Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre 3 stars

Veemarkt 37 C, 2800 Mechelen, Belgium

#19 of 29 hotels in Mechelen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1390 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the street at 3.15 in the morning. I think it was the laundry service collecting and delivering towels and bed sheets for the hotel.

    The concept of the ground floor with the reception and living room/breakfast area and with the possibility to buy refreshments and other useful items. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit outdated and could use a little make over. Wifi is not the best. The bed is small.

    The hotel exceeded our expectations. We expected a 7 and it was far better. Good value for money. The hotel is just off the main square. Big rooms. Breakfast is good. Coffee and tea facilities in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got exactly what we wanted though we slept only a few hours in the hotel: quick check in despite of our late arrival, quick check out, breakfast was prepared for us specially because we left earlier than usual breakfast time, very professional and polite receptionist, clean hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture in the lounge area is a bit grungy.

    I loved the breakfast selections: nice selection of breads, cheeses, ham, yogurt, waffles. Lots of interesting toppings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No curtain or glass wall in the shower, which leaves the floor wet constantly and is very annoying. At the check-out staff didn't ask about the stay, which then I have to share here. If you put people in the room for disabled just for a sake of saving time for a cleaning lady by covering up one floor of rooms, it's a mistake. As it does not save time, but probably increases her work as the bathroom floor is flooded and an increased number of towels does not help. Since this is a 3-star hotel - consider buying a mop or similar to eliminate this problem. Also, none of the little requests were taken into account, we have asked for an upper floor and quiet room - we accommodated on the first floor facing the street.

    Great location, perfect for a weekend stay, fairly good breakfast, very clean rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in a middle of one snow storm and they gave to us a room with the heater not working. The breakfast was poor. They charge you like a 4 star hotel and it is not.

    The efficiency of Sui the Desk Manager

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel charged several of our friends 16 Euros to park a car in their garage (Saturday 18.30 to Sunday 11.30). We ended up parking our car in the public Parking Veemarkt (<100 meters from the hotel) for the same time period for half the price.

    Very nice bed, excellent breakfast. Very good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be more transparent, if the receptionist informs the hotel guests that want to use the parking that it costs 16 euros! FYI, just next to the hotel, there is an underground parking that costs 8-9 euros per night.

    Very good stay. Tasty breakfast. Recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - no complaints, especially not at the rate we payed

    - beds and linen very comfortable - staff friendly, no issues because we checked out a bit late - breakfast very rich, fresh and delicious - location is extremely close to the center/most attractions are in walking distance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Travel cot should have fitted sheets for baby's safety. Main bed was a bit small. A wardrobe would have been better rather than open plan.

    Breakfast very good - a lot of choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had that stuffy and hot feeling that is especially common in hotel rooms from chain hotels. We opened the window and increased the fan and A/C, but despite this, the room heated up overnight.

    All the staff were friendly, on the ball and knew exactly what they had to do and how to do it. The room was fully set up (for family use) and clean, as was the bathroom. And the breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My Rooms walls seem to have been paper thin. Listening to the room next door throwing up during the night was not pleasant. Nor did I want to listen to the telephone conversation he had in the morning.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The waffle maker a breakfast was a nice treat. Nice hot quick waffles. Yum. Room was pleasant and comfortable. Handy location to buses and train station, and main square. Staff were helpful getting taxis for us and helping out with queries.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. Maybe consider creating space for a gym in the future

    Breakfast which is constantly improving comparing to my previous visits to the hotel (e.g. Waffle maker), fast check in, clean hotel, free wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small. Parking cost unfair, if you have a room you shouldn't have to pay for the parking. It's free in England!!

    Lovely choice for breakfast. Kind helpful English speaking staff. Good facilities, especially the ice machine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small but had everything you need. Being charged so much for parking wasn't great.

    Lovely furnishings and very clean. Excellent choice for breakfast. Staff are extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite having priority early check in as a Genius perk, the hotel said they did not authorise booking.com to advertise this as an option so we're unable to give it to us. If a hotel is unable to offer Genius perks, booking.com should not offer them to guests.

    Good location just a couple of minutes walk from the main square. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. Possibly would have liked a safe in the room.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location being near to the centre and a short walk from Nekkerspoel station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    High parking fee (€16 / day) Street noise Late booking with booking.com was nearly a showstopper on arrival! (so booking accepted but room not always available)

    Good location Early breakfast option Comfortable room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    we was travel with car and i togth that we will get parking then will arive on this hotel. but then we come we was told taht is no car parking space. and we just book this hotel just for that reason. Stuff didn't bother abaut it and send as in town parking. We was with few weak baybe and with fool lauded car. and that new just hit us. because we was driving from far and we was very tired. I was very unhapy and ask stuff or is really now car parking on site, i was told that no car parking on hotel today. I ask to check for me and stuff go in car parking and come back to me bay leting know that no space. i was so sad and so tyred. lade so that i cant take this and she said to me that she can let here car parking to me for this night. Because hotel stuff use hotel parking and let hotel gess know that no parking in garege. she move her car and let me to park safe during night. in morning i come to pay and we was rushing, and i come to pay to desk and i get pay more then i aspect to pay. I didn't argument because we have long roud in fron of us.. I just left how it was and pay. extra money was for night parking in garega. if i was told that will be coast i will be pay, but stuff don't even wory to let it know that parking wasn't free. then i book i see free parking and i choose this hotel for that reason. i still feel that this was really unfear. and i stay very un happy with it.

    i like hotel. it was in good place and in ower journay it was in good location. room was nice, food was nice. calm and clean stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of cost for parking on the booking.com website. I think 14 euros is a little steep.

    Very clean room, helpful staff, very nice, plentiful, breakfast. Excellent value for money & Mechelen is a very pretty city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got a Free late checkout at 2pm. We arrived at the hotel at 5am (not completely sober) and the staff was very friendly to let us in and show us the right way to our room ;)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't expect great views from the windows - the hotel has been shoehorned in among existing buildings - but its central location is well worth it.

    The friendliness of all staff, particularly on reception. Good-sized rooms. Snacks and drinks were available to buy, with a good selection of beers at the bar. A British newspaper was available at breakfast time. Underground parking (though not suitable for high vehicles).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a pain that there are no evening meals at this hotel. I also detest single beds being pushed together and calling it a double.

    The location is great for me. Rooms are modern. Breakfast is plentiful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only had Continental Breakfast Option whereas as a U.K. citizen am used to hot breakfast such as eggs (fried, poached, scrambled ),bacon , sausage,beans etc. A Bit cramped space wise helping yourself to breakfast especially at weekends.

    Really friendly staff and special mention to Jean - Pierre on the night desk. Made me feel really welcome and gave some handy tips for sightseeing and tips in Belgium and local area in Mechelen. Front desk staff really friendly and helpful. Always clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sofa bed not that comfortable. Parking is expensive but you can park on the street fairly nearly and it is free after 6pm and on Sundays.

    Great central location and very good value. Breakfast buffet very good, lots of choice. Room very clean and well arranged even a kettle etc. Pleasantly surprised that a chain hotel was so good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient. Central. Very friendly staff. Very clean. Only downfall was that the underground car park had a height restriction and our car was too tall for it. Therefore note - max 1.80 m (and 1.90 m elsewhere in town). Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stay here every year when I go to a music festival. The location is good, the hotel is basic but very clean and comfortable and the staff is always friendly and attentive. A big plus is breakfast is included and you have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been bitten by insects and couldn't sleep at all. I had injuries in my body and woke up 2:30am in the morning. I have seen insects and blood on my pillow. Disaster!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting called to leave the room at 12:00 sharp. We heard the phone from the hallway while leaving... All our friends got called... We had checked-in at 3:00 AM. Breakfast ended abruptly at 10:30 sharp on a Sunday... They took our friend's boiling egg at 10:30... If you don't like visitors or are xenophobic maybe you should work as a hotel staff...

    Breakfast was quite good Corner room on 4th floor was nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room is on the small side but they do open the meeting room up when it's very busy.

    I had asked when booking for a quiet room and I got one on the 3rd floor which was excellent as that weekend was very busy with people staying there attending the music festival.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They could have a lost and found section. Instead of a "you leave it, we keep it" system. Their competition in Brussels managed to return our property to us, but not these guys.

    Great location. Coffee making facilities was appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel put a temporary hold on part of the amount in my bank account which was very frustrating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really small.

    The location and room cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Car Parking with very narrow space, no good for lager cars, no safe in room

    Exceptional Personnel! Nice Lobby and Breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed too small. Parking rate very high.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast and parking facility

    breakfast was same for all three days, not as best. overall rating was not so bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was excellent last year and this year no complaints

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room. Extra paument for parking

    Location and cleanness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the property only the weather on the day

    Locality only 150 yards from the grote market with its variety of eating places

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast too sparse and cold. maybe a small live kitchen may help to get warm food as the weather is mostly cold in mechelen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints, beautiful place and beautiful people, football ground is minutes walk away too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were extremely clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was nice.

    Smell good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, breakfast and room size. Staff were friendly and helpful. There were toiletries in the room, which was unclear when I booked.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 small sîngle beds for 1 person, not logic!

    Super good breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the doors opening from other rooms which woke me up early in the morning..

    Beds were very comfortable and room was very clean!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    More options for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very very good! Big choice and fresh bread & croissants 👍🏼 Wi-Fi is Fast!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    CONVENIENTLY CLOSE TO BRUSSELS AIRPORT IF YOU TRAVEL BY CAR

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were comfy, the room was silent, the staff were friendly and the location is very central and there is a good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    AC making sound. And non availability of kitchen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Height restriction for parking meant we had to park ten minutes away

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast very expensive.

    Helpful staff, free parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only provided two bottal of water for the five days that we have stayed

    The staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Perfect breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too many peaple at breackfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vary local to the main square of the town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge

    The room had a couch as well and it was spacious. The breakfast is very good,you can even make waffles.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra for parking

    Easy parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast may be better.

    The room was very clean and tidy. The personnel was very kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    mini-bar

    cooking fresh wuffles

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The eggs were not boiled !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much happening in the hotel lounge or bar even on a friday evening.

    Closely located to the center. Cleanly maintained facility.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the weather

    location was perfect for our needs

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place and very close to the centre of mechlen

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location ideal for us, only a couple of minutes walk from good eating houses, staff were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Behavior of staff....excellent location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location and super-friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small and low parking

    help with glutenfree breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    clean

    good loction

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very clean, very good food. The personnel was friendly and professional.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: