Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4 stars

Maaltekouter 3, Sint Denijs-Westrem, 9051 Ghent, Belgium

#32 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2156 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    All in all an ok Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is a small Corner for Kids to Play, perhaps the Hotel could invest a bit there, with some extra toys and puzzles, most toys were either broken or pieces missing.

    Breakfast was good, i liked the buffet. The reception was good, the staff at reception helped me order a Pizza at Discounted rates.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.4
    Run down rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down rooms. Ugly dirty carpet. Rubbish behind the bedsite tables. You call reception and no answer. We were 4 and they kept leaving only 2 towels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    Location is good, very close to the Tram station and IKEA.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that clean, found some dust and hairs in the bath. Also lots of mosquitoes in the room. All the rest is good.

    Location is good, very close to the Tram station and IKEA. Also the bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean and tidy hotel, friendly staff we would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a joining door to the room next door, although locked we could hear everything that the guests said and did which wasnt ideal. Although there was on site parking they charge and extra 10 euros on top of the room price per day for parking.

    The hotel was clean and tidy, check in was easy and the beds were comfortable. The room was clean and tidy. There was also english channels on the TV too. Had on site parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Excellent in all respects, but you will pay to park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bad: I had to deduct a star because this place charges $10 for parking... just because they can. There is PLENTY of parking space here, but they have decided to be cheap and charge. That's just in poor taste and definitely worth losing a star over... and since this place isn't a 5 star hotel to begin with that means it needs to go down to 3 stars. This is also kind of hard to find, we drove the circle a few times... you need to pull into the IKEA parking lot to find the entrance. I will note here that the hotel was quick to respond to these comments on a different site, they were fair and professional in their response. That doesn't change how I feel and that I should warn others of this charge, but I'm happy to see their professionalism continues even after the guest leaves.

    The Good: This was a nice clean hotel. We had to rent 2 rooms as a party of 4 since there were only double beds available, but that wasn't an issue. The breakfast looks well worth the price, especially for adults. We did not partake since we weren't going to pay that price for 2 kids under 6. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and spoke English well. It was quiet. Quirky things to know: There are hair dryers in the room but they are located in a drawer outside the bathroom so they are not by a mirror. Not an issue for me, but if you need to blow dry by a mirror I suggest bringing your own.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value and food...not a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They shouldn’t charge you for parking since it’s out of the city center. The location is a strange setup.

    Good value, comfortable and clean rooms, and a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant. Served our purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    near the tram to the city. staff efficient and friendly. I showered late at night. No hot water. After I ran the water for a long time the hot water arrived.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special to mention. If I need to say any thing, the interior design looks old and needs to be refreshed.

    The staff was very friendly. The location was perfect to avoid searching for a parking in town. It took us only 15 minutes to reach the center of Gent by tram. Plus, the parking only costs 10 euros per day at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Big, clean and comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -There's no direct access from the car park straight to the hotel building which is annoying if you need to get something in your car. -You have to climb up the stairs to reach the main entrance/reception. -It would have been better if there is another lift on the other side of the building as it is too far to walk to the front if your room is at the back of the building. -Small lobby/reception.

    Big, clean and comfy room. Love the air condition. Lovely restaurant serving breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Spacious rooms with aircon & small fridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive restaurant prices for an evening meal, with room service the same price. Could have done with some options on bar snacks etc.

    Spacious rooms with aircon & small fridge. Could location & very close to tram stop.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.8
    Motorbiking through Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally remote location. Best nearby restaurant Ikea. So the bar and restaurant were expensive. Room was full of mosquitoes and I was eaten alive while I slept. Not what I expect for €90

    Cheese and Ham Toastie was OK , but €12

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    10km or something from city center so keep that in mind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    09.00 in the morning False Fire Alarm in all Hotel went crazy for like 10 min. Seriously annoying and loud sound, ruined my morning for sure ....

    Receptionist where nice and friendly. But that is How it should be.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    Next to the tram station very good access to Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get milk for the room to make tea only cream available despite visiting reception desk told to try and get some milk from the restraunt one floor below

    Next to the tram station very good access to Ghent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    A very good compromise for Gent-visitors.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaning lady refused to clean the room when I told her that I need 2 minutes to get ready.

    Ideal for those who drive to Gent and do not want to drive to the city. The tram No. 1 is ideal. Good hotel, very professional staff at the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Besides the issue with the bathroom everything was as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately there was an issue with the water pressure and the water temperature in my bathroom. I stayed for just a night and I had my Scottish shower so I didn't escalate the issue till I left

    Besides the issue with the bathroom everything was as expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical hotel of this category. Very polite staff at the reception. Willing to do the extra mile for customers...

    They charge 10€ for car parking even if you are hotel customer? OMG! In an area outside of city center...The tram is quite close as I saw. But I will repeat it because I did not notice it when I made the reservation....10€/ night for parking???

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Short and almost sweet...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was expensive for what was on offer. A very limited menu for such a large place. Can't remember what I had but do remember when asked if I enjoyed my meal I had said no as the food was bland and tasteless.

    Location to work would have been fantastic had the traffic been better. Room was great and facing out so nice view. Staff were very helpful and nothing seemed like a chore.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for car parking as a paying hotel guest

    All staff spoke English. TV had English channels. Tram and bus services close by to local areas and Gent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice personnel, good tram connection to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Color of towels in the bathroom was grey instead of white giving sensation that are not so fresh/clean.

    Nice personnel, very helpful and willing to assist with turistic tips. Very good access to tram going to the historical center of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Getting there is quite hard to find.
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting there is quite hard to find. Road layout is a nightmare. Booked a zwing room but got a double room. Breakfast was average only and doesn’t justify its price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.8
    Doesn’t hold it for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They kept checking us in to wrong room for a couple times, it was embarassing to enter rooms with people in there, or full of underwear lying on the floor. When we stayed there was a problem with pipes, and we didin’t have water in the room between 12:00-16:00. Bad infrastructure.

    Close to Flanders’s expo tram station. Room was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Good choice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is getting old, we didn't have breakfast. It was a bit expensive. For much less money we went to a restaurant to have breakfast.

    Clean room, comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    The room I stayed in was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was good but poor in terms of choice. Being the only place around where we could eat it should have had more options available.

    The room I stayed in was nice and clean. The bed very comfortable as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was not cleaned or ready for us when we arrived. Wet towels on the floor bed unmade etc. Staff were excellent and found a new room immediately with an upgrade!

    The location was excellent. Perfectly placed between the Uk and Germany.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    Served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar and no food at night. Bar closed just as we arrived @ 10.30pm even though there was already 8 /10 customers in it and we made a further 8. They said it wasn't busy! We had to order takeaway food for the kids and ourselves. It's in a wasteland which was no surprise as it's in the Expo area right beside Ikea. We just needed a stop off night of sleep on our way to somewhere else so it served our basic purpose but wouldn't have stayed any longer anyway.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet on the third floor is full of stains. The restaurant is very overpriced and the waiters quite rude. The ceiling in the bathroom was mouldy.

    The Reception staff are very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Did its job. No more, no less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is poor for anything other than the EXPO facility. Building feels a little "tired". Paying for parking as a guest is unacceptable.

    Bed was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Price is too much for the facility!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was average for the price, looks like they kept all ready made food stock on the Buffy table

    Good facility for my daughter who is wheel chair user

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location for us as a one night stopover, just off the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location for us as a one night stopover, just off the motorway, good open parking, it doesn’t look secure, but we have stayed a few times and not had any problems. The rooms were comfortable and a good size. The restaurant was good value and served quite late. Breakfast was the usual self service arrangement, it was a little expensive,but you expect that at these hotels

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Good will probably use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps a better room view, but that's a small point. Parking on site was very good but a bit pricey, I thought, and the "loop" can be a bit confusing.

    Very good breakfast, eggs, bacon, sausage, toms, taters as well as all the continental breakfast food. If you left breakfast feeling hungry there would have to be something wrong with you. Tram and bus stops 200yds from hotel. Very close to motorway exit. Quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay, fairly comfortable and excellent staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soundproofing in the rooms could be better, and minor gripe but there wasn't any electric outlets near the bed to charge up my phone. A bit on the expensive side though.

    Very polite and friendly staff, Executive room was spacious and the bed very comfy. The atrium space is also fairly pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    thanks
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in/out, it was very crowdy and slow. We all came an went at the same time for the Fiets fair but no extra personnel were available.

    Difficult to get a coffee as the machine was empty of something and it took a lot of time for someone to look at it. I didn't like the chiefs of dinning room being all male and the keepers and waiters being all women.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    I found the bed to be exceptionally comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite far out from the city centre, probably 25 minutes on the tram. It was difficult to get a tram back to the hotel as there's alot of public car parking around the hotel, so with many people in the city for the festival all trams leading back to Flanders Expo were full. The area around the hotel isn't quite picturesque, there's an IKEA across from the hotel and a massive field of mud in between. Breakfast was quite expensive at €17.50, even if it was a buffet. The city tax was more than what I was expecting, I was there for 2 nights and was charged €12.

    I found the bed to be exceptionally comfortable. Room was very clean, as was the rest of the hotel. The restaurant area was somewhat unique, the room is square shaped so the central rooms look out over the restaurant area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.5
    Ok on the whole, evening menu very disapointing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The head waiter in the restaurant, very, very rude man. Everyone we spoke to agreed, his customer service was despicable. I

    Comfortable beds and good shower/bath

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    very good hotel but dissapointed by the resturant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we waited nearly 1 hour for our food in the restaurant on the Saturday night there seem to be not enough staff and there was a large party for a buffet that night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    Good enough business hotel considering the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is old and inside it really needs a refurbishment. In my room, several screw holes in the desk top; tired wallpaper etc. The dinner menu is well priced but euro17 for breakfast when all that is wanted in a slice of toast and a coffee is ridiculous why cant Hotels cater for this. The location is good (although road access is complex) and parking has to be paid for which I thought a bit mean.

    The staff were friendly enough but an email to the GM didn't receive a reply. Limited menu in the restaurant but what was offered was good and reasonably priced

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, in Ghent Expo area so out of the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a little bit far from the city center not so many public transport at least in the end of year festive season. It seems that sound isolation (via the air conditioned) is not the best and quite noisy when windy outside but good sleep still.

    Great friendly staff speaking several languages. Excellent New Year's Eve dinner and breakfast. Nice clean quiet room with Full HD TV

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Helpful reception staff, good breakfast, good sized rooms.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking - cost 12.50 euros for weeknights, 10 euros for weekend nights. That wasn't clear in the Booking.com info. To get to it, you have to grapple with the Ghent Loop - you can see the hotel, almost touch it, but you probably have several km to drive, round and round ...

    Helpful reception staff, good breakfast, good sized rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    Staff was helpful to inform about the public transportation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was not free of charge, although the hotel is far away from city centre. You can stay in city centre paying almost same of amount of money.

    Staff was helpful to inform about the public transportation and breakfast was very good. Hotel is very silent to rest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    4.2
    Pleasant, but not very welcoming. A one time stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and bar were closed for the complete duration of our stay! The interior was also fairly outdated for such "businessy" location

    The bed was comfortable and it was close to public transportation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Elegant and comfortable hotel, just outside of town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the middle of the night, someone new must have arrived in the room next to mine and tried to open the door that connects the rooms. Nice feature for those who need it: I didn't and I was totally frightened by the sound of a lock going off close to my bed. I wish the staff put a sign on that door saying what it is, so people wouldn't try opening it (it may be a closet or storage space). In the bin there was garbage from the previous guests, and hair and dust on the carpet (from poor vacuuming). But a part from these two details, the rest was very clean. Maybe the cleaning lady was in a hurry or having a bad day. I am always willing to excuse these small things but not in hotels that charge you 140 euros per night.

    The room was comfortable and quiet, the staff helpful and the facility equipped with everything you might need, including a small gym. The location is great is you drive a car or if you don't want to be in the city centre. It's a few meters away from IKEA and the Flanders Expo. It can be reached very easily by tram too (which I did). But if you want to be in the city, then you may be disappointed. I was personally very satisfied and would go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Adequate. Would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service for lunch could have been better. Gentleman in the restaurant not really interested, questionable attitude..

    Lady on reception very helpful. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    Business hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impossible to have a drink past midnight. Hotel being located in the industry park meant no alternative.

    Excellent breakfast although staff was quite invisible. Had to wait 5 minutes to check in although the room was empty and two members of the staff were chatting at the back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning unit for the hotel was right outside and the noise was so loud and couldn’t sleep even with earplugs in Told reception in the morning and they didn’t charge me €10 for the parking as compensation. Duvet covers really small.

    Overall a lovely hotel Distance from Gent is a minus point Staff very welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    4.2
    Unless you are doing business very close, not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, changes from what I had reserved, nothing walkable around, parking on different level than entry and no easy access to lobby from parking other than stairs.

    Nothing much

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting into the hotel is tricky, its hard to find the entrance as it feels like your going into Ikeas delivery depot.

    Friendly staff. Clean hotel (but dated rooms). Great breakfast selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Although the hotel appears to be a bit dated, we found it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunate parking arrangements mean that we had to lug our bags up a narrow, steep stairway in the rain.

    Although the hotel appears to be a bit dated, we found it clean, comfortable and quite spacious. The room was surprisingly large and the bathroom big enough to play cops and robbers in. We didn't have breakfast as we had an early ferry to catch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    A haven of peace and quiet after a hectic day (Mind you I came for F.A.C.T.S.) ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They are still working on the tramstop so a bit of crosscountry walking is required to reach the hotel

    The staff couldn't be more accomodating! I asked for a quiet room and was assigned one at the back of the hotel looking outward. A nice clean relaxing yellowwalled room greeted me. The bar is nice and had friendly bartenders (and good drinks!) Breakfast has an option for everyone and the coffee really perked you up. Since I came for F.A.C.T.S. (a huge event next door in Flanders Expo) I needed the relaxing mood 'and' the coffee. :-p

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.4
    Avoid unless you are attending nearby expo
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tons of tourists here running rampant... far from anything near Ghent... only useful if you are attending an expo at the nearby expo center. Otherwise avoid.

    Bed was nice. That's about the only thing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Fine, served a purpose but expensive (paid more than we wanted to).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location - having parked the car we travelled by tram into Gent - on the return there was no direction to the hotel and we were forced to walk in a dug up road across the Ikea car park to find the entrance to the hotel.

    Bed was reasonably comfortable. The bath leaked but we reported it to reception before we left.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Hotel had nice restaurant and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi. Keycard was not working properly. With our 1 overnight stay we had to reactivate the card twice.

    Hotel had nice restaurant and bar. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.0
    Parking fee without other option, not clear before booking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee without other option, not clear before booking, price not clear up to the payment. 10 euros for 1 night, at least you can expect to have something else than earth and dirt. A small freshen up (especially corridors) would be appreciated considering the ranking. Not the most efficient for checking in/out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.4
    Could have been a lot more, even for this asking price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toothbrush in bathroom, and staff told us no more were available, I mean come on! Small dead insects in bathroom. When checking in, the receptionist asked me if I were not mistaken if I had booked a room here. I told him no and when he found my name, he just presented the card reader in front of me so I could pay. Very amateuristic and rude. I did not feel welcome.

    good bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    Had to change rooms due to sink not draining.. wouldn't they have noticed that if room was cleaned
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    first room had clogged drain, how did they clean and not notice it,got moved to another room, second room filled with mosquitos and broken couch.

    Not much to like, Breakfast was empty and they didn't restock, we got there at 940, why sell breakfast if you aren't going to stock the food, there were several families of people who arrived after us and were very disappointed in the food availability.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast is pretty expensive for what you eat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is pretty expensive for what you eat. The assortment is great, but you never eat everything. So charging 17,50 per person for breakfast is a lot! Maybe charge it per room, that's fairer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    However, all in all, it's a comfortable hotel near to the highway. The hotel location fits our need.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    10 EUR for the parking?? I think it's too much as the hotel is located at the suburb area. There's IKEA next door, which offers free parking. I do not know if one can simply park there overnight, though. Amenities are not provided. One need to request for it. Since it's only a night stay for us on our way home, we did not bother and just used our own.

    Breakfast is good; so much options. I like the fact that there's an extra bed-sofa. My two small kids slept comfortably on the bed-sofa.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to pay for the parking. Both the airco and the central heating were full on in the room. Not really a wise use of energy. After ten pm you cannot order any (warm) snacks at the bar. We were hungry and would have liked something more than de small bowl of nuts.

    Nice staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    It's always a relief to arrive and unwind in the 'Looping' bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's still difficult to reach the hotel: even the entrance to the carpark could be more clearly marked: I tried to go in the exit! Perhaps it's me ...

    Lovely breakfast, especially the cheese. The dinner was very good: steak and chicken on skewers. The rosé, from the Aude, was delicious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Ideal for business travellers and those visiting the city by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The out of town location is not attractive (but worth it for the convenience of parking/tram). The rooms are a little tired for such a big chain as Holiday Inn - which included the mattress which felt like it had seen better days.

    This hotel was convenient for travellers visiting Ghent area by car because parking in the city is difficult. The hotel is at the end of the superb local tram line and access to the city is therefore very easy and excellent value for a day pass.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    We always enjoy the service at the afternoon bar; it is such a relief after the labyrinth of Ghent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast area should have been posted. The breakfast waiter checking room numbers was not proficient in English. The air-conditioning was not on in our room. The wine-list was very limited for a 4 star hotel. Have they appointed a new restaurant manager with an eye on profit?

    The food was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    nice room, bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is located far from the city-center but close to the highway, depends what you r looking for:)

    nice room, bathroom the city center is awesome! i am in love with Gent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Excellent & a way from the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location, excellent for family, staff are friendly, good breakfast. It was great for our three nights stay to explore Ghent & Bruges then continue our journey to the next destination.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    2.9
    Not acceptable for price. Let's the brand down as I stay in holiday inn regularly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meant to be overnight stay near motorway. Turns out it's a Terrible hotel. Bad location. Difficult to get into. Car parking charge excessive as not secure parking and area is poor. Food was Bad, salad bar full of flies. Decore really old and tatty.

    No good points

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    nice hotel eith nice restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is no information about parking fees when booking a stay. hotel has got a parking but hotel guest have to pay for it. fees is quite high as well

    nice hotel eith nice restaurant. good food, clean and tidy rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit too far from the city center than we initially expected.

    We had a family room with extra sofa. Beds were very comply and room big enough with all necessary facilities. Breakfast was excellent even gluten free products were provided for allergy sufferer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location, ample parking comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't aware of car park charges until we arrived

    Staff were incredibly helpful. Son has but allergy and they went out of their way to ensure he could enjoy a pudding that was nut free bringing him ice cream that wasn't on offer to anyone else

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    A very good rest in a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very expensive breakfast: 17.50 € per person if I remember it well. Even if free for the kids we did not take it. A bit far away from the city center but by car no problem. I think there is also public transportation nearby.

    Very nice hotel and very kind personnal. The room was comfortable and clean, not so big for a family of 4 but it was ok and we had a very good rest in this quiet place. The way to reach the hotel is a bit strange but my free offline gps for android found the way without any hesitation. Nice restaurant but we did not use it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of one thing really that we did not like. Everything went so smoothly. We lost our toothpaste and they were very prompt at bringing us some to hold over. Tube could have actually been slightly bigger to hold us over to the next day but I'm pretty sure we could have gotten more. Prompt at assisting us with directions and schedules.

    Everything about the place was top notch. Staff were very friendly and really helpfull. Lots of construction in this new area so eventually this will be done. Location to tram was superb. Food was amazing. Great work people!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.6
    Low quality and high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very stuffy in the room because impossible to open window Hotel's parking is сhargeable, and you have no no choise of parking Very expensive breakfast and dirty tables in restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    When you arrive you feel like you are in the middle of an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you arrive you feel like you are in the middle of an industrial estate , but a few hundred yards away is a tram which takes you straight to the centre for 3 euros, so the location is not the best but the tram cures it, really good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    A little but to dark inside the executive room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little but to dark inside the executive room. One smsll window for a big room into the inner glass roofed breakfest room. Child beds, where not ready ss we arrived 10pm...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Location not to be desired
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If driving a car and going in and out, (we went up to Ypres, and out to eat) the location will give you a headache even with GPS. There are many highways that converge at that location and you go round and round as GPS takes a while to figure out which curve you are on and if you have cars behind you, you make take a wrong turn. so frustrating. No shops to walk to, except Ikea . . the tram is close to go into the city but...

    Breakfast buffet quite extensive. helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Short stay (two nights) but very comfortable. Very handy getting tram into Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact there was no English breakfast tea.

    Everything was fine,a very good selection, cereals,Juices yogurt, pancakes ,waffles, bacon eggs, ham cheese croisants etec etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Holiday Inn - sticking to their good standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get to the hotel you have to navigate around one-way road system called "The Loop"...you end up driving another kilometer...so stay strong...keep the faith and you eventually get to the hotel...but at the end of a long drive it was a bit frustrating. (This isn't any fault about the hotel...just a comment about town planners!)

    We only had a single-night stop-over so hardly experienced the hotel...so... first impressions...a standard "Holiday Inn" experience. Good, clean, packaged.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Well-equipped out-of-town hotel with ample parking, near a future building site
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel lies adjoins the Flanders Expo centre and an IKEA store and, although it is near both the E40 motorway and the R4 ring road, there is quite a complicated route for motorists to negotiate both on arrival and on departure. The charge to guests for overnight parking is €10. There is a large vacant site between the hotel and the terminus of tram line 1, where the building of a shopping centre is planned: this seemed deserted and quiet during the stay.

    Well-equipped rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Gent Expo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: