Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Groeninghe 3 stars

Korte Vuldersstraat 29, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#27 of 102 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 729 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect room with an amazing view and great staff running it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly, I can't complain about anything. It was an excellent place for me!

    I loved the room and especially the personnel running it. I think it's a family business and the lady and her father are doing a great job and both giving good information about the city as well as running the place!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Small, nice, quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 20:00 you are on your own. It’s ok for small european hotels (in Russia we are just spoiled by the level of services, where even in every two-star hotels there is a 24-hour reception desk). Good audibility, which is also inevitable in old houses. This is by no means a minus, just what you want to know, especially if you travelling to Europe for the first time.

    Small, nice, quiet hotel. Old beautiful building located in a quiet peaceful street near the center and something about 10 minutes from train station by walk (location is absolutely great!). Very friendly owners and personal. Breakfast is cheap and good (some sorts of cheese, bread and meat, yogurt and fruits to choose from, fried or boiled egg, fish, bakery and absolutely awesome homemade jam).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    I would return to this little gem...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel was great and made walking around Bruges really simple. It was a neat older building and the staff was wonderful and made good suggestions on where to eat and drink during our visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Just a flying visit, so didn't really spend time in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really say anything here!

    Just a flying visit, so didn't really spend time in the hotel, shower and sleep. Couldn't expect more, location, clean, comfortable and friendly, value for money was certainly acceptable. Would happily recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.0
    Woman that ran it was lovely, the location was great, it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was too expensive, you can't eat that much!

    Woman that ran it was lovely, the location was great, it was quiet, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    The building and rooms were gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid a little more than I would expect to for a last minute deal

    The building and rooms were gorgeous. Very comfy bed and nice en suite. Genuinely friendly owner

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Good place to sleep in Brugge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fairly small. Also, since this hotel is listed as a B&b on TripAdvisor, I thought breakfast was included in the price. It was not so we went out.

    Clean room. Great location within walking distance of t-Zand parking lot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Great, I would stay there again if I ever go back to Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lock on the bathroom door didn't work and the television wasn't set up properly which wasn't too much of a problem for me but might be for other people. Sometimes when people were going upstairs the noise the upstairs floorboards made was quite loud.

    The hotel owners were very friendly and welcoming and the location wasn't far from the city centre and was also only a 10-15 minute walk from the train station. The room was very nice and clean and the shower worked very well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Very nice, helpful and friendly lady at the reception desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs, no parking place close to hotel. Also pretty thin door to the bathroom.

    Very nice, helpful and friendly lady at the reception desk. She is an owner of the hotel. Very good location. Nice view from the room on the 3D floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Cute hotel close to attractions in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an excessive amount of noise (stomping around) on our first night from 11:30 pm to 1:30 am. It sounded like it was coming from above us but we were on the top floor so it might've been from the hostel next door. The second night was much better.

    The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and the staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good location and exceptional hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment on

    Very good location and exceptional hosts. Property a bit dated but Having travelled a lot and using mainly corporate hotel chains We really enjoy staying in family run hotel with a lot of charm. Hotel is basic but has all you need for couple of nights and the price was best for this location. Breakfast looked decent too but I only had coffee

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    2.5
    Overpriced and unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted €29 per night extra for breakfast even though it is included in the price, they even have notices in the hotel telling you it's included but still refuse. When I booked it wasn't an added extra but the woman refused to give us the breakfast as she said it's included but not if you book on booking because she has to pay a commission. The rooms are very small and tatty, red carpets and red walls make it even worse. The kettle cord is so short you can only use it on the floor. The bed has thick plastic under the bed sheet which makes it very hot and sweaty to sleep on, it's really horrible to lie on it. The sink didn't drain properly and leaked on the floor. We got bitten by the mosquitos that were in the room before we got there. No fridge. No milk for the tea and coffee in the room. Pillows smelled horrible, clearly not washed between guests. I've stayed in Bruges more than 30 times in the last 15 years and this was the worst stay I've had.

    Location is good but there are hundreds of hotels in the centre of Bruges.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.2
    The owner needs to take a good look at what could be a nice place,but guests expect more now
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the 4 flights of stairs carrying a heavy suitcase with no offer of help. the plastic disposable cups in the room,having to plug the kettle in on the floor whilst kneeling under the table unit,and the plastic type mattress cover which was stiff uncomfortable and made you very hot.The access onto the fire escape left a lot to be desired especially for older clients.

    nothing really ,the man who greeted us would never get a customer service award and was only concered about being paid and why didnt we want the over priced breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.4
    Has Ac which is great for summers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have clarity on 8:00 PM as final check in time via hotel or booking.com until few hours before arrival via email (how do they expects tourists to have data access all the time). We were in a nearby town and couldn’t make it. The lady at reception was quite harsh and impatient in communicating this when we called back to try for some flexibility with this rule given our situation. We were charged for the night and left stranded as it was peak season with hardly any vacancy in Brugge. I can understand there is a policy but it needs to be communicated loud and clear given that it is unique to the hotel. More over the least the hotel staff can do it communicate sympathetically and suggest alternatives given that they may be familiar with the area / situation with their previous guests.

    Has Ac which is great for summers. Clean rooms and ambience. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Clean and Comfotable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facilities could have been better. Just plastic cups and powdered milk.

    Clean and comfortable. Within walking distance of both the station and the main attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    I went to do a remembrance tour of north sailent. The hotel was less than 5 min to menen gate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that I didn't like really. My personal preference if a firm mattress and this one was on the softer side but not a real issue. Also I arrived with about a minute to spare for check-in which closes at 6pm last, I'm not sure what would have happened if I had missed the train and arrived an hour later as you need a key card to enter after 6. Again, not real negatives just a bit of information

    The guy on reception when I arrived was super friendly and welcoming. There was a fridge in the room which was nice for keeping drinks cool in the warm weather. There was a place to leave my luggage while I went off on my tour after check out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. But it will be a good help if they can put a walking map (easy way) going to the hotel in their site without going through much of the cobbled stone street for those people who have luggages and no car.

    The location of the hotel is inside the old town where all the point of interest are located. The owner are accomodating and always ask us if we need anything etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Top in Europe for its value, cleanliness and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was GREAT

    Well kept,clean, helpful and attentive owners. Great value for delicious buffet breakfast. Owner cooked our eggs as we ordered which was perfect. Strategic location close to attractions. Owner recommended us good value restaurants upon our arrival to avoid us spending at exorbitant price restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Fine for a brief stay in Brugge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying on the upper floor under the roof I had to be careful not to bump my head but could observe the doves sitting nearby. No lift means dragging the luggage up the stairway.

    Comfortable bed, waterheater, coffee, tea, sugar and milkpowder provided so you could prepare drinks in the room. The roommaid (oriental) was very helpful and deserved her tip. Round table and seat made doing some writing easy. Strong reliable wi-fi. Location near towncenter and equally not far from railway- and busstation. Brugge is something like an open-air museum, like Kathmandu in Nepal but without the Himalayas in the distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Got bug bites at night. Only time during the 1 week trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is really a guest house, not a formal hotel. The building is old. Sloping stairs. No window screen or AC. Maybe that's expected as it's old town. But got bug bites at night. Maybe mosquito. Only time during the week long trip.

    The host is very nice. Location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location: 10 minutes walking from the station, 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location: 10 minutes walking from the station, 5 minutes to the Markt (main square). Lovely view from my 3rd floor room (I don't mind stairs).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    It was 5 mins from market Square in quiet little lane ,5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 5 mins from market Square in quiet little lane ,5 mins from station also .plenty of little bars,cafes ,shops etc just around the corner so ideal location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Arrive late to miss the busloads of day tourists and experience the twilight and lights coming on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Great location once we found it, after circumnavigating Bruges at least 5 times. Very confortable and clean. Great location for visiting this fabulous city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    The room was comfortable with air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable with air conditioning. Which was a bonus as it was very hot. The staff helpful and friendly and the location perfect. A nice quiet area but very central to all that you need. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    We hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner was very friendly. She recommended a wonderful restaurant for mussels and gave us a coupon for a free drink. The restaurant gave all six of us a glass of limoncello! Location was perfect, not far from train station and close to a beautiful church. The neighborhood was quiet as it was at the edge of the more touristy area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, close to all tourist attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some extra toiletries in the room. We were there 3 nights and for 2 people the small shower gel and shampoo was a little inadequate - perhaps we could have asked for more!

    The enthusiastic and helpful staff. nothing was too much trouble. excellent location. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Quite comfortable for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were creaking. Sounds could be heard easily from other rooms.

    Breakfast wad good. Host was very cordial and attended to us well at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    All in all a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The triple room didn't have an AC or a fan and it got quite warm on two of our travel dates. We had to request them to get us a table fan but that doesn't help much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and lovely owner - STAY HERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little! Unfortunately we caught the cleaner on a bad day as she seemed to have accidentally forgotten to finish replenishing a few bits in our room and there were some building works going in next door from very early. Those things being said, I would seriously recommend staying here if I were to visit Bruges again!

    The owner was just so lovely and accommodating - she couldn't have done more for us which was so appreciated given it was my first holiday abroad with my baby. Thank you! The location was also fantastic and our room was very spacious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    We loved Bruges, and liked most aspects of this hotel, which is very well situated for visitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment.

    Great location within walking distance of most historical sites and shopping. The hotel is also 10 minutes walk from station and is therefore convenient. The beds were very comfortable. The room was kept clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Hotel Groeninghe was excellent. Friendly and helpful host. Clean and comfortable room. Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - it was all great

    Excellent hotel. Lovely friendly hosts with lots of fantastic recommendations. The location is perfect - off a quiet road and 5 min walk to the hub of the city. Clean, friendly and an amazing breakfast. Exceeded all my expectations. Will definitely book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location! very charming hotel with clean room , clean bath and comfortable beds! also the staff was friendly and helpfull , highly recommended!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Location couldn't have been better, the building was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location couldn't have been better, the building was beautiful and authentic. Staff were so helpful on arrival! Closest restaurants were quite expensive but a little looking around found us more affordable but still delicious choices. Couldn't ask for better accommodation if you're visiting Bruges.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.6
    Except for this hotel, Bruges was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of communication. Impolite staff. Biased mind. We booked three double rooms, but one friend with her child joined us just before the trip. That said we have 1 adult and 1 child extra. This hotel ran out of rooms quickly, so we couldn’t book any room then. We decided to come to the hotel first and ask if it is possible to add extra beds and of course we will pay for them. I think it is very fair to have the chance to ask the hotel staff first in any case, and we have prepared for alternatives. Then something weird happened. There was no communication intended by the staff in the reception and the ‘boss’ of the hotel. After a first quick count by the staff, he decided to immediately call the ‘boss’, without any attempting to communicate. After 10 minutes, the boss arrived. Same, she came in with a phone connected to booking.com, and apparently she started to complain to booking.com even before talking to us. The booking.com called me and tell me what the boss told her, with the boss being one meter from me. This is so awkward. After some real (but not nice) communication finally, and from that we know it is impossible to add extra beds in the room, we immediately booked one bed from a hotel nearby (NH Brugge hotel), within 2 minutes. In short, we are affected by the arrogant attitude of this hotel. We know this hotel is always fully booked so maybe they don’t worry about this review, but I think it is such a shame if a hotel has such a strong bias in their mind and treat their customers like this.

    The bed was comfortable; the room is clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    After 40 years we have now discovered our home from home in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained, however it was just like going home when going back to the hotel.

    This is a superb family run,ideally placed cosy,comfy hotel for anyone visiting Bruges. The breakfast, whilst not of a bargain basement price is well worth the money to start your day properly. The coffee, smoked salmon, cooked meats ,cheeses and homemade jams are to die for. Hythe foamy are really lovely and are so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    A really good value for money, I recommend for short trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Coffee at breakfast was not good - View from window was not the nicest (looked over other buildings)

    - Bed was comfortable - Wi-Fi signal was strong altogether during our stay - Staff is really friendly and helpful - Location is good, only 10 minute walk from center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Definitely worth a visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of anything bad :)

    The room was very comfortable, clean and cozy. The staff was very helpful, they provided us with maps, coupons and valuable information about the city. The location was ideal, only 10 mins for the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    I loved it and would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    This hotel was fantastic and if I was ever planning another stay in Bruges this would be where I stayed. The hotel is run by Laurence and her father. She is fabulous and the check in experience was brilliant. The room was up two flights of stairs with no lift, which is fine for us but maybe not for others. Our room was huge and we could control the temperature of it ourselves. The bathroom was big enough with a decent sized shower (no bath). It was so quiet! The location is perfect. Bruges is small so nothing is far away, but the hotel is away from the busy tourists but close enough to reach easily. I ran around the perimeter of the city and it was 8km! It is also close to the train station. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on it but did go to two excellent places - That's Toast and Cafune which were brilliant! I loved it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Couldn’t fault it at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with friendly staff in a fantastic central location. Comfortable bed, decent breakfast. Couldn’t fault it. Would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Charming hotel run by lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely charming hotel, our room had everything we needed, and the staff that run the hotel were simply lovely. Perfect location, couldn't have been better, close enough to walk to the markt within 5 minutes, yet far away enough to be on a quiet and peaceful road

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Well located, great rooms, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was annoying having to move th ekettle from it's place to the bedside cabinet as there was no plug near by..

    Well proportioned room. Lovely shower. Comfortable mattresses. Tea/coffee making facilities in room also hairdryer which was very useful. Toileteries supplied

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place, brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong with it at all really. Just a lovely family run hotel - nothing too glam!

    It was in short walking distance from everywhere! It was really clean and staff we met were really kind and offered plenty of advice. The beds were really comfortable and the room size was decent. Nothing too flashy but did the job!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    J Stewart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclear if breakfast was included or not... a flyer in the room said it was however we were charged when we left on the last day and were made to pay in cash

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Worth the money, awesome breakfast, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was wonderful. The location was quiet but still very close to the center of the city and the train. The room was very clean with a huge bed. The rooms are nothing fancy- just the basic of what you need in a place to sleep for a night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.8
    Great location but overall disappointed with level of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were a bit rude and unhelpful. Complimentary coffee and toiletries were not replenished after first day. Room was a bit dirty and run down.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent pied a terre close to the centre of ruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic view from room (on the top floor). Very comfortable; it included everything we needed with no unnecessary extras, contributing to great value for money. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit noisy, you can hear people talking in the room next door.

    The hotel is really nice, way better than I expected. The room was really clean and had everything one can need. I had a room on the last floor with the nice view over the roofs of the town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, good location, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold when arrived, but put heating on and soon warmed up.

    Very friendly. Lovely old property. Had room on top floor with view over rooftops. Good shower. Good location- easy walk from train station and convenient for centre of town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.3
    Decent hotel in a good location, but expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not ready until 4pm on the day that we arrived - did not appreciate the way it was handled by the manager in blaming the cleaning staff for the delay (they should hire more people if current staff cannot deliver on time). The walls are very thin and quite noisy on our first night.

    Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location and nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were thin. We could hear people talking when they arrived home at 1am next door. Our room was up 3 (long) flights of stairs so if you have large, heavy bags this could be difficult. Parking was difficult for us due to roads being closed by police due to heavy pedestrian traffic on a Saturday. However we were able to park in a close by parking station for 8.50 euros for 24 hours.

    The location was close to restaurants, bars and shops but quiet at night. Bed was 2 single beds pushed together (made up as single beds). The room was small with an angled ceiling but was nice and bright due to the large window (that can be opened). It suited us for one night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Cute little hotel in center of Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking isn't really available (yes there is street parking, but that is really expensive and I feel a little misled by the fact that this property is advertised as having parking). Best is to try and park under Het Zand which is nearby and cheap-ish.

    Friendly staff, great location. It is really central so you have good access to Bruges. Rooms are nice, with a safe to keep your travel documents if needed. Also get some discount vouchers for some activities around town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Par Exallance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    beds comfy service above excellent could not be bettered. breakfast superb. owner could not do enough for us.Other hotels have a lot to learn from the owners of this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    All we could ask for, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    A fantastic stay in a perfect location with a truly wonderful hostess, Laurence and her father who makes a great breakfast with scrumptious homemade jam! As a family group of six (mum, dad, 2 daughters and their partners) we enjoyed a few days celebrating New Year in this beautiful city. It was made even more special by the care shown by Laurence, non intrusive but very attentive, especially breakfast on New Year's Day :-)). The hotel is a short walk from the railway station and an even shorter walk to all the main attractions. The markets were great as was the welcome from the locals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location and value! Also very friendly and welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were pretty firm and somewhat uncomfortable.

    Great location, easy to walk to everything including the main town center. The hotel is also very quaint and personable. The woman who runs it (can't begin to spell her name) was so nice and so helpful! She introduced both her sons to me while I was sitting in the "living room" reading a book one afternoon. The one morning we paid for the breakfast in the hotel dining room we were very pleased with the variety of breakfast foods, service they provided, and warm cozy atmosphere! The hotel room was very small, but sufficient and clean. There were 3 beds, 1 for our daughter and 2 put together for my wife and I. For the price, it was overall a great value for being so close to everything. Parking is not onsite, about a 10 minute walk away to the parking garage that was very cheap compared to every other parking garage in Europe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    The hotel owners were very nice and polite, and helpful. Would stay here again, no problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could of had more coffee /tea in room with more milk and sugar, although when i went to ask for more milk it was offered, so it is only a small thing.

    Did not have breakfast, but was told by the proprietors that it was value for money. The hotel was very well situated,, and comfortable, overall it was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    A warm welcome in the heart of Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not want to change it but oh those stairs! A young family wouldn't think twice about them I'm certain.

    Beautiful, traditional and well presented. The Christmas decorations were a real treat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay in a great location with great staff and fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, lovely building, very comfortable beds and very clean room. Great breakfast with everything provided. The big bonus about this hotel is the lovely staff, they cannot do enough for you and are so warm and welcoming. I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    This hotel was perfect for one night in Bruges, with cozy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was perfect for one night in Bruges, with cozy rooms and friendly people and in a walking distance from Central station. Hotel is administered by a family and they are really and made us feel very welcome. The room was very clean and equipped with all the amenities necessary. A great location on a quiet street, just behind one of the major shopping streets and near the city center. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choices and coffee or tee as much as you want. We were in December and the lounge area was very nice decorated and a Christmas tree near fireplace.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location & view, loud room and rude management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is an old home, and the walls are paper thin. We heard everything our neighbors said and did, and everything that went on on the street below our window. Contrary to what is advertised on their page, there is NOT parking nearby- its a 15 min walk away (in the opposite direction of the main area of town) at the train station. We chose this hotel based on having parking; had we known this was the deal, we would have chosen somewhere else. My biggest issue was with check out. We left at 0830. A man met us by the reception and took our room key. He said "ok great thanks! have a good day!" before we informed him that we owed money for the bar (they have an honor system downstairs where you take what you want & write down what you owe). I guess he hadn't checked the log, so we told him what we had & paid in cash. I asked if that was all, he said yes, & we were on our merry way. An hour later I turned my phone on & had received a voicemail asking me to call the hotel. They forgot to charge me for the room before we checked out. I thought I had already paid ahead of time, but no matter- I gave my CC over the phone. Afterward, I found 5-6 emails in my inbox about the matter. Booking saying I'd violated policies, & the hotel telling me they'd called the police on me for not paying. Turns out, the man who checked us out was the father of the owner & wasn't aware we hadn't been charged. I understand the fear of not being paid, but given how upfront we were with paying for the bar tab AND that we didn't sneak out, I felt this was beyond rude and assuming. I was made to feel like a criminal because THEY forgot to communicate and swipe my card. I did everything I was asked at every step, from check in to check out. Not my job to keep up with their business. I will never stay here again because of this.

    The location was wonderful and the check in process was easy and pleasant. We had a lovely view! Beds were mostly comfortable, but make sure you ask for extra pillows.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location. excellent city, lovely people, very good hotel with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator and difficult to open wardrobe in room (close to bed)

    The staff could not be better. Extremely helpful, and efficient. Great advice for how to get the best out of our three nights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    The owners were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners were awesome...very friendly and helpful when we had a question or needed something. Rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. Perfect location. Breakfast was amazing...a nice variety of food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place for visit Brugges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike. Maybe for disabled the stairs are not that wide to access uper floors. Not sure if there are 0 ground rooms avaiable.

    All was over the expectstions. Nice family hotel perfectly managed, friendly atmosphere and really good service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Such gracious and helpful hosts and excellent location. I would certainly stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. It was above our expectations.

    Nice clean room, perfect size for the price. Nice updated bathroom. Excellent hosts went above and beyond for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    The location was a bit off the main square so you left the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    The location was a bit off the main square so you left the busy town to return to a quiet hotel. The hotel was very nicely decorates, was comfortable and roomy. The breakfast was excellent. The owner and the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - everything was spot on!

    What a lovely little family run hotel. The hotel is lovely, spacious room, great breakfast, excellent location and the hosts were so welcoming and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Loved the hotel and the hosts and the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with hotel. However much building disruption nearby made it difficult to locate hotel and parking with satnav.

    Wonderful hosts. Extremely helpful and friendly. Fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Wake up to the smell of baking croissants !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bruges is a beautiful town upon walking around personally I would like to choose a place in a prettier/ busier location like near the Square or on the canal, this location was fine for purpose of walk to and from train station I wouldn't want to drag bag further. Also we booked room with aircon but could not find the remote to use it, luckily the weather was cool while there so we did not need it.

    The location was a 10 min walk from train and then 5 to 10 mins from all the main places round town. The breakfast was delicious !! The place is more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel, very homely and personable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location close to the older parts of Bruges,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy plumbing, but after all it is an old building.

    Excellent location close to the older parts of Bruges, reasonably priced underground parking just a few minutes away, many dining options close by. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Romantic room in a romantic city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location! Walking distance from the central train station, and to the city centre. The building is very old, but maintained very well - so it felt amazing to stay in a room that gave a cozy and romantic feeling. The bed was very soft and comfortable. The room was carpeted and was of a decent size. The bathroom was clean and big enough for two people! The staff was very friendly and sweet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Enhancing the Bruges cityscape pleasant experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful stay, enhancing the Bruges cityscape very pleasant experience! The accommodation is good, but what made all the difference was the people: friendly, welcoming, attentionate, best tips on the city and excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Hidden Treasure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was really nothing to criticise.

    The property was great. Breakfast tables were already set up with cutlery, orange juice, table cloths, flowers, etc. Parking was 2 minutes walk away, undercover and very reasonable.....8.70 euro for 24 hours. Warm welcome from management, made to feel at home!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Great Family B&B Feel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish there was Air Conditioning, or at least a screen on one of the windows (one missing, one had a screen) to prevent mosquitos, when needing the windows open on warm nights.

    Everything! Friendly staff! Feels comfortable and like visiting family instantly. Fantastic breakfast, and location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Cosy peacefull stay in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We particularly liked the atmosphere, the breakfast and the terras. It was peacefull and the decorations were artistic. The host and hostess were very kind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Classic hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    Very friendly and efficient reception. We had an electrical cable breakdown! Hosts scratched around and lent us a vital cable to enable recharge. Quite a relief. Breakfast very prompt and filling. Scope of continental, mixed and extras.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Bruges experience.... Superb!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lack of a lift as the stairs are rather steep, especially for any visitors with mobility issues.

    all aspects were excellent, especially the attentiveness and warm friendly approach of all the staff. Would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anyone contemplating a visit to beautiful City of Bruges.....

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: