Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique hotel Maison Emile 3 stars

Emiel banningstraat 52, Antwerp District, 2000 Antwerp, Belgium

#3 of 71 hotels in Antwerp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 364 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Immaculate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maison Emile is immaculately clean and comfortable. By far it was the nicest place that we stayed on our 2 week trip. Hosts/owners were fantastic and went out of their way to make our stay perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Short trip to Antwerp
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and it will be strenuous to bring a heavy or big luggage up and down the narrow staircase.

    The hotel is very well decorated! The lobby and room were well lit and very clean. Yannick is very welcoming and helpful. The honesty bar allowed me to make my own drink as and when I want. The place felt like home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Superb 2-Day Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very pleased the room was automatically upgraded and delighted with the room set up but perhaps a double bed rather than two singles together would have been better as I could feel the slight gap between the beds when I was in the middle and a little nervous the two beds would separate during the night.

    The owner/manager of the building greeted me with a fantastic welcome and always referred to me by my first name whenever he saw me throughout and made check in as quick as possible. Before I even went to my room I was told I was upgraded to a bigger room and given some delightful tips and places to eat around the local area. Usually I stay in the Centre and although I was just slightly further out then normal I was in the museum area with some hip and trendy places to eat and it was close to walk or catch a tram. The room was good and decorated well and to a high standard with great broadband and good bathroom facilities and brilliant samples from Rituals. The shower was strong and the room had great A/C. I couldn’t hear a thing when I went to bed (although it was a full hotel) and had an enjoyable few days. There was an honesty bar packed full of wonderful refreshments and a very clear system on how to use. On checkout I was given a cheerful goodbye and a discount voucher to use again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for one person
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of the one-person room is well done and comfortable. Location is excellent - near all the hotspots (cafes, restaurants, bars) in Zuid, and a Velo Antwerpen station is just 1 min away. Highly recommended if you’re looking for a good base for a fun-filled weekend in Antwerp!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    fantastic stay. would definitely book again and reco to friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was really great! i’m sensitive to smell, so the fragrance in my room was nice, but just a bit strong for me

    great neighbourhood, lovely + helpful hosts, stylish decor, spotless. bed was super-comfortable. very quiet at night so had a great sleep :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    This is the nicest place I've stayed in years and I would return to Antwerp just to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved everything - there was nothing I didn't like.

    I loved everything. I particularly liked the fact that as a single person, there was a single room available - such an efficient use of space and so cozy! The owners were wonderful and their recommendations for eating were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Lovely little hotel in Antwerpen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Everything was perfect: a stylish, beautifully decorated room, really comfy beds, everything spotlessly clean, delicious breakfast! Our hosts were incredibly friendly and helpful. Great service. The neighbourhood is central but very quiet. Thank you, Yannick and Laurens, for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Lovely stay excellent hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing friendly owners, gave us excellent tips regarding the surrounding: restaurants, cafe, cocktail bar. Very clean and tasty breakfast, a lot of home made products!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    A great and beautiful Hotel where I would like to stress the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great and beautiful Hotel where I would like to stress the really friendly owner of this Hotel who is very helpful and who's also welcoming every guest personally. I can definitely recommend this Hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in a really nice, peaceful neighborhood with a lot of bars, restaurants and cafes. Still walking distance from the centre. Rooms are thoughtfully decorated, very clean and very peaceful. We could pick up the car from the parking lot later than we planned, which was also great. Will definetly return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    If in Antwerp I know where I'll stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an incredibly professional hotel, with a touch of personal flair. Well positioned, easy access, in a very good neighbourhood I can only recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Cosy and quite hotel close to the heart of Antwerp
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit small, but that’s not so critical for me.

    It’s a nice small hotel about 15-20 min walk from the historical center. The staff was very friendly and helpful, we got bunch of tips on where to go and where to eat etc., so that was perfect! Overall, definitely a nice stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Great design and clean with super staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is an older building the sound insulation was not great but this did not bother us very much.

    Beautifully decorated boutique hotel. Good quality linens, clean and well appointed. The location is in the nice neighbourhood of Zuid with lots of bars and restaurants within a five minute walk. The centre can be reached by direct tram, only four stops away. Laurent and Yannick were extremely welcoming and always on call and helpful. You could notice that their heart and soul has been poured into this hotel. A wonderul place to stay in the lovely city of Antwerp.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Like living in Antwerp
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillow was a bit hard.

    The folks who are running the hotel are just amazing. Always willing to help and really make you feel like you are a citizen of Antwerp. The location of the hotel is just perfect when you don't want to be in the main city centre. Just love it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Ulta clean, modern, very comfortable hotel in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With a property that is almost perfect, it is hard to say what we didn't like. This is being very picky but 1 or 2 very small things. There is a supply of products in the bathroom but no soap at the hand basin so we used the shower gel provided. While there is a large mirror at the built in dresser in the bathroom, there is no light directly above it. Toilet paper was a sheet by sheet dispenser - maybe a roll would be more in line with the quality they are trying to achieve. The beds are large singles (pushed together) which is quite common in smaller hotels, rather than a double, but this is clear when booking. In saying that they were very comfortable, just 'mind the gap'.

    The owners were very friendly and helpful when we arrived. The property has been recently renovated to a very high standard and with an extremely high level of cleanliness. Air conditioning in the room was great, and quiet. Loved the concept of the honesty bar rather than a mini bar in the room. Nice for this size hotel. Umbrellas at the door in case the weather turns nasty. This hotel tries to think of the customer, there is no doubt of that. Most places in walking distance and some really nice bars, cafes and antique shops in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Great pub, with great rooms....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs! We had just completed a very long day of cycling and my legs certainly did not rejoice to see them. It was very hot and airless in the room, and we did have to open the window which was a bit noisy.

    Breakfast was amazing - a huge selection to choose from. The views were great and we were so close to the main square. The selection of places to eat was bountiful. And even with a party of 6 we were able to find a table easily. The staff were all friendly. The late night street noise was late, but happy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Want to Explore the city, stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is across the road in a small fenced compound - nothing wrong with it and its very safe. But as a biker, felt unnerving having the bikes parked out of site.

    This Hotel was just a stop along our Motorbike trip, but the hotels location and ease of access was perfect. My group had a single room each, this has all that you would need in a room as its very small - but you would want to get out and see the city anyway. Staff were excellent and really helpful to show you the best places to go and eat

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Stylish place run by exceptionally friendly and helpful people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely stylish and comfortable place situated in a nice area south of the city centre with lots of nice restaurants, cafés, bars, breakfast places, etc. close by. The area doesn't teem with tourists but seems very lively with locals. Our room wasn't big but nicely furnished (clean look but warm rather than sterile) and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. With the rather hot weather we had the reliable aircon was a definite plus. And all of this at a very fair value for money. But most of all: the hosts were extremely, exceptionally friendly and helpful. Not only did they take the time to give us a number of highly valuable tips where to eat, what to see, how to get around, etc., but they also went out of their way to help us after we had lost a wallet on the tram (which was later recovered without anything missing). We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Great attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You will have to use stairs. For me it was not a problem, but just in case. Anyway, you will be gladly helped to lift you baggage.

    Great attitude. You will be given a map, directed to all points of interest, restaraunts with good meal, local bars, and whatever you'd like. Public parking is available on the street, free public parking is nearby, also you can reserve a private parking at the hotel for a reasonable price. The single room is really small, but I don't think it makes a sense if you travel alone. Shower is Ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful boutique hotel; great neighborhood, great owners, good breakfast and rather small rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They could do with a lift, especially for guests with large suitcases (like mine, on this occasion). The rooms are definitely on the small side.

    The hotel is very tastefully decorated and furnished; and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Good breakfast, nice neighborhood; very close to most museums and a lot of nice restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Staff is really nice, place is small but cosy and got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is really nice, place is small but cosy and got attention to every detail. A very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    F. A. N. T. A. S. T. I. C.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, but cleverly arranged furniture. Didnt feel small.

    Very friendly welcome. Relaxing atmosphere. Great mattresses!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, always ready to help.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, always ready to help. The hotel is new and location excellent. Very new and spotless

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable place
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have no lift so it was a bit tough to take my luggageto tgr room.

    Very fruendly and helpful staff and quiet place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Quiet but easy walk into the city passing lots of boutiques...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet but easy walk into the city passing lots of boutiques and antiques shops.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic staff, great accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff, great accommodations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautifully decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small

    Beautifully decorated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Nice friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Everything, the staff/host is very helpful , location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the staff/host is very helpful , location is great, room is new and stylish

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Hosts were very accommodating. Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slightly off the beaten track, but not by much. .

    Perfectly appointed. Beautiful Remodel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Clean and friendly design hotel in a nice part of town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music in the breakfast room

    Clean and friendly design hotel in a nice part of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Comfort, class and cosiness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The general level of detail

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast, the owners were very friendly and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small double room, the sound isolation is not good

    Good breakfast, the owners were very friendly and helpful, nice location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    It was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t pay with American Express.

    Very friendly welcome, rooms looks really nice, great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    You'll feel at home immediately
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a super nice boutique hotel, very friendly and helpful owners. You'll feel at home immediately.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Very good price performance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is well located, nice designed, very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    The hotel owner is kind and friendly and really helpful in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel owner is kind and friendly and really helpful in many things

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Great Location, very comfy bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location, very comfy bed!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Retro art
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Good location. Everything is in walking distance and room is so tidy and little antique style.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Everything was perfet specially the owners really friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfet specially the owners really friendly and attention is a 10

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Extremely friendly host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly host. Warm and welcoming. Really good breakfast; comfortable room. When back in Antwerp we will definitely be staying in Maison

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay. Very friendly & enthousiastic people who run the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather:)

    Excellent service, very friendly & helpful. Nice neighbourhood.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    Very good taste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good taste. Small room, but nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Boutique hotel Maison Emile traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: