Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Caleche 3 stars

Place aux Foires, 15, 6940 Durbuy, Belgium

#1 of 22 hotels in Durbuy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 633 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dedicated reception area - you have to wait in the restaurant, but that was not a big problem.

    The beds were really comfortable, the room was cozy and modern, the shower was great! Very handy parking with reserved spot a bit further from the hotel (walking distance). The breakfast was also good, with enough variation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The domotica in the room was a little bit over the top.

    New, spacy rooms with shower and toilet on a split level. Very friendly crew, especially during breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice touch of a welcoming drink .The rooms were really clean and had lots of gadgets. Everyone was very friendly. We had to leave early and the lady in the morning wrapped up some food for us to take on our journey. A really great location right in the middle of Durbuy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very small thing - the tablet system to control all the lights, airco etc is a little over complicated and probably not really necessary. The bath towels are very thin for someone who likes them fluffy. These however are personal things and have in no way changed my score which is a well deserved 10

    Very comfortable big beds. Large very clean bathroom. Coffee and tea facilities and a bottle of water in the room and a free welcome drink on arrival. Very friendly staff, excellent and varied breakfast and to top it all off they have a very good restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel had no dedicated parking so there was an additional daily charge. Also the final cost was higher than initially indicated when booked.

    Breakfast was good and the room modern and comfortable. The town was picturesque and accessible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not always available in the center of Durbuy. However, the hotel has reserved spots in a garage nearby which will require 10 minutes walking. Wifi doesnt always work here for some reasons and our phones barely had signal once we were in the restaurant and hotel.

    Modern room with a tablet to control lights, heat/AC, and windows. Shower is new with amazing design. Staff is friendly and speak English. The welcome drinks were a nice surprise. Location is great right in the center of Durbuy. Durbuy Adventure Valley is 8 minutes away if you are here for kayaking and outdoor activities. Spa circuit is an hour away to do go-karting on the track. Free breakfast is nice with standard selection (crossaints, eggs, bacon, fruits, toasts, coffee, juice... etc)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the food in the restaurant was great, the service was fairly slow and not particularly attentive.

    hotel location was very central and within walking distance to all the bars and restaurants. The room was very modern and equipped with top of the range technology to operate blinds/lights/air on etc. Breakfast was extensive and the restaurant within the hotel serves great traditional Belgium food at reasonable cost.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we had been warned about the street party as in hindsight we would probably not of stayed here. Having ridden 7 hours and being due to ride a further 7 hours the next day we were not impressed at being kept awake until 5.30 in the morning. Whilst the accommodation is lovely, having only had 3 hours sleep this was certainly not value for money! Had the staff in the morning asked how our stay had been, we would not feel the need to record this here!

    Room and location would of been lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had some problems with the air conditioning. This seemed to keep turning itself off even though we had used the tablet system to request a lower temperature. The staff are very busy with the restaurant and it seems that the hotel part of the establishment comes at 'second place'. Also for the buffet breakfast there were most mornings very little of some foodstuffs available. Twice I needed to ask if more bread could be put out for people. Fruit was put out in small amounts so you had to be fast to get any.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing I missed was a door for the bathroom/toilet, although its upstairs, for me a door would have been more pleasant.

    Room was great, lots of nice gadgets to be controlled with a tablet, like the lights which are color changing, windows and shades. bathroom also had color changing Led lights. There were plenty of points to charge your phones, tablets e.g. Also in the restaurant there were Usb plugs to charge at most tables. The food was very good and not so expensive as most restaurants nearby. Staff was friendly. And the Hotel has some parking spots in a private parking garage, that guarantees you with a spot, on the big parking place you have to hope to find a spot, specially on Saturday.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel outside is a bit creepy, in fact it gives you the impression that is an awful hotel, but the rooms are so perfect...also there is no reception,on the ground floor there is a bar-restaurant-reception-breakfast lounge...all in one.They should do something and renovate all the ground floor.

    The room was brand new,super high-tech,clean and cosy. Bathroom also the same, everything was automatized. It had quality soaps and shampoo, etc. Nice view from attic window, in the heart of Durbuy.Breakfast was ok.Great wi-fi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, the reception was great with a complimentary drink and everythimg. The rooms are super comfortable, with a tablet and a ton more buttons to control everything all the way to the color of the led lights (which my girlfriend had a great time with). Ours even had an extra bed to read books on while listening to the rain on the roof window. Coffeemachine, great shower with rain head, we could go on and on. The restaurant was also very nice, breakfast was excellent. Almost everyone who works there is very polite, nice and personal (I stress: *almost* everyone, but hey, you can't win them all ;)) The cherry on top was when we checked out. We asked for the bus schedule, and once they realized it was to go the train station to go home, they immediately offered to have one of the guys in the kitchen bring us with the van. Hands down, best hotel we ever stayed at.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confused about breakfast times paid for 3 only had 1 since we were going to the Grand Prix and we were informed we couldn't have it until eight o'clock and no refund given.

    Staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was broken while it was the hottest two days 32 degrees. wish they checked in advance. Hotel entrance is right inside of the restaurant. One has to pass through all people dining to get to the hotel, which was kinda awkward and there is no actual counter for check in.

    Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, location is situated in the center surrounded by numerous restaurants and bars, the room was very designed and high tech.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived breakfast was not explained and we had to guess what to do in the morning. It would have been helpful if staff that were around in the morning were a little more pro active in guiding guests.

    Being greated with a glass of bubbly and some snacks on arrival. Bed was very comfy and shower amazing. Location perfect for an evening stroll around Durbuy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was OK but no more. The eggs could have been kept warm. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it seemed pretty full. Cost per night was a bit high: 80 euro is the max price that should be charged per night.

    Very good location in the centre. Plenty of parking place outside but you must pay for it 2 euro/hour from 10 am to 7 pm. So you better look for a spot outside the centre. Rooms very nice renovated; modern and clean, not too big but OK for a 2night stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy the music from the cafe of the hotel ( in daytime.)

    Location. Room is very clean and modern. They have a private car parking place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and well-equiped rooms!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great! Great location. Absolutely no complaints

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    alles was in orde

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pilows

    The room was modern & clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge. No working internet and unsafe WLAN

    Good domitica, superb airco and nice TV. OK breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All very new and good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's kinda far and a bit difficult to reach if it's raining.

    The thought of being surrounded by fresh air and relaxing environment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only paid parking nearby

    A great breakfast for free.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not clean

    Nice modern room, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great locatTion in fablous town

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort of room. Good brasserie present in hotel. Located in the middle of the tiny historic city of Durbuy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good!

    Wonderful place to stay. Very modern. Dominic was great!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bedroom Nice shower Location (not hard, world's smallest city afterall :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were very uncomfortable but everything else was great

    Very clean and comfortable room right in the middle of the village.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very disappointing, there was hardly anything to choose from and what little items were there were stale and of poor quality. The parking was aan extra €10 and in my opinion, it really should have been included in the price.

    The gentleman who served us throughout our stay was very pleasant and very helpful. The room was lovely and clean and the bathroom beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think that the walls are not too thick because on one night during our stay, we could hear the television from the other room... and after a few hours, we could hear the snores of our next room neighbour.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The view from our bedroom (and also the bathroom) were amazing. The location is perfect. We also had our dinner during our first night in Durbuy at the hotel's restaurant and I can say that the food and service are excellent.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33