Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Recour 4 stars

Guido Gezellestraat 7, 8970 Poperinge, Belgium

#11 of 19 hotels in Poperinge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    My favourite hotel in Belgium
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about the place

    Really comfortable hotel, centrally located close to cafes and restaurants in the main square. Friendly and very helpful staff. Characterful building decorated and furnished with taste. Now my favourite hotel in Belgium.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    very nice room but an odd combination of premium facilities and very laissez-faire managment/staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Room (1)
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking not really signed; hard to find where you are supposed to park. elevator for the modern rooms quite an experience - doesn't work if you can't get the door to latch which was 50/50. check-in experience wasn't what i would call 'professional'

    location was great; hotel was gorgeous. AC worked well; parking (if you can get one of the few spots) is free. Garage is available if you want to pay but had to figure that out on my own.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel and the restaurant Pegasus were outstanding. Everything was superb and the restaurant was sublime. Best hotel and dinner of our entire trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    First trip to Belgium....but we will be back!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Huge room and very well appointed. We had our small dog Bella and they were very welcoming to her. Very relaxed atmosphere and the staff were very helpful and friends. We will definitely come back to this gem!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay in a wonderful place and perfect to visit the area and fine dining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really great hotel! Great breakfast and beautiful designer theme rooms. This hotel is also perfect for fine dining but there are also nice restaurants in the neighborhood and at walking distance. A great place to visit Ypres and Flanders Fields.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Stylish and classy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa function on the bath didn't appear to work, or at least we couldn't figure out how to start it, but a fairly small issue overall.

    Very stylish hotel. A great combination of modern touches with classic style

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Luxury at the expense of practicality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Claw foot bath was impossible to get out of and dangerous. No shower. Plate glass door to bathroom dangerous and no privacy. Breakfast too expensive and no muesli.

    Large bed. Parking for bicycles in garage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful, boutique style hotel in the centre of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful, boutique style hotel in the centre of the charming town of Poperinge. The room was absolutely superb: a huge and very comfortable bed, a luxurious and well appointed bathroom, generous ‘extras’ which included not just the usual robes, toiletries and coffee but candles and complimentary vermouth! The room was also very large and quiet. The owners were very helpful, especially considering my late arrival. Poperinge itself is a very historically significant town; as well as Talbot House and the Death cells, the nearby cemeteries (and of course Ypres itself) are best reached by bike which you can hire from the Hotel Amfora on the main square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    A very romantic old hotel - Room "Terpsichore" is perfect for newly weds! Poperinge is fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Second Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom - Very beautiful but no light in the shower. Shower tray did not drain very quickly, so danger of overflow if main deluge showerhead is used. Large glass wall & door between bathroom/bedroom means limited privacy. Old building - Had a few quirks such as wasps in the rafters - we evicted a steady stream of sleepy or dying wasps during our stay. Lift use was intermittent in the old house, stairs are very steep and old, not suitable for elderly, infirm or disabled. Breakfast is served in seperate modern building across a steel walkway and up steel stairs or use glass lift. Roof top Health spa (jacuzzi, sauna, steam room) was not in use. Hotel cannot reserve a table for you in Restaurant - they are two seperate businesses and you have to book directly with the Restaurant (but there is a good selection of restaurants, pubs and takeaways in town)

    Excellent central location. Lovely old building, beautiful old style decor, our room ("Terpischore") was very, very romantic! Real candles, double size claw foot bathtub, bathrobes, beautiful toiletries, complimentary Madeira wine, sherry and toffees, (plus many jars of sweets in reception). A huge bed, minibar, TV. Breakfast was great once we located it! Full continental style, plus a choice of eggs cooked to your preference. Car parking was indoors and secure, but limited places. There is a public car park next door (not free). Staff friendly. Hotel also distills its own artisan Gin! Poperinge is wonderful, please do visit!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ideally situated for anyone visiting this historic area. The rooms and public areas in the Hotel are beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfast offers a full range for all tastes. We booked a meal in the Pegasus Restaurant in this Hotel, it was absolutely superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Would definitely recommend (just don't opt for breakfast!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was charged at EUR16.50 per person and for that money was completely overpriced. They had the usual spread of cereals, pastries, cheese and ham but the only hot option was 1 egg.

    Really nice room and bathroom, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    a most enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Deluxe Room (1)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed was a water bed which I have never slept in before but it was very comfortable. The dinner in the 'pegasus ' restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic modern bedrooms with lots of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Deluxe Room (3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a bar area with separate, private tables or seating area. Lounge was a small, communal area and didn't really allow for individual conversations - a bit impersonal.

    Quite a 'quirky' place. Period style reception area with lounge. Bedroom reached via a raised bridge to a more modern building. The bedroom was huge and very modern. Beautifully furnished with a large comfortable bed, very modern bathroom and spa bath. We booked last minute and got a very good deal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    A gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, a surprising gem in such a small town. Perfect distance away from the Dunkirk for a last-night stay before travelling home. The room was spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. We will definitely remember this one for next year.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Superior Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stay at the hotel over two nights during our trip to France and both rooms were lovely one very traditional with four poster bed and the other very modern but just as lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Quiet,peaceful get-away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shops and bars close at random times. Some hidden extras, such as city tax,but this isn't huge. Very few places were geared up for English speaking visitors.

    Peaceful location,good as a Base to visit other locations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    This is an excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This is an excellent hotel. Extremely comfortable and provided all the facilities that we required. The staff went out of their way to help and provide information when asked. There is a high quality restaurant (Pegasus) attached to the hotel which we used on our final night. Whilst expensive, it is Michelin star quality and well worth the outlay. We would highly recommend this restaurant. Within a few minutes there are several other eateries/bars offering a range of menus'. These varied in quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    We had stayed there before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in an attic room this time and there was no usable shower due to headroom problems. Kneeling in the bath is not a comfortable way to shower. There was plenty of room to put a proper shower in. We might well stay there again but we would make sure that we had a different room.

    We had stayed there before. Great ambience and generally very comfortable. Nicely situated for Ypres and the Menin Gate ceremony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    The room was beautiful, big comfy bed, great soaking tub,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old house with lots of stairs, they do have a lift.

    The room was beautiful, big comfy bed, great soaking tub, complimentary vermouth, helped up arrange bike rental. We'll worth it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    The suite was magnificent so glad we upgraded it was worth every euro we felt like royalty the whole ambience of the hotel was delightful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is a bit cramped which gives an unorganized impression.

    Very well furnished and spacious rooms. Good breakfast with lots of choices. Good location in the small town of Poperinge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    We had a good sized room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Second Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning was quite noisy. There was no shower. The washbasin cold tap ran hot - never cold.

    We had a good sized room and bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice place for a night, was not as clean as it could be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as clean as a modern hotel bath was a bit grim

    Unusual hotel, shabby chic! Very pretty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was a wonderful hotel

    Everything, great location. beautiful decor, amazing breakfast.Comfy bed, fantastic.we loved it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Lovely building and rooms in the centre of towm
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb bedroom and bathroom. The lady on reception could not have been m ore helpful. Use of garage free of charge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxed .. comfort .. style .. quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambiance.. understated style .. location ! Impressive dining experience..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    A great way to begin my tour of Belgium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This an elegant and civilised old fashioned hotel with lots of charm and character.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    we discovered a treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quirky but excellent. Great attention to detail by the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    Glass door on bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass door on bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    The staff were welcoming and helpful throughout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were welcoming and helpful throughout

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    The fantastic bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Superior Room (4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of breakfast. Didn't have breakfast at hotel.

    The fantastic bathroom. Easy parking. Very clean. Lovely large bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    A fantastic water bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Deluxe Room (1)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a sleepy little town

    A fantastic water bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Perfect - Paul was an excellent host
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A stand alone shower would have added to the bathroom

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    The staff was extremely nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely nice. The room was just magnificent. The breakfeast was very good. My best stay in Belgium so far.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Gorgeous to sleep in, a good base for exploring but pricey enough ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Superior Room (3)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception poorly staffed - hard to find someone to ask for advice, a drink...

    Bedrooms wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Paul was extremely helpful to us for parking, checking in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paul was extremely helpful to us for parking, checking in and out, and helping us find our way around town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Excellent location, staff and facilities
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a beautiful building and first class rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included in the price and quite expensive at €17 per person so ate elsewhere.

    The staircase was lovely. Also the room was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Third stay and will return
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. Beautiful rooms. Clean. Dog-friendly.

    Third stay and will return

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.9
    Nice different hotel with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and the breakfast and the place in the middle of the city

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautifully decorated. The garden is a lovely place to sit and relax.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    10
    Modern designer room, reached via walkway 10 foot above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Modern designer room, reached via walkway 10 foot above garden, from the older more traditional part of the hotel. Very comfortable and spacious accommodation. Very fair prices. Friendly English speaking staff gave us a warm welcome. Poperinge is a small but very pleasant town built around the central market square. Several excellent bars and restaurants front onto this square. Lots of outstanding local beers to try.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    6.3
    Facilities in the room were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Money needs to be spent on redecoration and refurbishment. Filthy pull curtains in the bathroom. and generally dirty nets and dirty windows. Associated restaurant vastly over priced with unpleasant woman in charge. Menus offer little choice. Wine prices unbelievable.

    Facilities in the room were excellent. Hotel staff very obliging and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.3
    The rooms are luxurious with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience - just make sure you get the room you want. Some have balconies and ours was in the shade rather than the sun!

    The rooms are luxurious with everything you need. Full continental breakfast and walking distance to town square.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.2
    A lovely surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A lovely surprise! Unusual with lovely decorations and individual bedrooms. Four poster beds, chandeliers, luxurious bathrooms and a beautiful staircase.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    the warm welcome, I came late and paul had prepared a lovely...
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    the warm welcome, I came late and paul had prepared a lovely meal which I ate on my beautiful balcon. I have stayed here many times and it is a fabulous hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    4.2
    Room design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Multi jet shower was out of order Balneo bath not working Mattress too soft Unwelcoming staff Limited choice for breakfast buffet , too warm for cheese, no eggs or other hot

    Room design Spacious Dvd for rent

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    10
    The Hotel is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That we don't get to stay more often.

    The Hotel is superb. The room price [that we've had on two occasions now] is excellent - this would be a five star Hotel in London and way out of our price range. Rooms are excellent - very tasteful - Luxurious.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is immaculately furnished with antiques,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Funny fire escape route to the breakfast room

    The hotel is immaculately furnished with antiques, artistically and opulently decorated to the highest standards.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.3
    Amazing room and our dog was incredibly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Amazing room and our dog was incredibly welcome.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    9.5
    All wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All wonderful. Breakfast very lovely. Beautiful room and comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    8.3
    Very nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice and friendly staff. Very flexible, even in the late night hours. Quiet

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.2
    Tastefully decorated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tastefully decorated rooms. Everything you require for your stay. Welcoming friendly staff. Good breakfast facilities.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    10
    The hotel was the best I've stayed, ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was the best I've stayed, ever. The room was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Glass door to bathroom that was very difficult to open and close.

    Comfortable bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    We stayed on one of the traditionally furnished rooms and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed on one of the traditionally furnished rooms and it was just pure luxury. Friendly but non-intrusive staff who showed us to the room.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    Everything lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Except the water bed (but this was advised; we just liked the room so much that we decided to "bear" the water bed)

    Everything lovely

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.6
    Hotel was so lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was fab. The town itself is quiet at night.

    Hotel was so lovely. Would recommend.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.8
    Rooms clean comfortable and tastefully furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms clean comfortable and tastefully furnished. Good continental breakfast and excellent main restaurant with good wine list.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    9.2
    Very well located For sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very well located For sightseeing Excellent food Good stay all round

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    9.6
    Customer service and restaurant (Pegasus).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No on-site car parking but very close to paid public car parking.

    Customer service and restaurant (Pegasus).

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: