Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Notre Dame 2 stars

Mariastraat 3, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#71 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1211 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the small room to stay the night over in Bruges. The small room was small as expected but it had all we needed for the night, The bed was comfortable, and the room was cool even during the hot weather in Belgium of the last couple of weeks. Room was fitted with a bugscreen to prevent bugs entering. Breakfast was good with excellent choice of different breads, cheeses, meat, spreads... Coffee was a bit tasteless, but I'm difficult on my coffee ;) Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we were very disappointed with it this time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very small and the bathroom was a cupboard made into an ensuite. We were two adults in the room with one bath towel and what I would describe as a hand towel.Not ideal.

    the bed was very comfortable and the location was good. hot drinks were available anytime you wanted one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.3
    You can do much better than this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose this place based on other reviews and a stated “room with balcony and view”. HA! The balcony view is of nothing and the room VERY NOISY with horse carts all day and drunks all night. The entire hotel is dark, musty and the lady owner rude and quite a penny pincher. She controls the amount of towels and lukewarm coffee like a warden. To top it off they offer other clients discarded toiletries to make up for their measly supply and then she takes them out of room when she decides (and unplugs your charger when you’re out). See my other review for nearby T’Zand hotel. Ten times better and cheaper!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I made an error when booking and the staff done everything to sort it for us. The hotel is a beautiful building in the centre. Staff and breakfast are excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as no air conditioning we had to open windows during night, not knowing that bruges as a problem with mosquitoes. my wife was bitten about 20 times needing to go to pharmacy the next day

    good clean room , rather small but adequate. staff very friendly good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    excellent location and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here for one night and it was perfect for what we wanted, location was brill and the staff were great with check in and check out. Only downside was the noise from the horses and the church bells but thats no fault of the hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    If you need to stay during cooler days and if your stay is short , it might be ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very hot, the bathroom is very tiny and it is something they had built inside the room separated with a sliding door and the toilet is almost next to the bed. The sink is outside of the toilet in another part of the room. There were flies too which made it impossible to sleep.no shampoo etc in the room. The coffee during breakfast was cold and bad.

    The location is perfect and the hotel staff are very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable pace in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little hotel in a perfect location near a square, very central yet quite. Friendly and helpful staff. Room size a bit small but i think probably normal in the old town and not really a problem for a couple of nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely small hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Brilliant location, elegant old building. Loved the decor in the breakfast room. The owners were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Lovely old building with a friendly owner, good location, great breakfast.....good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Folks who cannot climb stairs should ask for a first floor room. There's no elevator but we were OK with that.

    The older, quaint hotel has been remodeled yet kept the Old World charm. The location is perfect for walking to various sights, squares, canals. The staff was warm and welcoming and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Lovely old building with a friendly owner, good location, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you don't like stairs, ask for a first floor room.

    The hotel is conveniently located near the center of the old town and other sights. The owner was pleasant and the breakfast was great. Good value all around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Bruges is absolutely lovely and I couldn’t recommend it enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small but served its purpose. Not much hanging space for clothes. This didn’t cause any problems though and we will definitely stay there again when we return to Bruges

    The Hotel location couldn’t be better- the staff were friendly and very helpful - nice Continental Breakfast each morning. Bruges is one of the nicest places I’ve ever been too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Good choice for a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very small

    Room was very small but clean and adequate for a short stay. Good location close to bars and restaurants and comfortable walking distance to major attractions. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Spotless clean, great breakfast, very very nice stuff, they...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spotless clean, great breakfast, very very nice stuff, they made me feel like home. The place is quiet at the heart of the center, the breakfast is great. The guy at the reception was very polite to help me with a trip within the country and printed my ticket. In the early morning a full package of breakfast was waiting for me. I would absolutely recommend the hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Historical stay in Bruges!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to get in contact with someone in charge at the hotel. You couldnt predict when the reception will be open. Cleaning could have been done more regularly.

    Amazing vintage hotel in the middle of Bruges! The dining room area is decorated with old family pictures of the owners giving a very homey feeling. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was just enough in variety.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff was extremely helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the location was great for playing tourist, it was not so wonderful for sleeping as the hotel is located on one of the main routes into town from the train station. This means you could hear traffic and movement from 5 am through the early morning hours as people enjoying the wonderful Belgium beer were making their way back to their hotel (3-4 am).This constant noise made it difficult (even with beers) to get a good night sleep.

    The staff was extremely helpful! They held our luggage for us, and told us the best places for food and beers. The location was great, it was in the center of town and everything was within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Very lovely hotel with friendly staff and cosy athmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very lovely hotel with friendly staff and cosy athmosphere. The room was beautiful and charmig and the location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. Right in the middle of the old town, but still in a rather quiet road. Nothing negative to note.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    The room was perfectly adequate for one night, close to restaurants, canals and the Belfry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Foam mattress riding off bed during the night. Sink in bedroom rather than shower/toilet. Beware of steep stairs to rooms, no lift!

    Location. Good shower. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No staff after 4pm (even though booking.com says 7pm) so checking in requires calling the number on the door but within 5 mins the shop keeper next door got the call and let us in and provided the keys and map. There were no interaction with any staff until next morning at breakfast. We were able to find the wifi password and tea/coffee in the common area on our own. It would have been nice if we got a detailed orientation at check in. There were also no hangers in our wardrobe, making the furniture a bit pointless :)

    The location was really good and the breakfast has good selections. Room was small but has (almost) everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    We were so happy to spend our one night in Bruges in this hotel. It was quaint & comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are stairs to climb, but in such vintage hotels, this is the way it is.

    Francois and her husband were wonderful, so friendly and helpful. The location could not have been better. The breakfast was delicious and the hotel itself was very quaint and lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Nice small hotel in great location, helpful owner, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a small hotel in an antique building in Bruges, Belgium. The owner was very nice and even made us dinner reservations at our request. They kept our bags for us from 9:30 AM until check in time at 2 PM so we could walk around town unencumbered. We had a very nice room (#6) with a view of the bell tower of a church. Modern bathroom, very clean. Breakfast the next morning was very nice. Walking distance from the train station, right in the heart of historic Bruges.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is old building without elevator. The stairs is quite steep. But we were OK that we didn't bought a huge luggage.

    The bed is comfort. Bathroom is compact but clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good to set check out time later, not in 10.30 but for 12.00.

    Very lovely old-style hotel. I enjoyed the real Bruges atmosphere there. Nice owners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful time and this hotel was perfect for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing bad to say about this hotel!

    The bed was super comfortable, the breakfast was yummy, the whole hotel was beautiful and extremely clean! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The hotel is in a great location and easy to get to. The chocolate shop next door is super delicious too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Location is in the heart of brugge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is in the same room where is bed(very thin walls).

    Location is in the heart of brugge. Good breakfast. Traditional interior in traditional belgian building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    The hotel was very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed one night in room 1. In the morning we found bed bugs on the bed. The hotel managers informed us that this was the first time they had heard of this and gave us a placatory chocolate pack. However, we came across some past (recent) reviews with the same complaint and, apparently, the same response from the hotel managers. The room had a certain smell in the beginning, and putting two and two together, it appears they may have treated the room recently. If this was the case, the room should not have been allotted. In any case, we left disappointed, particularly, due to the indifference and inaccurate representation of facts from hotel managers.

    The hotel was very well located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel which is near the center of everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not sure if I just missed it, but I think there was no lift so it’s not ideal to have a heavy suitcase else you’ll have a difficult time carrying it up/down the spiral staircase.

    The room was spacious, very clean and bed was so comfy! I love how the room was designed to have modern comforts in it without foregoing the medieval-ish vibe which is Brugge! The owners are very accomodating and friendly too. Lastly, I would like to mention that the hot chocolate from the chocolate shop next to the hotel was very addicting!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold in the room, noisy thermic instalation, no wardrobe or dressing in the room, the room was very small even though we have booked a normal sized one. Other rooms were much bigger and when someone reserves a room for a long stay such as ours - 5 nights, you should consider to offer a bigger better room. Most of the guests stayed only 1 2 nights. Thin doors, pretty thin walls. A School is in the back yard so you can hear children screaming daily starting with 8 o clock in the morning, therefore no need for an alarm clock. The bathroom and the towels had a dusty smell, probably due to lack of proper air ventilation. We can understand the smell of the bathroom itself but the towels could be better. About cleanless - could be better, too. It is a family business and they kind of making economies with personnel and other stuffs as well - e.g. Heating in the room. Being very cold outside we let the heating on because we wanted to come back to warm after our daily trips, but the staff closed it during the day. I can understand that they want to make economy but when outside are minus 5 degrees and the room itself it is not that well isolated, i expect to at least be asked for this and not argued in the following morning. While i am paying the fee i assume i can use the heating as i wish - what if i have stayed the whole day in the room?! The breakfast was decent, however just between 8 and 9.30am. If i have stayed just 1 or 2 nights maybe i wouldn't have been bothered about these minuses, however if you would like to stay for a longer period maybe consider to book another place. The chance to receive a small room is pretty high. The stairs are indeed very narrow especially the ones from 1th to 2nd floor. For elderly people or kids may be difficult to climb every day. Another fact that did not enjoy to much was the fact that 50% of the fee was debited from my card, even though the reservation stated a cash payment to the reception on arrival.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    As beautiful as Brugge is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I adored this tiny and lovely hotel, it is as beautiful as Brugge is. Perfect location, absolute cleanness, lovely staff, amazing breakfast. Perfect for a romantic weekend. Can't wait to come back :) Strongly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Charming, newly renovated, boutique hotel close to all the points of interest in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great welcome by staff. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of food and drinks. The room was modern and clearly renovated recently. The hotel while having all the modern amenities, kept the charm of the original building. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Our fifth visit, and looking forward to booking our sixth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that could have improved our room would be a small bed side light. There was build in lights in the head board, but they were very bright. But its not a show stopper.

    A great hotel, great location, and great people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Bruge is amaIng anyway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What is sad about this hotel that the room are too small and it has no elevator.

    IT was a good hotel, location and vakue of money. Clean and nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Good satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lift, and no night check in

    Fantastic central location. Could not be better. Amenities ok. Not out of this world but good. I wish the room was a but warmer. But I would go again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Great location friendly service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family owned and operated, friendly, clean, quiet, updated rooms. Delicious breakfast. Great location! Easy access to most tourist attractions! Restaurants nearby!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice, cozy hotel in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One towel was not clean (there were hair on it). There is no room service available after 18.00 so if you need something you have to call.

    Nice, cozy hotel in the center of the city. Well located. Breakfast is very good compared to the price. Overall we were satisfied with our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Location is perfect, the hotel so old that you feel you are inside historical place, amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very very friendly staff, room is so clean, bath room is really clean nice and modern, bedrooms well decorated and the hall was old it added so much beauty and historical atmosphere to the place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location close walking distance to everywhere including train station. Excellant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of steps. Very old steep staircase. Radiator is old and noisy. The positives certainly outweigh any negatives.

    Excellant staff and breakfast. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay in the heart of Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not for people with restricted mobility...narrow stairs, no elevator.

    Very nice breakfast, clean room, new bathroom with great shower. Very friendly staff, very relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fantastic right in the centre of the city staff were very friendly and helpful. Wasn't meant to check in until 2pm but room was ready at 10am.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Weekend in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t had a hair dryer. I would appreciate if it was a bottle of water in the room even if I had to pay for it.

    Staff Very friendly, location very good, clean. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Gem of a hotel with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel stairs were steep because it is an old building and they are not allowed a lift. Not suitable for elderly or disabled. The Parking was prohibited as the centre was cordoned off for pedestrians so we had to walk a fair way with our suitcases. This wasn't the fault of the hotel.

    Lovely old hotel in the centre. Next to a chocolate shop and the Christmas market. Very nice staff who took up my cases to room. Tastefully decorated room in a modern yet retro style. Quite small but had everything we needed. Slept well in the comfortable bed and there wasn't much noise given the central nature of the place. Huge dining room with lovely breakfast and outlook. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Great hotel in old classic style in a great location. that's exactly what you want when in Bruges. with super friendly owners. they also own a chocolate store (neighbor door) with amazing chocolate and not too expensive either. loved my stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    Not recommend with kids and older travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -I would not recommend the facility if you are travelling with kids and older travellers. -The facility doesn’t have an elevator, if you are not a backpacker, it is challenging to get out of the returning stairs because you need to carry your suitcases by your self. - The roomdoors are thin, so you can hear the sound coming from the wooden stairs. - When you come to the facility after enjoying the lovely Brugges, you enter with the key, thats lovely you feel like you are at home. However, if you want to make coffe or tea you may encounter anger.

    Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, lovely hotel, really excellent hosts, breakfast was fantastic, perfect spot for a long weekend and we will definitely stay there again if there is room for us. Yes the stairs are steep, but you are in Bruges, so what else do you expect? They were no problem at all for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Hotel Notre Dame in Beautiful Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, it does have a steep spiral staircase so you should be aware of this.

    Such a beautiful hotel, very clean and the location is fantastic, the staff are so friendly and welcoming too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Great option to stay in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not available after 18:00, what could be not good in case of an issue.

    The whole experience was nice, staff very friendly,breakfast tasty and in a nice room. Walking distance from train station and all attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay whilst in Brugge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walking up stairs to room with luggage but the staff always help.

    Staff were amazing - Provided local knowledge for best places to eat and see. Best location next to Christmas markets and the best hot chocolate place in Bruges. Nice view from bedroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous centre location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous centre location. Parking just a short stroll away (€8:70 for 24hrs). Owners friendly and welcomed us with information and maps! Breakfast was great especially the homemade chocolate mousse!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel with fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't see it as an issue some may find the stairs very steep and narrow for young children and infirm people.

    Excellent, the room was freshly decorated, tidy and very clean . The hotel was simply beautiful the breakfast room was of vintage nature almost like a museum. The owners were very friendly and helpful giving a very good service and a great contential breakfast. Very good value for money and only a few minutes walk to the main square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice budget choice
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs were not as bad as I took from earlier reviews ... but it is good to know beforehand that there is no elevator.

    I parked at the Train Station parking, which only costs 3,5 euro per 24 hours. It's about 10 minutes walk to the hotel. Host also run the chocolate shop next door, and this is where I first had to enter. Hotel is a quaint, boutigue style with an interesting mix of 'art work' in the room. It's basic, but more than adequate in this sooo expensive city. Shower was nice and hot. Bed not overly firm. Breakfast had ample choice of good quality food. All in all, I was very satisfied with my stay. I'll be posting more pics on tripadvisor

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Basic facilities but plenty sufficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic facilities but plenty sufficient. Very good location and walking distance from train station. Friendly and helpful staff who was more than happy to share information and make recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no reception 24 hours a day. By my mistake, I did not read the reservation instructions that stipulated specific procedures to check in late at night. So I arrived at the hotel at midnight and it was closed, I had to look for a nearby hotel and pay for one more night. Check out is very early, at 10am.

    The bed was comfortable and the location is awesome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    The WIFI in the hotel can be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although there was WIFI in the hotel, our room had very poor connection making it unusable. The light build in the bed (used for reading in the bed before sleeping) made a lot of noise.

    The location is right in the city center so it's possible to visit Brugge by foot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Very good breakfast and very polite and hospital owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were said that the hotel would be renovated shortly after our visit and that is really necessary once the bathroom was placed additionally to room and it was rather like a closet! The mattresses were rather soft and the beds too light.

    Very good breakfast and very polite and hospital owners. Very good location. The hotel is a family business and the owners try and take good care of their investment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    The location and the breakfast are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really basic and cheap. The toilet and the shower were actually a box inside the room. The entrance door and the toilet door were broken.

    The location and the breakfast are amazing. Staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.4
    everything was relatively good until the moment of departure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was relatively good until the moment of departure! Check out was at 10.30 am and when we returned to the room after breakfast 10.31 am, which we took at the hotel, the people work in the hotel had removed as things from as room. The hotel can charge for extra time in the room, but never go inside the guest room, touch things and take the staff. It's a lack of respect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Great location and comfortable place for a great visit to Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs.

    Great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. About parking: We traveled by car and parking is very expensive within the city but don’t let this discourage you. Bruges has very inexpensive parking at the train station which includes free bus transit for your entire party into & back out of the center. We were able to drive to our hotel and unload then drive out to the train station and park for about $4 per 24 hours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Everything was great at this place except two things: the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great at this place except two things: the steps are hard, especially if u have a heavy luggage and there is not an elevator. The funny part wa last the bathroom in the room, it was inside a closet haha I was supersized

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.0
    mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    was awoken on the first morning by water pouring through the ceiling, from the room upstairs (apparently someone was taking a shower) there where marks and the ceiling was peeling from previous episodes. although this was denied by the owner who said they had never had any problems. when we asked for a different room we were told it would cost an extra 25 euros per night as it was an upgrade. the owners asked if they could do work on the room duering our occupancy

    continental breakfast was nice but 7.50 euros per day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    - Breakfast contained everything needed and was included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - ... but 15mins walk to hotel needed We had room 8 and booked a normal double bed room (see pictures attached): - Shower was only separated from living/sleeping room with a shower curtain - Toilet was more like a toilet on a construction place and not fully isolated to the sleeping/living room - Hand wash basin was in the sleeping/living room and not in a separated bathroom - Booking confirmation stated the room to have, but we did not: balcony (okay, not needed), city view (okay, not really needed), seating corner (would be nice to have, but not necessarily needed) and a bathroom (room had none and that's needed!) - Booking.com and even their homepage only offered one type of double bed room so it was not even possible to directly book the better rooms shown on pictures on booking or their homepage. Only room with two single beds as alternative, but we as a couple wanted a double bed. --That does not work as a hotel and is close to cheating someone if you show such room pictures (and only such nice room pictures) and write something different in the booking confirmation, but then offer such a very basic room like in a hostel!--

    - Breakfast contained everything needed and was included - Parking at central station for EUR 3.50 per day... - Very well located at heart of Brugge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, awesome breakfast, getting to the rooms keeps you fit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs to the floors are narrow and steep. It is normal given that it is a very old building that preserves original architecture. If you have big suitcases or get a room above the first floor it can be a challenge going up. Sill, i would come back.

    The building decoration inside is well chosen and preserves the historical look. Breakfast was absolutely amazing with vast choice of meats, cheese, yogurts, compotes, breads, pastry and so on. Staff was super helpful and got us sorted with our early arrival.Very well located to go explore the city. Nice chocolate and gift shop next to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Central and cosy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit funny, but it didn't bother me that much. For a city break it was ok.

    The check in was fast, the staff very friendly, nice breakfast and great location in the center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant building with excellent location and breakfast. Good base for exploring Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As expected in the of historic quarter, rooms are small and creaky ... but that is the price of proximity to historic centre and ambience!

    very nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    The location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a bad smell,towels supplied were small size. Requested a balcony room with city view but there was no balcony for our room and no view

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    I am going elsewhere for lodging. Chain hotels deliver on all of these things and are dependable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    19 steep steps, a falls risk for me for sure. For this reason alone, will not book here again Very dim lighting in room. Cannot read. Wifi was totally unreliable and had to go elsewhere for Internet. These are just basic expectations one has when booking rooms in our modern age.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.0
    Lovely character hotel, in good location, excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifet and only a small spiral staircase. No problem for me, but if you struggle with stairs... Some of the paint work on the landing looked a bit tatty but this was definitely not replicated in the room.

    Good location and excellent value for money. Very nice breakfast and very friendly helpful staff. The hotel had character in a good way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Selection of different breads and cold meats for breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy, largely because we had the windows wide open all night.

    Selection of different breads and cold meats for breakfast was superb. View of the St Salvator cathedral from our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    price too high for what was offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was tiny, leave alone the "bathroom"...if U want to call it a bathroom...apparently it is to be modified this fall...no curtains, which made early morning light in the room. beds could be better..the attention and great hopitality ...was great

    the owners were tops....the breakfast excelent, the location and the friendly staff ,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Second, but not last, visit to this lovely Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is in a beautiful building and the dining room is stunning: full of period features and photographs. The breakfast was ample and delicious and the owners are friendly and informative. We slept very well, having a room on the back of the building, but my brother-in-law had to close their window on the front at 1am because of the noise of people walking past. The beds are extremely comfortable, the bathroom facilities are good and we were all very happy with our rooms. The Hotel is situated in the heart of Bruges (Brugge) and very convenient for a wide range of sites and restaurants. We used a nearby underground car park, so our car was secure. The spiral stairs to the rooms are narrow and could pose a problem for some. However, we all had a marvellous stay and will definitely stay here again and have no hesitation recommending it to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Quaint hotel at an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable

    Quaint hotel at an excellent location. It's clean and the staff is really friendly. Breakfast was better than expected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was weak in the room, but Ok downstairs.

    Small,but comfortable, room; even smaller bathroom. Exceptionally clean. Excellent breakfast ( last you most of the day), ideal location. Staff were extremely kind and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Great location, service could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was eaten alive overnight - back and arms were covered in 40-50 bites (the pharmacist thought they were bed bugs). I told the manager who thanked me for letting her know, but made no apology. Despite the stated check-in time being 2-8pm, when I arrived just after 7pm they were closed! I had to phone them to ask to be let in, then had to wait (in the rain) for 5 minutes till they arrived. Owners were pretty standoffish. Breakfast was OK (cereal and breads), but they didn't offer the eggs that were on the menu...

    Great location. TV had a couple of channels in English.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great people, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Lovely family run hotel in a perfect location. Situated next door to the families' chocolate shop and coffee house. Staff/family were very friendly and looked after us very well. Good continental breakfast. There is a steep spiral staircase leading to the bedrooms which was fine for us but not suitable for anyone with mobility issues

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    I live in Belgium, and if I had to recoomend a well-priced hotel in Brugge, it would be this one.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a renovated old house, so there is no elevator...and for a petit woman, carrying luggage up the stairs may be difficult. There's only 1 flight of stairs, so it's not too bad. I was able to help my friends bring their luggage up and down again, so it was no problem for us.

    The hotel itself is right next to my favorite hot chocolate shop in the city, which is a must-see in Brugge, and it's 2 minutes' walk from Saint Salvatore's Cathedral; basically, the hotel is very central, and near the main shopping street. It's only about 5 minutes' walk to the Grand Place. The rooms were small, but had everything you need in them. The toilet, for example, is in its own little closet, which was funny and cute to my friends and me. The reception closes early, but all you need to do is simply ring the reception by phone - I had to do so, as my friend was arriving to the hotel at 11:30pm, and the owner took his bicycle over and let us right in without a single complaint. The owners were super friendly with my American friends visiting Belgium for the first time, and made them feel really comfortable. The breakfast was above-average for a hotel in this price range: there were many places to sit and a big selection to choose from in the typical "euro-buffet-style," as I call it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    Yuck
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty disgusting room. There was no real bathroom, just kind of an added on partition so that the shower curtain opened right into the room and the toilet seemed more like an outhouse. I am used to staying in some funky, cheap places but this was really pushing it. Very disappointing because other rooms in the place looked relatively normal. I felt that they were giving Booking.com customers their worst rooms. Also note that there is a danderous spiral staircase to get to the roooms if you are at all challenged.

    Location is convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Notre Dame traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: