Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cathedrale 3 stars

Place Saint-Pierre 2, 7500 Tournai, Belgium

#15 of 15 hotels in Tournai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 620 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only spending one night

    We were party of 5 bikers , secure parking in courtyard of hotel , access gates locked at 10pm , hotel in a square featuring bars/ cafe / restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've booked a room for two person for me and for my husband, and by the time we got there I got a room with separate beds. And by the time I asked the staff about they told me if I want one bed for two I had to pay more.

    Let's say it was ok... I can't say even that I liked it because was nothing special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough light in the room and specially in the bathroom Room on the main square is noisy but as the staff is really nice I asked to change and I could do so right away

    The staff is really nice The position of the hotel is perfect specially for a short stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find without sat nav as lots of one way streets

    Location close to restaurants and bars Free parking directly opposite after 7pm at night until 8am the next day WiFi worked well Bedroom clean and reasonably spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As soon as we walked inside it was a different matter. The decor was dowdy and dated. On entering our room we were surprised to find how small it was, you could barely walk around the bed, this for a "superior double". The mattress was extremely soft and we kept rolling to the middle of the bed. A thorough refurbishment is needed to bring this hotel up to expected modern standards.

    The outside of the hotel looked impressive. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking difficult. Price of breakfast too much so we didn't have one there.

    Location was good. Staff friendly. Tea and coffee in room very good. Massive TV. Room controlled heating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and poor quality rooms for the price, curtains handing off the rail, carpets in bedroom not very clean, old bathroom with stained toilet, shower in bath which was too low to get under.

    Friendly staff. coffee, teaand water in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would have been perfect as a two star stop over but it is difficult to see why it has been given three stars. The room was pretty average and the decor rather dated and faded.

    Lovely breakfast and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy pipes which caused a room change. Brown water that was being rectified whilst we were there.

    Great location. Good parking at the weekend as it's free after Sat lunch. Friendly & helpful staff. Large room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs refreshing/redecorating. Its lively location makes it difficult to park and noisy (bars/restaurants on the square). In addition the price of the breakfast (15 euros/person) is way too expensive.

    The staff is friendly and the room well equipped (kettle, ...). It is located in a lively place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A double spa bath - yuk!

    Staff were excellent. There is only paid parking available nearby, but they told me of an annex to the hotel where I could park for our two day stay. (there are only 4 spaces available).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were at this hotel for one night. We had room 406, and we would recommend that if you are allocated this room you ask for a different one - it is right next to the boiler and lift mechanism and, as well as being very hot, was very noisy through the night with the noise of the lift operating and (until a helpful thunderstorm arrived) the noise from the cafes and bar in the square outside. We were expecting noise from the square and that was fine, but not the additional lift mechanism noise which woke us up all through the night. Our TV wasn't working, but we didn't realise this until late at night so we just mentioned it when we left - if you need to watch TV, check yours is working when you get in. The room was also very hot and the window is very small. You can open another window in the bathroom to let air flow through both rooms. The noise from the square was very loud even with the windows shut (I spent most of the night thinking we'd left them open). There was evidence that someone had been smoking in our room (cigarette butt under the desk, ripped-out smoke alarm) but no smell. On a more positive note, the breakfast was very good, with a huge amount of choice. They also cater for special diets (gluten-free cereals, etc). The hotel is also very conveniently located for exploring the Old Town and its attractions. But if you can, we'd recommend booking a superior room and specifying when you book that you want a room which faces away from the square.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in Tournai is a nightmare. Although there is parking outside the hotel, it is generally full until around midnight. I had to park a ten minute walk away. Not the hotel's fault .... this is a traditional hotel in the centre of a cathedral city, so parking cannot be expected.

    Good value for money .... a pleasant room overlooking the square. On a Friday night, this square, with three pubs, all with outdoor drinking, is very noisy, but the double glazed windows are so good that they shut out all the noise. Comfortable with good beds and bathroom. Staff helpful (printed out my ferry ticket).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location close to the centre of town, plenty to see and do within walking distance. Great breakfast selection too ! Good strong hot shower !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel advertises parking, but this is public and very few spaces are available at peak periods.

    Good location close to facilities, restaraunts and bars.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived early evening. Sat Nav. couldn't get to the hotel, difficult one way system. No parking at the hotel so had to leave car some distance away, and still very hard to find parking. I got fined for parking on the edge of a disabled slot, but it was all I could find.

    Excellent choice at breakfast. Good evening meals.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - restaurant really simple - breakfast simple, and everything shrink-wrapped with foil - gives the feeling that the same stuff from yesterday

    + Close to the cathedral + quick checkin/checkout + Nice view to the Cathedral

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideally located on the edge of the center of town, just a walk away from the grand place and right on Place Saint-Pierre. The hotel personnel is very efficient and responsive to your needs. It is a simple hotel and offers good value for your money based on its convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included in price. No hangers for cloths and no ironing facility. Noisy room at the front. Kept turning the heating off.

    The central location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closed on Sundays. In centre of town with no private parking.

    Very close to eating and drinking locations. Room comfortable and clean. Has a lift which is good for my bad back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some more good coathangers, we asked chambermaid for some more and she did give us some, but flimsy old plastic ones with no trouser bars. Room was very hot at night, noisy from bars with window open, air conditioner soaked the carpet and was very noisy

    Location, breakfast,comfortable beds, nice staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities were not great and the square was quite noisy at night.

    This hotel was fine for the overnight stay we were making. and the staff and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con unit noisy and then blew the electrics .old fashioned dingy rooms. can't have air con unit on overnight its too noisy. breakfast pricey nothing hot except bacon and eggs

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk for the tea / coffee in the room

    Position was fine , staff very helpful . A good comfortable basic hotel . You know what you are getting , no complaints .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very much every thing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is a bit basic

    location is excellent and the quality of beds and linen was also very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    emplacement central

    la T.V.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night

    Kind staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly, the hotel is in a perfect location. The breakfast was excellent. Very easy parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical wires connected together with duck tape! Run down furniture and spider webs in corners..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mainly it was a one night stay, and the tobacco smell in the WC was not expected...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More bar staff

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were really small - i slept in a room with two beds To much tapis plein

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We mist an extra blanket.

    Good location in the city centre. Good breakfast. We could park in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t have dinner at the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the rooms smelt strongly of cigarette smoke.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - an unstable temperature of water in the bath

    - comfy bed - tasty breakfast with a lot of choices - friendly and helpful staff - location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking.

    Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not good and a/c not very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot when we stayed and there was no air conditioning

    Large rooms and central location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nicely place with a public parking in front of the hotel. Room was small and no A/C

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very small. Even after a upgrade we booked

    To experience for the price compair of what you get

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Good

    Great friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not various solution

    The room was ok, quite large with all inside

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric fan and plug sockets would never pass uk regs!!

    Very dated but very comfortable breakfast great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small rooms

    location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tournai square, staff were nice and helpful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty well o.k all Round!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Tiny room terrible beds appallingly bad breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and shower temperature wouldn't regulate

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit outdated decoration

    Location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather!!!

    Very good breakfast. Very generous.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Entrance doors a bit stiff.

    Good choice at breakfast. Really close to cathedral and main square. Near river and shops. Good bars nearby. Good selection of beers in bar.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    - dirty, outweared rooms - very thin walls - clearly understood the next room's phone conversation - wifi is almost not working - the signal drops, watching movie impossible

    Close to the Cathedral Easy to park - nearby parking

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Felt very dirty/unclean, not updated within the last 20 years, uncomfortable bedding, no parking ("fend for yourself"), though close to downtown - it is adjacent to a bar district and arriving on a Friday night made things loud and dicey in that neighborhood.

    Location to center of town was nice, kept us within walking distance of most you wanted to see/visit

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I had the idea that somebody had occupied the room before us: there were too few towels, there were other people's bathgels in the bathroom, the curtains did not hang as they should, the bath tub could not be used because a tap was broken.

    The location is wonderful and breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Receptionist carried on with telephone call for several minutes while I waited to check-in. Credit Card handling was manual - he recorded card details for subsequent charging - a good job I was was using a corporate rather than my own card! The card operated door lock for my initial room (115) failed to operate requiring 3 trips up and down to reception for me and the receptionist. Finally I was moved to another room (216) this had only one curtain so I had a quiet, but well illuminated night. Bed was very soft so my back was not as it should be in the morning. Luckily it was one-night only otherwise it would have meant moving elsewhere. The company I was visiting in Tournai indicated that this was not exceptional and that this hotel has a bad name among their visitors.

    It had a roof.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small rooms and generally pretty shabby throughout the hotel. Staff weren't particularly friendly and didn't seem too bothered about 'people'.

    Good location. Good choices for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very shabby. The paintwork is in need of renovation, and overall impression is of a run-down hotel that has once seen better days. The owner can't even be bothered to populate the hotel's own website. On arrival, the receptionist told me that they had no record of our booking. I was too tired from a day's driving to make an escape, but I wish I had done so.

    The bedroom and bathroom were clean. The bedlinen and towels were immaculate.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the friendly staff and quiet courtyard location by the cathedral and bell tower. Walking distance from train station and excellent boulangerie, cafes, shops and all the sights.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel

    Once we finally got into the room as gave us a key card and should of been a key, upon entering the room had not been made up from last guests was given another room should not happen not impressed

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Following an incident in which I probably saved the hotel from major problems or at least major inconvenience, my contribution was not recognised by the staff.

    Breakfast and location

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very awkward steps/stairs around rooms,very basic rooms and bathrooms -They never gave me the wifi password

    It was clean and located in the center of Tournai

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    re the hotel, the plastic card system to enter one's room was a niggle. Every day we had to get staff help to get into the room.

    It was pretty convenient to the places of interest but still has some way to go before one can say it attracts tourists. It is however investing millions in this old city. There are large areas being re repaved right now and huge restoration programme ongoing with the cathedral both inside and out.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV not working it was changed. Sink plug broken Shower plunger missing. These were all silly points when a proper inspection of the room would have sufficed

    The help given to us by the staff especially the lady receptionist on duty.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Steps n staircase for upper floor r very narrow n stip n no elevator available. It's not recommended for elderly person or person who come with luggage

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Trying to open the door to our room without taking the skin off my knuckles.

    The young female receptionist was a great laugh and made us feel very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately, the hotel faces a square where there are several bars. VERY loud, although closing windows really helped noise. TAke earplugs (although they were not enough).

    Good central location to Grand Place and cathedral. had working elevator. Food was good (off the menu). clean.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel restaurant does not have the warm and inviting character of some of the nearby competitors. A mini-bar took up space in the room, but was neither switched on or stocked. Although not causing us any significant problems, the sound proofing between rooms and room to corridor is not great.

    Central location with nearby public parking and only a short walk to the main square and cathedral. Helpful and pleasant staff with a good drinks service at a reasonable cost.Size of room adequate for our short break. It was quiet and overlooked the rear courtyard and cathedral. Recently decorated in a traditional rather than contemporary style. Bathroom large, clean and simply decorated with a curiously eclectic mix of complimentary products.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No carpark.

    It is a hotel to stay in for only a night or 2. It was good and had everything we need it but it would not be something you could stay in for a week.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms needed an upgrade Smell of smoke in the hotel Cigarette stubs outside the window

    Staff were friendly Staff were helpful Location was good for our purposes

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Have only stayed here in warm weather - tiny electric heater in my room was totally ineffective when tested & similar heater in bathroom had short cable & no power socket available! Winter would be a problem........

    My second stay here - first time was with motorcycle (secure parking). Good location, bars/restaurants close by.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    OK but not the classiest of hotels. Tournai didn't seem to have many to choose from; at least it wasn't over-priced.

    Good location, tea making facilities so didn't need to pack travel kettle, didn't take breakfast but it looked quite good.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Considering the price would expect Television had damaged screen,the curtains not properly attached and bulb not working! The room was clean but not well maintained -at this price this should not be the case in my humble opinion.

    Location & facilities

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Cathedrale traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: