Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Gent Centrum St. Baafs Kathedraal 3 stars

Limburgstraat 2, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#23 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2590 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the room was dated and the bathroom smelt of sewerage Staff were rude and demanded payment straight away as if they didn’t trust you to pay no receipt, when asked they conveniently couldn’t understand you When down at breakfast my husband was approached 4 times have you paid for your breakfast how rude is that as it was inclusive Also the area for breakfast was so hot we couldn’t enjoy breakfast and had to leave The ratings defiantly are not a true representation of the hotel it should be rated 6.2 Would never stay at a ibis again very low quality . Be warned

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is quite small for this price. It's a bit far from the station.

    Clean and good room. Centrally located in the city. Close to many attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room with two single beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little small

    Great location! Could not be more central. Good business hotel. The wifi works great. Nice little bar open late. Blackout blinds meant I slept til 10am.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could benefit with some upgrades. The walls are too thin you could hear you neighbours through the walls, this was for their cheapest room, maybe things are different in their more expensive rooms.

    The breakfast was really nice, all freshly baked pastry, waffles and a good selection of cheese, cold cuts and hot dishes. The location is perfect, right in the historical centre of Ghent. It is accessible by public transportation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    booking.com did not transmit the booking of an additional room. The hotel was fully booked but they managed to give us the second room.

    location, value for money and very helpful desk staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room layout was a bit funky, with 2 standing walls needlessly creating an open closet in the corner (essentially blocking the corner of the room so you coudn't easily store luggage in it), and the shower was poorly designed so water got all over the floor. Nothing bad enough to take stars away for.

    The location was great, right downtown in the old district. I think the building just got renovated, everything was brand new. The beds were comfortable, the staff were friendly, luggage storage was easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was not too fast and personnel was reluctant a bit. There was no water bottle in the room and I had to pay 1.5 euro for it on reception, even though I would expect it to be in the room when I arrived.

    Location is fantastic, hotel is fairly good in terms of facilities and clean enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in a deplorable state, ... Stained and scratched all over ..., the hair dryer worked but missed pieces so that you easily could touch with your fingers the heating spiral. When I told this to a staff member, the reaction was as if it is my own problem. The towels were smelly. I stay in many hotels, all over the world, cheap and expensive but this was just bad!

    /

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some weird door in the room that seem to connect to the adjacent one.

    It was clean, right in the city center. Breakfast was ok, you could even make fresh pancakes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad lighting in the room, toilet was almost touching the opposite wall, no minibar, air con was blowing straight on the bed, average cleanliness. Had to pay at checkin, not very customer friendly. Breakfast ok, but some dishes not very clean.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing important.

    It's a very decent 3-stars hotel. Usually I used to stay in 4* and could say that sometimes 4* is worse than this 3* Ibis. Location is absolutely great - in a very heart of Ghent. Hotel is rather new and its condition is rather well. Services - quite Ok. Breakfast is quite enough even for 4-stars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should book the parking place in advance. No one told us about it and we should find parking by ourselves. Lady from the kitchen in the morning was asking us about some stickers/flayers (I even don't know what is that bc no one told us+ we already paid for the breakfast).

    The room was clean, breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Renovation of rooms is needed.

    Fantastic central location. Very sufficient breakfast. Very helpful staff. Modern design at the ground flour where the reception and the lounge/breakfast place is. Excellent wifi connection for business travellers. Generally, as expected according to Ibis standards.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet faces a wall. I am a big man and found that difficult to use.

    Breakfast buffet was ample. Bedrooms were clean and the heating/cooling system was working.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work was being carried out at the hotel. One morning I was wakened up about 730 by loud music being played by the workers in a room above. There were two lifts that were always busy, again I think that the workers were using the lifts a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't bother unpacking as only staying a couple of nights. There wasn't much storage space but that didn't really bother us.

    This hotel is very clean and situated right in the centre of Ghent. The staff were very welcoming and efficient. We didn't eat there but we did have drinks in the bar. Service was great. Bed was very comfortable and shower excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that was that the third and fourth floors were being renovated so if you had to be in the hotel room between 10:00 and 6:00 it was quite noisy, but the staff was very upfront upon check-in and said that if it became a problem to let them know and they were try to rectify the situation.

    The location of the hotel was perfect! It was close to all sights and right across the street from the cathedral and Belfry. The hotel was basic, but very clean. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some rooms were under renovation and therefore the hotel was very noisy from 8am till 6pm. The heating AC was noisy and disturbing the sleep. Without AC, it was cold. The staff proposed an additional heater but it was working even more noisy.

    Free WiFi, quality of breakfast, friendliness of the staff, central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refurbishments starting too early and no advance warning.(April18 visit) Drilling at 8am

    Central location easy to reach via Tram 1 from main Ghent station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i arrived at 12 noon thinking i will just leave my luggage until i can check in at 2pm, but i was already allowed to check in and they gave me a chocolate as a welcome gift

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You know what you get when you decide to stay in IBIS; a clean, comfortable room including a big bed. Location is superb, with the cathedral and all main sites within 5 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    15 EUR for breakfast?? I'm short and my knees were against the wall in front of the toilet. You have to sit diagonally on the toilet. The heating made a really loud noise. There was also a locked door going through to the next room so I could hear everything cupboard and drawer they banged. Plenty of nice places to stay in Ghent, go there.

    The location, the nice shower...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic for the price, you would at minimum expect a small fridge and coffee/tea facilities for this cost. Only 2 electricity sockets. The room numbers on the doors use a kind of Comic Sans font that is offensive to may people.

    Nice breakfast, good location, clean and good bed and shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating unit was noisy in my room and the price of the breakfast is very high if its not included in the room and you had to pay extra.

    Nice location , polite staff , value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows weren’t the best.

    Amazing location, right next to Cathedral and within easy reach of everything. 2 minute walk to a Korenmarkt to connect with all public transport. Great shower, very powerful and spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman at the check in was really unfriendly and when we left she didn't told my colleague that she needs a coin to open the gate of the car park. Even if she was there and asked what she has to keep in mind. And instead of apologising she left a sarcastic sentence : oh you didn't have one?

    I'd like that it was situated in the center of Gent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not warm enough. We had the air conditioning on 26C but still it was a little cold. We were told at check-out that there extra heaters were available but we did not know this before.

    Everything was clean and convenient! The location is great, right next to St. Baaf's cathedral.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can`t think of anything at all.

    Wow! That is the rating I would give this property because of the whole set of things I look for - and I`ve taught a course in hospitality management and worked in hospitality for years, so I pay attention. From the Belgian waffles to the level of cleanliness in and out of the room, from the staff friendliness to the design and upkeep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware to pay city tax (£3p/p per night) on top of booking.com price.

    Excellent location, short tram ride or 8 Euro taxi ride from the train station. Rooms were clean and tidy with super comfy beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size.

    I was lucky to get room 218, which has a view right on the main square on the side of the St. Baafs cathedral. This made up for the size of the room, which was really small, but if you just need a just a bed to crash for a short visit, this is the right place to stay. Room was very clean, the bathroom was small but decent. Staff was friendly (as I believe all Belgian people), breakfast was of an acceptable quality. There was a great selection of sweet and salty food. Even a waffel maker to bake your own waffels on the spot. They have a garage but it was more cheaper to part at the Interparking (4 min walking from there).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small and outdated. AC makes a lot of noise and is very dusty. 2 lamps needed to be replaced on our room, cleaning didnt bother to test\replace them before our room was assigned. No power socket's on the nightstands.

    Location is great bed's are quite good very affordable Wireless Internet works great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like no one opened the window for weeks. The air conditioner made an incredible disturbing noise, without it was terribly cold. The furniture was really old, in part broken and with signs of other guests. 15€ for this kind of breakfast in which no one had information about the allergy of my husband who could only drink a juice and eat an egg.

    The bed was comfortable and there was a wood floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - parking was difficult due to christmas market, underground parkings full - a lot to fill out manually, they should have the datas prepared via booking.com

    + location directly nearby the church, christmas market + breakfast + Gent is an incredible city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the airco could not be turned to cold, but kept blowing hot air. The fire indicator needed battery replacement & continued to flash the complete night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    aircon quite noisy - just turned it off when we went to bed

    super location right in central city, friendly staff who organised cabs to/from station, clean and comfortable rooms, wonderful breakfast buffet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no plug sockets by the bed, awkward in the age of the smartphone. There was dust etc on the bedside shelf and in general the room was not quite spotless.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, it seemed that their were bed bugs in the bed, and so, i was rewarded with a number of bites - not ideal! avoid room 208!

    Excellent location, good breakfast and friendly staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to report.

    Stunning location. Ideal for Xmas market when it's in St Baafs square (see pic, view from window). I think we could have leaned out the window and literally touched the cathedral. Room was fine, beds comfortable, nice shower. Good general standard. Recommend that car visitors leave their car at Park and Ride places and take tram into city centre. Car park prices in Ghent are extortionate. Ghent is a magical city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very friendly and helpful, decent food available in evenings (snowy so didn't venture out), great breakfast. Perfect location for centre of town, easy to get to/from train station via tram.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location - around a lot of cafees, restaurants. 10 min to walk "everywhere", old town. Tram station around the corner. Good, clean hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing missing would be a mini-bar or water and a boiler in the room.

    The location of this hotel is simply perfect, right in front of the St. Baaf's cathedral. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. The breakfast has a wide choice of salty and sweet things. Wi-fi is easy and quick. The standards of quality in this hotel are definitely higher than the normal Ibis standards.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedside lamp is pretty, but no use for reading I missed a shower cap in the bathroom - and some proper cheese for breakfast I was surprised to see there was no gluten free/lactose free alternatives

    Location: simply perfect; modern hotel in a historical atmosphere (like walking around in a fairy tale). Room: pleasant, sufficient space and cheerful color scheme. First class bed! - and curtains that close properly. My room was to the back, which means it was also really quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was ideal for 3 people (2 A + 1 C), however it will be good to have some basic stuff like hot water, cups, tea bags etc in the room to avoid going to coffee bar all the time

    The location is amazing and the staff were great...you are right in city center and waking to the morning bells from cathedral is so pleasing...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar is a bit soulless.

    We taught 15 euro pp was steep for breakfast but there was a wide selection to choose from. We also has breakfast out and the price is fairly standard. The staff were friendly and helpful supplying maps and info. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was ok and everything worked. Location is brilliant!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really to dislike. Tea making facilities in rooms would be ideal. The cooked breakfast could be improved further, with sausages, plus a vegetarian option such as a hash brown to complement the eggs and beans.

    Comfy bed, lifts to all floors. Check-in and check-out was efficient. A good spread of breakfast options. The hotel is close to the best sights in Ghent, with restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really expensive for the facilities it offers.very small room,not so clean bathroom

    The location was perfect right at the centrer of ghent.the bed was very confortable.we only stayed for one night and it was the perfect choice to have a quick look of thhe best attractions in ghent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all very good

    Excellent hotel great faciliites staff were brilliant Nathalie at reception was amazing. Itching was too much trouble for her. A big thank you to her .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unable to change the room temperature - possibly not really an issue but something to consider. We booked a twin bed but ended up in a room with a double bed and a temporary-type bed which was very short and not super comfortable. Worth confirming before you arrive perhaps.

    Perfect location for Ghent. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The bar had a great range of beers - which was open and convenient for when we arrived late at night! Room was spacious. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was expensive and not that great, especially at the price charged.

    Terrific central location right next to the Cathedral. The room, without breakfast, was good value, given the location. Secure underground parking - including for bikes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late night staff need training on how to make food - the receptionist on our first night didn't know how to make a pizza. We ordered food later in the stay without issue though.

    Great location right in the centre next to the beautiful cathredrals. We booked a twin room but were upgraded for free to a room with a double and a single. Really good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was put in a double room, not the twin I booked. Only one person on reception dealing with a check in's, ( while 3 staff stood talking). Could hear people in the next room and corridor. Woken by window cleaner at 8.30

    Location was good and easy to find. Early for room so were able to leave our cases.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Twin room was exactly as we had hoped. Location perfect, right in the very centre. No noise in room. Staff were helpful and printed a bus ticket for us at reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no safe deposit box

    Location is great. Can't get any better. Simple rooms, though comfortable, and great breakfast. Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave when I so desperately wanted to stay on. Not the hotels fault.

    An absolute superb location, right in the very heart of all the historical attractions and the centre of entertainment and dining. You could,nt ask for better. St Baafs Kathedral is right on the doorstep. The setting around the hotel is stunning with a host of dining options also on the doorstep. Room was of decent comfort for this rating of hotel, even though rooms were a little small. Hotel was very clean and breakfast was more than satisfying. View from my room overlooking the square was breathtaking. Decent Wi-Fi as I have found with all Ibis hotels in my trip through Belgium. Staff were pleasant, efficient and helpful. I loved my stay here so much that I chose to extend my booking but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked for the following two days and I had to move on. I really could have kicked myself. Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom.

    Great location. Room and bed very comfortable. Excellent buffet breakfast with friendly staff at hand to make waffles for us ! Would be happy to return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is excellent, right on one of the main squares and easy walking distance to everything. Easy access to public transport - only really needed to access the main train station which is south of the main tourist area - and plenty of shops/restaurants in the area. The bed, like all Ibis these days, was super comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is an underground car park for the hotel but you have to pay a premium for this. Public under ground car park not for away. About 10 min walk and reasonable.

    I'm be know to us at the time of booking and arriving it was Ghents festival of music in town. Stages playing types of music around the centre. The hotel is slab bang in the middle of the festival right next to the cathedral. It was a great night in town. Ghent is a lovely city and very pretty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel may be a little difficult to find for travellers weary from long train travel.

    We actually went to the wrong hotel initially (ibis opera) where they gave us further directions... But the staff were so helpful it gave us a really good first impression. The actual hotel is situated next to the cathedral and so is actually easy to find (we were led astray by just looking for 'ibis kathedral' in Google but I'm sure others will make this mistake!). Locals directed us to nearby castle Gravensteen, which is stunning. The bed was extremely comfortable and we opted for the breakfast, which was a high quality buffet in which we were able to make our own waffles with a range of toppings (strongly recommended).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As with my review for the same hotel in Bruges, the layout of the bathroom could be better. If you stay here during the festival don't expect a quiet stay if you are on the road side of the hotel.

    The location is great for access to the city and the staff were really good, we were upgraded to a bigger room and given some free breakfast vouchers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lobby is a bit depressing.

    Location was perfect - right next to the cathedral, and only 15 minutes walk from almost all of the tourist attractions. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extractor fan in bathroom was loud and could not be switched off. It disturbed my sleep. I would not stay here again because of that

    Location and staff excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small for twin beds were pushed together no space between

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to everything. Easy to get to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The room was modern and clean....but what a great view...over the square with 2 cathedrals and restaurants...absolutely perfect...friendly and helpful staff...would definitely go back...its better than a much more expensive hotel. Immediately outside the front door you are in the heart of the town...shopping one way...resaurants and bars and city sights the other. Add to that the price and quality and you can't go wrong... brilliant hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really small very small rooms: for two people no enough place for luggage and clothes. No fridge, no kettle. Poor lighting.

    Super location. And staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is too high for this hotel. The historical centre of Gent is very small, so paying extra money for staying right in the centre does not make sense. Extremely dirty towels in the bathroom during the entire stay. Very strange for Ibis hotel. Although the general cleanness was adequate. Resume: does not worth the money, you can find much cheaper hotels with the same level of comfort.

    Great location, in the city centre. Nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet access with email registration and cookies, further, etails only in French. At the check-in, staff was not very polite at all but all other were even more.

    Room just opposite the cathedrale with wonderful views!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located right next to St Baafs cathedral. Very easy to get to from Gent St Pieters by taking the tram which stops about 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Room was small but comfortable. Staff were friendly and the room was cleaned each day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good, maybe some detail: a little chocolate or free bottle of water or some welcome present was missing to make it perfect.

    Superb location. I was lucky to have a top floor room with a wonderful view! Service good. Mattress good all was decent and nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room (for staying with a child). Some smell of moisture near bathroom.

    Great view from window to main square. Staff was very helpful, especially on kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy air conditioning and the beside lights didn't work

    The property is in a fantastic location for exploring Ghent. The rooms are simple yet functional. Air Conditioning was lovely to have although noisy. Lovely views over the square outside the cathedral but the bells were noisy!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no mini bar or coffee-making facilities in the room. This is something I think most people really appreciate when they go to stay in a hotel. Or alternatively, this wouldn't have been such a problem if coffee in the lobby bar was a bit cheaper. It was 3.50 euros at this hotel - not that cheap really, considering. Also, the room was OK, but the décor was very dated.

    Excellent location. Quiet. Fairly clean. Friendly and efficient staff. Great view of the city and cathedral from my room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like an old hotel done up cosmetically. Hallways and communal areas done to a good standard, rooms not as much - quite disappointed compared to other Ibis hotels that have costed me less.

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should book a underground parking before you arrive, it cost 26 Euro per day. Public parking is available at 15 Euro per day just 2-3 minutes away.

    Location is fantastic, nice bar with a few local beers and champagne:-)))

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping

    There nothing much you can add to the stay at Ibis, as it is always so similar across their properties. Great location, smooth check-in. Rooms were small in size comparable to Ibis Budget. The bed was not good - very uncomfortable, it kept on shifting (I do not understand what was wrong with the mattress). Stayed there for 3 nights, housekeeping did not bother to change the linen or bedding even for one day and in fact, the bed was rolled up as it is, not even the crease on the bed linen was smoothened. Breakfast is good but limited options.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was 15 euro, you do know before you book but never the less it still feels like a money grab.

    Very clean, comfortable, in good order. All you could need from a hotel room if you don't plan to spend much time there.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: