Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2 stars

Nederkouter 24, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#29 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2468 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little cramped (hey, it's an Ibis!) especially as there was little room to swing the bathroom door open to get inside.

    It was a very good location, nice and clean. Good for our one night stop in Ghent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not something I did not like so much as a recommendation: buy some adaptors for foreign plugs. They would be relatively cheap, come in extra handy, and give the hotel that little bit extra over competing properties.

    The breakfast was very good, the staff were friendly, and the restaurant and bar were open for late dinner and drinks. However, the winner was the bed: the bed was absolutely amazing. Possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I will definitely return to the ibis next time I am in Ghent just for the bed alone! Please, ibis, tell me where you got it! I want one at home!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Neighbours were a bit noisy (hen / stag party). Aircon was hard to regulate. Bathroom could have been cleaner.

    Great location at tram stop, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noway to find the route to the hotel. All people complained about the traffic circulation and could not give clear indications. So in the end we parked and walked with our trunks

    distance to the center excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didnt look like on the photos. Shower water went from hot to cold on its own randomly. Cleaniness was not sufficient. Walls too thin so you can hear all noises in the hall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful and welcoming multi-lingual staff. The location is perfect for walking into the centre and is close to numerous bars, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathrooms extremely small, two people cannot move in a double room, it’s almost hard to turn around in barhroom. Prison-like windows. Ugly building, it’s a blessing you do not see it being inside

    Close to historic city center. Clean rooms. Good breakfast. Fine bar with some atmosphere and good selection of beers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first night we had drinks in the bar with a friend and the bartender seemed put out that people were still there. He kept going away. The room was very, very small. It would have been OK for one person. However, we spent very little time there when not sleeping. I think that there were other larger rooms in this hotel. We did hear noises from the hall, especially in the morning. But I slept well.

    The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. The lobby was bright and modern. The price was very good for the location. We booked the first night through Bookings.com and the experience was good. We changed our plans and needed to book a second night directly through the hotel and it was also easy-peasey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel Bar seems to close earlier than I expected at around 11pm.

    Stayed here many times, always a good location and stopover in Gent. Hotel Bar seems to close earlier than I expected at around 11pm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hot Breakfast items were a little disappointing. The bacon was a fatty

    The Hotel has secure underground Parking for which they make a small charge. this is very useful when travelling by Motorcycle. The Hotel Menu was limited, but the location puts you a 10-minute walk into the heart of the town, Where there are lots of restaurants, shops and entertainment at hand. Trams run past the door but I didn't notice any noise from them. The Architecture in Ghent is fabulous and our group had a great time exploring the City from this location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I presume Only 2 devices work on free WiFi provided. I couldn’t use my iPad.

    Good location on tram line. Convenient for station and rest of Ghent sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Parking lot is very small. We had a room on the backside, view to building constructions. Noise from 7.00 AM on. Definetively not the fault of ibis, but worth to mention.

    Breakfast was extremly complete. Service was perfect. Location is superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no minibar, no bottled water, coffee and tea and water cooker. Even during breakfast, no water available. And the parking fee (16 euros) is expensive for 24hrs. Also the bfast per person is 15 euros, not included in the room rate. At first glance the room rate (99/night) is quite affordable, but adding the bfast and parking fee, then it really becomes expensive.

    cleanliness and the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and the double bed was against the wall, which made the access to two people quite difficult. Air conditioning was very noisy

    Location was very convenient between the main station and the old city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny bathroom and a small room. We asked for larger towels but apparently only one size was available.

    Location was excellent and public areas were fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound proofing may be better, but it's not terrible either

    Helpful staff (we left something in the room and got back for it after check out with no problem)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound isolation is bad,you can even hear your neighbours walking in their room,if you re staying in one of the rooms over the street you may wake up with the tram sounds or drunk people crossing the road

    Great location,friendly staff and good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Very loud and disturbing noise from splashing toilets and buzzing AC (even when off). No proper wardrobe! Kettle and cups have to be borrowed at the reception. Cleaning could be improved (shower). Breakfast not incl and quite expensive extra. In total - this hotel should be offered for 40-50 EUR. Overpriced for the given quality.

    Very good location, everyday cleaning service, possibility to have a drink at the bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small. Air conditioning was very loud so I had to turn it off during the night which meant the room became quite cold.

    Location is great close to the center. Tram to/from station stops in front of hotel. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking bay's are very small, you may have no choice but to use 2.

    We came here before Xmas on the way to England from Germany and liked it so much we decided to come back on the return journey after Xmas. The hotel has a good location, not far from the shops and sights but crucially it outside of the Ghent red zone so you can drive there without a permit (or fine). Parking garage is around the back and while big enough the bays themselves are very small and it's impossible to park a modern car in one bay and be able to open the doors. It's 16 euro for 24 hours which is about normal for this city and not much different to other Ibis locations in Europe I have been too...for ease of unloading and loading a family it is a small price to pay. The rooms are as you would expect from Ibis hotels, no surprises if you are a frequent Ibis user. The lobby area and bar are very nice with some football tables and sofa's to relax on. Wifi is good and fast. Staff were very helpful, they gave us a welcome gift for our dog and a leaflet of local restaurants that you can take dogs into. For our second booking the baby bed was not in the room when we arrived but they brought one up to us in less than 5 minutes so no complaints (first trip it was there and waiting). Reception gave us a kettle so we could make bottles for our baby. Trams do run outside the front of the building but are not going too late so we didn't have our sleep disrupted, we stayed in rooms 118 and 218 which are both main road facing. Rooms are warm with air con and mixed tv channels from European countries. Prices is the hotel bar for food can be cheaper than in the city so think about what you want to eat and are willing to pay. There are a couple of nice bakeries near by for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced. Stayed in Ibis before, but far nicer building, room and installation than the one here. There are two in Ghent, perhaps the other is a lot newer and nicer. We paid probably double what we should have for the age and quality of this accommodation. Disappointing.

    Location of the property is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than it appears on the pictures, but acceptable for one night stay. The heating in the room didn’t work. We came back to the hotel from the city at 10pm and as we tried to turn on the heating we noticed the air condition unit wasn’t working. The hotel staff brought us additional blankets. In the morning we couldn’t heat up the bathroom. There is an electric heater installed. You need to activate a timer outside the bathroom which gives electricity to the heater. However something was wrong with the heater itself. It would work only for 30 seconds and then go off. So the bathroom remained cold. There is also a construction side next to the window. So no chance to sleep longer than until 7am as the works start early.

    Great location for the city centre. Secure underground parking available

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right in the city centre on walking distance from all attractions. Nice hotel bar with friendly staff and a good selection of Belgium beers

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise in the early hours but not too bad considering we were in the room next to the lift.. It could have been worse 😉

    Arrived at 12 o'clock and was able to check in. Room was comfortable and warm. Didn't have breakfast but food looked good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning staff knocked on the door at 09h30 to see if they could start cleaning. You can hear everything that happens in corridor and rooms next door, noise isolation could be better.

    very friendly staff, excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning made an irritating noice. Therefore we had to switch it off and open the window for fresh air. When we went to sleep we had to close the window because of the noise from the street.

    The bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower: hot water went from being very hot to mild temperature without changing anything Breakfast not included

    it was very easy to get to the hotel from the train station. Hotel very close to the centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two bath towels. We needed a hand towel and another to dry my hair. Disappointed bar was closed when we came back late. Only for coffees.

    Breakfast Choice has everything you could want. Staff are friendly & helpful. Location excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant central location. Very clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff were really friendly. Had a fantastic break. Would certainly recommend and hope to stay there again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfectly located in Centre City with a tram stop in front of the door, the Ibis Centrum Opera was a wonderful stay of three days (with an easy day trip to Brugge). The morning breakfast was exceptional as was the hotel staff and the young gentleman at the hotel's lounge/bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    car park had very small spaces. No disabled access from car park as lift only went to ground floor - so had to walk up a floor to get to it. Nightmare getting person on crutches in and out of the car which had to be parked on a tram line.

    Late check in

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We selected this hotel because it was a short walk to the city center. We were only passing through on our way to Bruges and we arrived late to the hotel. The check in process was easy and the staff member on duty was gracious and helpful, providing us a map and restaurant recommendations in the city. We enjoyed the morning in Ghent and was on our way again. This was a perfect hotel for our needs. The hotel did not offer parking but there was an easily accessible parking garage with lots of available spaces two blocks away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very very small room...and bathroom...almost enough place to turn around....and the construction site right under the window....they start making noise at 7:00 :(((

    The breakfast....the bar....the staff....at reception and bar area....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little on the small side but it does the job. Great for a city break.

    Fantastic location. Just a short walk to the old town. Car parking available ( additional cost). Staff friendly. Did not eat there so can not comment on the food. Lovely city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities have become 'tired'. Bathroom fittings broken; lifts signalling faults; air ventilation so noisy it had to be off; table football gone. Worst was Ibis soliciting groups and beer tours in their literature. We and others were blighted by a party of 20+ rowdy drinkers who abused staff and guests for two nights. The 'Ibis Kitchen' was closed ("no chef"). Would not take the risk again. Pity.

    Good location. Past experience had it as a friendly, even cosy hotel in the budget category. Providing chess, draughts and table football in the bar was a nice touch and the "Ibis Kitchen" meant you could eat cheaply and easily with kids. The ambiance was safe and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being informed there were major roadworks right outside the door that started at 7am. Loud corridors walking past all night. Couldn't move in the bathroom. cramped twin room.

    Underground carpark was main attraction - we rode motorcycles and wanted secure parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall paper coming away from the walls. The slowest lease ever been in you waiting for a long time. The bathroom is very very small and had no locks. At breakfast I had to remind the staff to top up on several items. But getting very good place to visit.

    The area is nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good welcome but sent up to a room that already had an occupant!! Very embarrassing. €15 for breakfast was a little expensive. Quite expensive for a tiny room.

    Bijou but clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for the hotel is far above the value you get. In general the room doesn't feel clean. The bathroom is extremely small and not hygienic at all. If you see a brown substance on the wall in front of the toilet, you do not feel the need to find out what exactly it is. Dust on top of the window hasn't been removed for ages. The walls are not soundproof at all, every detail can be heard. For the 'free wifi' the hotel uses an outdated formula where you have to pay for 'premium internet' which you need if you want to do something normal.

    The location of the hotel is good. About the staff there is nothing negative to say, they do their job. The parking is inside the building so it's a safe place to leave your car. The price is normal compared to other public parking options in the neighbourhood. (+/- 15€ per night)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room faced the noisy street with tram just below. Had to keep windows closed. Air conditioning was not properly maintained, too noisy! Breakfast overpriced.

    Location, location, location. We came for opening night at the Flemish Opera, 100 meters down the road. Did some sightseeing: the cathedral, St Nikolas, Castle, all just 15 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Haven't find any signs of the hotel's parking place, but there is a public multi-storey parking nearby for roughly the same price. There were lots of noise from buildingworks in the neighbourhood that started in early hours.

    Excellent breakfast (although pricey), with probably the best scrambled eggs I've ever had. Perfect location to visit the town centre. Although the room was small, the design was clever to get the most out of it. Mostly worth mentioning the odd shape of shower cubicle that helped a lot to feel more comfortable in it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Clean hotel, though the room was a little on the 'compact' size. Locationis brilliant as it is right on the edge of the pedestrian zone so you can still easily drive to the property. Cost of parking was the same for all the parking garages in Ghent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms a bit on the small side and i would have not liked to have been a large person in the bathroom as it was a tight fit no parking when we arrived so had to park in a car park opposite which was frustrating other than when we paid and it was euro6 cheaper a night than the hotel so result in the end

    nice bar area for the evening, walking distance from the centre so was good room size ok but a bit on the small side

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old and has thin poorly constructed walls, far too noisy from people in corridors or hearing the plumbing! Nice to know the adjacent room needed the loo twice an hour throughout the night! As for hearing upstairs pacing about in their heels too! Requires massive modernisation, last refurb of rooms and corridors was probably the 90's! It's had a lick of paint since then, but that worn off. I've also stayed at the HI brand in Ghent, and they are far superior - with better parking. This hotel has no where to load/unload/drop off/pick up and therefore despite a cheap ramp is not wheelchair or young family friendly.

    Entrance, foyer and bar looked good, that's where it ended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to try the breakfast, but refused to pay 90 euros for two of us to have breakfast over our 3 day stay. Too expensive.

    Location was great. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size and layout of the room. No space for two people. Very small and poorly designed bathroom. Parking! Not enough space for their guests and no chance for reservation. We, being somewhat older than others, had to walk for a long distance with our luggage. Also, booking.com people get there the worst rooms (6:30 construction noise, good luck).

    Location. Staff was ok, breakfast tasty, except for the scramble eggs (can they give me this recipe how to prepare uneatable eggs?). Lack of directions for boiled eggs, so other people kept taking our eggs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was not friendly, the plug in the bathroom was broken, we have asked for an adaptor and they want to charge 10€ for that( when was their fault). Car park not included in the price, 16€ per day, also the room is really small, and the bathroom aswell. The shower was not working well, it s not a great value, too much for what i have got.

    Has a great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A clear description or map to reach the hotel parking in advance would have made the arrival much easier.

    You get what you pay for. The facilities are not elaborate, but what is offered is of good quality. No frills but decent value for money. The staff was friendly and very helpful with parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't have breakfast at the hotel because, though it really seemed to be a very nice and complete breakfast, we thought that it was a little bit expensive and that we wouldn't have made the most of it (spanish people are not used to eating so much after waking up).

    The staff treated us very well. It called my attention that when we borrowed the computer of the hotel, some of the keys were in the wrong place, and typing was a bit difficult. Nevertheless, we had some fun doing the check-in for our next flight via internet, so I wouldn't say that was necessarily something negative, but other guests may not have our sense of humour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not advised that there was a charge for the parking - until checking out, then presented with a bill for £60+. Nowhere was this mentioned and certainly not at checking.

    Only breakfast one day. Poor value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small but comfortable and quiet. Grear position to visit Gent. Breakfast too expensive so we choose a room only rate. Just outside the hotel there is a boulangerie with tables with a wide choice of pastry and where you can taste also an excellent coffee and cappucino

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that parking had to be paid for separately-this wasn't in the information that I was emailed from Booking.com.

    The location was fantastic, easy walk to beautiful tourist spots and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom cleanliness was sadly lacking.

    The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and the overall cleanliness of the room was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy near a road, small bathroom and breakfast rather expensive €15.

    Location is just a few minutes away from the main sights in this beautiful city, easy parking in garage nearby (its own parking garage was full).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a bar but no restaurant. The food options were very restricted and available either in the bar area or it was possible to take food to your room.

    The location of the hotel is very central and the underground secure parking was a real bonus There is an excellent bakery next door which provides breakfasts at a very good price if you prefer not eating in the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom and shower were tiny, so not for those who easily feel claustrophobic.

    Great value for money and super dog friendly. Our dog was welcomed with his own small bag of treats, do-not-disturb sign, and list of dog friendly restaurants close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms didn't seem to be soundproof as we could hear the noise from the hall and also from other rooms. The shower was also quite small.

    The bed was not super big but not small either and comfy enough to have a good sleep. 4 blocks away from the main center so very easy to walk and safe as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small. Extremely overpriced. No space to move around in the room or bathroom. For the price, if the breakfast would have been included, I would have complained less. No tea or coffee in the room, which is probably the very basics of a hotel room. Wardrobe unusable. Completely unworthy of the price. It was difficult to accept that it was an Ibis hotel.

    It is close to the city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long check-in time. Dated furniture in the room.

    It's a hotel, like many others. Perfect for when you just need a bed in a clean room with a clean bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were old and dated but fine for sleeping.

    The staff at the hotel were amazing. They helped us book train tickets and gave great suggestions on things to see and do.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view of my room.

    The bed was extra comfy. The breakfast was excellent. The room was clear. It was near the center, so we walked to see the monuments of the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst receptionist we have ever seen. The room was quite small and there was a stange smell in the corridor. The room need some reconstruction.There was a really small cupboard in the room.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy street (tram stop in front of the hotel), on the parking entrance there was a note, that the parking is full and we had to find a public one (14 Euro per day). Room was small. Hairdryer was terrible.

    Friendly stuff, dog friendly (10 Euro per day), clean, nice location, fast checkin/checkout

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not cheap at all. The worse thing is the parking to the cars. Easy to find but it cost a lot per night.

    The hotel is a ten minuts max to the center by walking. The rooms are small but very clean. Personal very kind. Good breakfast but expensive. You will find better outside. I would recomended this hotel for families, couples or singles.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really I had a problem because I mistaked the dates o my reservation. Even assuming my fault, because I knew that it was without possible cancelation, I emailed 15 minutes after my reservation to fix the dates. The answer was kind, but I PAID TWO NIGHTS even if I used the room just one. Take care with these situations. It's always better having flexible reservations, and it looks like the ACCOR Hotels really don't know what flexibility means.

    Good location, near the center of the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location betwen train station and pedestrian area. Rooms are clean and big enough for short stay or for just one person. Bathroom is too small... three sq meters incl bathtub. Value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too firm Bedroom and bathroom too small. Double bed was against a wall making it difficult to get in/ out Breakfast expensive. Decor tatty

    Lounge area comfortable and spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms and beds are very small. It is not possible to even turn around on those twin beds without waking up. Also the bathroom space is very small and you can hardly take a shower without bumping on the walls.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was hard to find, parking spaces were too small even for our small car. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, very basic accommodation which was not cheap.

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the room

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The breakfast is a little pricey in fact more so than the evening meals

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is something deeply wrong with the engineering of the building. You can hear everything from the corridor and neighboring rooms. Impossible to close doors without noise (believe me, I tried), so there's a lot of unintentional door banging. Together with a coincidental invasion on British young men coming to party on the weekend that was not a good combination. Don't forget your earplugs. Breakfast is not included. Might be a little bit cheap and worn down interior for someone's taste, but did not really bother me.

    Extremely nice, helpful and professional stuff. Solved problems beyond their duties. Very good breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room just a little small. Side of bed was against wall just behind door. The quality of the tea and coffee was poor - from machine and almost undrinkable. But overall the hotel was good. We often use Ibis and will do so again. Little bit of noise from the road outside as our room faced the front but it was light and airy as a result.

    Clean, comfortable, bedroom window opened so you could get fresh air, reasonable shower, staff friendly, efficient and helpful, breakfasts good. Attractive public area on ground floor to sit, relax and have a drink. Convenient location served by trams, with easy tram access from station and to heart of city centre. Walkable to all city attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a little on the small side, but for a city centre hotel this is both expected and justified.

    The breakfast was great, plenty of variety and well stocked. The staff even prepared a breakfast for me when I was leaving the hotel early on the first morning, which I was very grateful for!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room decor is starting to look a bit tired

    Excellent staff, changed my booking from double to twin at the last minute with no fuss. easy underground parking and a good breakfast. Beds were super comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are on the smaller side, so I can imagine if your bring 2 large suitcases it would easily get cramped. Bathroom is clean, small but has everything you need. Great value for money in Ghent.

    I loved the reception staff (Tatjana and Nathan (?) I believe): very friendly and we got a quieter room away from the street (as per my request). Also got a late check-out because the day we left it was calmer in the hotel. The location is excellent with Savaanstraat and Kouter-parking only 100m away. Location is perfect between VOORUIT Art Centre and the 'old' city downtown (only 5min walk).

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: