Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Flandre 4 stars

Poel 1-2, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#31 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1687 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Ghent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not staying in the main hotel.

    Location was fab. Hotel lovely but we had a room in the annexe further down the road. The room was modern and clean but would have liked to stay in the main hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking the car was a bit of a nightmare. This could of been due to an event being on the weekend we visited.

    Lovely hotel, great location. Bars and shops in abundance very close by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 230 is up two flight of external stairs not protected from the weather and even the doorway is fully exposed. Not a great if the weather is poor, and you have a heavy case.

    Excellent Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    If you're looking for a smart, clean, right in the city-centre hotel then this ones for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would only say that the staff could have been a little warmer and left us waiting for ages when we arrived. No queue, just didn't come when we rang the bell. Also, might have been a little more holiday-like to be in the actual hotel where other guests and facilities were. Felt a little home from home because of this.

    Hotel was amazing location - slap bang in city centre but also in a slightly quieter area so not noisy at all. Parking was right round the corner [although we took ages to find as directions from staff were a little lack lustre in giving us the information]. Our room wasn't actually in the hotel, it was in an annex across the road which was a little odd but worked nonetheless. The room was a little like a Aparthotel or studio. Bath robes were a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    I liked every thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No thing. It is the perfect place with good value for money where you should stay.

    I liked every thing. Before arrival i received an email with important tips about traffic around hotel. During presentation i found my room prepared as requested. A warm welcome by reception desk. The staff were very friendly especially with our lovely son. Very historic. Booked luxury room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    The bathroom/toilet is an "open plan" behind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom/toilet is an "open plan" behind the bedroom so all the "effects" of the bathroom/toilet carry into the bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.6
    Below expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in an apartment building down the street, which was not equal to the facilities promised at the time of booking. Gave the impression of available hotel parking, which turned out 2 blocks away. In short a con job

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Stay was fine except for the location of my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that my room was next to the kitchen and the hotel was full co they could not move me. I am a light sleeper and could not sleep in which was the plan. Reception did promise to ask them to be extra quiet

    The breakfast was good , reception was friendly and it is close to the centre of Gent and in a very nice area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Dissatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we had booked an executive room the room was in the annex which was over the road. Not the historic building in the description. It was in a block that looked like any travel motel. The room was very small and was dark and dingey. The only window we had was small and overlooked the fire escape. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were hard. We booked the room October 2017 but we got the impression that we were given the only room left that nobody else wanted. We did complain but was told that it was the only room left. It was a very disappointing stay

    Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Expensive and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains were hanging off the rails and the decoration was shabby, the lighting on the corridors poor. Only one person on reception during the day and again in the morning so long delays.

    Well placed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    You might get not the room you think you've booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not clear from room descriptions and pictures, but you might book a room in historic building, and end up in the annex building, which is nice but in a completely different style. The lady on the reception told us we had to get in touch with hotel directly at the time of booking and indicate that we would like our rooms to be in the historic building, otherwise they cannot guarantee it. Good to keep in mind and have expectations in line. I personally don't mind modern buildings, it's just that it looked like we booked our stay in a beautiful historic building, and we were really looking forward to it. So my friends got upset. In the modern building everything is fine, except there is no door to the toilet in most rooms. Would be fine for a couple (I don't know, may be), but a bit awkward for friends sharing the room.

    Location is great - in the old town, just 2 minutes from the very best view in the city. And the receptionist was very friendly and professional. I appreciate her help with getting us relocated to a higher floor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.6
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive. Room not as advertised. Credit to staff who moved us without hesitation (almost as if they knew our room was sub-standard). Rooms not cleaned properly. Breakfast weak.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and central Boutique Hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was not working properly for part of our stay, and we had a noisy family above us with kids jumping around until midnight.

    The location was amazing. The staff were great. The building is old and beautiful. Everything is walkable from this location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was horrible and made a buzzing sound every time it was on. No water pressure. Dirty old rooms. So hot air conditioning only works near the door. Bugs came in room because we had to leave windows open. Cancelled our booking after staying 1 night.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    A lovely vibrant city break in a really nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 out of three nights we were eaten alive by mosquitos!! So if traveling in warm summer months bring repellent!!

    We really enjoy our stay in hotel du Flanders Ghent. The weather was extremely hot when we got there and the air con in our room on the 4th floor wasn't great. The staff were very accommodating and changed is the next morning to the 3rd floor. A lovely spacious room, cool and clean. Breakfast was your typical continental, was sufficient for our needs. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, room was large and nicely done with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative I found was the girl who greeted us and checked us out - she really could do with some happiness in her life I think... a smile wouldn’t hurt.

    Excellent location, room was large and nicely done with good extras.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.6
    Inappropriate four-star rating that we would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning was substandard; dead bugs on walls and ceiling, spider web in ceiling, fungus in bathroom, one overly soft mattress. Despite non-smoking status, smoking was allowed in enclosed atrium.

    The location is excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    It was in a good location, a short walk to the main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren’t very friendly or helpful when we asked for some recommendations. Breakfast wasn’t the best with only one member of staff so didn’t take our hot drinks order and we arrived about 9.30 - breakfast due to be served until 10am but there was hardly any food left and no sign of anyone replenishing it.

    It was in a good location, a short walk to the main square. Room was ok with good air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room or should I say lack of it. The bedding and towels were clean but sadly the room had lots of cobwebs and the floor had never been swept the whole time we stayed there. Attention to detail is clearly lacking

    We generally had a pleasant stay and were accommodated in a large double bedroom in the courtyard. The bed was very comfortable and we were happy the air con was working due to the heatwave. I took my earplugs but never had to use them as it was so quiet! And finally, the location was excellent and not too far to walk to the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    good for once
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast for sure, nothing special, very chaotic, very noisy,...

    the location of the hotel is in a quiet street and very close to the center, everything is within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Not value for money at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No value for money

    Not value for money at all..they should be providing breakfast included in room price not extra 21 euros should be charge d for Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.2
    Lousy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the first room I got was not cleaned. The second was also not 'ready' with glasses used, a full bin, etc. The room was full of muskitos, etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location with only a few small downsides
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water did not get consistently warm, bare minimum for summer but would not like to try it in winter The rooms face an inner courtyard so even though the area is very quiet you get a lot of breakfast noise in the early morning Hotel is marked as having parking facilities nearby but has no discount for using it. That way every hotel in Ghent could claim to have parking facilities nearby as public garages are abundant.

    Excellent location, easy to reach by car and then 5 minutes from the city centre plus there is a bus line stop in the street. Beds are good and air-conditioning works nicely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Beds were not overly comfortable, and a restaurant for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were not overly comfortable, and a restaurant for an evening meal would be a bonus for anyone arriving in the evening. There are plenty in the town but somtimes you jaust want a relaxed meal after travelling.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall, the hotel was satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn’t have a personal touch (eg no pictures on the wall) and looks a bit tired for a four star hotel. For instance, their inner courtyard could do with some renovation. Every evening there was a lack of hot water, so the showers were lukewarm. We were advised to shower later in the evening or next morning!

    We liked the comfortable bed, the fluffy towels, the air conditioning, wifi, and the breakfast. The location was excellent and the parking in a nearby underground car park at extra cost good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Location Location Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst breakfast selection was good it was not nearly restocked often enough as it was common place for us along with other guests to be waiting for a certain item. Additionally, on check in we were told that the lift did not work however we were not offered any sort of help for our bags up to the fourth floor, which was only accessible from the fire escape, even though (at least from our view) this was not clearly signed.

    Location is great. situated a few minutes walk from exactly where you want to be, whilst still being in a quiet area. Breakfast selection was decent and overall the hotel was pleasant. The room was spacious enough and the bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice location in the middle of the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The airconditioning was not working and the rooms heated up quite a lot during the day which made sleeping really difficult. The free water from the minibar was also not really useful.

    Nice location in the middle of the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    We would revisit Ghent and probably stay in the same hotel.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Configuration of bathroom access. Too cramped between bed and fireplace. Parking info misleading. Municipal parking only. No designated hotel parking.

    Situation great access to the centre. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay, excellent location in the city. Strong recomandation for the price range!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The last day most things were empty at the breakfast and not refilled at 9:30 (with breakfast going until 10:00). All other days I was there at 8:00 and everything was fine.

    The rooms were very nice. Big rooms in general with a nice big bathroom as well. However, the rooms differe a little as I found out talking with my colleagues, so my experience might be one of the better rooms. Breakfast was nice, if you like the regular scrambled eggs with beakon, bread with cheese and saussage, some sweet pastry, etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was very nice with comfy spacious rooms the breakfasts were excellent and the staff were very helpful. The location was perfect for visiting Ghent with a few minutee walk to the bars and cafes and a cheap car park just round the corner. This trip was a birhday visit for my wife and it exceeded all expectations as did Ghent itself. We will use the Hotel again when we return to Ghent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Fantasic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't included checking in we were asked if we would like to book breakfast 16Euro we asked if we can book it if we wanted it in the morning yes no problem. We did have the breakfast and were charged 21Euro each we said what we had been told at check in that was if we paid before felt very ripped off.

    Location was great hotel was clean with luggage store.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was comfortable, but the airco (also in 'off' mode) made so much noise that I did not sleep that well. There was some nuisance of talking, smoking guests on the ground floor too. Unfortunately, the cigarette smoke could easily enter the room through the open window. Oh yeah, I found someone's dirty sock in the closet.... Oops.

    I had a very pleasant stay at this nice hotel. I had a good and large room on the ground floor in the court yard, with chairs, flowers and olive trees. The hotel is sooo central. Everything is near. Gent is great! The hotel staff was always helpful and sweet. And the breakfast was lovely and divers. They even had vegan cheese and almond milk for me - that almost never happens! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    The stuff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are quite small and overall the amenities are not of a hotel of 4 stars. Breakfast was ok, although not so much variety of cold cuts or meat. When something finished (juice, croissants, coffee), it took a very long time before the stuff brought more (even though there was 1 hour left before the end of breakfast time). The toilets near the breakfast room, were quite smelly, because there is a pissior for men in the common waiting area for the women and men toilets! It's unacceptable for a 4 star hotel!

    The stuff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very close the historical city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    No heating when outside it was 10 degrees Celsius.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No heating when outside it was 10 degrees Celsius. When we complained they could send us to the other part of the hotel, then it was everything ok. They need to fix this hetaing/AC issue, it is a must to the 4star experience. All the other features (incl breakfast!) was fine!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Hotel in the heart of the beautiful city of Ghent. Wonderful staff made me feel very welcome!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weather was a little cool...… That was not the fault of the hotel.

    I liked the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. The hotel was perfectly located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing and poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were to,d our room was in the annex 100m down the street behind the Chinese restaurant. The staff were very matter of fact about us not being in the hotel and said there was a line on the website explaining. I paid a €26 upgrade to change location and be in the hotel building. Our room was cold and very basic considering I had already paid €105 for room only. Another €40 for breakfast seemed poor value for money so we went elsewhere to eat.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.8
    The room was big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was broken from one side. The room was not sound proof. Could hear cracking sound from the floor above whenever someone was walking.

    The room was big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Very nice reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was across the street and about 40 meters down the street. When I finally found my room, the key I was given did not work. 40 meters back and across the street I go to get another key. They were apologetic, but it was still inconvenient. I would rather have had a room in the main building, not the annex.

    Very nice reception staff. Helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    3.8
    Stay in Marriott - Left card but no reply from managment regardiung my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything!

    Booked 3 months before but put in an annex across from main Hotel. Asked for views of Ghent - instead looked at stairwell from small room with no other windows Bed poor and room not very clean - Dark and claustrophobic - Did complain to Hotel Reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    I wish I took a photo of the toilet!..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very rude. When I asked to divide the payment into two cards, he told me he cannot at the beginning. Afterwards, we asked a twin room, he said they don't have it very rudely and I wrote them many emails. After they gave a room to my friends but the room was dirty! Even the toilet was full of used papers! Then, of course they changed the room but this time there was no sheet on the bed. They bring the sheet but they said there was no cleaning lady at the time being and we have to prepare our bed our selves!! He was terrible indeed! I strongly recommend you all not to stay at this hotel!

    The location was excellent...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Ghent is a lovely historic town ,very unspoilt with riverside walks. The hotel is well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very dark with inadequate lighting. Breakfast is too expensive so we had ours at a cafe. There was some street noise, but the double glazing did its job.

    Brilliant location in the heart of the old town. It's a historic building and just round the corner is the lovely Graslei on the banks of the river. Staff were helpful and our room was comfortable and warm. We liked having tea making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Location, very close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in.. there is only one desk for check in and it took couple of minutes before we were asked something . In addition we arrived at the hotel at around 13:00, we were told to leave the luggages in a small room (which we did by ourselves, so not really safe for our and others luggages) and then we were successfully checked in at 15:00.

    Location, very close to the city center. I asked for two rooms close together and they gave me what i asked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved the property and room but was in a building away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the property and room but was in a building away from the hotel and is was a bit unusual not to be fore warned of This, no help from staff in finding the building and a bit confusing, other than that it was beautiful and very central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel close to the centre of Ghent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. There is no car park but the nearest public car park was very close and reasonably priced.

    It was Easter - and chocolate eggs were delivered to the door of the room as well as being there at breakfast. More generally everything was right, smart but not stuffy, comfortable and a courtyard in which to leave bikes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was pretty however the staff was not particularly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was pretty however the staff was not particularly friendly or helpful and our room was situated right next to the kitchen so we got waken up very early in the morning due to the noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    The location is excellent, the room (apart from the lack of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was poorly cleaned. When we arrived at our room, there were still dirty towels in the bathroom from the previous customers. Also the garbage bin hadn't been emptied. Told the staff, they renewed the towels but didnt take the dirty ones with them. All this made us wonder if they actually had cleaned the room or had they just made up the bed..? Staff didn't offer anything to make up for it (like free breakfast or so).

    The location is excellent, the room (apart from the lack of cleanliness) was nice too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.6
    Substandard and expensive, yes, 'executive', no!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in the hotel. Old, bare, unattractive apartment. Awful curtains. Front windows dirty and onto street. Large window in bedroom behind a huge, heavy, greyish pull-down blind hiding an ugly view of an out-house giving onto a small patio full of weeds! Horrible! And I paid ridiculous money for this 'executive' suite!

    Nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location, staff and services can do better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived before the check in time and we leave our luggages to the reception. The reception was not so warm and we received only a city map without any suggestion. After a tour we came back to do our check in and we discovered that we were in a dislocated sites of the Hotel (really close) but no one take us to our room (it’s a 4 stars Hotel!). Moreover our shades was impossible to reopen, and the telephone to communicate with the reception doesn’t work. Finally the bathroom is a sort of “open room” (because the wall is not connected with the ceiling) so you are almost directly in the bedroom, so not too much privacy. There are so much untapped potential for a 4stars Hotel in the city center (not so cheap)!

    Position was great, in the city center. Also the room was ok, big, everything new, but... bad services and staff not helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Hotel on a great location, nothing spectacular but good for a city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staircase outside was in metal and made a lot of noise when other people used it, smelly toilet because no ventilation, bathroom was ok but not separate so expect a damp room, table a chairs was not very comfortable.

    Very good location next to the center, breakfast was quite good but very expensive, staff was friendly, easy to reach, bed was ok, mini bar was well stocked, room was clean and hygienic, WiFi was adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive for a one night stay as the location wasn’t as central as we originally thought. It was a bit of a walk from the number 1 tram stop at Korenmarkt, about 10 minutes. Breakfast was €16 each, a bit expensive. There was nothing mentioned about what to do or see in Ghent when we arrived, which is normally provided at check-in.

    Room was very big and spacious, the bed was very comfortable. The television had 3 English speaking stations. Coffee, tea and crisps were given free in the room. There was no lift in the hotel and we were on the first floor up a flight of stairs which was fine as we just had small cases. Check out is usually at 11am but we paid €10 extra for an extra hour, checking out at 12 midday. We were able to store our luggage in a little room opposite reception until we were leaving for the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall nice staff good breakfast good value for money and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower floor material is soooooo slippy. This is an accident waiting to happen. The flooring should be non slip even after shampoo or soap wets it. It should be a slightly abrasive finish to ensure prople do not break their neck. Secondly the distance between the wall and shower glass cubicle is so narrow. You can hardly turn around. This shower is a major safety hazard.

    Clean, well fitted out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast overall and romantic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was way too cold and the breakfast room was very loud and disorganized. Maybe one more waitress could have helped. There was no more availability for having a cappuccino at 9.45 when the breakfast ends at 10.30.

    Good breakfast overall and romantic room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    It was a productive and interesting visit and I would stay here again as it is so central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was rather chilly but it was below freezing the whole time. We had to go out of the hotel to get to the room across a rather slippy boardwalk. The towels where a little threadbare and where small, no bath towels

    The hotel staff where wonderful and a great location and breakfast was also great every morning. Rooms clean and best of all the Beds where very comfortable. Quiet this time of year too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the money, bearing in mind it is supposed to be a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold, we asked reception for an extra blanket and she said she would see if the hotel had a spare, the blanket never arrived so it was a cold night. Also breakfast was too expensive. Not happy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location - close to city centre amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air-conditioning! Downside for me was the inability to reduce the temperature in the room without switching off the heating completely and opening the windows.

    Excellent location - close to city centre amenities. Room was comfortable with a clean and well stocked bathroom. Breakfast was good (continental) and staff were good. Public spaces (bar, restaurant) were all clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    Location is good but the hotel has become crappy, avoid it!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was slanting downwards towards the head. Shaving socket was on top of the computer table. Not enough light in the room. Flush sound in the room above can be heard in the room you are staying. No room service. They have two properties with the same name very close by, one of them does not have any service, no reception neither breakfast area, one has to come back to the main building.

    Scrambled eggs were amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Satisfactory stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff not helpful in the slightest. It was not made clear that parking was not on site and the rooms were too hot.

    The room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    Huge room with huge bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC was making terrible noise in the room. Bed was not that comfy. Strangely the heating system in the floor didn't work on the whole floor so that is not a good surprise when you wake up.

    Huge room with huge bed. Quiet in the garden in the main building. Coffee and tea in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, very good breakfast, nice tea/coffee...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt get the invoice for my company „because I booked via booking.com” thats what the reception staff told me And was really stubborn about it, as if it was a Big deal to correct the invoice And get it right with my company data. Make sure to tell them well ahead about The invoice, otherwise you are in trouble.

    Great location, very good breakfast, nice tea/coffee service in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.3
    They gave me a room that was already full.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave me a room that was already full.. it was in the other building.. then they offer me an appartment that was nice but no need and it was 3 floors without a lift.. I would prefer a normal room in the main building specially because I had booked that room 3 month in advance to come and have to take the very last one.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Ghent & Bruges are beautiful even in winter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I phoned the hotel & asked for a surprise bottle of wine in the room for my husband as it was his 50th birthday, they did not complete my request & ruined the surprise by telling us on reception that the bottle I requested could be collected from the bar!!!

    Breakfast was just perfect as was the location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some furniture looked a bit old, the soundproof wasn't really good as we were able to hear our drunk neighbours discussing in the middle of the night, which wasn't pleasant.

    The location of the hotel is great, a couple minutes walk from the main attractions from Ghent. We got a room for New Year nights, so the pricing wasn't perfect, but is was really good for the pricing around. The staff was really attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.6
    I would not recommend this hotel, poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms where kinda dirty. A lot of noise from the street. There was no warm water our last night and morning. We asked about this issue a several times, but all they receptionist said was sorry, i can't help you, but you can call my manager.

    Location was quite good, close to the city centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Helpful and fantastic staff. We had to shorten our stay and they did everything to help us. Nice room, prepared baby cod, very nice ladies in the room with breakfast. In the hotel is a place where you can leave your luggage without any problems.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Great value and central but no phone working in a remote building means less good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The phone in my suite didn't work and as I was in a separate building I had to walk quite a distance when I wanted anything. This was a particular difficultly when my hair dryer didn't work and I had to walk outdoors across a cold the street to get a new one.

    Very good service from all staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    An OK option near the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shortly after the booing we were requested for an additional 20 EUR charge (for an additional bed for our child) which was not mentioned in their rules&policies. At the end the charge was cancelled ("as an exception" as they wrote), but obviously this did not create a very good first impression. The main building is rather old, with dilapidated facilities and dark rooms with no sound proofing.

    The location is very good - the historical center starts just over the bridge some 200 meters away. There are two public parking garages nearby, although the cheaper one (Parking Ramen) could become complete during the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, lovely rooms just a little disappointed in Breakfast layout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast tables were extremely close making it uncomfortable to get past people. Drinks were neglected so no water or fruit juice. Overcrowded like an ants nest. Breakfast food however was varied and delicious.

    Room was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    Location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not booon breakfast and I am glad I did not. Every time I had to walk through breakfast hall the smell made me very dizzy. Parking is a problem. On our first night staff at the hotel directed us to the most expensive parking in town (36 euros per night). We found a cheaper spot (included in their welcome brochure but you do tipucally rely on staff more often) for 14 euros per night next day. Our shower cable was crooked and spilling water all over the bathroom.

    Location is great! Can't find better spot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location. Good service. good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had issues with the key cards for the room and needed to have these changed on a daily basis! Staff was always helpful on the matter, but it would have been worth simply replacing the cards as opposed to recoding the keys some 7 times!

    Well located close to the town centre - some 5 minute taxi drive (€8.50) from St Pietrs Train Station. Also easily reachable by tram (line 1). Nothing to complain about in general. Rooms regularly cleaned and staff always helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.2
    The staff and location is OK
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is terrible like the war in Iraq. Especially the toilet, because they did not clean it well. They did not empty the trash in the toilet: there was a used sanitary napkin from previous visitors. Is that a gift? And the Wi-Fi is as good as the signal before the first industrial revolution, which you could barely use. The room needs more than 10 hours to be warmed up by the heater. Otherwise, your room will be as cold as Northern Russia.

    The staff and location is OK

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    A little on the pricey side but location makes up for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was worn, could do with a lick of paint and genera spruce up. Mini bar is daylight robbery €3.90 for a tiny bottle of water. Though the staff weren't outwardly rude, I didn't find them particularly helpful and sometimes a little patronising.

    Good breakfast, room was big, very good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for a couple of days in Gent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady at the reception desk in the morning did not let us check in 40 minutes earlier. I asked for this due to the pregnancy of my wife and her urge to use a toilet.

    Perfect location on five minutes walking from the city center. Public 24/7 guarded parking garage around the corner for 14 euros per 24 hours.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.0
    Below average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry and cleaning left in hallways. Decor dated and breakfast was poor. Upgraded rooms were more the level of a standard room for this class of hotel. Bar was poor, didn't have tonic and only one person covering bar and reception.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    A great, well-placed hotel in a lovely part of Ghent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't add breakfast to my stay due to the price, and finding cheaper options was a bit of a pain. I'm happy I saved some money, but I would have liked to have had breakfast in the hotel.

    The room was great. I was a bit surprised to be in the annex part, but the rooms were spacious and welcoming. Good amenities and a lovely hot shower! The kettle and hot chocolate were very welcome in the snowy weather.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.8
    Good location but room does not match with photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is really old and is not same as photos which is disappointing. Elevator is really really old that i was scared of using this.

    Location was good, staffs were also good.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de Flandre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: