Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B Hôtel Verhaegen

Oude Houtlei 110, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#22 of 67 B&Bs and Inns in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 134 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel will not leave you disappointed. It is the height of luxury in every way. The decor is exceptional. Breakfast is not to be missed. The courtyard superb. It is highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -----

    I adored the bathroom and the blossoming wisteria under our window, the secret, quiet garden in the middle of the town, the espresso machine in our room. and everything around. The light design. Our hosts, the warm and inspiring interaction with them, last but not least!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This a proper Palace! The owners live in it and use it as their permanent home, the attention to detail is amazing and they are the loveliest of people. I cannot wait to return! +++++

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked for a queen bed but ended up with two separate beds combined together.

    Amazing staff that explains everything in this historical building. Makes you feel you are actually living in those years. And excellent location, close to city centre and yet quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Haven't found an internet connection. Haven't asked either. This was a perfect opportunity to disconnect, relax and enjoy the venue.

    Absolutely excellent B&B. If you like 18th century style you will feel like a king. Excellent treatment by the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    Everything. This is a gem of a place - a palazzo from palazzo It was conveniently close to the old city - a ten minute walk - and on a relatively quiet street. The inner rooms overlook the most stunning courtyard / walled garden which is an historic heritage terraced garden which takes one back to a couple of centuries ago and the interior is an interior decorator's dream. The owners and staff are enormously approachable and I just loved it. Will be back in a heartbeat .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose to stay here for an overnight stop after a  long road trip ahead of our homeward journey from Calais. What an excellent choice. The Hotel is an 18th century Mansion with beautifully proportioned rooms and a gorgeous parterre garden. The original features have been lovingly preserved, the furnishings and sumptuous decor provide a visual feast. Our room on the first floor was  spacious and comfortable with a well equipped bathroom, excellent shower and bath. Peter made us welcome and took time to show us the house and give some of its interesting history. Jan and Mark are lovely hosts and we enjoyed our conversations with them. The location is central so exploring the medieval city and accessing restaurants is easy by foot. Breakfast in the beautiful dining room was a delight. We paid to park in their garage which was nearby. It was more like being a house guest than staying in an hotel. I would certainly recommend this as a treat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place and just some small improvements that could even make it better: complimentary bottled water in the room, a pencil or pen in the room, bathroom with only bathtub-no shower (should be mentioned at booking).

    Location, decor, quiet/silence, breakfast, view, hospitality. The best place when staying in city center of Ghent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    New Gent traffic management seems set to deter people from visiting

    Superb place surrounded by incredible art and antiques. Not just to look at but to use. Peter was brilliant at making us welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit tight... Bathroom was awkward with huge bath, no shower, difficult to get into..., WC in closet in bathroom?

    What a place, like a dream, going back 250 years in time. Great owners, minute attention to design, detail. Never had breakfast in a setting like this before. Bedroom and sitting room of "40"-suite are very spacious and luxurious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A minor issue but despite booking a deluxe double room which is listed as having a double bed, the room was made up with separate twin beds. The staff were very helpful and provided a double duvet and sheets to join the two twins together, but obviously this is not what we were expecting for the price. Although the beds themselves were very comfortable.

    Very friendly staff, beautiful property and garden and well presented rooms. Good location, only 5-10 minute walk from the centre of Ghent. We couldn't fault the breakfast but perhaps a little expensive. I would definitely stay here again if we return to Ghent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over the bath was a little challenging but the bath was total heaven.

    The place was inviting and beautiful. Very comfortable and welcoming. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There truly was nothing to complain about. The only disappointment was that the B&B's private parking was already full, so we had to use a public parking garage and walk a kilometer. That was the worst we had to "endure".

    The owners are very friendly and offered us excellent restaurant tips; the Cosy Room we stayed in was very beautiful and luxurious, yet cosy as the name suggested; location of the B&B is bordering the city center, so everything is close by, but it's nice and quiet at night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred not to see bloodstains on the feather duvets. (Which of course are unavoidable in a hotel) I would suggest proper duvet covers rather than only just bedsheets. I also thought charging for tea-bags and coffee pods in the room was not necessary, considering the room fee and breakfast fee. Of course, 'Marriage frere' teas are exquisite and yes, they are not cheap, however I think it should be courtesy of the hotel.

    An exceptional house. Beautiful collection of Art, porcelain and glass ware. The attention of detail, beginning with a handwritten welcome card and ending with a beautifully presented breakfast. The owners of this property are very accommodating and polite, fitting to this elegant space. Even my little daughter of 9 felt absolutely in tune with her environment...

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The design of the hotel is just awesome! Great breakfast and so friendly owners of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough soap and shampoo for a two day stay, should have been refilled after each night

    Great hospitality, great service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    I like the ambiance, decorations, bed is comfortable and everything about it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old house, with fabulous interiors and and incredible team to look after you! The perfect place to stay in Gent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was idiosyncratic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No BBC TV

    Beautiful surroundings wonderful breakfast. Staff exceptionallly friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely paradisiac bubble in the centre of beautiful Ghent, to be recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning decor - very polite attentive owners - really something special

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding in every respect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible luxurious place. Great personnel, good but expensive breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Showers and hangers

    setting and decor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ac in rooms - only a noisy ventilator

    The site is mind blowing - inside decoration is unique

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The history and furnishing were second to none

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff, well liked , approachable with great help , amazing personality

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior designer owner has thought of everything. The property is stunning. I even bought some lights from them.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievable place. What a nice crew. Loved it guys!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was awesome, the interiors and garden where luxurious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Wonderful place, very pleasant - could not rate it more highly - like an old fashioned 18th Century home

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the shower could be larger given the very large bathroom

    The helpful attentive and charming staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    great design, good value for the suite.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing I can remember beyond the shower door opening inwards.

    warm welcome,continuously charming attention throughout our 3 day stay. Stunningly attractive reception rooms,bedrooms above and walled garden with great attention to detail everywhere. Good location and with car parking as well. An hotel in the 18th century French sense of the word, a very up market B and B in the modern world.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold drippy shower in the morning. No airco, not possible to sleep with open window due to streetnoise.

    Great location, beautiful building and garden. Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wasn't so keen on the over friendly reception from the dog!

    Loved the mix of old and contemporary. Beautiful and generous decor. I felt like I was staying in a well loved home not a hotel. Really lovely guys who made us so welcome.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Artistic atmosphere of the beautiful hotel, individual approach to each guest. Amazing breakfast in the richly decorated dining room. Elegant and original design of the rooms. Fantastic personnel!

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were surprised when owners did not give us permission to leave a luggage till the evening ( we had a train at 6pm) and kindly proposed us to leave it in the cloak-room at the station.

    Perfect location if you like walking, 10 mins to the Cathedral. Very romantic and cosy historical house.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Het door ons gekozen standaard-ontbijt was lekker en verzorgd, maar we vonden het jammer dat er voor het 'gezondere' luik (bio-yoghurt, fruit, ...) diende bijbetaald. Ik - Tinnie - ben gezondheidsbegeleider van beroep :) Superfood is echt wel een must in de toekomst.

    Wij hebben genoten van de zeer smaakvolle en artistieke inrichting van dit historisch pand, van het uiterst vriendelijke onthaal en de deskundigheid van de gastheren, van de luxe tout court. Dank u wel daarvoor.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I must say something, that's would be there's no 24 hour reception. And there are some tiny spider's web in the corner of bathroom. But because anywhere else are very clean, this is not a big matter.

    One of the best hotels I've ever experienced. The staff, the smiles, the lighting, the bed, the ambience. Only 5 rooms, but really boutique. It's like a art collection hotels. Fantastic interior design, everywhere, every detail. Location is great, close to everywhere. Unlike those big hotels, this hotel is more like a secret hotel

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mix of the two businesses - interior decorating and design with guest house - inhibit the comfort of the guest house. The common areas feel like an overloaded antique shop and some in-suite furniture was not usable - only for show. Dust is almost unavoidable in these cluttered environments. I realize that this may be a personal taste issue, but for me less could well be more.

    Beautiful garden Excellent reception Very clean and comfortable bed Good breakfast options

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Feel like visiting your best friend's home. tastefully designed with historical touch. convenient location, tentative attention from every member of the house including the most adorable dog. big and beautiful bathroom. comfortable bed with quality beddings. beautiful dining room provides lovely continental breakfast experience. Noting to complain. The first choice in Ghent 绝对的根特首选。十八世纪豪宅 该新的地方新 该旧的地方就 从书架上放满的室内设计杂志就知道你想要的主人都替你设计到了,房间 浴室 床及床上用品 服务都无可挑剔。比去朋友家做客还舒服

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Weather could have been warmer , maybe we would visit in the summer another time .

    Everything was fantastic from welcome to depart , fascinating place lovely hosts would defiantly stay again .

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old building Bathroom have no ventilation toilet is strange very crowded with un organized things Some others might find it top .. I find it money wasting!!

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good as well as location

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast ,tea,coffee -not included

    Location,decor,staff helpfulness

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Facilites inadequate for expensive hotel . No decent shower . Difficult to get in to hotel after 6PM . Annoying staff

    Historical aspect of property

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything about this place is beautiful...

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Internet was difficult for us but we were in a top floor room so likely a bit out of range

    The house is amazing and location is very central

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service was excellent and the decor and garden charming. Would certainly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderfully restored and decorated mansion home in old ghent area... Unique property and classic garden

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything and everyone

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    The building, the garden, the people, the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A slight walk from the main historic areas

    The personal attention and enthusiasm. Good advice on restaurants and where to go.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff and beautiful interior design

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    interior decoration and lay-out of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent room. kind stuff.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse B&B Hôtel Verhaegen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: