Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tropical 4 stars

Rue Des Comtes De Luxembourg 41, 6940 Durbuy, Belgium

#18 of 22 hotels in Durbuy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 676 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seems to be old, and needs some work, the beds were worn, the bath room did not have heating, didn't hae warm water in the morning (probably because other guests we all taking a bath or so ..) There was a hole in the floor, I think for ventilation, but was just covered by a carpet ..

    I did like the food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures were very misleading. Rooms were small, very outdated and our view was a trashcan. The bathroom was old and in desperate need of renovation.

    Breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing to criticize was the cleanliness of the shower and some calcification on the wall that was creatively concealed (by a plastic plant put on the cealing). The shower had spots of mold, which we didn't expect from a 4 star hotel. The beds were really clean and comfortable though.

    The best thing about this hotel was by far the friendly staff. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. I also liked the pool which is somewhat smaller than what I expected from the pictures but still nice for a cool down. The temperature in the "swimming pool hall"and the restaurant was very tropical indeed, although outside t was barely 15 degrees.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant and Swimming pool in one open area. The warm and humid air from the swimming pool reaches the restaurant easily, for us a reason to not use the restaurant for dining

    nice and quiet location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive and at some distance from Durbuy which is not really walkable due to the steep incline!

    The pool is the best part! Kids will love it. Some rooms have access to the car through a back door. Very convenient!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a little dated. But the staff and hotel atmosphere made up for it.

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast was very good and the service and standard of food at the restaurant was excellent. We hadn't originally planned on eating there but we were glad we did. We had a family room with bunks, double bed and a seating area. The children loved the pool. I would highly recommend hotel tropical for a family.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold temperature around the swimming pool - no way to swim there around winter time! Rooms look very poor (for a 4 stars hotel): no window / no natural light, no mini-bar, bad smell, very cold in bathroom/toilet, very cold tiles on the ground etc.

    Heater in the room was powerful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were half board and the diner of the first evening was really basic which is a bit disappointing when you know that the restaurant is recommended by Delta and Gault Millau. The second diner was really good. Breakfast is ok but nothing special. Bedrooms next to the swimming pool are dark and cold. You constantly feel that you leave in a steam bath.

    Well located next to the charming village of Durbuy The diner was sometimes really good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms by the pool don't have windows. The room didn't have any spare electricity sockets.

    Staff were very helpful. The main benefit of the hotel is the pool which has a tropical theme. Excellent for a family with children. I had to work during the day and really enjoyed changing locations around the pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the top floor, was much to hot. Even with ac not manageable. We think dinner can be good as food looks good, but sitting next to the indoor pool for a nice dinner was not ok for us

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a bit disappointed as the receptionist told me on the phone, they can not write 3 words on the flowers on a little card ( the ones that I asked help them to order for me). thanks they have ordered the flowers but What I also asked for was " Happy birthday xxxx" to be written on the flowers. The receptionist said, sorry, we can not write this, we are busy now". How difficult or busy you can be to write 3 words on a little card.. anyway, something very little but i am disappointed by this. Also the hotel was almost empty when we arrived. Thanks.

    I liked, when I got a call from the reception, saying that they could order the flowers to my room. It was a quick call from the reception.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Free Wifi Doesnt work inside the room we stayed - We stayed during the month of july , max temp was 28 celcius and room has no Air condition :( thats was very unexpected in a 4 start hotel. - and you cannot open windows during evening to get cool air because tonns of mosquito enters at the same time. - Location was 2.6 kilometers away from Barvaux train station and the day we arrived was a national day in belgium so we had to walk all the way in sun( around 50 min walk) - Swiming pool was way to small. even 10 people cannot swim at the same time. - dinner was expensive , 36 euro per person. - No option to eat outside if you don';t have your own car. - Durboy City was accessible 5 min from car .

    - Pool was there - Dinner was delicious, a 3 course meal - good garden area with small lake with fishes - children playing area was good..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot and the staff were a bit rude towards the children. They have a playground so I thought is family friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is great - food was fantastic. Rooms are clean and pet friendly always a bonus

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners and staff were very friendly!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music playing loud till midnight.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avondeten was excellent .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understanding of English language. Menu in englush

    Pool and location and nearby Durbuy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles was perfect in orde

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent for children

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great hotel: comfortable rooms, great breakfast (different kinds of eggs - choice provided)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful staff. Very cosy place, nice swimming pool, not far from Durbuy and wonderful dinner ☺

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    great facilities for a young family. Plenty of things to do in a lovely area

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is overall pretty kitch, can be noisy with swimming pool just next the room

    I like the restaurant very nice supper and breakfast, the swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent Hotel with helpful staff. My son loved the swimming pool, the restaurant is delicious, proposes a wonderful breakfast. Good location to enjoy the pretty Durbuy area which has a lot to offer. And always important: they have very comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the rooms were a bit small and the bathroom was not very confortable as the roof was vey low at the one side.

    the owner is great chef and worths to try his dishes. Nice atmosphere and huge parcking

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a view onto a wall. We heard loud music from the pool/restaurant area until quite late. Decor is a bit dated. Too far from the town Durbuy to walk so we had to drive everywhere.

    Good value for money. There is a swimming pool and other facilities that guests can use. Free parking. Breakfast buffet was good (but a bit expensive). Nice walks in the area and Durbuy is a lovely town.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Window not open well, no lights in the room, very small bath room, no power connection, no facilities in the room.

    Swimming pool in the middle of rooms

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even though the facilities were good, the hotel itself was starting to get a little tired and could do with a bit of an update. Lots of money has been spent on providing the gym equipment and pool etc, but the building itself was just starting to need some attention.

    The facilities were excellent. Rooms really clean and comfortable. Staff really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Hotel Tropical is in a quiet location but just a short drive from Durbuy which is a great place to visit pool-side rooms are the best Clean - friendly staff and other guests- good food all added up to a pleasant experience. If you're unlucky with the weather it's a great place to hide if the weathers fine it's still a nice place to be.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Heel kleine badkamer, wat verouderd complex.

    Zeer goede prijs-kwaliteitverhouding, alles heel proper, lekker ontbijt, ruime parking, 25 min wandelen naar centrum Durbuy, heel vriendelijk personeel.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The tropical theme and indoor heated swimming pool makes the hotel exceptionally suitable for families and children. Larges tropical plants, trees and palms surround the swimming pool giving one the feeling of a tropical paradise. There are trampolines and swings on the grounds and a picturesque Chinese garden. The gym is well equipped and includes a sauna and sunbeds.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed, the swimming pool water was cold.

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    -

    Friendly staff, very good food and drink. Good facilities. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swiming pool for relax is excelent Hotel personel

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedroom was terrible. The shower handle was broken

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant nogal warm ( invloed binnenzwembad)

    Japanse tuin en zwembad

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool was a bit cold to relax in but it was February and 0 degrees outside.

    Room and bathroom were lovely and clean. Pool area amazing. Staff friendly.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: