Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gulden Vlies 2 stars

Kon. Elisabethlaan 40, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#53 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 815 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Warm family B@B on the perifery of Old Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in economy double room on the 4th floor. The room was rather small, up the very steep staircase, with a low ceiling and the slide door to the toilet which was unstable when closed.

    Two big windows in the room. Excellent breakfast. Very stylish dining room - autentic art nouveau period. Friendly service, you feel you are a guest of the family. 15- 20 minutes by foot to the Markt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Well placed for getting into town, and a lovely old town house. Our budget room was small but immaculately clean and tidy and suited our one night stay. We were helped with our parking, told how to find some of Bruges hidden gems like Du Garre beer house that we'd never have seen without being told! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. And I must mention that breakfast was brilliant too. We'll definitely be returning here next we visit Bruges.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean and tiny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the top floor. We didn't expect that it was a private owned home turned hotel, so we had to carry our unfortunately heavy bags 4 stories high. The room was also teeny tiny. It is fine. It was pretty and cute and had everything we needed, but not as presented on the photo. Wouldn't have stayed there for that price had we known the true size of the room.

    Lovely breakfast. Lots of pastries and extras. Healthy options included. The hotel was very clean and the hostess was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you take a shower water goes all over the floor of the bathroom and takes a while to dry. Bathroom is small. Not enough toiletries provided and weren't replenished. A little overpriced for what it is. No lift which didn't bother us but if you have mobility issues there are alot of stairs to climb especially if your room is on a higher floor.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Very welcoming. Fleur took the time to explain and recommend outings and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely clean and quite spacioius. Was allowed to check in earlier at no extra cost. No elevator but as I was checked into room #1 and received help carting my suitcase then this was not a problem. This hotel is an older home that is lovingly maintained. It is located 10 minutes walking distance from market square but Is easily accessible from different routes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    2.9
    There was coffee stain on the sheet cover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was coffee stain on the sheet cover. Shampoo and shower wasn’t refilled during our two nights stay. Most importantly, I left something in the room, I asked them nicely if they can mail it to me, they just ignored it and hasn’t replied me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Handy location, very comfortable location and fabulous hosts. We would recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unprecedentedly hot in Bruges for this time of year (mid April) at around 25 degrees. We had to have the bedroom windows open but found this a bit noisy with the traffic from trucks and motorbikes.

    Fleur, our host, was wonderfully welcoming and spoke to each of the guests in their own languages, which was amazing! She gave us great advice about where to go for lunch that had baby-changing facilities (few places do in Bruges so it can be tricky) and about where to stroll alongside the river. We requested a parking spot in the hotel garage for an extra charge, which was handy as we had a car full of stuff for our 3 week journey. Breakfast at the hotel was plentiful and delicious; rolls, pastries, ham, cheese, jams, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cakes etc. The walk into the centre of Bruges took us about 15-20 mins (with the baby) and was very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    A relaxing , value for money stay in a lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea facilities in room were scarce

    Very friendly welcome from the owner, who advised us about areas to visit and where to eat. She very kindly offered to arrange a taxi for our departure and stored our luggage after check out. We also enjoyed the best breakfast of our two week travels, with plenty of choice in pleasant surroundings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Really good breakfast and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room itself was a bit small and the bathroom door was not really a door, but a wooden curtain (?). Also sheets had big holes in them, but else they were clean.

    Really good breakfast and comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Charming B&B with cozy rooms and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My fiancé mentioned the water temperature changed from hot to cold during his morning showers.

    Charming B&B with cozy rooms and delicious breakfast. The owner gave us great recommendations for things to do and places to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door on the bathroom didn't really close, not a huge issue but it did need to be held closed.

    Very accommodating staff, helped us to find vegan restaurants and made sure we could have breakfast at the hotel. Also supplied us with a parking permit for the duration of our stay. Very well informed of things to do and where everything was.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful family break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in a family room .The beds were very comfortable and we felt we could all easily relax. We were a short walk from the centre of Bruges and the location was very convenient. Breakfast was excellent (continental buffet style)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Like visiting a relative who is always happy to see you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely warm welcome from all staff, cosy building and rooms. Room was suitably sized for 4 people. Easy and secure parking with flexibility to come and go. Excellent choice for breakfast and everything freshly prepared.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place to spend a couple of nights in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sliding door on the bathroom did not close completely. Also our room (room 1) was not very sound-proof and unfortunately we could hear everyone going up and down the stairs past our room. It may be different in the other rooms on higher floors. This is probably only a problem if you are an early sleeper.

    The place was well maintained and the lady at the reception was very nice and helpful. Close enough to all the attractions but in a quieter location about 10-15 min walk from the main square. The breakfast was nice and the beds were comfortable. Parking was easy (across the road) and reasonably priced compared to other places around Bruges.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Mrs. Fleur was very friendly and hospitality in general was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like that the room we stayed is not included at all in hotel's pictures uploaded in 'Booking' site and it does not resemble to any of the rooms in the photos. Not very spacious, and furniture not as new as the ones shown in the other rooms. Cleanliness could be upgraded as there were some handicaps (ie. towels not so clean and new, bathroom was not cleaned very carefully etc).

    Mrs. Fleur was very friendly and hospitality in general was great. The breakfast was also good with several choises.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Warm welcome in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We loved it all.

    Wonderful stay again with such a warm welcome. After a busy day exploring the beautiful city of Bruges we needed a comfortable warm hotel, lots of hot water for showers/baths and a comfy bed. This place gives you all that. Great breakfast too. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Bruges.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, classic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in our room didn't work.

    All lovely... nice room and view, great breakfast, pleasant and knowledgeable staff, clean and cared for hotel, good location...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    The room was just enough for us two, the breakfast was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They don't have wifi in the rooms and the one from downstairs didn't work. The doors from bathrooms does not close so for those who will stay 4 in the same room will be a little wired.

    The room was just enough for us two, the breakfast was very good. The host is very nice, she helped us with information about the bus. the city and everything we asked.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Excellent host, fantastic breakfast and extremely comfy bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main light in the room was not working, but not a big issue for us

    Excellent host, fantastic breakfast and extremely comfy bed! We were made to feel very welcome and given great recommendations for things to do and places to eat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Good but
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator About 10 min walk from the centre of the town Old furniture The towels were torn and old .

    Excellent room for breakfast Good breakfast Excellent and helping people

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    Good location, that's all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy in the morning at 7:30, the bathroom door didn't close properly and it didn't had any handles, it was an improvised old door. The kettle was full of limescale, the carpets very old and dirty. The so called chandelier was barely holding and it had no light bulbs. The price is to high for a room like that.

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    4.6
    Unpleasant place in a beautiful city, ruining what could’ve been a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Today, at 10:30, in a place with no signs about checkout, we were told by housekeeping to get out of our room because the woman needed to clean the room. Then, at 11 am, the hostess told us we needed to leave the room immediately. We had never been told when checkout was, nor provided any warning or information.

    It was in Bruges.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    The historical building is fantastic, interior design is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A toilet/make-up table would be nice.

    The historical building is fantastic, interior design is well matched with it. The room is very chic decorated with the vintage style furniture. On the other hand the bathroom is renovated, it has all the facilities you need. There is an electric kettle with instant coffee & teabags in the room. The breakfast was delicious, fulfilling and served at the chic dining room. The Market Square is very close to the hotel (it takes approximately 10-15 minutes by walking). The owner lady was so polite and helpful. I would definitely stay at here if I visit Brugge again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    It was very cozy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot say anything bad about this hotel.

    It was very cozy and comfortable. Room was clean and neatly prepared for guests. Staff was very nice and understanding. Breakfast was very tasty and gave me energy for sightseeing. I recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Great service, wonderful friendly staff, clean & beautifully presented with a breakfast to live for.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nil

    The service at reception and the lady explaining the parking and taking me to it, so the car was secure. Also she helped me with info about the town and where to eat and drink and look at the swans. Amazing service. The room was tidy, warm and clean. The shower worked wonderfully and the towels were fluffy. Breakfast was magnificent - the best free breakfast I have ever had. With eggs, meats, and a great variety of breads, cakes and drinks/teas. All wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Booking Gulden Vlies was the best thing we ever did during holidays!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We can recommend the Gulden Vlies Hotel 100 percent. It is situated very close to the city market, the rooms are cozy and the breakfast is fantastic. The owners are lovely people who made our second stay as enjoyable as the first one there. They are more than willing to help and can provide you with awesome tips on what to visit and where to eat. Wasn't our last stay here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Not as good as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room number 6 definitely needs to be renovated. Everything was more or less used up, the door to the bathroom was not closing and the room was not well cleaned. The street in front of the hotel was loud. All in all it was ok, but I would not stay at the Gulden Vlies again.

    Nice breakfast and good location close to old city center. A very good “Frituur“ just a few meters away at a corner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear my neighbours talking. The whole bathroom got really wet when i shower due to the open design. Tired room and dated furniture though very neat and clean.

    Very helpful and friendly owner. I emailed the owner through booking.com to request for extra bed and breakfast but unfortunately the info was not received by the hotel, upon arrival the owner was very understanding and accomodate our request. I highly appreciate that. Breakfast selection was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely friendly owners and centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The budget room was disappointingly small but adequate for an over night stop. We wished we hadn't been so tight and booked a larger room.

    Very friendly and welcoming family owners and the small hotel is only a short walking distance to the old town and it's attractions. Private secure parking across the road in a garage for a fee and a very good breakfast. No hesitations in recommending this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location, secure parking available in a courtyard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom door was hard to close and frosted glass.

    Good location, secure parking available in a courtyard opposite, good communication, friendly host and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Close to the center, very close to the bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the door of the bathroom must be replaced with a real one.

    Close to the center, very close to the bus station. A quiet zone and very nice personnel. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location and fabulous hostess
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely. Nothing not to like.

    Our host was so helpful and catered for whatever we needed. The second bed in the family room was a proper bed and not a sofa bed and was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    The owner operated Hotel Gulden Vlies is a wonderful hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner operated Hotel Gulden Vlies is a wonderful hotel with a fabulous breakfast. Our family room was very clean and comfortable. We were given fabulous suggestions for restaurants and good directions to get there. Parking was available across the street in a secured courtyard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - the bathroom door is a sliding door that barely closes and is very close to the bed. basically, no privacy. - wifi only in the breakfast area (open only during breakfast) or in front of the villa/ground floor on the stairs - no fridge in the room - 25 min walk to city center

    - charming old villa - breakfast was ok

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    Charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not much privacy to the bath and it was a bit short on towels

    Charming character of an old house with high ceilings and great architectural details. Bathrooms are typical tiny European style, but clean. Breakfast on Mother's Day was a glorious celebration!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Location is perfect: very close to the city centre but in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To say something, the carpets on stairs and corridor of the house are a little too old.

    Location is perfect: very close to the city centre but in a quiet area. Nice and helpfuf staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Nice location, near the central market
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the bathroom was small and with no airflow (there was mold on the ceiling)

    - great location (10 minutes from central market) - nice staff - great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Just great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just nothing!

    Great hospitality, location, breakfast. The owner was focused on details that can make your holiday more pleasant ( eg. the music in the morning, during the breakfast was lovely, candles on the tables etc. ).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel with lovely owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing as such but a small point about the heating of the room wasn't working but the blankets were warm enough.

    Nice hotel run by really nice people.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    Love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom door are not the best

    The staff were amazing. the room was very modern and spacious. the all hotel was very cosy and clean. Breakfast was so generous and very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel just 10 min walk from the heart of Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room at the front of the building, as on a busy road. Only really a bother if you want to sleep with window open. When the windows are closed the sound proofing is excellent.

    Lovely big beds in the family room. Super choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Golden stay at Guilden Vlies
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was allocated a small double at the top of the hotel which was plenty big enough for one but the climb was tricky with luggage. Fleur was very welcoming and extremely helpful. The breakfast selection was very good, would have just liked to be able to toast my bread.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Such a wonderful welcome and the hotel was beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Such a wonderful welcome and the hotel was beautiful and warm in every sense. Wonderful big room for us and our two teens. Delicious breakfast with loads of choice. We absolutely loved our stay and wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else in Bruges. Bruges was wonderful. Ice skating, hired bikes for ride along the canal. Free night walking tour highly recommended. The best time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.8
    Good location but needs updating and up to date pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on the website do not reflect the property at present or the room we were given to stay in. The coffee wasn't replenished in our room and the holders were dirty. There were cracked tiles in the bathroom and the door had been made from an old wardrobe door cut down with a plaster stuck over the catch so you didn't cut yourself. The general cleanliness wasn't that bad but around the shower and skirting boards hadn't been done in places. I appreciate I got a very good price however, if I had had a choice I would have chosen to pay a little more and had nicer accommodation. Also the rooms on the floors below us seemed nicer we were on the top floor and the doors and flooring was different from the rest.

    I liked the location. 15 mins walk from train station and the proprietor was very friendly and informative.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault this hotel. Beautiful, comfortable, and the family running it were friendly, kind, and helpful. Here's hoping I have the opportunity to return to Bruges as I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful stay at Hotel Gulden Vlies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very quiet and cozy. The breakfast buffet was amazing and kept fully stocked. The hotel manager was very friendly and inviting. The city center was just a short 10 minute walk. We will definitely be staying here again next time we visit Brugge!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    8.8
    Quintessential, Boutique, Belgian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous boutique hotel really well positioned - under 15 mins pretty walk to the main square. Wonderful breakfast, cute rooms, gorgeous candles in reception and a background of retro jazz on the radio - the perfect Belgian experience!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    A "chic" B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a very "chic" B&B. English/vintage style decorated, quiet, with a beautifully breakfast room, good quality breakfast. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fleur was a great host! She's helpful, kind and always smiling. The hotel is great and old-fashioned - reminds me of where I grew up at. The service and guidance that we received was outstanding! We're very, very happy with the experience. We're also very impressed with the housekeeping lady. 10/10

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    3.8
    the kindness not sufficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The forniture of towels very insufficient , cleaness insufficient ,the rubbish not are empty in 5 days and the room are maked up in Very summary mode. The shower without plains for

    The lady at the reception Very kind and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel. Good position for visiting Bruges. Super breakfast. Very nice helpful owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door did not close properly. There was a kettle to make a hot drink but only tea bags and unwrapped sugar cubes were supplied in the room. There was no milk and no coffee. Being a coffee drinker only this was a bit disappointing.

    Hotel was within walking distance to the city centre. The owner was very friendly and advised of places to visit and some nice restaurants. An excellect continental breakfast with a selection of different kinds of breads, croissants, fruit, cold meats and cheeses etc to choose from, served in a very nice breakfast room. Our room was a large one on the front of the house but there was no noise from traffic. Bed was comfortable so got a good nights sleep. On street parking was close to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    6.3
    Pricey for a tired B&B but the staff are the redeeming feature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air con (v hot weather). Lack of double glazing (v busy road). Decor needs updating.

    The staff were incredibly friendly. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    5.4
    You get what you pay for. :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a good deal of black mold and the utensils given for the room were dirty. Additionally, it is located directly next to a very busy street which means we heard very loud noises all night long. We basically didn't sleep for two nights. Loved the staff and their help, but after staying in hotels in Europe for the last three years...this is our least favorite.

    We loved the location of this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Nicely decorated place, excellent host, good breakfast, private parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Location, excellent host, breakfast choices, dinning room, private parking option

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    The room is not suitable for 4 people and need to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is not suitable for 4 people and need to be repaired. (Windows, the bathroom door) The host is very helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, characteristic building, fantastic host
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I'm easy to please. Any faults I pick would be trivial

    Great location, characteristic building, fantastic host

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long and narrow staircases. The wifi didn't work at all the whole time we stayed there.

    Good breakfast, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Great host
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great host

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful! The room was clean and had very comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    The owner was absolutely fantastic - she did everything for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was absolutely fantastic - she did everything for us to have a nice stay in Brügge😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    The owner couldn't have been more helpful in helping us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner couldn't have been more helpful in helping us with city tips, storing luggage & ordering taxi's etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Fleur is very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fleur is very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No carpets on the floor, or no slippers. The bathroom's door was improvised (other door which didn't fit). Worn out towels.

    good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff and owner were friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Good value.Will stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The host went above and beyond to help out with everything from parking to removing luggage from the car I’d highly recommend it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Perfect stay in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a nice small hotel close to the old town. Very friendly staff and great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.4
    It looks better in the photo then it looks in reality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The strong smell from the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing host, went above and beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    Amazing host, went above and beyond

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.3
    Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather and by that a bit distant from the city core, city prices

    Friendly and helpul host,location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Cute B&B & the owner was friendly and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner is a very nice lady and everything is very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    very enjoyable and fantastic value ..will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent value with a beautiful Breakfast and Fluer couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfy place with a lovely host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fleur, our host was very friendly and helpful. Gave us good advice about Bruges.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Really friendly people with awesome food and very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The long winding staircase.

    Really friendly people with awesome food and very good quality room all around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Super friendly staff and amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanness

    Super friendly staff and amazing breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Gulden Vlies traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: