number 26 is above the restaurant's kitchen, and on one evening smell of smoke filled our room, until the dinner was over at 23:30. The staff offered us to switch rooms, however we'd suggest to avoid the hassle and request a different room from the beginning. * The lighting in the bathroom is a bit dim * The water pressure could be stronger

    * Excellent decor * Very comfortable bed * Big shower * Quiet room * Very clean * Stereo system, tea and coffee machine in room * Daily chocolates!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little pricey but good selection.

    Fantastic hotel. Great location by the main square, lovely room and staff were very friendly. Beautifully furnished.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    An enjoyable stay in a top class Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I understand that this may sound petty, but considering the attention to detail of the facilities provided in the room, I was surprised to find that there was a charge for bottled water. The other problem we found, was the lighting. It was either everything on or everything off, with no way just to have one lamp on.

    The staff were all very helpful and attentive, the location ideal and the food was exceptional, but at a price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Everything you would expect from this brand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Theatre View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and owner. The hotel is in a superb position

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Super location, extremely relaxing and lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been better with dietary requirements but generally excellent.

    Breakfast was amazing and the restaurant for dinner was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay in central but quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive it would have been nice if it was included.

    Fantastic hotel with lovely staff who were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Water pressure in bathroom is bad and even with temperature...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in bathroom is bad and even with temperature control on, room was cold

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel with amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel with amazing staff. We will never stay anywhere else in Bruges from now on.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    very very small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very very small rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    A luxury break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff was wonderful from the moment we checked in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Theatre View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was wonderful from the moment we checked in through our departure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Terrific
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.9
    Classy accommodation in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    comfortable old-fashioned hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nespresso and ipad in the room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in beautiful Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and cramped room. Lots of items were not needed.

    Location, cleanliness, beautiful furniture and excellent staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Special place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noting at all we had a wonderful stay !

    Superb hotel with excellent staff and a wonderful resturant thank you we can't wait to return !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    10
    Stunning property in perfect location in the very center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning property in perfect location in the very center of historic Bruges. Friendly and attentive staff, with all the small details covered. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    9.6
    The service and the attention to detail is amazing -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    While the location is very convenient, at 3 AM it can still be a bit quite noisy on the streets after the bars have closed. By no means the fault of the property or staff, but a tradeoff to consider.

    The service and the attention to detail is amazing - absolutely first class. The rooms are nice, and the location is very central (just a block from the Belfort Tower and square). We celebrated our anniversary, and were delighted to find that they had brought us champagne and strawberries.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    We loved the ambiance, service, rooms, bar, hammam &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked everything

    We loved the ambiance, service, rooms, bar, hammam & sauna rooms, gym and overall calmness & friendliness. A wonderful stay with friends.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.3
    Perfect location in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are a bit too small for what you pay

    Perfect location in the center of the city. Lovely cosy hotel with a personal touch to it which we really appreciated

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    The hotel has efficient, friendly service, and beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like to sleep with the window open but we were unable to do this due to the street being exceptionally noisy. However the room had air conditioning so we remained comfortable, and on Sunday morning the street sounds weren't quite so bad so we were able to keep the window open and hear the beautiful chimes of the medieval clock tower nearby.

    The hotel has efficient, friendly service, and beautiful rooms. I've never booked a weekend in a luxurious hotel before and was anxious that the experience should live up to our expectations. I'm happy to say it exceeded them; we felt relaxed and at home there, and would highly recommend it as a peaceful, romantic place to go, just a few minutes walk from the main square (and supermarket). Bruges itself is amazing, but the hotel definitely enhanced the experience and we are keen to come back.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.9
    The location is faultless, and the staff are accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was tiny, and cramped, and the for the money not to have breakfast included was an insult.

    The location is faultless, and the staff are accomodating.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.6
    The staff were always very helpful and put a note under the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have given excellent for all categories but the spa/gym was undergoing refurbishment so was not open for our visit.

    The staff were always very helpful and put a note under the door each morning with the weather forecast.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    10
    Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all!

    Amazing place. Staff were exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    10
    Nice, comfortable fairytale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice, comfortable fairytale... I went wth a girlfriend and it was beautiful. Hotel is really close to the main square.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    6.7
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room, bad value for money

    Great staff

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The restaurant was closed when wen came in January which we didn't know when we booked.

    Everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    Central location, very comfortable room, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location, very comfortable room, very attentive/friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.6
    Helpfulness of staff, iPod dock in room, complimentary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nil

    Helpfulness of staff, iPod dock in room, complimentary chocolate & drinks in room

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    The staff was well above expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    We only booked two nights.

    The staff was well above expectations. They were helpful and seemed to know what we needed before we asked.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    Luxurious facility with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Luxurious facility with friendly and helpful staff. Located steps from the historical center of town. Very hospitable.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.2
    just a fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we didn't have any

    just a fantastic place

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    Wonderful attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower/tub difficult for physically challenged

    Wonderful attentive staff. Prime location.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    The personal touch that was provided for every service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The personal touch that was provided for every service.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel in beautiful city with excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel in beautiful city with excellent location

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.6
    Locations convenient to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very small, as was the bathroom, but comfortable bed and good air conditioning.

    Locations convenient to everything

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    Very helpful staff--lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff--lovely location. Breakfast very good.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    Perfect location, great rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location, great rooms. Family owned hotel with little touches that go above and beyond.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    10
    Great location and very attentive and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked it all.

    Great location and very attentive and friendly staff. Parking under hotel was a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    10
    The staff were very caring and the food was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very caring and the food was wonderful

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    10
    Excellent location, excellent cuisine, nice friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, excellent cuisine, nice friendly and welcoming staffs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: