Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostellerie des Tilleuls 3 stars

Rue des Loches 45, 6890 Smuid, Belgium

#1 of 1 hotels in Smuid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. A wonderful couple owns the hotel. They were extremely helpful and welcoming.

    Everything. The location is good for an overnight stay, not so far from the highway. The breakfast was delicious as the other reviewers say.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really close to the motorway. Very nice, quiet small village. Very vell looked after hotel with a kind & helpful staff. All in the menu was tasty , very delicious. Nice spacious, clean room. All together was perfect for us..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was a rather strange village, seemed very remote but the quiet was appreciated

    very good brekkie. lots of choice of good quality breads, pastries, cold meats, cheese, fresh fruit....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed somewhere to break our journey to Germany and this was a great location. Beautiful,old building; wonderfully welcoming staff and good dinner with a splendid breakfast the next morning.Really nice, stress-free stop over.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really . It was what we expected ,good pleasant accommodation in a rural community

    Relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Evening dinner excellent and good value and breakfast equally enjoyable with good choice . Good easy access from the motorway and right for our drive from Alsace to Rotterdam.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful accommodation set in the heart of a quiet country village. The owners were very helpful and informative. A lovely old building which has lots of character.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    for some reason we were put in a grotty, very dull room in the attic - even had a main structure beam protruding up from the floor. The hotel was not full and had spare rooms. There were no tea making facilities or refreshments. The TV did not work and the Wifi info printed on the information book in the room - was wrong. The staircases to the attic were very, very steep not good for older people or children. Would not stay there again - ever.

    dinner excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room one day in advance as a first stop on our holliday. We were looking for a hotel with a restaurant to enjoy our fist day of vacation, so we mailed the hotel that we would like to make reservation for a table at their a-la-carte restaurant. On arrival the place looked very dark and closed and we had to wait a few minutes outside in rain before the door was opened. It looked as if we were the only guests. Staff made clear that the kitchen was closed because the cook was not there. On our question why he did not mail us back about our table reservation because kitchen was closed we got no proper answer: the owner was not present an they could only offer bed and breakfast. There were several restaurants available in a place 12 kilometers away. We took the room because it was late and getting dark but we will never come back here again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "King size" bed was really two single beds combined, and with separate duvets so, although it was comfortable, it wasn't quite what we were expecting.

    An excellent location for our overnight stop being not far from the motorway. The Dutch owners were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. Good choice of food at breakfast. Although the main restaurant was not open on the day we stayed, residents could have an evening meal. We had requested this in advance. The choice then is limited, but we were delighted with the excellent quality of what we were given. It was good value for the quality of the food. It is in a quiet village which suited us, but if you wanted to eat elsewhere your options would be limited.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Owners and staff friendly and very helpful, building and location lovely, food especially breakfast fabulous and wonderful beer!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm and friendly welcome from the owners.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great character, very good food, very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not aware that early check out needed to be requested

    Family owners charming and very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    warm welcome

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely friendly owners

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep stairs to room but that we could cope with considering the excellent room

    The whole experience was excellent. Staff very friendly, location good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The family owners were very friendly, very pleasant room. The food is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed Excellent fresh-cooked food Engaging friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't find any....

    The welcoming was very warm, food great for a good price, very friendly, just the perfect place to relax and feel at home...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is exceptional - gourmet and dinner this visit was the best we have had. Lovely rooms. Wonderful welcome as always.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving.

    Gorgeous hotel in a stunning village which was run by a lovely family. Felt very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very warm niight ànd no a/c or fan, as an old place you get a smell of damp when you enter

    the food was good as we where the only ones to eat,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    Wonderful and very tranquil location. Excellent food and very gracious and friendly service. A wonderful break

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was not made clear that there was nowhere to eat apart from their restaurant which was an expensive establishment serving venison, wild boar etc. Whilst the food was excellent, it made a one-night stay very expensive. Rooms were small but adequate, so it was really a restaurant with rooms, rather than a hotel. However, to be fair, they do not call it a hotel, they call it an hostellerie.

    The location - very close to the motorway for our journey to Dunkirk, yet in delightful countryside.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    mini bathroom /no hair dryer / no support for bath products in the shower thin walls / no day curtains / no fan no lock in man's restroom downstairs

    the location and the possibility for walks in nature

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was excellent, the only small complaint was the rubberised mattress protector which made the bed very hot. Possibly a second undersheet over the mattress protector would solve the problem.

    The staff were very friendly and the dinner was excellent. The room was spacious as was the bathroom with a good size shower.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Eigenaren super aardig, geïnteresseerd en attent. Heel leuk en uniek pand. Eten uit Restaurant erg goed en voldoende. We waren op doorreis maar voelde zo goed en fijn aan dat we waarschijnlijk daar nog eens een weekendje heel gaan. Heerlijke bedden.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Warm rolls with breakfast were very good!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    hospitality of the owners and staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a shame the pool was not open

    The location was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rather small bathroom with little ventilation and a queer sliding door

    quiet room

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Set in a peaceful and rural location, yet close to the motorway.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hosts and superb food

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hosts could not have been more attentive - modern well appointed 'comfort' room with excellent evening meal and breakfast.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: