Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostellerie Au Vieux Hetre 3 stars

Rue De La Fagne, 18, 4845 Jalhay, Belgium

#11 of 15 hotels in Jalhay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived and received a very happy welcome. The genuine enthusiasm of the owner and staff was great. The room (and view) was likewise amazing. We elected to eat at the hotel's restaurant and were pleasantly surprised with the amazing food for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Full breakfast cost extra 9 euro. Room price includes only continental breakfast. Internet in our room was not stable and not fast at all. If you plan to log in more than on one device ask for more passwords. I hate spiders and I met 3 in the room (one big was in the morning just above the bed)! But this is just a back side of country life ;)

    Our room was with garden view and it was quite clean and spacious. It was great to get warm crispy french baguette and croissant for breakfast! We had also diner in the hotel restaurant and we liked it a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in an object that looks like an adapted garage, you need to draw curtains over glass doors (and darken the room) so that people who walk in the parking cannot see you. The room smelled very mouldy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the blanket was a bit thin for wintertime, but the heater was compensating for that fact!

    The breakfast was good, the room big enough and the staf friendly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smells like a toilet after use,owner told us the smell is from the new wooden floor,we know better,a terrible smell came out of the shower cabine were the water leaves. Toilet is in the room covered with a curtain,no privacy,very loud music from the bar downstairs till 0h30 we could not sleep,breakfast was on the table prepared,1 croissant and 1 small french bread,no meat,no cheese,all from plastic from the shop,just choco,jelly,and sirop.the tea and coffee was the good thing.

    The only thing I like was the location and the garden.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner provided discrete off street parking for our 5 motorcycles, comfortable rooms. Made to feel very welcome. Beautiful garden to the rear of the property

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome and excellent hospitality. Very clean and comfortable room, which overlooked a beautiful garden. The room had a modern bathroom. Breakfast was very enjoyable. This was our fourth visit and we will definitely stay here again when travelling in this area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast👍 Was super! We payed extra to get ham, cheese and the most wonderfull omelet! Bravo!! The owner is a legend from " la bon quisine" terrific!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were quite thin, so we could clearly here thema neighbour being sick.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little more.

    Hospitality!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value for money and in a central location to explore this area of Belgium. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    A warm and friendly welcome and delicious cuisine at normal Belgian prices

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 2 single beds connected instead of one double bed requested.

    Host is extra careful and friendly. The breakfast and the dinner were great!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner very hospitable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Au Vieux Hetre is a nice and quiet village hotel with a gentle host. It is a good base for a stay in the beautiful neighbourhood of the Hautes Fagnes!

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room 7, the annexe, was cold and smelt damp. Heating is provided by Storage heater. It was cold in the evening and very hot at 03.00hrs. Tiny heater in bathroom. Rooms in main building may well be a different standard. We had breakfast at 08.30 and heating was not ON in breakfast room???

    Very pleasant host, who pointed us towards an excellent restaurant. He did apologise for the damp smelling room.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bar, no restaurant, despite information on website. Expected to pay over the odds for a Grand Prix weekend but a basic room, continental breakfast, no bar and no restaurant at a cost of 500€ per night for a double room was extortionate. Pointed out to Robert ( who we met in the bar in the village) who attempted to justify the lack of facilities and the price without any success. We did however shame him into providing an omelette at breakfast. This part of the weekend was a rip off and even their published price of 150€ per night would be too much.

    Location was good for Grand Prix.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed was not very confortable

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was big and clean. It's very close to many touristic objectives. Parking place is in front of the building.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We didn't like the stay. The hotel itself was +- OK despite it is located in the hole where is nowhere to walk around in the evening after dinner. But the owner of hotel is a really greedy person. He really believes that all people have to pay him just because he is.Tried to charge us for all possible things. During 3 day stay the feeling that he wants to drain our wallets never left us. He even told me something like " if you have got money for a fency car so you can find money to pay my extras". Really disgusting. He even called the personal of the site booking.com to tell them that he wanted to charge us extra for all possible things. The people from the site booking.com called us on Saturday to find out what he wants from us.It was really one of the most unplesant stays in my life. There are no Dutch speaking channels on TV exept Canvas and EEN , the drink glasses were not cleaned , the garbage bucket was not emptied. He charges 5 Euro per day for Wi Fi what is really amazing for that kind of room which costs more than 70 Euro per night. We had a nice holiday despite that but the stay in this hotel left a bitter taste.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking is slightly awkward if the hotel is full

    Genial host and a great location for attending races at Spa - takes about 20 minutes through quiet country roads to P1 & P2 at the track - nearby restaurants and pub all within walking distance

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved our brief trip to Jalhay thanks to the nice stay we had at the Hostellerie. The owners, a warm-hearted couple, even made sure that we received the key and instructions although we arrived late in the night. Breakfast was served in a beautifully decorated room and also the room we slept in was wonderful. The bathroom was newly done. We truly enjoyed our stay and would recommend any one to stay at this lovely place.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner is a very kind and sympathetic man!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smelly toilet, poor breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    friendly staff and flexible

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lack of water pressure on the shower

    Cousy and friendly place

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience - we would have liked an electric kettle in our room

    Courteous and friendly host

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    lovely roads on towards koblenz,nice restaurant across road,

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WC - simply box in the chambre- without door and ceiling. No TV. Very french breakfest.

    Location, host, coffee and excellent jam.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: