Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Sint Niklaas Centrum 3 stars

Hemelaerstraat 2, 9100 Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

#2 of 6 hotels in Sint-Niklaas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 690 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Quiet and comfortable bedroom with good sized shower and lots of hot water! Nice view over gardens. Very good sleep in quality beds and not aware of other guests. Super breakfast with excellent choices. Efficient and friendly staff at all times. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not a lot, ive used many ibis hotels all around europe and found this one to be the most relaxing,clean and friendly. well done guys sorry i never caught your names but keep up the good work

    excellent customer service 5 star, very friendly staff, a great stay, easy for the solo traveller being close to all transport links and shops, will definitely return in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to poor internet/wifi no business connection to work possible. Mobile phone HotSpot not operational due to bad connectivity to the mobile phone network in the room!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of Tea & Coffee facilities in the Rooms.

    Idea;;y located for City centre, though not so well located for Train station. Great breakfast, plenty of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Parking was 6 Euro, it was not free of charge as mentioned on site and was 200 meters away. And it was raining!!!! No umbrella!! And the plumbing in our bathroom and in the neighbor`s was making a strange and annoying noise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some things in the room were not working properly. The light above the desk broke on the Friday afternoon, and the technical staff who should have fixed it apparently do not work weekends, so I had to wait until Monday, when it still was not fixed until I asked again on Monday evening and checked out on Tuesday morning. Not ideal for a business trip where I was working in the room. Also, the ventilation fans seemed to be not working properly, with bad smells as well as cigarette smoke smells coming through the vents into the bathroom. Wifi could be intermittent, occasionally losing connectivity. Breakfast was rather disappointing. When paying 15 euros per day as a supplement for breakfast, I would expect that someone would be available to keep things running smoothly. However, often there was no juice available in the juice dispenser, the waffle irons were not switched on, hot food was not being looked after (i.e. things were drying out/overcooked). There was a wide array of options, but it seemed that the staff who theoretically should have been there keeping the breakfast running smoothly were often absent, or perhaps just overworked and unable to maintain it properly.

    Rooms were clean and well-presented, with two types of pillow available (softer and firmer) for your choice. Wifi was easy to log in to. Large showers. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were not enthusiastic or very knowledgeable about the local area. Breakfast was poor and the "hot" dishes were cold. Not enough staff. Room was clean and bed comfortable but pillows were very poor quality and staff unable to provide any better ones. Would have been nice to have at least a kettle in the room.

    We liked the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a basic hotel, but the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the location is perfect. It's not a romantic hotel, but the perfect place to stay overnight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the smoke detector flashes a red light, but since I knew that I had taken precautions.

    Just a very good hotel slap down in the middle of a very nice town. Staff is very friendly and couldn't be more accomodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel - We had a bit of an episode with immigrants this year. Just be vigilant.

    We have stayed here every August for 5 years. Always perfect. Everything high quality. No complaints.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    confusing administration. I asked if breakfast was Included, asked 3 times and got different answers. .. I gave up in the end

    clean rooms, it was fine. we'll located

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small fridge would be nice to have in the room. The weather was warm and we couldn't have a cold bottle of water.

    Small but comfortable room, exactly what you expect from Ibis. Staff is friendly and the environment is welcoming. Location is great for car travelers though the parking is not privet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move rooms because there were ants in the bathroom and then during the four nights we were badly bitten by mosquitoes

    We were on a traditional dance weekend and the hotel was convenient for all of the meeting places

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking available was off site and there was an additional charge. Some of the staff were either new or very inexperienced, had to seek assistance from another employee on a number of occasions plus was not served with the drink I requested and that drink was more expensive.

    Air Conditioning - comfort of room although no hot drink facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At first, when I arrived to the hotel, the lady at reception calculated extra 45 euros, then they reserved 300 euros from my card (110 euros extra from possible room cost). The hotel Manager explained me that it's a money reservation for my POSSIBLE SREVICES to pay!!!! But I needn't any extra service. Those 110 euros was not released even after my checkout (my bank said they have reserved for 1 month). It was my 4rd of 5th visit to this hotel, but 1st time with such problems. Pls be carefull in this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say.

    Was en route from Germany to Calais and needed a stop over. Checked in late and checked out early so did not really use facilities, so cannot comment. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Otherwise all as expected of an Ibis. Nice beef stew. Slept well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beakfast is expensive - 15 euros. The room does not have a minifridge nor water kettle. My colleague did not get the water kettle for her room.

    The location is good. The room was clean. I got the water kettle into my room after I asked for it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small but well designed. Toilets too high and feet dangle !!!

    Friendly staff and easy check in . Good idea for key cards to access lifts too as it implies security.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In pictures the rooms appear much bigger and nicer than they were. No closet to conceal anything. Very sparsely furnished room and not worth the money.

    Great location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hotel parking. Public parking on the main square. But it was cheap and easily accessible.

    The location in the city centre is perfect. Nice city, a lot of pubs, good beer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows and mattress are a too soft to my liking. The internet is not stable.

    Checking in was easy. The staff was friendly and nice. Great location exploring the town and close by to restaurants. A little far from Sint-Niklass train station, about 900m away. It has a nice bar too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small Hard pillows !!!

    Breakfast exceeded expectations and staff were brilliant !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area is a bit bleak, was traveling to calais thought it might be a nice place to stop but not so much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled like cigarettes. Probably previous clients smokes in the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the city center , nice big rooms friendly staff good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel room I recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was amazing! And the hotel is very well situated!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, well located, good value for the money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everythnik

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WIFI was not reliable - stopped working every couple minutes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on site would been good but not the end of the World. I will stay here again.

    Staff were excellent. Location is good for parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central, friendly and efficient staff, exceptionally clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A plug socket near the mirror, but this seems to be a problem in most hotels

    Staff very helpful and friendly, very comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Kettle in the room

    Bed very firm & comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed a little hard,but this is a matter of individual taste.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we disliked

    Central location, clean, friendly, comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The city all there very convienent location staff very good and hotel will be using this hotel on all my visits to city :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't know

    The room was comfy, staff very kind, professional and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenience to town only yards away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking facility, but at the city hall parking close by...

    Excellent location and free wifi, room was quite big and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Females usually need a mirror by the plug socket but there isn't one

    Didn't have breakfast. Rooms are really good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room, but the bed were separate twin beds.

    Location was good, right by the markt square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfasts were very good for the price. I especially like the make your own waffle machine

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old. Expensive

    Wifi. Friendly and clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was really good and as well as the restaurant was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money paid

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Trying to drive into centre of town and park - its not obvious.

    Quite room - Friendly Staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not ok.pillow to soft One night a lot of noice until late

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice brekfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cheap -minimum service and comfort

    location is good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt of cigarettes, very smelly n choking. Told duty Mgr but nothing was done abt it.

    Nil

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was clean, the service excellent and the bed was comfortable ;)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best Ibis we have stayed in. Breakfast excellent, loved the fresh orange machine! Great choice. Wonderful location and excellent staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the first night I was bitten all over my head and shoulders by something in the pillows.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all tidy and well presented, nice facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff didn't acknowledge us on arrival. Waited around for someone to assist.

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking in and out was slow

    Good value for money. Close to restaurants and historical area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good bed, nice clean bathroom, late checkout

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress too hard, breakfast too expensive.

    Location, right on the main square. Reduced rate in the Grote Markt public car park.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All parking is paid which is too bad. We lucked out and found a spot on the street on a Sunday. Breakfast is also paid, although the 4am-noon breakfast hours are really nice.

    The hotel is right downtown in Sint Niklaas and only 20 mintues drive from our events in Antwerp. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was a traditional Ibis: clean and average.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Window did not open far enough. No tea/coffee making facilities considering the cost of the room and what was available around the area. TV channels very limited for UK visitors cosidering what is available free to EU. No provision for smoking outside in rear area, brollies were down and no shelter provided. Had to go out the front. Lucky to get a parking space 500m away.

    room was nice

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Paid too much for a very small room. Breakfast was not worth 15 Euros. Price at desk was 20 EUR cheaper than what I got at Booking.com

    Good location and a clean but small room.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is small, mattress is quite hard. Biggest complaint is the drums-playing-neighbour of the hotel though, who decided to practice (including bad singing) on Sunday morning. This ruined the feeling of a relaxing Sunday morning.

    The location is nice: in the city center of Sint Niklaas, with shops and a park to relax closeby. Parking is available in a parking garage on 2 minutes walk, unfortunately not for free. Very reasonable value for money

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast so expensive! Cheaper and better to go out. Shame. No 'good bye' or thank you when we left. Just a 'can't find your details for that room'! That said, we will go back next year....

    Night staff, Pizzas, bar, beds, good shower, lots of space! We went for the 100km walk and were well catered for late night on our return. Car park fantastic at 6 euros. Safe and close.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The wi-fi connection was overall good, but video calls may become quite slow sometimes.

    Clean, spacious room. No moquette, nice parquet floor. Clean, functional bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    - Bed pillow very uncomfortable - Expensive breakfast, should be included

    - Location excellent - Easy parking in main centre underground - Reduced parking fee, need to ask - Large powerful shower - Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towels were clean but old. Very basic bed. Very small pillows. Pretty hard bed.

    Friendly staff. No carpet, but wooden floors. Pretty good location.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They run out of beer from the pump in the bar!!! In Belgium how can you have a beerless bar? I'm joking of course because other beers were available and I'm struggling to find something I didn't like :-)

    Excellent helpful reception staff - full marks to them in facilitating our stay. Hotel facilities are relatively new and still in good order for what you would expect from a hotel of this level brand. Ideal for short stay and business trips, its somewhere clean and comfortable enough for the price you pay. Hotel doesn't have its own parking facilities but practically opposite the hotel is the Grote Markt with an underground car park. Drive in, collect your ticket, drive around to the car park office and park near there as it is closest to the hotel and your car will be in view of the car park staff. No matter how long you stay, the hotel will charge you €6 per car. Considering that other hotel chains are charging €10-15 a night, this is most welcome. If not arriving by car, the station is a 10 minute walk away mainly along the vehicle free main shopping street or a very short taxi ride.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It is a 10 minute walk from the station which is annoying but thats about it.

    Very average ibis, nothing bad nothing good.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff bad and very rude attitudes. (Her name was Tina)

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds too hard

    Excellent reception staff

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Very pleasant reception team and a decent continental breakfast handy location for a motorway break.

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: