Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Van Eyck 4 stars

Markt 48, 3680 Maaseik, Belgium

#3 of 7 hotels in Maaseik

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 425 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking is a problem but the large underground public car park is only a 5 minute walk away and very secure. It cost €8 for our overnight stay, so cheaper than some hotel car parking charges. I was apprehensive about the choice when I telephoned a week or so earlier to discuss car parking and didn't get a sensible answer but more concerning was when I asked if we could firm up the reservation the person said he was too busy and to do it on line.

    We chose this hotel purely to be close to the restaurant we were dining at that evening. It turned out to be a superb choice. The suite was bigger than some flats I have owned and extremely comfortable. It was over three floors and although I wasn't over enthused with the stairs we never even used the third floor. It was extremely comfortable and certainly far better than we anticipated. The breakfast was very good and they kindly let us enter before they were open so that we could leave early. There was some sort of market event going on which made getting the car close very difficult but I assume that is not the norm. If you do stay then I would recommend the 25 course play menu at La Ratatouille restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only let down was that the coffe machine in the room hasn't been cleaned / maintained. A set of nicer towels would have made me feel more comfortable.

    A very nice place to visit and a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive if getting a taxi from Henk station at night it's 2.6 times the fare but this isn't the Hotels fault

    The bathroom was really nice. Nice to have toilet in a separate room. Sleep was restful as was so peaceful and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I do like the choice of music played in the hotel or in the plaza. I suggest classic jazz or classical.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Quiet, comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is parking place nearby where there is marked it is for hotel guests and actually only the staff is allowed to park thier cars there. We had to remove ours and look for 15 min for a place a lot further away. A bit odd.

    The hotel is a comfortable centrally based home base with young and friendly staff and new rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small complaint was that my electronic key didn't work. But they helped me and in the end they opened my door mechanically and I could go to sleep.

    Location Clean and fresh No nonsense hotel. Good value for money Very quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Staff more than helpful and very friendly We had a five year old as part of the group with a nut allergy. The staff were not phased with the questions and all food confirmed before presented to him We had issues with our air conditioning and as a result given new rooms without question Perfectly situated in the central square with lots of shops, restaurants and easy access to parking off site at a very good price If any criticism it would be to ring the changes with breakfast though that said the food provided was of a very good quality .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows not great

    Nothing was too much trouble, large spacious rooms. Own capsules for coffee machine, maybe water in fridge or gratis would have been nice. Only 5 rooms per floor, beautiful terrace up at rooftop. Didn't want breakfast but a fab packed lunch was given

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A music event was taking place just outside the hotel and although I had booked well in advance I was not advised of this.

    Modern spacious and clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sound of adjacent room were quite clear...

    New, clean, very spacious room, excellent amenities, excellent staff; very goor breakfast included. Top value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that I couldn't stay longer.

    The ambience, food, friendly and competent staff, the location, the room, the bath! Everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior room was very spacious. Separate bath and shower. Nice interior decorating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed too soft, duvet too warm, like in many hotels nowadays..

    Very nice breakfast with perfect capuccino. Right in the centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could be better!

    Room was very good, overall good hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly,helpful,clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Huge room & bed. Wonderful & accessible location and friendly staff who all spoke English

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were amazing in every way

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only an open public possibility for parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv had poor signal and only 2 available channels

    Very lovely hotel, they were extremely accommodating. Perfect for a quiet weekend away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin bed

    Location, bkfst

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    incredibly rude and unhelpful staff. A disappointing and terrible stay. Will not be returning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of drawer space for sweaters etc

    Very comfortable bed pristine linen and quiet room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking on site

    Great renovated hotel with great rooms and bathrooms,top notch

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of TV guide in room so was unable to locate SKY, BBC or CNN news. The receptionist was not present in the evening on arrival nor the following evening, the very friendly man who checked me in couldn't give me the relevant information either. I found that very disappointing.

    Location was perfect and the overall ambience and decor were very pleasing.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast starts at 07:00am...a bit late for an early start of a business day. you have to pay extra for the sauna and book it in advance

    The hotel is located in a small but livley town with plenty of food choices

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice large rooms, with a large bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast offer ( especially sweet) might be improved ( ex add cakes variety of croissants)

    Room size no noise At all

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast offer might be improved

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel was very nice and room service kept it clean. A lot of stores/restaurants were close to the hotel. Was a cozy place.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very pleasant stay. Super nice breakfast. Easy parking. Calm.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very much character, breakfast poor, bathroom fixtures wobbly

    Great location, kind staff

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It s a wonderful hotel. A magical area and city. The room was a 5 stars room . In fact it s a small sweet We would definitly come back.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rundherum gut

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking could be better

    The staff were fantastic and the bed was very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Wifi was not available to myslef nor to my collegues or partners.

    very nice place and excelelnt location!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    dinner was could have been more tastful.

    Professional hotel with the right facilities in the center of the town

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really liked the central location. The breakfast was lovely, there was a lot of choice and good coffee.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds are too soft

    size of the room

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great hotel and staff, highly recommended!

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Browse Hotel Van Eyck traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: