Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Heritage 3 stars

Leopoldlaan 5, 8420 De Haan, Belgium

#23 of 26 hotels in De Haan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 581 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the junior suite, and were so happy, it was exactly like the pictures. We had a great time, the staff is nice and the general decoration is very elegant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because the houses in the street are a bit older (which makes them romantic) there is no floor heating and the floor was thus a bit cold. The facilities are modern and very convenient. Just bring your own slippers and you will LOVE this place... :-)

    The breakfast is excellent value for money! The breakfast room was flooded with sunlight and we had a great start into the day! The bed was super comfy and the decoration of a very good taste. The staff was LOVELY! :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst part is the service; nobody answers the telephone. Ever. Not before arrival to check wether parking or early check in is available nor after the stay if you worry you left something at the property. Even during the stay they avoid the phone: we checked in and five minutes later phoned regarding a broken tap in the bathroom. Even then nobody answers, even lifts up receiver and puts it down again. Twice. Felt as if as guests we were rather a nuisance. The rooms are nicely decorated but walls are paper thin. With small children this can be a problem. It was clean and rather spacious. For child's bed there is a hefty charge of 30€ per night but there is not even a high chair in the breakfast room. Only after a few days did they organize an old high chair from elsewhere. Some staff are friendly but the telephone situation lets them down. Emails aren't answered either and don't wait for any replies to your booking requests.

    It's in the centre, close to amenities and beach. Main road, but it's usually not that busy. On third floor under roof the noise from the road is ok, but the room gets very hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communication before arrival was a bit difficult - it feels like the hotel runs on the barest minimum of staff and they're all a bit stretched. The reception is only open a few hours a day in the afternoon, so I never managed to get through on the phone and emails went unanswered. We were happy to take the hotel as the last available accommodation after booking late, but it felt very expensive for what we got - a pleasant but absolutely not luxury experience. An extra bed in the room (and the extra breakfast) was charged at 40EUR a night which feels excessive.

    Spacious room, very close to the sea front, nice to have a bathtub. A good night's sleep and a nice space to relax in during the day when we wanted a break from the beach. Helpful friendly staff who found a creative way for us to store luggage for a few hours after checkout, even though reception wouldn't be staffed. We expected breakfast to be a bit spartan after the reviews on this page but the simple buffet was great - croissants, different kinds of bread, cheese and cold cuts, a couple of varieties of cereal, fruit. There's an honesty bar downstairs in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wide open windows on top floor gave me palpations with my four year old. 'What happens if I fall out?' he asked. 'You die,' I snapped.

    Great bread at breakfast, nice arrangement for honesty bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked more bio/organic things for breakfast; but we understand we cannot expect this in every hotel.

    Service and friendlyness + fact the room was fresh/open window when arrived.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi does not work. Personal is not available. All is self-service. Rooms are poorly cleaned. Shower was broken. Terrace protection was broken- extremely dangerous

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to take care about small kids (stairs close to the appartment door) and windows without kids protection.

    Location in the city centre. Nice and spacious apartament (Suite Deluxe) with two bedrooms, and big bathroom. Fresh and good breakfasts in a nice dining zone. Walking distance (5 minutes) to the beach. Very helpfull and friendly staff :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on the street can be a problem if crowded. We parked our car on the street around the hotel but next morning, the car was full of bird boo!!!

    Beautiful town and nice and friendly hotel. Breakfast was adequate. Hotel has a lift.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing negative to say

    Excellent hotel very close to the beach. Good sized room and bathroom, comfortable bed, great choice of quality food for breakfast. Warm welcome by friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's website stated to also have a restaurant but upon arrival we were told that due to staffing problems, the restaurant was not open. Not enough pluggs (there were none in the bath room). Not enough blinding in the room (already awake at 6 am).

    Completely renewed hotel. Very clean and spacious rooms. Breakfast was also fine (only missed the bacon with scrambled eggs). Good location nearby beach. Everywhere free parking in De Haan! Would recommend this hotel to others.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the room in the family room on 3d floor is too hot, without possibility to open the window.

    fantastic location, family room perfect for a family of 5 with 3 teenager, nice decoration

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the road - traffic too loud. Walls like paper - we followed our neighbour's discussions on a daily basis. The rooms under the roof at so warm at night that you can hardly sleep. No espresso, cappuccino or latte available at breakfast. No toaster. Hardly any tea bags or fruit after 09:00 am. Towels were not the newest and the bathmat filthy. They were not exchanged the next day either. Synthetic old pillows. No kettle and tea in a room that costs 170 euro a night?

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Tried to solve requests immediately. Pretty and simple design/interior.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were late for dinner and forgot our key room in the room; when we came back ( 11 pm so not THAT late!) we had to ring the cncierge as we had no access; the BIG problem is that the lady is working from home so she had to come, was furious and insulted us, explaining that she was sleeping and had other things to do... Sorry but in full season you have that reaction, it's really a problem! that is why I will never again return to this hotel.Globally to be honest the people working in DE HAAN are not friendly and we tried restaurants etc... and were globally disppointed by the poor service...

    everything was ok , I ve been in that hotel before and was happy about it so I came back

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite nicely renovated but they "forgot" to do the elevator

    Location is superb central in the Concession neighbourhood

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were small compared to the size of the bed. The toilet paper holder was loose on the wall.

    Very clean overall. Beautiful town!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult at easter

    Breakfast was nice, Short way to the beach, helpfully worker

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant or bar, but available close by

    Excellent room. Parking in street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piece of wood at top of stairs, trip hazard

    Beautiful building. Oldie worldie. Honesty bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    lovely hotel in a great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, the beds. The charm and confort of belle époque style :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good but nothing special.

    The room had a great size, was clean and bright.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing special, very functional

    Basic plus, but not amazing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not always staffed, no bar available and limitted breakfast

    Very good location of this hotel near to beach and restaurants

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked a family suite for 2 adults and 3 children. They double booked the room which meant we had to have two rooms which was far from ideal with young children. Stated parking but this was only on the road not a private car park which could be a problem in the height of season.

    Great location in the heart of De Haan near to restaurants and beach.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Though we opted for the proposed upgrade for an additional 14€ (total 132€!), the room was really not up to expectations: small, not cosy, very basic elements were missing (eg: no hook to hang your coat in the room, cupboard really small). Bathroom was from a very old generation and too big compared to the room, electricity plugs next to the washing basin was out of the wall (see picture) => electrical risk. Noisy: room was in front of the door of the elevator, noises from the corridor and from the other rooms was really annoying, very poor soundproofing of the rooms. For instance, there was no isolation material around the entrance door of the room so noise + light from the corridor was directly perceptible in the room. Very bad cost/quality/comfort ratio compared to many other hôtels in the neighbourhhood. Certainly not worth the price nor the 3 star hotel.

    Location appropriate, easy to access.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room looked nothing like the picture you saw when booking a Deluxe room.

    King sized comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Elevator. Breakfast was great!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception is not maned all the time . Also room cleaning was not satisfactory and we had to tell the staff to change bath towels..,!... Also the lift is so small you can barely fit in with one suitcase ...!...

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staircase was not very safe with uneven levels Wireless was not very good

    Restaurant was excellent and very accommodating. Location was excellent - close to the beach and town center Staff very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel, breakfast was excellent, enjoyed our stay

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Coffee machine was out of order :-(

    Great location! Small hotel with comfy rooms. The shoe polish machine is an asset.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very small and charmless for 145 eur

    Very comfortable bed good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast! Easy location for tram to Bruges and walk to beach.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom a little warm.

    Modern, comfortable hotel in a great location. Very helpful staff and good food.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.

    clean and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staircase rather dangerous

    Pretty town with handy tram service within 5 minutes walk of hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really serious. wifi was not very consistent

    Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No water in the fridge, no coffee making facilities in the bedroom. Understaffed.

    The position, decor, restaurant

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    "Deluxe" Suite was rather austere

    Excellent location, comfortable room, nice breakfast buffet. Very good restaurant for dinner as well

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too hot in the room.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Browse Hotel Heritage traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: